DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 01/26/2024. Claims 1-33 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/26/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0287103) (hereinafter “Cozzo”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Cozzo reference entirety, Cozzo discloses an apparatus (FIG. 1; 111-116) for wireless communication (FIG. 1) at a first user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3; 116), comprising: a memory (FIG. 3; 360); and at least one processor (FIG. 3; 340) coupled to (see FIG. 1 for connection details) the memory (FIG. 3; 360) and configured to:
receive, from a base station (FIG. 1; 101-103; or FIG. 2), a grant (first information) associated with a set of random access channel (RACH) resources (PRACH resources), a first part (first group) of the set of RACH resources for a reduced capability report (RedCap UE) including second group) of the set of RACH resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition request (non-RedCap UE) (Abstract and thereinafter: "A method of operating a user equipment (UE) includes receiving first information indicating a first partition of physical random access channel (PRACH) resources into a first group and a second group. A first PRACH transmission using a first PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources indicates a first set of features for the UE. A second PRACH transmission using a second PRACH resource from the second group of PRACH resources indicates a second set of features for the UE. The UE further includes determining a PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources or from the second group of PRACH resources." Or para [0117]: "... the first PRACH resources or preambles partition can be a partition A for use by a first UE type or a first group of UE types and the second PRACH resource partition can be a partition B for use by a second UE type or a second group of UE types, wherein the first UE type can be a RedCap UE and the second UE type can be a non-RedCap UE." Or para [0077]: “… "gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure to a UE (such as the UE 116) one or more TDRA tables that the UE uses to determine the resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions. With respect to a TDRA table that does not include a number of repetitions, the TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission can have an additional column that indicates a number of repetitions for each Msg3 PUSCH transmission resource allocation defined by a row of the table. For example, the number of repetitions can be a value from a range of values {1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16}. The number of rows of a TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH with repetitions can be same as a TDRA table for transmission without repetitions, and a 'Time domain resource assignment' field of the DCI can have a same size. The 'Time domain resource assignment' field value m of the DCI provides a row index m+l to an allocated table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. For example, a gNB can configure one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission without repetitions and one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and indicate in a SIB one of the tables for a UE to use. The indication can additionally or alternatively be provided in a RAR, for example using the UL grant of the RAR. This is advantageous as a gNB can adapt a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission, wherein the number of repetition can be 1 (no repetitions) … .” Moreover, Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE is also disclosed in para [0072] and thereinafter. Furthermore; Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; steps 610-630 and para [0085]: “In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table and a second TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 620, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception providing a RAR message. In step 630, the UE is indicated a value min a RAR UL grant, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to an allocated table.”); and
transmit, in the set of or one or more repetition number indications, wherein each of the one or more repetition number indications is associated with a requested number of repetitions (Abstract and thereinafter: "... The UE further includes determining a PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources or from the second group of PRACH resources and transmitting a PRACH using the determined PRACH resource in a RACH occasion (RO)." Moreover; para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission." Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; step 640 and para [0085]: “In step 640, the UE transmits a Msg3 PUSCH using resources determined from the allocated table. Alternatively, in certain embodiments, the indication at step 620 can be in the SIB.").
