DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kopp et al. (U.S. patent pub. 2019/0311298 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Kopp et al. discloses a computer-implemented method for predicting one or more turn points related to a road a vehicle is travelling on (fig. 1 and paragraphs 0037-0038), the one or more turn points indicating locations where the vehicle can change direction (paragraphs 0020, 0037, and 0038, the system monitor road lanes, edges, shoulders, intersections, etc. The intersections are turning points as well as roads/lanes that are curved/bent, i.e. a slight turn. The intersections and road/lane curvature/bent are locations where the vehicle changes direction.) the method comprising:
obtaining training images of roads and their environment (paragraphs 0020 and 0024-0026);
receiving labels associated with the roads on the training images, each label comprising a training turn marker (paragraphs 0020-0024, 0038, 0039, and 0057-0060);
training an artificial neural network on a training dataset to predict one or more turn points, wherein the training dataset comprises the received labels and the obtained training images (paragraphs 0057-060);
recording at least one road image of a road and its environment (paragraphs 0073-0074); and
processing the road image by the artificial neural network to predict one or more turn points on the road image (paragraphs 0073-0074).
Regarding claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein each training turn marker comprises a turn point (paragraphs 0038-0039, wherein the lanes, roadways, signage, paint markings, etc. of the roads are obtained.).
Regarding claim 3: The method of claim 1, wherein each training turn marker comprises a turn line indicative of a road border section where a vehicle can change travelling direction (paragraphs 0038-0039, wherein the lanes, roadways, signage, paint markings, etc. of the roads are obtained. If the signs or paint markings on the road have a turn signal then this would be obtained by the system and this would be a change travelling direction.).
Regarding claim 4 The method of claim 3, further comprising determining, for each turn line, a turn point at the centre of the turn line (paragraphs 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 5: The method of claim 3, wherein a turn line indicates the road border section only if the beginning and the end of the road border section are visible on the training image (paragraphs 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 6: The method of claim 3, wherein a turn line indicates a road border section comprising a section of a road border of a main road where the main road forms a junction, an intersection, or a crossroads to a crossed road (paragraphs 0038-0039, the system detects all critical data needed for safe navigation (see last line of paragraph 0038). This is read as any objects, markers, etc., in the images are acquired and determined for a traveling vehicle.); and/or
an exit of a main road is blocked by a temporary barrier, a physical separating strip, and/or traffic signage blocking traffic (paragraphs 0038-0039, the system detects all critical data needed for safe navigation (see last line of paragraph 0038). This is read as any objects, markers, lanes, vehicles, objects, entry/exit of the roads, etc., in the images are acquired and determined for a traveling vehicle.).
Regarding claim 7: The method of claim 5, wherein a turn line does not indicate a road border section of a main road (paragraphs 0038-0039, the system detects all critical data needed for safe navigation (see last line of paragraph 0038). This is read as any objects, markers, etc., in the images are acquired and determined for a traveling vehicle.) where one or more of the following apply:
the main road is crossed by a crosswalk, the main road is curved without comprising any of a junction, intersection or crossroads, an edge of a road border section is invisible on the training image (paragraphs 0038-0039, the system detects all critical data needed for safe navigation (see last line of paragraph 0038). This is read as any objects, markers, etc., in the images are acquired and determined for a traveling vehicle.), and/or
an edge of a road that is not an edge of a carriageway of the road (paragraphs 0038-0039, the system detects all critical data needed for safe navigation (see last line of paragraph 0038). This is read as any objects, markers, etc., in the images are acquired and determined for a traveling vehicle.).
Regarding claim 8: The method of claim 1, wherein the training images include training images with randomly added shadows, colour transformations, horizontal flipping, blurring, random resizing and/or random cropping (paragraphs 0048 and 0059, scaling=resizing and light conditions=shadows. ).
