DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 11-21 are under examination.
Interview Summary
The claim set 11-21 filed in preliminary amendment filed on January 27, 2024, are examined as discussed with the attorney on file via telephone interview on September 1, 2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, it is noted that no English translation of the foreign priority document has been provided and as such the claim to foreign priority has not been perfected.
Claims 11-21 have an effective filing date of July 20, 2022 corresponding to PCT/KR2022/010597 because the claim to foreign priority has not been perfected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2024, 11/15/2024, 02/19/2025, and 11/20/2025 are being considered by the examiner and initialed copies/copy of the PTO-1449 are/is enclosed.
Specification Objections
In the present application background art section, the word “gastric” at the beginning of the line needs to be capitalized on page 1, paragraph 1, line 1. In the background art section, “the quality of life patients” need to be corrected to “the quality of life in patients” (paragraph 2, line 7, pg. 1). The comma “,” needs to be removed in background art section at the end of paragraph 1, line 1, pg. 1. In the background art section, “may be spread’ needs to be corrected to “may spread” in paragraph 1, line 4. In paragraph 2, line 1, “includes” needs to be corrected to “include”. In the technical problem section, “an” needs to be corrected to “The” in line 9, 11, 14. In the advantageous effects of the disclosure section, there should be a “,” after “thus,”. In the Mode of Disclosure section, “statistically significance” need to be changed to “statistical significance” in – Analysis of anti-tumor effect of HER2-ICD DNA vaccine – section, paragraph 3, line 19, pg.16.
Claim Objections
In Claim 1 a full name of the ICD region – “Intracellular Domain” needs to be written out and HER2-ICD can then be abbreviated (Claim 1, pg. 1, line 3). Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 refers to HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO:2 as a nucleotide sequence whereas the specification lists the amino acid sequence for SEQ ID NO:2 (Sequence List Text: pg. 19). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) Written Description
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a Written Description rejection.
Claim 11 recites, “sequence encoding a HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more sequence homology” with regards to the vaccine composition. The claims are broadly drawn to a nucleotide sequence encoding a HER-2 ICD region having a genus of variants with 20% unpredictability.
The specification does not give a clear written description of the variants that are encompassed by the 20% or less homology or the method of using such variants given that introducing 20% of unpredictability/variation can overlap the framing region or a coding region of the HER-2 ICD region affecting the antigen binding specificity of the HER2-ICD. The specification does recite, “in the case of having homology limited to the specific value above, the immunogenicity against HER2-ICD by vaccination may have the same or equivalent effect as a sequence having 100 % homology” (Paragraph 1, line 4, pg. 9) but does not provide examples of such variation or resulting sequences encompassing all the possible variants. Furthermore, introducing 20% or less homology would entail several HER2-ICD sequence variants encompassing a broad genus of HER2-ICD variants than what is claimed in Claim 11 for which the specification does not provide sufficient written description
Claim 12 recites “the nucleotide sequence having SEQ ID NO: 3 or 80 % or more sequence homology” which further entails several HER2-ICD sequence variants encompassing a broad genus of HER2-ICD region.
The specification does not disclose the amount of variants claimed by introducing 20% unpredictability in the nucleic acid sequence encoding HER2-ICD as stated in Claim 12.
Regarding 20% variation, the specification recites, “the nucleic acid sequence encoding HER2-ICD may have 100%, 99%, 95%, 90%, 85%, 80% homology relating to SEQ ID NO: 3 where the homology listed above will have the same or equivalent immunogenicity against HER2-ICD (paragraph 1, line 1, pg.9). However, the specification does not disclose the variants resulting from such homology nor does it provide any examples of such to show if they show similar immunogenicity against HER2 antigen when administered as a HER2-ICD vaccine. The specification recites “A DNA sequence (SEQ ID NO: 3) encoding HER2-ICD was inserted into a pNGVL3 (pUMVC3) plasmid vector and confirmed by DNA sequencing” (Examples, paragraph 1, line 1) in the vaccine formulation section. However, the specification only recites the original sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 provided in the sequence listing pg. 19 and 20 when formulating the HER2-ICD DNA vaccine composition in such manner and does not show the description of the 80% or more homology or the variants claimed by 20% unpredictability in this vaccine formulation. Thus, the specification does not disclose the full scope of variants claimed by introducing 20% unpredictability in the nucleic acid sequence encoding HER2-ICD as stated in Claim 12.
Therefore, claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. written Description rejection as the
meets and bounds of both the claims: 11 and 12 are not clearly recited and sufficient written description is not provided in the specification. Claims 13 – 18 are either directly or indirectly dependent on Claim 11 and 12 and thus are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. written Description rejection.
Claim 19 recites, “sequence encoding a HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more sequence homology” with regards to the vaccine composition.
The specification only recites nucleic acid sequence encoding HER2-ICD amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 2 and HER2-ICD DNA sequence SEQ ID NO: 3 (Examples, paragraph 7, line 1, pg. 15) that is showing full sequence and 100% homology but does not show any sequence variants with 80% or more homology that is claimed by allowing up to 20% variation. Further, the specification recites, “the nucleic acid sequence encoding HER2-ICD may have 100%, 99%, 95%, 90%, 85%, 80% homology relating to SEQ ID NO: 3 where the homology listed above will have the same or equivalent immunogenicity against HER2-ICD (paragraph 1, line 1, pg.9). However, the specification does not provide such detail with regards to SEQ ID NO: 2. The specification also does not clearly indicate 80% or more sequence homology with respect to either a framing region or a coding region of the nucleotide sequence. Furthermore, introducing at least 20% of variance in nucleic acid sequence would entail several HER2-ICD sequence variants encompassing a broad genus of HER2-ICD region than what is originally stated in the claim. The specification also, does not provide specifics or detailed structural characteristics of the homologous/variants containing up to 20% amino acid or nucleic acid substitutions in the sequences nor does it provide any information of any testing to obtain such variants.