Cozzo appears to fail to clearly teach the limitation of “a first part (first group) of the set of RACH resources for a reduced capability report (RedCap UE) including a setof overlapping resources that overlaps with a second part (second group) of the set of RACH resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition request.” However, in para [0073] and thereinafter, Cozzo also discloses the number of repetitions for a MSG3 PUSCH transmission can be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission, or entry in one or more time resource assignment (TDRA) tables. The TDRA tables are corresponding to the RACH resources (TDRA table) and they can be designed to be overlapped to provide a better indication of the PUSCH mapping type and a start and length of PUSCH transmission in a slot (Cozzo; para [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cozzo’s TDRA tables to provide “a first part of the set of RACH resources (TDRA tables) for a reduced capability report (RedCap UE) including a set of overlapping resources that overlaps with a second part (second group) of the set of RACH resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition request (non-RedCap UE).” A motivation for doing so would be to provide a better indication of the PUSCH mapping type and a start and length of PUSCH transmission in a slot (Cozzo; para [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprise one or more of: a RACH Msg 2 or Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 2 or Msg 4 PDCCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 2 or Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 2 or Msg 4 PDSCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request, or a RACH Msg 4 PUCCH repetition number indication (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a configuration enabling or disabling transmission of the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources (para [0077]: “… "gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure to a UE (such as the UE 116) one or more TDRA tables that the UE uses to determine the resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions. With respect to a TDRA table that does not include a number of repetitions, the TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission can have an additional column that indicates a number of repetitions for each Msg3 PUSCH transmission resource allocation defined by a row of the table. For example, the number of repetitions can be a value from a range of values {1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16}. The number of rows of a TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH with repetitions can be same as a TDRA table for transmission without repetitions, and a 'Time domain resource assignment' field of the DCI can have a same size. The 'Time domain resource assignment' field value m of the DCI provides a row index m+l to an allocated table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. For example, a gNB can configure one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission without repetitions and one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and indicate in a SIB one of the tables for a UE to use. The indication can additionally or alternatively be provided in a RAR, for example using the UL grant of the RAR. This is advantageous as a gNB can adapt a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission, wherein the number of repetition can be 1 (no repetitions) … .” In addition, para [0132]: "… for a Type-2 random access procedure, a UE (such as the UE 116) determines time resources and frequency resources for PUSCH occasions in an active or initial UL BWP from rnsgA-PUSCHConfig for the active or initial UL BWP. The UE can be provided an information in SIB for transmission of MsgA with repetition. The number of repetitions can be indicated in SIB or can be a default value when transmission of MsgA with repetitions is enabled in SIB. For example, the number of repetitions can be a value from a range of values {1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16}.").
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the set of overlapping resources comprises more than one RACH resource subsets, each of the more than one RACH resource subsets being associated with at least one distinct repetition request or at least one distinct repetition number indication of the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications (para [0070]: "... a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 4 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a configuration individually enabling or disabling transmission of the at least one distinct repetition request or the at least one distinct repetition number indication for each of the more than one RACH resource subsets (para [0070]: "... a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is configured to transmit, in the set of overlapping resources, the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications based on a configuration or a condition enabling use of the set of overlapping resources (para [0078]: "It is also possible that a gNB (such as the BS 102) identifies whether (i) a UE (such as the UE 116) supports a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions, (ii) a UE requests to transmit Msg3 PUSCH with repetitions, (iii) a UE requests to transmit Msg3 PUSCH with a configured number of repetitions, from a PRACH preamble that the UE uses to initiate a random access procedure, or a combination thereof. After reception of a PRACH preamble, the gNB can indicate in a RAR a TDRA table to be used for transmission of Msg3 PUSCH." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations.).