DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 13-16, 20-21, 23, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2021/0105643 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
In regard amended claim 1, Kim teaches or discloses a communication method based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, performed by a terminal, comprising:
obtaining measurement relaxation criterion information sent by a network device (see paragraphs [0025], and [0026], transmitting configuration information associated with frequency measurement to a terminal by a base station in a wireless communication system is provided. The terminal comprises a transceiver and at least one processor configured to: receive, from a base station, by controlling the transceiver, system information comprising first configuration information associated with frequency measurement and second configuration information associated with relaxed frequency measurement), the measurement relaxation criterion information indicating a measurement relaxation criterion for performing measurement relaxation when a terminal is in a connected state (see paragraphs [0122], [0196], [0276], [0277], [0278], and [0280], the system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement. The configuration parameters may be included in a single SIB or may be distributed and transferred through a plurality of SIBs according to their uses. SIB1 may include an indicator indicating whether a cell supports RRM measurement relaxation. The UE may consider the Equation 1 to determine whether to perform measurement relaxation).
In regard claim 2, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the measurement relaxation criterion information sent by the network device comprises: obtaining measurement configuration information configured by the network device (see paragraphs [0122], [0123], and [0158], the system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement. the configuration parameters related to the relaxed monitoring criterion may function as an indicator indicating that a cell supports RRM measurement relaxation, and therefore, there may be no indicator indicating that a cell supports RRM measurement relaxation).
In regard claim 3, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 2, wherein obtaining the measurement configuration information configured by the network device comprises: obtaining the measurement configuration information configured by the network device based on a radio resource control dedicated signaling (see paragraph [0158], the configuration parameters related to the relaxed monitoring criterion may function as an indicator indicating whether a serving gNB supports RRM measurement relaxation, and therefore, there may be no indicator indicating whether a serving gNB supports RRM measurement relaxation).
In regard claim 9, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the measurement relaxation criterion information sent by the network device comprises:
obtaining a measurement relaxation criterion parameter required for the terminal to perform the measurement relaxation sent by the network device (see paragraphs [0181], [0197], [0198, [0199], and [0218], configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation. When System Information broadcasts parameters related to RRM measurement relaxation no longer, When the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, upon cell selection or reselection. The controller 1j-50 may control the gNB such that the UE may perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement).
In regard claim 10, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 9, wherein obtaining the measurement relaxation criterion parameter required for the terminal to perform the measurement relaxation sent by the network device comprises:
obtaining the measurement relaxation criterion parameter required for the terminal to perform measurement relaxation sent by the network device based on a system message or a radio resource control dedicated signaling (see paragraphs [0182], [0196], [0197], [0198], [0199], [0200], and [0201], when System Information broadcasts parameters related to RRM measurement relaxation no longer, when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, upon cell selection or reselection, when less than 24 hours have passed since measurements for cell reselection were last performed, or entering Any Cell Selection or Camped on Any Cell state, stopping the relaxed RRM measurements).
In regard amended claim 13, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: reporting a measurement result of performing RRM measurement on a serving cell measurement object based on the measurement configuration information periodically (see paragraphs [0182], [0196], [0197], [0198], [0199], [0200], and [0201], when System Information broadcasts parameters related to RRM measurement relaxation no longer, when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, upon cell selection or reselection, when less than 24 hours have passed since measurements for cell reselection were last performed, or entering Any Cell Selection or Camped on Any Cell state, stopping the relaxed RRM measurements).
In regard amended claim 14, Kim teaches or discloses a communication method based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, performed by a network device, comprising:
sending measurement relaxation criterion information, the measurement relaxation criterion information indicating a measurement relaxation criterion for performing measurement relaxation when a terminal is in a connected state (see paragraphs [0182], [0196], [0197], [0198], [0199], [0200], and [0201], when System Information broadcasts parameters related to RRM measurement relaxation no longer, when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, upon cell selection or reselection, when less than 24 hours have passed since measurements for cell reselection were last performed, or entering Any Cell Selection or Camped on Any Cell state, stopping the relaxed RRM measurements).