Regarding HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO:2 or 80% or more homology, it is well known that such variability can significantly impact antigen binding specificity. Mutations in the framework regions can alter the structure and dynamics of the ICD region, affecting its ability to bind to its target antigen (Koenig et al., PNAS, E486-E495, Publication Date: 01/05/2017). For example, even single amino acid change in antigen-distal framework position can result in different conformational space and potentially different binding functions, see § Significance on page E486 of Koenig (Koenig et al., 01/05/2017).
As stated in the Written Description Guideline (2008), one of the levels of the skill and knowledge in the art would not be able to identify without further testing which of these fragments or variants claimed by 20% variation in the HER2-ICD sequence (Sequence listing, pg. 18-19) could perform the same function as SEQ ID NO: 2 nucleotide sequences encoding Her-2 ICD region. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) written Description rejection. Claims 20 and 21 are either directly or indirectly dependent on Claim 19 and thus are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) written Description rejection.
Vas-Gath, Inc. v" Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed".
Based on the lack of knowledge and predictability in the art those of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of antibody variants having the functions listed in the claims based on the teaching of the antibody comprising HER2-ICD region. The instant specification neither provides sufficient descriptive information in the structural definition of variants nor is clear on the function as recited in the claims. Thus, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, did not have possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) written Description rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) Enablement
Claim 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a vaccine composition capable of inducing an anticancer effect comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a plasmid vector with a nucleotide sequence encoding a Her-2 ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2, does not reasonably provide enablement for a vaccine composition comprising a nucleotide sequence comprising a HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 of less than 100% or more homology or with up to 20% variations or mutations. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The specification does not provide enablement for a vaccine composition comprising a nucleotide sequence comprising a HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more homology with up to 20% variations or mutations because the specification does not disclose the variants claimed by 20% variation in the SEQ ID NO: 2 nor provides any examples of the representative species claimed by this variance. Therefore, claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. Scope of enablement rejection.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are
summarized in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (BPAI 1986). They include the nature of the
invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, the amount of direction
or guidance disclosed in the specification, the presence or absence of working examples, the
predictability or unpredictability of the art, the breadth of the claims, and the quantity of
experimentation which would be required in order to practice the invention as claimed.
The Nature of the Invention:
Instant claim 11-18 are drawn to a method for inducing an anticancer effect in a subject, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a vaccine composition, wherein the vaccine composition comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a plasmid vector comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more sequence homology thereto.
Salazar L.G. et. al., show a phase I trial of a HER2/neu specific DNA plasmid-based vaccine encoding the HER2-ICD in stage III and IV breast cancer patients (Salazar L.G. 2009, 27(15):3054). This vaccine is composed of plasmid encoding the HER-2/neu ICD and GM-CSF as adjuvant. The vaccine is given intradermally monthly for a total of 3 administrations and 3 dose levels are being evaluated in this phase I study (Salazar L.G. 2009, 27(15):3054). Thus, use of HER2-ICD region as DNA vaccine is currently being developed in the art.
The Breadth of the Claims:
The present invention includes claim sets that cover a method for inducing an anticancer effect by administering a vaccine composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a plasmid vector comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more sequence homology.
Instant claim 11 is broad in that it encompasses a broad genus of HER2-ICD sequence variants comprising 80% or more sequence homology to SEQ ID NO: 2 and introducing up to 20% variations or mutation in either framing or coding region of the HER2-ICD sequence.
Rudikoff et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, 1982. 79(6): 1979-1983) show that even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of heavy and light variable regions especially in the CDR regions can dramatically affect antigen binding function. Rudikoff et al. also teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function (Rudikoff 1982). Given the evidence of binding specificity of the amino acid sequence to target protein by Rudikoff et al., it is clear that allowing up to 20% variation in the HER2-ICD sequence can affect the binding specificity to the target HER2 antigen receptors and hamper the binding of the HER2-ICD vaccine to the HER2 antigen receptors expressed on the cancer affected cells adding unpredictability of results in vaccine formulation in terms of allowing 20% variation.
The specification does not provide any examples of nucleotide or amino acid sequences representing 20% variation in the HER2-ICD region SEQ ID NO: 2. The examples (examples, pg. 14-18) provided in the specification only takes in account the HER2 ICD DNA sequence recited on pg. 19 and do not show any examples of 20% variation containing sequences. Thus, the specification does not provide enablement for the present application reciting 20% variation in the HER2-ICD region SEQ ID NO: 2 leading to large number of variants. Thus, the breadth of the claim 11 is beyond what is enabled in the specification.