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the configuration enables the UE to transmit the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources if the UE is associated with at least one of a reduced reception antenna number or a reduced reception antenna gain, and wherein the configuration further indicates for the UE not to transmit the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources if the UE is not associated with the at least one of the reduced reception antenna number or the reduced reception antenna gain (para [0072]: "Embodiments in this disclosure can generally apply to the operations of a type or group of UEs in networks with the ability to support multiple service types requiring different requirements for data and control information, and multiple UE types with different capabilities, such as described in FIGS. 6-17, below. In one example, a UE type can be a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE that supports a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz for FRI and 100 MHz for FR2, and may supports either 1 or 2 receive antennas and corresponding maximum downlink (DL) MIMO layers. In another examples, embodiments apply to UEs that support a group of features for coverage enhancement (CE-features) or support a CE-feature of transmission of Msg3 with repetitions. In yet another example, embodiments apply to a RedCap UE that supports CE-features. Embodiments in this disclosure can also generally apply to a PUSCH transmission with repetitions for a Contention Free Random Access (CFRA) PUSCH that is scheduled by RAR UL grant and transmitted by the UE while in CONNECTED state." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations.).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the configuration enables the UE to transmit the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources if the UE is associated with at least one of a reduced transmission antenna number or a reduced transmission antenna gain, and wherein the configuration indicates for the UE not to transmit the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources if the UE is not associated with the at least one of the reduced transmission antenna number or the reduced transmission antenna gain (para [0072]: "Embodiments in this disclosure can generally apply to the operations of a type or group of UEs in networks with the ability to support multiple service types requiring different requirements for data and control information, and multiple UE types with different capabilities, such as described in FIGS. 6-17, below. In one example, a UE type can be a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE that supports a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz for FRI and 100 MHz for FR2, and may supports either 1 or 2 receive antennas and corresponding maximum downlink (DL) MIMO layers. In another examples, embodiments apply to UEs that support a group of features for coverage enhancement (CE-features) or support a CE-feature of transmission of Msg3 with repetitions. In yet another example, embodiments apply to a RedCap UE that supports CE-features. Embodiments in this disclosure can also generally apply to a PUSCH transmission with repetitions for a Contention Free Random Access (CFRA) PUSCH that is scheduled by RAR UL grant and transmitted by the UE while in CONNECTED state." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations.).
Regarding claim 9, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the configuration enables the UE to transmit the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources if the UE is associated with a reduced capability, and wherein the configuration indicates for the UE not to transmit the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications in the set of overlapping resources if the UE is not associated with the reduced capability (para [0072]: "Embodiments in this disclosure can generally apply to the operations of a type or group of UEs in networks with the ability to support multiple service types requiring different requirements for data and control information, and multiple UE types with different capabilities, such as described in FIGS. 6-17, below. In one example, a UE type can be a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE that supports a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz for FRI and 100 MHz for FR2, and may supports either 1 or 2 receive antennas and corresponding maximum downlink (DL) MIMO layers. In another examples, embodiments apply to UEs that support a group of features for coverage enhancement (CE-features) or support a CE-feature of transmission of Msg3 with repetitions. In yet another example, embodiments apply to a RedCap UE that supports CE-features. Embodiments in this disclosure can also generally apply to a PUSCH transmission with repetitions for a Contention Free Random Access (CFRA) PUSCH that is scheduled by RAR UL grant and transmitted by the UE while in CONNECTED state." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations.).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein a reduced capability associated with the reduced capability report comprises one or more of: a reduced bandwidth, a reduced transmission antenna number, a reduced transmission antenna gain, a reduced reception antenna number, a reduced reception antenna gain, a reduced number of reception antenna chains, a half-duplex-frequency division duplex (HD-FDD), a reduced hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processing capability, a reduced channel state information (CSI) processing capability, or a reduced beam management capability (para [0072]: "Embodiments in this disclosure can generally apply to the operations of a type or group of UEs in networks with the ability to support multiple service types requiring different requirements for data and control information, and multiple UE types with different capabilities, such as described in FIGS. 6-17, below. In one example, a UE type can be a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE that supports a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz for FRI and 100 MHz for FR2, and may supports either 1 or 2 receive antennas and corresponding maximum downlink (DL) MIMO layers. In another examples, embodiments apply to UEs that support a group of features for coverage enhancement (CE-features) or support a CE-feature of transmission of Msg3 with repetitions. In yet another example, embodiments apply to a RedCap UE that supports CE-features. Embodiments in this disclosure can also generally apply to a PUSCH transmission with repetitions for a Contention Free Random Access (CFRA) PUSCH that is scheduled by RAR UL grant and transmitted by the UE while in CONNECTED state." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations.).
