DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 01/26/2024 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1 and 3-17 have been amended.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “controller” in claims 15-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, the claim calls for “in which an appearance of the estimation target in the second environment is assumed based on user environment information about the second environment”, the phrase “assumed” is indefinitely and ambiguous. For the purpose of the examination, the appearance of the estimation target is to be interpreted as relating to the second environment.
Claim 2-14 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1.
Claims 15-16 are rejected for the similar reason as of claim 1.
Claim 17 is rejected as being dependent upon claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kurita et al (“Kurita” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0222645 A1).
As per claim 1, Kurita discloses a trainer model (figure 4, model generation apparatus 1) generating method comprising: acquiring a first model (first estimation model 5) obtained by using first image data as learning data to perform training processing for an estimation target, the first image data representing the estimation target in the first environment (paragraph [0042]: “obtains the first training data 30 including multiple acceptable-product images 31 of defect-free products obtained in the target inspection environment”); acquiring second image data representing the estimation target in a second environment in which estimation is to be performed (paragraph [0043]: “the second training data 35 including multiple defect images 371 of defects. The defect images 371 are examples of second training images”; paragraph [0116]: “The second training data 35 may be automatically generated through a computer operation or at least partially manually generated through an operation performed by an operator”); generating a second model based on the first model by using the second image data as learning data (paragraph [0118]: “the controller 11 operates as the second trainer 114 and trains the second estimation model 6 through machine learning using the obtained second training data 35”; paragraph [0119]: “the controller 11 first prepares neural networks to be the encoder 61 and the decoder 65 included in the second estimation model 6 to undergo machine learning”, which implies the second estimation model 6 is based on first estimation model structure); and outputting a trained model based on the second model (paragraph [0124]: “the trained second estimation model 6” is the claimed “trained model based on the second model”), wherein the second image data includes an image in which an appearance of the estimation target in the second environment is assumed based on user environment information about the second environment (as explained above, in paragraph [0116], Kurita teaches the product images with/without defects are obtained in an operation performed by an operator, which is the claimed “second environment”/ “user environment information”).
As per claim 3, Kurita discloses acquiring, as the user environment information, information specifying a factor responsible for noise that occurs in the second image in the second environment (paragraph [0121]: “an error between the obtained determination image and the corresponding true image 38 for each training data set 36”, and Kurita teaches the training set “may be automatically generated through a computer operation or at least partially manually generated through an operation performed by an operator”).
As per claim 4, Kurita discloses acquiring, as the user environment information, information specifying a factor causing a difference between the first image and the second image data (paragraph [0115]: Kurita teaches the factor may be whether the product is defective or defect-free, or automatically generated by a computer or manually generated by an operator).
As per claim 7, Kurita discloses acquiring, as the user environment information, information on an image-capturing parameter of image-capturing means used in recognition of the estimation target in the second environment (paragraph [0115]: Kurita teaches identifying defect in the product image with processed or unprocessed image data).
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 1. The examiner notes the controller 11 in Kurita is the claimed “controller”.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dancel et al (“Dancel” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2021/0150309 A1).
As per claim 16, Dancel discloses As per claim 16, a user environment estimating device (abstract: a computer for “identifying patterns in first high anticipation scenarios”) comprising: a controller (figure 1, computing device 115) configured to estimate a user environment (estimating high anticipation scenarios) based on image data (figure 2) obtained by capturing prescribed object (cross walk) in the user environment (intersections), the user environment being an environment in which data on an estimation target (an object/person/pedestrian) is to be acquired, and output an estimation result of the user environment as user environment information about the user environment (figure 3, paragraphs [0027]-[0028] the estimation result may be easy/difficult).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, 8-14 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667