The State of the art/the level of predictability in the art:
The state of the prior art teaches immunotherapeutic approach targeting HER2 protein as it is found to be overexpressed in variety of cancers (P.T.P. Kaumaya, University of Ohio, Background, US2006023672W, 2006-06-15, paragraph 2, line 8). Pravin et. al., show antibodies directed against the ECD of HER2 shown to confer inhibitory effects on tumor growth in vitro and in animal models. It has been found in the literature that more vaccines have been found against HER2-ECD and not much attention is given to the HER2-ICD region in the literature. For example, Cho H.K. et al. shows an isolated immunogenic HER-2 peptide capable of eliciting an immune response against the human HER-2 receptor, which comprises an amino acid sequence derived from the ECD of the human HER-2 protein (Cho, H.K., US35231810P, 2010-06-07, abstract, line- 1, 4, claim 1, line- 1). Further, it shows ECD-derived peptide contains the amino acid sequences of at least four of the conserved T cell epitopes in the ECD domain of human HER-2 receptor and shares from 70% to 95% identity with the ECD domain of human HER-2 receptor (Cho H.K. US35231810P, 2010-06-07, abstract, line 1, 2, 3).
In regard to HER2-ICD there is prior art literature regarding HER2 polypeptide vaccine but notably few reciting the HER2-ICD DNA vaccine. Among the few of the available prior art regarding the HER2 ICD DNA vaccine, Mary L Disis et. al show a DNA vaccine targeting the HER2-ICD region that delivers a DNA plasmid encoding segments of HER2 into the subject (Salazar, L.G., Mary L Disis, 2009, J Clin Oncol 27, 3054, Vol 27 (15), title, pg. 1). Mary L Disis showed a clinical study in the phase I trial of the safety and immunogenicity of a DNA-based vaccine encoding the HER2/neu (HER2) intracellular domain in subjects with HER2+ breast cancer (Mary L.D. et. al, 2014, J Clin Oncol 32, 616(2014) Volume 32(15), title, pg. 1). In this Phase I study of 66 patients who received the HER2 ICD DNA vaccine and a Phase II study of 38 patients who received the HER2 peptide vaccine (Ying, L. 2025 poster presentation, methods, pg. 1, paragraph 1, line 2). All three doses of vaccine were able to significantly induce or boost HER2-specific T cell responses to ICD, however the incidence of subjects with augmented immunity was greatest in Arm 2 (14/22, 64%) when compared to Arm 1 (9/17, 53%) and Arm 3 (8/22, 36%) (Mary L.D. et. al, 2014, J Clin Oncol 32, 616(2014) volume 32(15), results, line 5, pg.1). Patients in Arms 2 and 3 had immune responses to HER2 ICD of higher magnitude than patients in Arm 1, however, only patients in Arm 2 retained immunity at 1 year after vaccination (Mary L Disis et. al, 2014, J Clin Oncol 32, 616(2014) Volume 32(15), results, line 7, pg. 1). Immunization with a DNA-based HER2 ICD vaccine is safe and can generate robust T-cell responses in treated patients (Mary L Disis et. al, 2014, J Clin Oncol 32, 616(2014) Volume 32(15), conclusion, line 1, pg. 1).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor/the existence of working examples:
The specification recites some evidence that the vaccine against a HER2- ICD fragment reduces the size of the tumor in animal experiments (Background art, paragraph 2, line 6, pg. 3). Additionally, there are evidences of the cases where the HER2-ICD vaccine was applied to a patient with breast cancer but not much attention has been given to applying the HER2-ICD vaccine to patients with gastric cancer. Therefore, there is a need to develop the immune effect and therapeutic potential of the HER2-ICD DNA vaccine to that will provide a reliable effect for the treatment or recurrence of gastric cancer (Background art, paragraph 3, line 3, pg. 3). To solve this problem, Jung et. al, in this present invention created a DNA vaccine composition comprising a plasmid with a nucleic acid sequence encoding HER2-ICD to treat gastric cancer via providing a kit (Description of embodiments, paragraph 1, 2, line 3, pg. 3).
The specification does provide examples of HER2- ICD DNA vaccine as well as HER2-ICD DNA vaccine + Herceptin antibody with and without treatment group (on paragraph 2, pg. 8). However, in the example description the specification does not specifically provide any detail regarding the 20% variation allowed in the HER2-ICD sequence in claims 11, and 12 or any actual structure of any variant or how the inventors will address this 20% unpredictability in the HER2-ICD region. They also, do not provide representative class of this HER2-ICD variant containing up to 20% variation involved in a vaccine and neither provide any sequences addressing this variation. The specification only addresses the full sequence of HER2, the HER2-ICD nucleotide and amino acid sequences (Sequence list, pg. 18, 19, 20)
Therefore, the present application does not teach:
The evidence of HER2-ICD DNA vaccine treating gastric cancer.
The specification gives very generalized statement about 99%, 95%, 90%, 85%, or 80% homology not affecting the HER2-ICD region immunogenicity only regarding SEQ ID NO: 3; no such detail provided regarding SEQ ID NO: 2.
The specification does not provide enough evidence or examples to consider 20% variation introduced in the HER2-ICD region sequence and how the resulting vaccines showed effects on the anti-tumor activity for related gastric cancer models.
The quantity of experimentation needed:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have to perform extensive in vivo experimentation in humans and in animal models such as in the xenograft mouse models where an athymic mouse will need to be transplanted with NCI-N87- human derived gastric cancer cell line and the HER2-ICD DNA vaccine with all the variants claimed by 20% variance will need to be administered in order to demonstrate if the variants claimed by 20% show similar effect as to the wild type with 100% sequence homology to cover the full scope of the invention as claimed. In addition, vaccine formulation and administration with all the variants will need to be performed along with observation of any weight change analysis in the animal models to measure decreased growth/weight of tumors due to anti-tumor effect of the HER2-ICD vaccine.