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the set of RACH resources comprise at least one of one or more RACH occasions (ROs) or one or more RACH preambles (para [0109]: "A gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure more than one TDRA table that a UE (such as the UE 116) can use to determine a resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission, and configure partitions of PRACH resources associated to the TDRA tables. One table can be associated to Msg3 transmission without repetitions and one or more tables can be associated to Msg3 transmission with repetitions, or all tables can be associated to Msg3 with repetitions. A UE can select one of the configured TDRA tables and transmit a PRACH preamble in a RACH occasion (RO) or in a set of ROs selected from the PRACH resources associated to the selected TDRA table. The RO or the set of ROs can be used by any of the preambles of the different partitions.").
Regarding claim 12, in addition to features recited in base claim 11 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more RACH preambles are overlappingly partitioned among the first part of the set of RACH resources and the second part of the set of RACH resources and the one or more ROs are shared among the first part of the set of RACH resources and the second part of the set of RACH resources, or the one or more ROs are overlappingly partitioned among the first part of the set of RACH resources and the second part of the set of RACH resources and the one or more RACH preambles are shared among the first part of the set of RACH resources and the second part of the set of RACH resources (para [0109]: "A gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure more than one TDRA table that a UE (such as the UE 116) can use to determine a resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission, and configure partitions of PRACH resources associated to the TDRA tables. One table can be associated to Msg3 transmission without repetitions and one or more tables can be associated to Msg3 transmission with repetitions, or all tables can be associated to Msg3 with repetitions. A UE can select one of the configured TDRA tables and transmit a PRACH preamble in a RACH occasion (RO) or in a set of ROs selected from the PRACH resources associated to the selected TDRA table. The RO or the set of ROs can be used by any of the preambles of the different partitions." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations.).
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request or a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a Msg 2 PDCCH associated with a random access response (RAR) window length, one or more RAR window masks, or a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), the RAR window length, the one or more RAR window masks, or the RA-RNTI being associated with the RACH Msg 2 PDCCH repetition request or the RACH Msg 2 PDSCH repetition request (para [0083]: "An indication of which TDRA table a UE should use can be indicated in a RAR by a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). For example, a RA-RNTI-Msg3rep is associated with an Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions and to a corresponding TDRA table configured in SIB. In response to a PRACH transmission, a UE can detect a DCI format 1_0 with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by RA-RNTI-Msg3rep during a window controlled by higher layers and transmit Msg3 PUSCH using time domain resources indicated by the corresponding TDRA table.").
Regarding claim 14, in addition to features recited in base claim 13 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, one or more repetitions of a PDCCH based on the RACH Msg 2 PDCCH repetition number indication (para [0083]: "An indication of which TDRA table a UE should use can be indicated in a RAR by a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). For example, a RA-RNTI-Msg3rep is associated with an Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions and to a corresponding TDRA table configured in SIB. In response to a PRACH transmission, a UE can detect a DCI format 1_0 with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by RA-RNTI-Msg3rep during a window controlled by higher layers and transmit Msg3 PUSCH using time domain resources indicated by the corresponding TDRA table." Moreover; para [0116]: "In certain embodiments, for a Type-2 random access procedure, when a PRACH resources or preambles partition is associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission (wherein the MsgA PUSCH transmission can be with or without repetitions), the RSRP threshold that the UE may use to select a PRACH resource from a PRACH resources or preambles partition associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission with repetitions, can be same as the threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB configured in RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA- r16 IE that the UE may use to select the SS block. The SS block may or may not be associated with an RMSI, and corresponding PRACH resource for path-loss estimation and (re)transmission based on SS blocks that satisfy the threshold or can be a different threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB-rep configured in RACH-configCommonTwoStepRA-r16 IE.").
