DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 and 01/31/2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-26 are cancelled. Claims 27-52.
Claim Objections
Claim 52 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the last line of claim 52, a comma is incorrectly used after a period, which results in improper sentence structure. For examination purpose the claim is interpreted without the comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ROGALLA et al. hereinafter Rogalla (GB 2510715 A).
With respect to claim 27, Rogalla discloses an unbalance measuring device (drive shaft balancing machine (10, fig 1) for the dynamic balancing of drive shafts, Abstract), comprising:
two spaced-apart workpiece receiving devices for rotatably receiving a workpiece, the unbalance of which is to be measured (Each upper part 17, 18 accommodates a respective spindle 21, 22 mounted for rotation in bearing housings. The spindles 21, 22 of the two upper pads 17, 18 are coaxially arranged and have at their facing ends clamping devices 23, 24 for accurately centrally locating a fastening end, page 5, lines 12-16); and
at least one sensor for detecting a vibration of the workpiece during the rotation (Each upper part 17, 18 includes furthermore a respective vibration sensor 26, 27 which detects vibrations of the respective upper part 17, 18 in one direction, in this embodiment the vertical direction, and transmits them in the form of electrical signals to an electronic evaluating and computing device, see page 5 lines 20-24)
wherein the workpiece receiving devices each have a respective connection device for the positionally fixed fastening, and a respective workpiece receptacle for the rotational receiving of a workpiece portion (bases 15, 16, and machine bed 12, see Fig. 1 and 2), wherein a respective spring device is arranged between the connection devices and the workpiece receptacles (The bases 15, 16 carry an upper part 17, 18, respectively, supported on them by means of springs 19, 20, page 5, lines 10-12).
With respect to claim 28, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the at least one sensor is attached to one of the workpiece receptacles (see page 5, lines 20-24).
With respect to claim 29, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the workpiece receptacles form a predetermined rotational axis (R) of the workpiece to be received (an axis extending in a direction transverse to the spindle axis and transverse to the guiding direction of the spring support, see page 3 lines 8-10).
With respect to claim 30, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the workpiece receiving devices each form a vertical axis (H1 or H2), wherein the vertical axes (H1 and H2) intersect the rotational axis (R) and are oriented at a right angle to the rotational axis (see Fig. 1 that shows the vertical and horizontal orientation that forms a right angle).
With respect to claim 31, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the spring device (springs 19, 20) is configured such that the connection device and the workpiece receptacle (W) are displaced in relation to each other from a starting position (Fig. 1), wherein the spring device is configured to move the workpiece receptacle into the starting position (The springs 19, 20 of the pedestals 13, 14 of drive shaft balancing machines are conventionally configured and arranged such that the upper parts 15, 16 of the pedestals 13, 14 oscillate as a result of excitation by these transverse forces in a way causing the axles of the spindles 21, 22 to execute parallel movements, thereby maintaining their direction normal to the measurement plane, see page 6 lines 6-11).
With respect to claim 32, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the spring device includes a leaf spring as a spring element (see Fig. 1 that shows springs 19 and 20), which is connected to the connection device and to the workpiece receptacle (bases 15, 16 carry an upper part 17, 18, respectively, supported on them by means of springs 19, 20, page 5 lines 9-11).
With respect to claim 33, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the workpiece receptacles are configured to be displaced in a movement direction component perpendicular to the rotational axis (R) and perpendicular to the vertical axis (H1 or H2) relative to the connection devices (see Fig. 1 and page 7 lines 15-20 for the horizontal and the vertical components in the coordinate system).
With respect to claim 34, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the spring device has at least two pivot arms (13 and 14), each pivot arm being hinged to the connection device (23 and 24) and to the workpiece receptacle (W), wherein the joint axes of the pivot arms are arranged parallel to the rotational axis (see the orientation of workpiece W, Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 35, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the workpiece receptacle is a roller stand and comprises two rotatably mounted rollers (spindle 21, 22), which between them form the receptacle for a portion of the workpiece (W), wherein the axis of rotation of the rollers is aligned parallel to the rotational axis (the rotational axis of the spindles is the same as workpiece W as illustrated in Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 36, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27, wherein the unbalance measuring device includes a quick-acting closure for each of the workpiece receptacles (clamping devices 23, 24 for accurately centrally locating a fastening end, page 5 lines 14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-40, 45-48, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogalla in view of KAJIKAWA et al. hereinafter Kajikawa (US 20190285502 A1).
With respect to claim 37, Rogalla discloses the unbalance measuring device of claim 27 above. Rogalla is silent about the quick-acting closure comprises a pivotable bracket with a rotatable roller, wherein the pivot axis of the bracket and/or the axis of rotation of the roller is aligned in parallel to the rotational axis (R).