Further, as the art teaches that variation in the amino acid sequence can change the binding specificity and thus, the unpredictability claimed by as high as 20% would further enhance the unpredictability in terms of binding specificity to target antigen receptor. Such claimed variation would have high probability of hampered binding specificity of the HER2-ICD vaccine with the HER2 antigen receptor and this would also need to be taken in account while performing these large set of experimentations.
Thus, due to the unpredictability and the large and unreasonable quantity of experimentation necessary to test the large number of variants claimed with respect to nucleotide sequence of HER2-ICD region by claiming 20% variation in the sequence; the lack of direction/guidance presented in the specification and prior arts; the state of the prior art which establishes the unpredictability in CDR antigen specificity due to mutations, undue experimentation or unreasonable trial and error would be required for the skilled artisan to use the claimed invention in its full scope.
The factors outlined in In Re Wands' mentioned above apply here, and in particular as per the MPEP 2164.01 (a): "A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
In re Wright 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)." It is very
clear that one could not make/use this very broad invention that has no working examples in this unpredictable art without undue experimentation. Genetech Inc vs Nova Nordisk 42 USPQ 2d 1001 "A patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search but compensation for its successful conclusion and patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable.”
The specification and prior art provide insufficient guidance with regard to these issues and provides insufficient working examples which would provide guidance to one skilled in the art and no evidence has been provided which would allow one of skill in the art to predict that the invention will function as contemplated or claimed with a reasonable expectation of success. For the above reasons, it appears that undue experimentation would be required to practice the claimed invention in its full scope.
Conclusion:
One cannot extrapolate the teachings of the specification to the scope of the claims because the claims are broadly drawn to allowing 20% variation in the HER2-ICD region sequence creating vast number of variants of species of HER2-ICD which the specification does not provide any enablement for. In view of the teachings above and the lack of guidance, workable examples and or exemplification in the specification, it would require an unreasonable amount of experimentation by one of skill in the art to determine with any predictability, that the method would function as claimed. Hence, claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Scope of enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) Indefiniteness
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the term "the subject". It is unclear if “the subject” is referring to the subject being treated or the subject from which the oncogenic cells are obtained and furthermore it is unclear as to if these subjects are the same (i.e., the subject being treated is the subject from which the oncogenic cells are obtained). Amending the claims to (e.g. a subject in need thereof in line 1 of claim 1) clearly indicate whether (i) the subject being treated is the subject from which the population of oncogenic cells are obtained or (ii) the subject being treated is different from the subject from which the population of oncogenic cells are obtained would obviate this rejection. Currently it is indefinite owed to multiple interpretations. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008) ("[R]ather than requiring that the claims are insolubly ambiguous, we hold that if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite."). Claims 11-18 are included in this rejection as they depend directly or indirectly on claim 11.
Claim 17 recites that the vaccine composition is administered by injection or inoculation, however these terms and procedures for injection and inoculation are not equivalent of each other and refer to a separate route of administration. An injection is a way of administering a liquid using a needle/syringe whereas an inoculation is a way of the act or process or an instance of introducing biological material generally into a culture medium and can be done via oral, injection, or nasal route and thus the terms injection and inoculation cannot be used interchangeably.
Claim17 rejected under 112(b) on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
The Markush grouping of injection and inoculation in Claim 17 is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common functional use.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected as being indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20150306196 (Zeng Qi: Polypeptide Vaccine).
Regarding Claim 11, 12, 13, and 14: Zeng teaches a method for treatment or prevention of cancer by administering a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of polypeptide comprising 10 – 150 amino acid fragments of an intracellular oncoprotein which is selected from PRL3, PRL-1, VHZ, HER2, Estrogen receptor (ER), HBV protein, HBV X-protein (pg. 151, Claim 1 line 5, Claim 3 line 3).
Zeng teaches the retroviral expression construct isolated and introduced into a packaging cell transduced with a retroviral plasmid vector containing RNA encoding an anti-intracellular oncoprotein siRNA such that the packaging cell now produces infectious viral particles containing the sequence of interest (Detailed description, paragraph 0218, Line 6).
Zeng teaches HER2- extra cellular domain (ECD), HER2-intracellular domain (ICD), HER2 intracellular C-terminal DNA and peptide sequences as well as HER2a intracellular peptide sequences (figure 16, pg. 31).
Zeng teaches in Fig. 16 sequences of fragments of Her2/neu oncoprotein and mT oncoprotein used in Examples 40 and 41 (SEQ ID NOs: 1-8). The Her2a intracellular peptide is unique for Her2 and does not cross react with EGFR (Her1) (Fig.16, pg. 31).