Regarding claim 15, in addition to features recited in base claim 13 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises the RACH Msg 2 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a PDCCH associated with a downlink control information (DCI) including one or more repetitions based on the RACH Msg 2 PDSCH repetition request (para [0083]: "An indication of which TDRA table a UE should use can be indicated in a RAR by a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). For example, a RA-RNTI-Msg3rep is associated with an Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions and to a corresponding TDRA table configured in SIB. In response to a PRACH transmission, a UE can detect a DCI format 1_0 with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by RA-RNTI-Msg3rep during a window controlled by higher layers and transmit Msg3 PUSCH using time domain resources indicated by the corresponding TDRA table." Moreover; para [0116]: "In certain embodiments, for a Type-2 random access procedure, when a PRACH resources or preambles partition is associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission (wherein the MsgA PUSCH transmission can be with or without repetitions), the RSRP threshold that the UE may use to select a PRACH resource from a PRACH resources or preambles partition associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission with repetitions, can be same as the threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB configured in RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA- r16 IE that the UE may use to select the SS block. The SS block may or may not be associated with an RMSI, and corresponding PRACH resource for path-loss estimation and (re)transmission based on SS blocks that satisfy the threshold or can be a different threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB-rep configured in RACH-configCommonTwoStepRA-r16 IE.").
Regarding claim 16, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises a RACH Msg 3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) comprising a random access response (RAR) UL grant indicating one or more repetitions for the RACH Msg 3 PUSCH, the one or more repetitions being based on the RACH Msg 3 PUSCH repetition number indication (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 17, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDCCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDSCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request, or a RACH Msg 4 PUCCH repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a RACH Msg 2 indicating whether Msg 4 PDCCH repetition, Msg 4 PDSCH repetition, or Msg PUCCH repetition is expected (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 18, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request without a number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request without the number indication, or a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request without the number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, a RACH Msg 2 indicating whether to transmit the number indication associated with the RACH Msg 4 PDCCH, the RACH Msg 4 PDSCH, or the RACH Msg 4 PUCCH in a RACH Msg 3 (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 19, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request without a number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request without the number indication, or a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request without the number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the base station, a RACH Msg 3 indicating the number indication associated with the RACH Msg 4 PDCCH, the RACH Msg 4 PDSCH, or the RACH Msg 4 PUCCH (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission." Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; step 640 and para [0085]: “In step 640, the UE transmits a Msg3 PUSCH using resources determined from the allocated table. Alternatively, in certain embodiments, the indication at step 620 can be in the SIB.").
Regarding claim 20, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDCCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDSCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request, or a RACH Msg 4 PUCCH repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the base station, the RACH Msg 4 PDCCH, the RACH Msg 4 PDSCH, or the RACH Msg 4 PUCCH with a number of repetitions based on the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications (para [0077]: “… "gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure to a UE (such as the UE 116) one or more TDRA tables that the UE uses to determine the resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions. With respect to a TDRA table that does not include a number of repetitions, the TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission can have an additional column that indicates a number of repetitions for each Msg3 PUSCH transmission resource allocation defined by a row of the table. For example, the number of repetitions can be a value from a range of values {1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16}. The number of rows of a TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH with repetitions can be same as a TDRA table for transmission without repetitions, and a 'Time domain resource assignment' field of the DCI can have a same size. The 'Time domain resource assignment' field value m of the DCI provides a row index m+l to an allocated table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. For example, a gNB can configure one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission without repetitions and one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and indicate in a SIB one of the tables for a UE to use. The indication can additionally or alternatively be provided in a RAR, for example using the UL grant of the RAR. This is advantageous as a gNB can adapt a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission, wherein the number of repetition can be 1 (no repetitions) … .” Moreover, Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE is also disclosed in para [0072] and thereinafter. Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; steps 610-630 and para [0085]: “In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table and a second TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 620, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception providing a RAR message. In step 630, the UE is indicated a value min a RAR UL grant, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to an allocated table.”).
Regarding claim 21, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of a transceiver (FIG. 3; 310) coupled to the at least one processor (FIG. 3; 340) (see FIG,. 3 for connection details).