Regarding claim 13: The method of claim 1, wherein the steps of recording the road mage, and processing the road image are executed by a computer attached to or comprised in a mobile device (paragraphs 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 16: The method of claim 1, wherein the training dataset further comprises:
at least one label indicating a boundary of at least one image segment and/or for each image segment, a label for a segment type indicating an object represented by the segment; and wherein training and/or processing includes predicting boundaries and/or types of image segments (paragraphs 0037, 0038, 0059 and 0062).
Regarding claim 17: The method of claim 16, wherein predicting boundaries and types of image segments comprises application of online hard example mining (paragraphs 0019-0021, 0037, 0038, and 0062, as stated it is alternative form and examiner reads the binary cross-entropy loss function is applied for the training and not for the online hard example mining), and/or wherein training comprises applying a binary cross-entropy loss function).
Regarding claim 18: The method of claim 1, further comprising recording the training and/or inference images by a vehicle-mounted camera (paragraphs 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 20: Kopp et al. discloses a system for predicting turn points indicating locations where the vehicle can change direction, the system comprising means for executing the steps of claim 13 (see claim 13).
Note: Regarding claim 20, it is believed that this claim does not fall under 35USC 112(f)/sixth paragraph interpretation since this claim includes the subject matter of claim 13. Claim 13 states that “wherein the steps of recording the road mage, and processing the road image are executed by a computer attached to or comprised in a mobile device,” i.e. hardware performing the steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp et al. (U.S. patent pub. 20190311298 A1), and further in view of Choe et al. (U.S. patent pub. 2020/0026282 A1).
Regarding claim 9: Kopp et al. does not teach the feature of “the artificial neural network comprises an output layer comprising outputs indicative of heat maps indicative of one or more of turn lines, turn points, and road segments.” Choe et al. teaches “the artificial neural network comprises an output layer comprising outputs indicative of heat maps indicative of one or more of turn lines, turn points, and road segments” (Choe et al.; see paragraph 0058). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Choe et al. to the system of Kopp et al. since they are in the same field of endeavor. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Choe et al. to the system of Kopp et al. to have “a reliable vision-based perception system for ADVs when LIDAR sensors may not be available” (Choe et al.; paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 10: Neither Kopp et al. nor Choe et al. teaches “for each heat map: applying a step function to set values below a predefined threshold to zero and all other values to one, determining one or more contiguous zones of non-zero values, and for each zone, determining a centre of mass position of the zone as a turn point.” This is a well-known feature in the art of image processing. Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate this well-known feature. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this feature in order to have a more accurate road analysis system by using a zone and object analysis n different regions of interest.
B.) Claims 11, 12, 14, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp et al. (U.S. patent pub. 20190311298 A1).
Regarding claim 11: Kopp et al. does not teach “applying a Gaussian filter to the labels of the training dataset.” This is a well-known feature in the art of image processing. Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate this well-known feature. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this feature in order to have a more accurate road analysis system.
Regarding claim 12: Kopp et al. does not teach “wherein training the artificial neural network comprises minimizing a mean squared error of the predicted turn points with respect to the training turn markers.” This is a well-known feature in the art of image processing. Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate this well-known feature. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this feature in order to have a more accurate road analysis system.
Regarding claim 14: Kopp et al. does not teach “comprising determining a confidence value for the predicted turn points on one or more road images; comparing the confidence value to a predetermined threshold; and including the one or more road images into the training dataset as training images if the confidence value is below the threshold.” Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate this well-known feature. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this feature in order to have a more accurate road analysis system.
Regarding claim 15: The method of claim 12, further comprising:
displaying the road image and/or other environmental data, superimposed with graphical and/or text output based on the predicted turn points (Kopp et al.; paragraphs 0080-0082, “Some devices 122 show detailed maps on displays outlining the route.” This outlining is read as a graphical output.).
Regarding claim 19: Kopp et al. does not teach “comprising recording the training images at a fixed frame rate, and removing each training image if it depicts the same junction as a second training image.” The recording speed and deleting of images is a matter of design choice. One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to include these features to make the system more efficient and speed up the training process by removing redundant images.
Contact Information
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANAND P BHATNAGAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668
January 8, 2026