The HER2/neu oncoprotein fragment sequences that match the HER2-ICD sequence of the instant application (HER2/neu oncoprotein fragments listed in SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 5):
HER2-ICD SEQ ID NO: 3 of the Instant Application (sequence list, pg. 19) is shown below:
The highlighted region is the HER2/neu sequence of the Zeng 2015 SEQ ID NO: 3 and SEQ ID NO: 5 (Fig. 16, pg. 31)
atgaagcgac ggcagcagaa gatccggaag tacacgatgc ggagactgct gcaggaaacg
60
gagctggtgg agccgctgac acctagcgga gcgatgccca accaggcgca gatgcggatc
120
ctgaaagaga cggagctgag gaaggtgaag gtgcttggat ctggcgcttt tggcacagtc
180
tacaagggca tctggatccc tgatggggag aatgtgaaaa ttccagtggc catcaaagtg
240
ttgagggaaa acacatcccc caaagccaac aaagaaatct tagacgaagc atacgtgatg
300
gctggtgtgg gctccccata tgtctcccgc cttctgggca tctgcctgac atccacggtg
360
cagctggtga cacagcttat gccctatggc tgcctcttag accatgtccg ggaaaaccgc
420
ggacgcctgg gctcccagga cctgctgaac tggtgtatgc agattgccaa ggggatgagc
480
tacctggagg atgtgcggct cgtacacagg gacttggccg ctcggaacgt gctggtcaag
540
agtcccaacc atgtcaaaat tacagacttc gggctggctc ggctgctgga cattgacgag
600
acagagtacc atgcagatgg gggcaaggtg cccatcaagt ggatggcgct ggagtccatt
660
ctccgccggc ggttcaccca ccagagtgat gtgtggagtt atggtgtgac tgtgtgggag
720
ctgatgactt ttggggccaa accttacgat gggatcccag cccgggagat ccctgacctg
780
ctggaaaagg gggagcggct gccccagccc cccatctgca ccattgatgt ctacatgatc
840
atggtcaaat gttggatgat tgactctgaa tgtcggccaa gattccggga gttggtgtct
900
gaattctccc gcatggccag ggacccccag cgctttgtgg tcatccagaa tgaggacttg
960
ggcccagcca gtcccttgga cagcaccttc taccgctcac tgctggagga cgatgacatg
1020
ggggacctgg tggatgctga ggagtatctg gtaccccagc agggcttctt ctgtccagac
1080
cctgccccgg gcgctggggg catggtccac cacaggcacc gcagctcatc taccaggagt
1140
ggcggtgggg acctgacact agggctggag ccctctgaag aggaggcccc caggtctcca
1200
ctggcaccct ccgaaggggc tggctccgat gtatttgatg gtgacctggg aatgggggca
1260
gccaaggggc tgcaaagcct ccccacacat gaccccagcc ctctacagcg gtacagtgag
1320
gaccccacag tacccctgcc ctctgagact gatggctacg ttgcccccct gacctgcagc
1380
ccccagcctg aatatgtgaa ccagccagat gttcggcccc agcccccttc gccccgagag
1440
ggccctctgc ctgctgcccg acctgctggt gccactctgg aaagggccaa gactctctcc
1500
ccagggaaga atggggtcgt caaagacgtt tttgcctttg ggggtgccgt ggagaacccc
1560
gagtacttga caccccaggg aggagctgcc cctcagcccc accctcctcc tgccttcagc
1620
ccagccttcg acaacctcta ttactgggac caggacccac cagagcgggg ggctccaccc
1680
agcaccttca aagggacacc tacggcagag aacccagagt acctgggtct ggacgtgcca
1740
gtgtaa
1746
The HER2/neu oncoprotein SEQ ID NO: 3 (Zeng 2015, fig. 16, pg. 31) alignment with HER2-ICD SEQ ID NO: 3 (Instant application, sequence list, pg. 19) showing 100% similarity to the HER2-ICD.
The HER2/neu oncoprotein SEQ ID NO: 5 (Zeng 2015) alignment with HER2-ICD SEQ ID NO: 3 (Instant application) showing 99% similarity to the HER2-ICD.
Regarding Claims 15- 21, Zeng teaches the polypeptide comprising an intracellular oncoprotein administered therapeutically or prophylactically in the patient stimulates the production of anti-intracellular oncoprotein antibodies. The therapeutic antibody is not administered in combination with the vaccine composition (pg. 151, Claims 1,2,3, line 8; instant claims 15 and 21).
Zeng teaches vaccine composition comprising an adjuvant (pg. 5, paragraph 0053, line4; instant claim 16).
Zeng teaches intravenous administration of the polypeptide by oral, rectal, ophthalmic (including intravitreal or intracameral), nasal, topical (including buccal and Sublingual), intrauterine, vaginal or parenteral (including Subcutaneous, intraperitoneal, intramuscular, intravenous, intradermal, intracranial, intratracheal, and epidural) transdermal, intraperitoneal, intracranial, intracerebroVentricular, intracerebral, intravaginal, intrauterine, or parenteral (e.g., intravenous, intraspinal, Subcutaneous or intramuscular) routes (pg. 24, paragraph 0326, line 1).
Zeng teaches the intracellular oncoprotein fragment polypeptides, variants, homologues, and derivatives disclosed here, optionally labelled, may also be fixed to a solid phase, for example the Surface of an immunoassay well or dipstick. Such labelled and/or immobilized polypeptides may be packaged into kits in a suitable container along with suitable reagents, controls, instructions and the like. Such polypeptides and kits may be used in methods of detection of antibodies to the polypeptides or their allelic or species variants by immunoassay (instant claim 20; pg. 18, paragraph 0243, line 6).