Regarding claim 22, in accordance with Cozzo reference entirety, Cozzo discloses an apparatus (FIG. 1; 101-103) for wireless communication (FIG. 1) at a base station (FIG. 2), comprising: a memory (FIG. 2; 230); and at least one processor (FIG. 2; 225) coupled to (see FIG. 2 for connection details) the memory (FIG. 2; 230) and configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a grant associated with a set of random access channel (RACH) resources, a first part of the set of RACH resources for a reduced capability report (RedCap UE) including non-RedCap UE) (Abstract and thereinafter: "A method of operating a user equipment (UE) includes receiving first information indicating a first partition of physical random access channel (PRACH) resources into a first group and a second group. A first PRACH transmission using a first PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources indicates a first set of features for the UE. A second PRACH transmission using a second PRACH resource from the second group of PRACH resources indicates a second set of features for the UE. The UE further includes determining a PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources or from the second group of PRACH resources." para [0117]: "... the first PRACH resources or preambles partition can be a partition A for use by a first UE type or a first group of UE types and the second PRACH resource partition can be a partition B for use by a second UE type or a second group of UE types, wherein the first UE type can be a RedCap UE and the second UE type can be a non-RedCap UE." Or para [0077]: “… "gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure to a UE (such as the UE 116) one or more TDRA tables that the UE uses to determine the resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions. With respect to a TDRA table that does not include a number of repetitions, the TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission can have an additional column that indicates a number of repetitions for each Msg3 PUSCH transmission resource allocation defined by a row of the table. For example, the number of repetitions can be a value from a range of values {1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16}. The number of rows of a TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH with repetitions can be same as a TDRA table for transmission without repetitions, and a 'Time domain resource assignment' field of the DCI can have a same size. The 'Time domain resource assignment' field value m of the DCI provides a row index m+l to an allocated table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. For example, a gNB can configure one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission without repetitions and one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and indicate in a SIB one of the tables for a UE to use. The indication can additionally or alternatively be provided in a RAR, for example using the UL grant of the RAR. This is advantageous as a gNB can adapt a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission, wherein the number of repetition can be 1 (no repetitions) … .” Moreover, Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE is also disclosed in para [0072] and thereinafter. Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; steps 610-630 and para [0085]: “In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table and a second TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 620, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception providing a RAR message. In step 630, the UE is indicated a value min a RAR UL grant, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to an allocated table.”); and
receive, in the set of Abstract and thereinafter: "... The UE further includes determining a PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources or from the second group of PRACH resources and transmitting a PRACH using the determined PRACH resource in a RACH occasion (RO)." Moreover; para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission." Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; step 640 and para [0085]: “In step 640, the UE transmits a Msg3 PUSCH using resources determined from the allocated table. Alternatively, in certain embodiments, the indication at step 620 can be in the SIB.").
Cozzo appears to fail to clearly teach the limitation of “a first part (first group) of the set of RACH resources for a reduced capability report (RedCap UE) including a setwith a second part (second group) of the set of RACH resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition request.” However, in para [0073] and thereinafter, Cozzo also discloses the number of repetitions for a MSG3 PUSCH transmission can be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission, or entry in one or more time resource assignment (TDRA) tables. The TDRA tables are corresponding to the RACH resources (TDRA table) and they can be designed to be overlapped to provide a better indication of the PUSCH mapping type and a start and length of PUSCH transmission in a slot (Cozzo; para [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cozzo’s TDRA tables to provide “a first part of the set of RACH resources (TDRA tables) for a reduced capability report (RedCap UE) including a set of overlapping resources that overlaps with a second part (second group) of the set of RACH resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition request (non-RedCap UE).” A motivation for doing so would be to provide a better indication of the PUSCH mapping type and a start and length of PUSCH transmission in a slot (Cozzo; para [0070]).