In regard claim 15, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 14, wherein sending the measurement relaxation criterion information comprises: configuring measurement configuration information, and sending the configured measurement configuration information (see paragraphs [0119], and [0270], the relaxed RRM measurement may need to be configured under a condition that does not damage mobility performance. Configuration parameters related to the above-described relaxed measurement is referred to as a second configuration information, and an operation of applying the second configuration information to determine whether to perform relaxed intra-frequency or inter-frequency cell measurement is referred to as a second operation).
In regard claim 16, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 15, wherein sending the configured measurement configuration information comprises: sending the configured measurement configuration information based on a radio resource control dedicated signaling (see paragraphs [0025], and [0027], transmitting, to a terminal, system information comprising first configuration information associated with frequency measurement and second configuration information associated with relaxed frequency measurement).
In regard claim 20, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 14, wherein sending the measurement relaxation criterion information comprises: sending a measurement relaxation criterion parameter required for the terminal to perform the measurement relaxation (see paragraph [0027], the base station comprises a transceiver and at least one processor configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to a terminal, system information comprising first configuration information associated with frequency measurement and second configuration information associated with relaxed frequency measurement, wherein the first configuration information associated with the frequency measurement).
In regard claim 21, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 15, wherein sending the measurement relaxation criterion parameter required for the terminal to perform the measurement relaxation comprises: sending the measurement relaxation criterion parameter required for the terminal to perform the measurement relaxation based on a system message or a radio resource control dedicated signaling (see paragraphs [0122], [123], [0144], [0158], [0169], [0196], [0251], and [0272]).
In regard claim 23, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising:
obtaining a radio resource management (RRM) measurement result reported periodically by the terminal, and determining the measurement relaxation mechanism based on the RRM measurement result (see paragraphs [0118], [0119], [0122], [0123], [0154], [0155], [0159], and [0183]).
In regard claim 28, Kim teaches or discloses a communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 1i, element 1i-20); and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (see Fig. 1i, elements 1i-30, 1i-40);
wherein the processor is configured to (see Fig. 1i):
obtain measurement relaxation criterion information sent by a network device (see paragraphs [0182], [0196], [0197], [0198], [0199], [0200], and [0201], when System Information broadcasts parameters related to RRM measurement relaxation no longer, when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, upon cell selection or reselection, when less than 24 hours have passed since measurements for cell reselection were last performed, or entering Any Cell Selection or Camped on Any Cell state, stopping the relaxed RRM measurements),
the measurement relaxation criterion information indicating a measurement relaxation criterion for performing measurement relaxation when a terminal is in a connected state (see paragraphs [0182], [0196], [0197], [0198], [0199], [0200], and [0201], when System Information broadcasts parameters related to RRM measurement relaxation no longer, when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, upon cell selection or reselection, when less than 24 hours have passed since measurements for cell reselection were last performed, or entering Any Cell Selection or Camped on Any Cell state, stopping the relaxed RRM measurements).
In regard claim 30, Kim teaches or discloses a communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism (see Fig. 1i), comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (see Fig. 1i); wherein the processor is configured to perform the communication method based on a measurement relaxation mechanism claim 14 (see Fig. 1i, paragraphs [0118], [0119], [0122], [0146], [0147], [0154], [0154], [0158], [0159], [0169], and [0170]).
In regard claim 32, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement relaxation criterion comprises at least one of: a low mobility criterion or a non-cell edge criterion (see paragraphs [0018], [0019], [0020], [0021], [0025], [0027], and [0146], at least one of third configuration information associated with a criterion for the terminal with low mobility (low mobility criterion) or fourth configuration information associated with a criterion for the terminal not at cell edge (not at cell edge criterion), the third configuration information comprises a threshold value S.sub.SearchDeltaP for variation of a cell selection receive level value (Srxlev), and the fourth configuration information comprises at least one of a threshold value S.sub.SearchThresholdP for the Srxlev for relaxed frequency measurement or a threshold value S.sub.SearchThresholdQ for a cell selection quality value (Squal) for relaxed frequency measurement. That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 17-19, and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Date: 12/30/2025
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476