Zeng teaches all the limitations of the instant application (US20250009859A1) except that Zeng is claiming a polypeptide vaccine encompassing the Her2/neu oncoprotein target to treat all the cancers expressing HER2 protein while in the instant applicant is claiming a HER2-ICD DNA vaccine to treat gastric cancer (Claim 23, pg. 152, line 12).
Therefore, claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anne Mette Beier US2004/0037840A1 and further in view of Zeng Qi US20150306196.
Beier et al. teaches novel methods for combatting diseases such as cancer (page 1, paragraph 0001, line 2).
Beier teaches series of applications of vaccination technology within the field of therapeutic vaccination against cancer including protein vaccination (page 1, paragraph 0002, line 2).
Beier teaches formulation in chitosan-comparable to pharmaceutically acceptable carrier- and other chitin derivatives of self-proteins and immunogenized self-proteins in order to provide for enhanced specific immune responses (page 1, paragraph 0001, line 9).
Beier teaches a polypeptide antigen or variants are formulated together with a pharmaceutically and immunologically acceptable carrier and/or vehicle and optionally an adjuvant. i.e. pharmaceutical carrier as delineated in claims 11 and 19; and adjuvant in claim 16 (Beier 2004, claims 15, 16, pg. 32).
Beier teaches injections of monoclonal antibodies repeated at short intervals (weeks) to maintain therapeutic effect (page 1, paragraph 0012, line 1; instant claim 17). Beier also teaches that vaccines are conventionally administered parenterally, by injection by either subcutaneously, intradermally, subdermally or intramuscularly (page 13, paragraph 0149, line 3; instant claim 18). Beier also teaches vaccines are prepared as injectables either as liquid solutions or suspensions, solid forms suitable for solution in, or suspension in, liquid prior to injection may also be prepared; the preparation may be emulsified, the active immunogenic ingredient is mixed with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and compatible with the active ingredient where suitable excipients can be water, saline, dextrose, glycerol, ethanol, or combination (page 12, paragraph 0148, line 6).
Beier teaches a method for inducing an immune response against a polypeptide antigen (formulated with chitosan) where the cell- associated antigen can be a gastrin 17, a gastrin-releasing hormone (bombesin) (page 32, claim 20, line 10); this indicates possible future usage of the vaccine against gastrointestinal cancer.
Regarding Claim 11, Beier teaches a method for inducing or enhancing an immune response against a polypeptide antigen in an animal or human comprising administering polypeptide antigen or at least one variant thereof which includes at least one first T-helper Cell epitope that is foreign to the animal (foreign T epitope), wherein the polypeptide antigen or variant thereof is formulated with chitosan (page 31, Claim 1, line 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Beier teaches nucleotide sequence SEQ ID NO: 3 that is a HER2 nucleotide sequence; pls. see below the sequence alignment with the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 in claim 12.
Beier SEQ ID NO: 3 HER2 nucleotide sequence (sequence listing, pg. 22-26) alignment with instant case SEQ ID NO: 3 HER2-ICD nucleotide sequence (sequence list, pg. 19)
Below is the sequence alignment showing 99% sequence similarity for Beier SEQ ID NO: 3 HER2 nucleotide sequence (sequence listing, pg. 22-26) with Instant case SEQ ID NO: 3 HER2-ICD nucleotide sequence (sequence listing, pg. 22-26).
The highlighted sequence shows the matching sequence of the Instant application SEQ ID NO: 3 nucleotide sequence (Instant application, sequence list, pg. 19) within the full sequence of Beier SEQ NO: 3 nucleotide sequence (Beier 2004, sequence listing, pg. 22-26).
Below is the full sequence of Beier SEQ ID NO: 4 HER2 amino acid sequence (Beier 2004, sequence listing, Pg. 26-29) with the highlighted portion showing instant case SEQ ID NO: 2 HER2-ICD amino acid sequence (Instant application, sequence list, pg. 19)
Below is the sequence alignment showing 99% sequence similarity for Beier SEQ ID NO: 4 HER2 amino acid sequence (Beier 2004, sequence listing, Pg. 26-29) with Instant case SEQ ID NO: 2 HER2-ICD amino acid sequence (Instant application, sequence list, pg. 19).
Regarding Claim 13, Beier teaches the cell associated polypeptide antigen is HER2 (pg. 32, claim 27, line 2). HER2 is known in the level of the art to be over expressed in cancer cells containing tumors including in patients with gastric cancer. Additionally, Beier teaches that there is evidence of successful phase II clinical trials in gastrointestinal cancer patients using the HER2 vaccine against gastrin hormone (Background, paragraph 0021, line 6). Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to believe that the HER2-ICD vaccine can be used against treating gastric cancer. Beier also, teaches a method for inducing an immune response against a polypeptide antigen (formulated with chitosan) where the cell- associated antigen can be a gastrin 17, a gastrin-releasing hormone (bombesin) (page 32, claim 20, line 10); this indicates possible future usage of the vaccine against gastrointestinal cancer.
Regarding Claim 14, Beier teaches a method for inducing or enhancing an immune response against a polypeptide antigen in an animal or human (pg. 31, Claim 1, line 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Beier teaches induction of antibody responses where one vaccine analogue may comprise a part consisting of a modification of the structure of the polypeptide antigen which induces production of antibodies in the animal against the polypeptide antigen, the variant suited for nucleic acid vaccination.