Regarding claim 23, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request or a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a Msg 2 PDCCH associated with a random access response (RAR) window length, one or more RAR window masks, or a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), the RAR window length, the one or more RAR window masks, or the RA-RNTI being associated with the RACH Msg 2 PDCCH repetition request or the RACH Msg 2 PDSCH repetition request (para [0083]: "An indication of which TDRA table a UE should use can be indicated in a RAR by a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). For example, a RA-RNTI-Msg3rep is associated with an Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions and to a corresponding TDRA table configured in SIB. In response to a PRACH transmission, a UE can detect a DCI format 1_0 with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by RA-RNTI-Msg3rep during a window controlled by higher layers and transmit Msg3 PUSCH using time domain resources indicated by the corresponding TDRA table.").
Regarding claim 24, in addition to features recited in base claim 23 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, one or more repetitions of a PDCCH based on the RACH Msg 2 PDCCH repetition number indication (para [0083]: "An indication of which TDRA table a UE should use can be indicated in a RAR by a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). For example, a RA-RNTI-Msg3rep is associated with an Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions and to a corresponding TDRA table configured in SIB. In response to a PRACH transmission, a UE can detect a DCI format 1_0 with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by RA-RNTI-Msg3rep during a window controlled by higher layers and transmit Msg3 PUSCH using time domain resources indicated by the corresponding TDRA table." Moreover; para [0116]: "In certain embodiments, for a Type-2 random access procedure, when a PRACH resources or preambles partition is associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission (wherein the MsgA PUSCH transmission can be with or without repetitions), the RSRP threshold that the UE may use to select a PRACH resource from a PRACH resources or preambles partition associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission with repetitions, can be same as the threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB configured in RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA- r16 IE that the UE may use to select the SS block. The SS block may or may not be associated with an RMSI, and corresponding PRACH resource for path-loss estimation and (re)transmission based on SS blocks that satisfy the threshold or can be a different threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB-rep configured in RACH-configCommonTwoStepRA-r16 IE.").
Regarding claim 25, in addition to features recited in base claim 23 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises the RACH Msg 2 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a PDCCH associated with a downlink control information (DCI) including one or more repetitions based on the RACH Msg 2 PDSCH repetition request (para [0083]: "An indication of which TDRA table a UE should use can be indicated in a RAR by a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). For example, a RA-RNTI-Msg3rep is associated with an Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions and to a corresponding TDRA table configured in SIB. In response to a PRACH transmission, a UE can detect a DCI format 1_0 with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by RA-RNTI-Msg3rep during a window controlled by higher layers and transmit Msg3 PUSCH using time domain resources indicated by the corresponding TDRA table." Moreover; para [0116]: "In certain embodiments, for a Type-2 random access procedure, when a PRACH resources or preambles partition is associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission (wherein the MsgA PUSCH transmission can be with or without repetitions), the RSRP threshold that the UE may use to select a PRACH resource from a PRACH resources or preambles partition associated to a MsgA PUSCH transmission with repetitions, can be same as the threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB configured in RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA- r16 IE that the UE may use to select the SS block. The SS block may or may not be associated with an RMSI, and corresponding PRACH resource for path-loss estimation and (re)transmission based on SS blocks that satisfy the threshold or can be a different threshold msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB-rep configured in RACH-configCommonTwoStepRA-r16 IE.").
Regarding claim 26, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises a RACH Msg 3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a RACH Msg 2 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) comprising a random access response (RAR) UL grant indicating one or more repetitions for the RACH Msg 3 PUSCH, the one or more repetitions being based on the RACH Msg 3 PUSCH repetition number indication (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 27, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDCCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDSCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request, or a RACH Msg 4 PUCCH repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a RACH Msg 2 indicating whether Msg 4 PDCCH repetition, Msg 4 PDSCH repetition, or Msg PUCCH repetition is expected (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 28, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request without a number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request without the number indication, or a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request without the number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a RACH Msg 2 indicating whether to transmit the number indication associated with the RACH Msg 4 PDCCH, the RACH Msg 4 PDSCH, or the RACH Msg 4 PUCCH in a RACH Msg 3 (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission.").