Kajikawa invention related to a dynamic balancing test and correction apparatus that, after performing a dynamic balancing test on a workpiece provided with a rotating shaft, corrects imbalance on the basis of the result of the dynamic balancing test discloses the quick-acting closure comprises a pivotable bracket with a rotatable roller, wherein the pivot axis of the bracket and/or the axis of rotation of the roller is aligned in parallel to the rotational axis (an operator places the rotating shaft 102 of the workpiece 100 to be subjected to the dynamic balancing test and correction operations on the paired left and right rollers 42 in the dynamic balancing test part 1, para. [0057]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Rogalla’s unbalance measuring device to include a quick acting closure comprising a pivotable bracket with a rotatable roller, as taught by Kajikawa, with the pivot axis and/or roller axis aligned parallel to the rotational axis, because Kajikawa expressly discloses this configuration for supporting and securing a rotating workpiece during dynamic balancing, representing a predictable substitution of known closure and support mechanisms to achieve reliable positioning and operation with expected results.
With respect to claim 38, Rogalla discloses an unbalance measuring device of claim 27 above. Rogalla is silent about a processing device for a workpiece, comprising a processing receptacle for receiving the workpiece, comprising a first holding means, a second holding means and a driving means, wherein the driving means is configured to set the workpiece into a rotation, wherein the holding means are designed for holding the workpiece; at least one processing means for processing the workpiece.
Kajikawa invention related to a dynamic balancing test and correction apparatus that, after performing a dynamic balancing test on a workpiece provided with a rotating shaft, corrects imbalance on the basis of the result of the dynamic balancing test discloses a processing device (14-16, Fig. 3) for a workpiece (workpiece 100), comprising a processing receptacle for receiving the workpiece (support mechanism including the respective rollers 42, para. [0039]), comprising a first holding means, a second holding means (see Fig. 3 that illustrates workpiece 100 holder) and a driving means (rotating shaft 102 of the workpiece 100), wherein the driving means is configured to set the workpiece into a rotation (rotating shaft 102 of the workpiece 100 is adapted to be rotatable supported by the paired rollers 42, para. [0043]), wherein the holding means are designed for holding the workpiece (the workpiece body 101 of the workpiece 100 supported by the rollers 42, para. [0044]); at least one processing means for processing the workpiece (FIGS. 4 and 7, the dynamic balancing test part 1 has the rotation mechanism that includes: a driving pulley 46 connected to a servo motor 41that controls the workpiece, para. [0044], [0049]- [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Rogalla to include the processing device disclosed by Kajikawa in order to process a workpiece after imbalance measurement, as Kajikawa teaches known holding, driving, and processing structures for rotating and processing a workpiece, yielding predictable results.
With respect to claim 39, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the processing device of claim 38 above. Kajikawa further discloses comprising a processing table (workpiece table 65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the processing table disclosed by Kajikawa in the processing device of Rogalla, as the use of a workpiece table for supporting and processing a workpiece during balancing operations is well known and yields predictable results.
With respect to claim 40, Rogalla and Kajikawa discloses the processing device of claim 39 above. Kajikawa further discloses the vertical axes (Y, Fig. 1) are aligned perpendicular to the processing table (65), wherein the movement direction of the workpiece receptacles or at least one component of the movement direction of the workpiece receptacles is aligned perpendicular to the vertical axes and the rotational axis (the rotation mechanism for the workpiece 100 illustrated in FIG. 7, para. [0050]- [0052], [0057]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to align the vertical axes and movement direction of the workpiece receptacle relative to the processing table and rotational axis as taught by Kajikawa, in order to provide a known and predictable arrangement for controlled workpiece movement during processing.
With respect to claim 45, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the workpiece is configured to be the processing device of claim 38 above. Kajikawa further discloses a workpiece (101) comprising: one or more reference surfaces extending at least partially over the circumference of the workpiece (The rotating shaft 102 of the workpiece 100 is supported by rollers 42 displaceable supported by an apparatus body, para. [0039]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the workpiece of Rogalla to include one or more reference surfaces extending at least partially over the circumference of the workpiece, as taught by Kajikawa, in order to support and rotate the workpiece with predictable results.
With respect to claim 46, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the workpiece of claim 45 above. Kajikawa further discloses at least one bearing point to be processed, wherein a reference surface is designed in such a way that it extends coaxially with respect to the processed bearing point (see Fig. 5 that illustrate the reference surface extends coaxially with respect to the support point 42).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the workpiece of Rogalla such that a reference surface extends coaxially with respect to a bearing point to be processed, as taught by Kajikawa, in order to provide known coaxial alignment during processing with predictable results.
With respect to claim 47, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the workpiece of claim 45 above. Kajikawa further discloses the reference surface is configured to constitute a reference surface for further, processing of the workpiece (rotating shaft 102 of the workpiece 100 is adapted to be rotatable supported by the paired rollers 42, para. [0043]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the reference surface of the workpiece of Rogalla to serve as a reference for further processing, as taught by Kajikawa, in order to support rotation and subsequent processing of the workpiece with predictable results.