Regarding Claim 16, Beier teaches the polypeptide antigen or the variant in addition to chitosan is formulated together with a pharmaceutically and immunologically acceptable carrier and/or vehicle and optionally an adjuvant (pg. 32, claim 15, line 5). The adjuvant is selected from the group consisting of an immune targeting adjuvant; an immune modulating adjuvant Such as a toxin, a cytokine, and a mycobacterial derivative; an oil formulation; a polymer; a micelle forming adjuvant; a Saponin; an immunostimulant complex matrix (ISCOM matrix); a particle, DDA, aluminum adjuvants; DNA adjuvants; 2-linulin; and an encapsulating adjuvant (pg. 32, claim 17, line 2). An immunogenic composition which comprises chitosan in admixture with a polypeptide antigen or variant pharmaceutically and immunologically acceptable carrier or vehicle and optionally a further adjuvant (pg. 42, claim 42, line 5).
Regarding Claim 17 and 18, Beier teaches administration via a route selected from the oral route and the parenteral route such as the intradermal, the subdermal, the intracutaneous, the subcutaneous, the peritoneal, the buccal, the sublingual, the epidural, the spinal, the anal, and the intracranial routes (Detailed disclosure of the Invention, paragraph 0149, line 5)
Regarding Claim 19, Beier teaches a method for inducing or enhancing an immune response against a polypeptide antigen in an animal, including a human being where the polypeptide antigen is weakly immunogenic or non-immunogenic in the animal, the method comprising administering, to the animal, the polypeptide antigen or at least one variant which includes at least one first T-helper Cell epitope that is foreign to the animal (foreign T epitope), wherein the polypeptide antigen or variant is formulated with chitosan.
Although Beier teaches treatment of diseases like cancer by inducing an immune response conducted by cytotoxic T lymphocytes against the cells carrying epitopes from the gene expression products (page 1, paragraph 0001, line 6) as well as a nucleic acid vaccine that encodes an analogue of a polypeptide antigen (HER2 or PSM) (page 10, paragraph 0120, line 15).
However, Beier does not teach the therapeutic agent or a vaccine composition containing a HER2-ICD region DNA vaccine, that the vaccine is in a kit with instructions, or that the vaccine composition is not administered with an anti-HER2 therapeutic antibody.
Zeng teaches a method for treatment or prevention of cancer by administering a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of polypeptide comprising 10 – 150 amino acid fragments of an intracellular oncoprotein which is selected from PRL3, PRL-1, VHZ, HER2, Estrogen receptor (ER), HBV protein, HBV X-protein (pg. 151, Claim 1 line 5, Claim 3 line 3).
Zeng teaches HER2- extra cellular domain (ECD), HER2-intracellular domain (ICD), HER2 intracellular C-terminal DNA and peptide sequences as well as HER2a intracellular peptide sequences (figure 16, pg. 31).
Zeng teaches the retroviral expression construct isolated and introduced into a packaging cell transduced with a retroviral plasmid vector containing RNA encoding an anti-intracellular oncoprotein siRNA such that the packaging cell now produces infectious viral particles containing the sequence of interest. Additionally, Zeng teaches that the therapeutic antibody is not administered in combination with the vaccine composition (pg. 151, Claims 1,2,3, line 8; instant claims 15 and 21).
Beier is considered to be an analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to all the claimed subject matter that is taught in the present application including a method of treating cancer by utilizing a vaccine composition that generates an immune response against an antigen like HER2. Zeng solves the problem that is not taught by Beier, for example, Zeng teaches a pharmaceutical composition that includes intracellular oncoprotein fragment (ICD region) of the HER2 antigen. The motivation would have been to develop a new approach to vaccine composition by combining the HER2-ICD region in a vaccine composition. Given that HER2 polypeptide vaccines and vaccines against HER2-ECD are very prevalent in the art, a new approach of generating a HER2 vaccine incorporating an ICD region would give an edge over the existing treatment of options and one would have had reasonable expectation of success to reach the claimed invention.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Beier with that of Zeng to reach the present invention. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to have combined Beier’s teachings of inducing an immune response against a polypeptide antigen being a HER2 antigen and modify it with Zeng’s teachings of introducing the HER2-ICD region in the vaccine composition using a retroviral plasmid vector to arrive at the instant invention of presenting a kit of a DNA vaccine composition against a HER2 expressing gastric cancer treatment.
Double Patenting
Claims 11, 12, 13, 16, 19 of the US Patent application (18/292905 -Amendments to the claims 01/27/2024, pg. 2, 3) are rejected over the claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15 of co-pending US Patent Application No:19/162333.
Patent no: 18/292905
Claim 11 and 12 of instant US Patent application 18/292905 are drawn to a method of inducing an anticancer effect by administering a vaccine composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a plasmid vector comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more sequence homology and a SEQ ID NO: 3 or 80% or more sequence homology (Amendments to the claims 01/27/2024, claims 11, 12, pg. 2).
Claim 13 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) is drawn to a subject with a gastric cancer in which HER-2 protein is expressed (Amendments to the claims 01/27/2024, claims 13, pg. 2).
Claim 16 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) is drawn to a vaccine further comprising an adjuvant (Amendments to the claims 01/27/2024, claims 16, pg. 2).
Claim 19 of instant US Patent application is drawn to a vaccine composition for inducing an anticancer effect in a subject, the vaccine composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a plasmid vector comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an HER2-ICD region having SEQ ID NO: 2 or 80% or more sequence homology (Amendments to the claims 01/27/2024, claims 19, pg. 3).