Regarding claim 29, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request without a number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request without the number indication, or a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request without the number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a RACH Msg 3 indicating the number indication associated with the RACH Msg 4 PDCCH, the RACH Msg 4 PDSCH, or the RACH Msg 4 PUCCH (para [0070]: "In certain embodiments, a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission are provided to a UE (such as the UE 116) from a gNB (such as the BS 102) by higher layers. For example, a number of Msg3 PUSCH repetitions can be configured by a field in the RRC IE random access channel (RACH)-ConfigCommon that is used to configure cell specific random-access parameters or in RRC IE puschConfigCommon which is used to configure cell specific parameters for PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in a downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception providing a random access response (RAR) message corresponding to the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, for example by indicating one number of repetitions from a set of numbers of repetitions provided by higher layers. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can additionally or alternatively be indicated by a field in an uplink (UL) grant of the RAR message scheduling a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can alternatively be indicated by an entry in a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table that, in addition to a PUSCH mapping type and a start and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a slot, indicates a number of repetitions for the PUSCH transmission." Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; step 640 and para [0085]: “In step 640, the UE transmits a Msg3 PUSCH using resources determined from the allocated table. Alternatively, in certain embodiments, the indication at step 620 can be in the SIB.").
Regarding claim 30, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of wherein the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications comprises one or more of: a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDCCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition request, a RACH Msg 4 PDSCH repetition number indication, a RACH Msg 4 physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition request, or a RACH Msg 4 PUCCH repetition number indication, and wherein the at least one processor coupled to the memory is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, the RACH Msg 4 PDCCH, the RACH Msg 4 PDSCH, or the RACH Msg 4 PUCCH with a number of repetitions based on the one or more repetition requests or the one or more repetition number indications (para [0077]: “… "gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure to a UE (such as the UE 116) one or more TDRA tables that the UE uses to determine the resource allocation for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions. With respect to a TDRA table that does not include a number of repetitions, the TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission can have an additional column that indicates a number of repetitions for each Msg3 PUSCH transmission resource allocation defined by a row of the table. For example, the number of repetitions can be a value from a range of values {1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, 16}. The number of rows of a TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH with repetitions can be same as a TDRA table for transmission without repetitions, and a 'Time domain resource assignment' field of the DCI can have a same size. The 'Time domain resource assignment' field value m of the DCI provides a row index m+l to an allocated table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. For example, a gNB can configure one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission without repetitions and one TDRA table for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and indicate in a SIB one of the tables for a UE to use. The indication can additionally or alternatively be provided in a RAR, for example using the UL grant of the RAR. This is advantageous as a gNB can adapt a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission, wherein the number of repetition can be 1 (no repetitions) … .” Moreover, Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE is also disclosed in para [0072] and thereinafter. Alternatively, this limitation can also be anticipated by procedure of FIG. 6; steps 610-630 and para [0085]: “In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table and a second TDRA table for Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 620, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception providing a RAR message. In step 630, the UE is indicated a value min a RAR UL grant, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to an allocated table.”).
Regarding claim 31, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Cozzo also renders obvious the claim limitations of a transceiver (FIG. 2; 210) coupled to the at least one processor (FIG. 2; 225) (see FIG. 2 for connection details).
As per claim 32, the claim appears to call for a method having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations as apparatus claim 1. Thus, it is also deemed obvious over Cozzo for the same rationales applied to apparatus claim 1 as above discussed.
As per claim 33, the claim appears to call for a method having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations as apparatus claim 22. Thus, it is also deemed obvious over Cozzo for the same rationales applied to apparatus claim 22 as above discussed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0032103).
Li et al. (US 2024/0389134).
Bae et al. (US 2023/0051928).
Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 11,903,037).
Moderator (ZTE Corporation), Feature lead summary on support of Type A PUSCH repetitions for Msg3, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e, R1-210xxxx, 71 pages, January 25th to February 5th, 2021.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 January 5, 2026