With respect to claim 48, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the workpiece of claim 45 above. Rogalla as modified by Kajikawa is silent about the reference surfaces (N) have one or more individual axial length(s), as a result of which the reference surfaces (N) can differ in size. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to vary the axial length of the reference surfaces of the workpiece of Rogalla as modified by Kajikawa as a routine design choice, thereby allowing the reference surfaces to differ in size with predictable results.
With respect to claim 50, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the workpiece of claim 45 above. Kajikawa further discloses the radial distance of the reference surfaces from the rotational axis and thus indirectly the distance from the bearing point is calculated by a computer program (The imbalance calculation part 14 illustrated in FIG. 3 calculates the magnitude, angle and length of between the left and right surfaces of the workpiece 100, para. [0059]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to calculate the radial distance of the reference surfaces from the rotational axis using a computer program, as taught by Kajikawa, when applied to Rogalla’ s workpiece, because Kajikawa discloses computer-based calculation of geometric parameters of a rotating workpiece, representing a predictable use of known computational techniques with expected results.
With respect to claim 51, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose the workpiece of claim 45 above. Kajikawa the reference surface (N) extends with a length (NA) coaxially with respect to the bearing point (L), in particular with respect to the rotational axis (R) of the workpiece, and in particular is formed at least on part of the workpiece circumference (Each upper part 17, 18 accommodates a respective spindle 21, 22 mounted for rotation in bearing housings. The spindles 21, 22 of the two upper pads 17, 18 are coaxially arranged and have at their facing ends clamping devices 23, 24 for accurately centrally locating a fastening end, page 5, lines 12-16).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the reference surface to extend coaxially with the bearing point and the rotational axis, as taught by Kajikawa, when applied to Rogalla’s workpiece, because Kajikawa discloses coaxial spindle and clamping arrangements for accurate central alignment, representing a predictable use of known positioning techniques to achieve precise concentric reference surfaces with expected results.
With respect to claim 52, Rogalla and Kajikawa disclose a method for producing the reference surface on a workpiece of claim 45 above. Kajikawa further discloses the reference surface (N) is in one processing step with the processing means by the removal of material from the workpiece in the same or unchanged mounting set-up by the processing receptacle (the dynamic balancing test and correction apparatus includes a workpiece sandwiching mechanism that, when the drilling mechanisms perform the hole drilling, fixes the workpiece by sandwiching the paired correction surfaces of the workpiece, para. [0013])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the reference surface in a single processing step without changing the mounting setup, as taught by Kajikawa, when applied to Rogalla’ s method, because Kajikawa expressly discloses machining the workpiece while fixed by a sandwiching mechanism during material removal, representing the predictable use of known fixturing and single setup processing techniques to improve accuracy and consistency with expected results.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogalla and Kajikawa as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Takase et al. hereinafter Takase (US 5539172 A).
With respect to claim 41, Rogalla and Kajikawa discloses the processing device of claim 38 above. Rogalla as modified by Kajikawa is silent about the holding means comprise an Oldham coupling.
Takase invention related to the field of machining a workpiece with a form tool to produce a finished product of a gear shape and measuring it discloses the holding means comprise an Oldham coupling (the holding means comprise an Oldham coupling, col. 20 lines 34-36).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the Oldham coupling disclosed by Takase into the holding means of the processing device of Rogalla in order to provide a known coupling structure for supporting and driving a workpiece with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42-44, 49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4653324 A discloses a dynamic balancing machine of the type which includes a pair of spaced spindles for rotating articles of substantial axial length comprising: a concrete base having an elongate horizontal bed bounded by longitudinally extending edges and spaced ends,
a pair of rails cast in said bed in spaced parallel relation to said longitudinally extending edges, said rails extending the entire length of said longitudinally extending edges, and anchors connected to said rails and cast into the concrete base, a fixed mounting block secured to said rails adjacent one end of said bed, a second mounting block spaced from said fixed mounting block and mounted for sliding movement on said rails, wherein said concrete base is cast with a groove extending parallel to said longitudinally extending edges and a rack having teeth secured to said bed in said groove, means for moving said second mounting block on said rails toward and away from said fixed mounting block, wherein said means for moving said second mounting block on said rails comprises a gear mounted for rotation on said second mounting block and engaging the teeth of the rack secured to said bed, locking means including means partially closing said groove mounting said rack and means operable against said means partially closing said groove mounting said rack for selectively locking said second mounting block against movement on said rails, first and second spindles respectively rigidly fixed to said fixed mounting block and said second mounting block, each said spindle rotatably mounting a shaft for rotation around a common horizontal axis, means for rotating the shaft of one of said spindles, and means for securing the axially spaced ends of an article for rotation with the shafts of said spindles, and sensing means associated with each spindle for simultaneously sensing vibration at each said spindle and means for simultaneously displaying the vibration sensed at each said spindle.
/GEDEON M KIDANU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 12/29/25