Patent No: 19/162333
Claim 13 of copending US Patent application (19/162333 - 09/04/2025, pg. 4) is drawn to a method for preventing or treating a cancer comprising administering to a subject a vaccine including plasmid containing a polynucleotide sequence encoding a HER2 intracellular domain having SEQ ID NO: 2 or a sequence having at least 80% sequence homology and a PD-1 inhibitor or a PD-L1 inhibitor. Thus, claim 13 of copending US Patent application (19/162333) recites similar subject matter to claim 11 and 12 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) wherein both applications recite a method of treating a cancer with similar steps with an only exception of addition of PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor as an antigenic target.
Claim 14 of copending US Patent application (19/162333 -09/04/2025, pg. 4) is drawn to a cancer selected from the group consisting of breast cancer, brain cancer, nerve cancer, colorectal cancer, lung cancer, non- small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, stomach cancer, liver cancer, blood cancer, bone cancer, pancreatic cancer, skin cancer, head or neck cancer, cutaneous or intraocular melanoma, uterine cancer, ovarian cancer, rectal cancer, perianal cancer, colon cancer, breast cancer, fallopian tube carcinoma, endometrial carcinoma, cervical cancer, vaginal cancer, vulvar carcinoma, Hodgkin's disease, esophageal cancer, small intestinal cancer, endocrine cancer, thyroid cancer, parathyroid cancer, adrenal cancer, soft tissue sarcoma, urethral cancer, penile cancer, prostate cancer, chronic or acute leukemia, lymphocytic lymphoma, bladder cancer, kidney or ureter cancer, renal cell carcinoma, renal pelvic carcinoma, central nervous system (CNS) tumor, primary CNS lymphoma, spinal cord tumor, brainstem glioma, and pituitary adenoma. Thus, claim 14 of copending US Patent application (19/162333) is similar to the claim 13 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) reciting a subject having a gastric cancer.
Claim 15 of co-pending US Patent application (19/162333) recites the preparation of a medicament for prevention or treatment of cancer, of a vaccine that includes a plasmid containing a polynucleotide sequence encoding a HER2-intracellular domain having SEQ ID NO: 2 or a sequence having at least 80% sequence homology thereto, and a PD-1 inhibitor or a PD-L1 inhibitor. Thus, claim 15 of copending US Patent application (19/162333) recites similar subject matter to the claim 19 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) reciting a vaccine composition with a similar constitution except the addition of the PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor as an antigenic target.
Claim 10 of copending US Patent application (19/162333- 09/04/2025, pg. 3) recites the HER2 positive cancer is similar to the claim 13 of instant Patent application (18/292905) which recites a subject with a gastric cancer in which HERS protein is expressed referring to HER2 positive cancer.
Claim 9 of copending US Patent application recites the cancer is breast cancer or gastric cancer which is similar to the claim 13 of instant US Patent application (18/292905- 09/04/2025, pg. 3) which recites a subject with a gastric cancer.
Claim 6 of copending US Patent application (19/162333- 09/04/2025, pg. 2) recites the vaccine comprising an adjuvant similar to the claim 16 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) which recites vaccine composition further comprising an adjuvant.
Claim 1 and 5 of copending US Patent Application No. (19/162333- 09/04/2025, pg. 1,2) are generally drawn to a pharmaceutical composition for preventing or treating cancer, comprising: a vaccine that includes a plasmid containing a polynucleotide sequence encoding the HER2-intracellular domain having SEQ ID NO: 2 or a sequence having at least 80% sequence homology is SEQ ID NO: 3 or a sequence having at least 80% sequence homology. Thus, claim 1 and 5 of the US Patent No. 19/162333 recites similar subject matter to the claim 19 of instant US Patent 18/292905 reciting a vaccine composition with similar type of constitution except the addition of PD-1 and PD-L1 inhibitor in claim 1.
The claims of copending US Patent No. (19/162333) are in the same field of preventing or treating cancer comprising vaccine composition encoding a HER2-ICD region with a 80% or more sequence homology as instant application (18/292905). Both US Patent 18/292905 and the US Patent 19/162333 applications recite similar subject matter and claim sets directed towards treating cancer except the addition of the PD-1 inhibitor or a PDL1 inhibitor as a target checkpoint inhibitor (Claim 1, line 5, pg. 1). US Patent Application (18/292905) recites the term “comprising” in claims 11 and 19 (US Patent 18/292905 application, claims 11, 19, pg. 1, 2) which allows for inclusion of additional target antigens/elements including addition of a PD-1 or PDL-1 inhibitor.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while instant US Patent (18/292905) application does not explicitly recite the same claims as copending US Patent application (19/162333), US Patent application does recite the transitional phrase "comprising" which does not exclude the addition of other oncogenic targets. Therefore, the addition of a PD1 inhibitor or PDL1 inhibitor is encompassed by the transitional language and can be included as elements of the claims considered for non-statutory double patenting.
Therefore, the elements recited in the claims 11,12,13,16, and 19 of US Patent application (18/292905) are rendered obvious over the claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15 of copending US Patent application (19/162333). Thus, claims 11,12,13,16, and 19 of instant US Patent application (18/292905) are rejected over the claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15 of copending US Patent application (19/162333) under 35 U.S.C. Non statutory double patenting.
Conclusion
Currently, no claims are allowable.
/M.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642