DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/26/2024.
Claims 1- 19 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/26/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri et al. (US 20210058967 A1), hereinafter “Oteri”; and in further view of Hu et al. (US 20220046702 A1), hereinafter “Hu”.
Regarding claim 1, Oteri teaches an electronic device, comprising a processing circuit configured to [Oteri: Abstract]:
initiate a plurality of listen before talk (LBT) procedures on a plurality of beams [Oteri: Fig. 6 illustrates directional LBT for beams; Par. 128 teaches enable multiple LBT processes, the WTRU may receive, at 610, signaling from the GNB or other Network entity],
for an LBT procedure on a first beam of the plurality of beams, determine that a first threshold number of successful clear channel assessment (CCA) detections have been completed [Oteri: Fig. 6; Par. 131- 133 teaches of determines CCA success];
for an LBT procedure on at least one other beam of the plurality of beams, determine that a corresponding threshold number of successful CCA detections have not been completed [Oteri: Fig. 6; Par. 131- 133 teaches of determines CCA failure and defers its transmission].
However, Oteri does not teaches determine whether at least one additional CCA detection is to be performed on the first beam.
Nevertheless, Hu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determine whether at least one additional CCA detection is to be performed on the first beam [Hu: Fig. 15; Par. 134 teaches performing directional CCA for first beam]].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Hu for performing CCA on first beam. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Hu in the Oteri system in order to determine and perform directional CCA sensing. [Hu: Par. 133].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Oteri in view of Hu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oteri in view of Hu further teaches wherein the initiating the plurality of LBT procedures comprises generating a corresponding random number for each of the plurality of beams, wherein the random number defines a threshold number of successful CCA detections to be comprised in an LBT procedure for a corresponding beam [Oteri: Fig. 6; Par. 131- 133 teaches of determines CCA failure and defers its transmission], and
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to set a value of a CCA counter of the corresponding beam to be equal to the random number, wherein one successful CCA detection on the beam decreases the value of the CCA counter by 1 [Oteri: Par. 107 teaches of generated counter by [q-1] where q is updated response to an input].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Oteri in view of Hu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oteri in view of Hu further teaches wherein the plurality of beams comprise a plurality of downlink beams, and the electronic device can be implemented as at least a portion of a base station [Oteri: Fig. 3; Par. 10 teaches of transmit beam and receiving beam ].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Oteri in view of Hu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oteri in view of Hu further teaches wherein the plurality of beams comprise a plurality of uplink beams, and the electronic device can be implemented as at least a portion of a terminal device [Oteri: Par. 54 teaches of beams have transmit beam with different oriented width, direction and gain among others].
Regarding claim 12, Oteri teaches A method for wireless communication, comprising [Oteri: Abstract]:
initiating a plurality of listen before talk (LBT) procedures on a plurality of beams [Oteri: Fig. 6 illustrates directional LBT for beams; Par. 128 teaches enable multiple LBT processes, the WTRU may receive, at 610, signaling from the GNB or other Network entity],
for an LBT procedure on a first beam of the plurality of beams, determining that a first threshold number of successful clear channel assessment (CCA) detections have been completed [Oteri: Fig. 6; Par. 131- 133 teaches of determines CCA success];
for an LBT procedure on at least one other beam of the plurality of beams, determining that a corresponding threshold number of successful CCA detections have not been completed [Oteri: Fig. 6; Par. 131- 133 teaches of determines CCA failure and defers its transmission].
However, Oteri does not teaches determining whether at least one additional CCA detection is to be performed on the first beam.
Nevertheless, Hu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determining whether at least one additional CCA detection is to be performed on the first beam [Hu: Fig. 15; Par. 134 teaches performing directional CCA for first beam]].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Hu for performing CCA on first beam. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Hu in the Oteri system in order to determine and perform directional CCA sensing. [Hu: Par. 133].
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the combined Oteri in view of Hu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oteri in view of Hu further teaches wherein A computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the executable instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations of the method according to any one of claims 12 to 13 to be implemented [Oteri: Par. 342 disclosed computer readable storage medium has been used to be implemented method and apparatus].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowable subject matter:
A full search was conducted and the features of the instant claims 3-9 and 14- 18 were not found to be in any reasonable combination of the closest prior art in combination of Oteri in view of Hu.
With respect to exemplary, the prior arts in above teach of initiating LBT procedure by determining CCA threshold success [Oteri: Fig. 6; Par. 131- 133; Hu: Fig. 15; Par. 134].
However, the combined Oteri in view of Hu does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 3 and 14 reciting;
“wherein the determining that the first threshold number of successful CCA detections have been completed comprises determining that a value of a CCA counter of the first beam is 0; and/or
wherein for the LBT procedure on the at least one other beam, the determining that the corresponding threshold number of successful CCA detections have not been completed comprises determining that a value of a CCA counter of the at least one other beam is not 0; and/or
wherein the determining that at least one additional CCA detection is to be performed on the first beam comprises increasing the value of the CCA counter of the first beam by N, wherein N≥1”
Moreover, the combined Oteri in view of Hu does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 4 and 15 reciting;
“wherein, for the LBT procedure on the at least one other beam, it is determined, based on one of the following, that the corresponding threshold number of successful CCA detections have not been completed:
a ratio of the number of beams with a CCA counter value of 0 to the total number of the plurality of beams is less than 1; or
a sum of CCA counter values of the plurality of beams is greater than 0.”
Moreover, the combined Oteri in view of Hu does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 5-8 and 16-17 reciting;
“wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
based on sensing within a first window, group a first subset of the plurality of beams into a first group; and
assign a value of a CCA counter of a second beam in the first subset to a common CCA counter of the first group, wherein the common CCA counter takes priority over individual CCA counters of members of the first subset, and concurrent successful CCA detections for the members of the first subset decrease the value of the common CCA counter by 1.”.
In addition, the combined Oteri in view of Hu does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 9 and 18 reciting;
“wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
record a number of times of increasing a value of a counter of any one beam of the plurality of beams;
when the number of times reaches a second threshold, end the plurality of LBT procedures; and
perform multi-beam transmission without using a beam for which the LBT procedure has not been completed”.
Therefore, Claims 3-9 and 14-18 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter and allowed over the closest Prior Art references of Oteri in view of Hu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412