DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claim 1; and dependent claims 2-17.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-17 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims not been further treated on the merits.
Claims 1-3 are objected to because they utilize the transitional phrase “characterised in that” which is not in accordance with USPTO customary practice.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “a tube (31) comprising a flexible perforated membrane . . . the tube (31) comprising a flexible perforated membrane being configured to . . .” Claim 3 goes on to again recite “a flexible perforated membrane.” How many “flexible membrane”(s) do the claims require?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvin et al. (US 2020/0206750 A1) in view of Mankosa et al. (US 8,960,443).
Regarding independent claim 1, Galvin discloses A flotation circuit comprising: a flotation apparatus (30) comprising feed introduction means (3), the feed introduction means being configured to deliver feed material into a main separation chamber (33) of the flotation apparatus; wherein particles of the feed material entering the main separation chamber end up leaving the flotation apparatus through an upper outlet (40) of the flotation apparatus or through a lower outlet of the flotation apparatus, characterised in that the flotation circuit comprises a sparger (1) having a sparging mix conduit or chamber (2); and a tube (10) comprising a flexible perforated membrane (see at least para. 0013) disposed within the sparging mix conduit or chamber; the tube comprising a flexible perforated membrane (see at least para. 0013) being configured to: i) receive an aerated fluid comprising a combination of sparger water, and sparger air or gas therein (see at least para. 0088), ii) shear said aerated fluid upon passing of the aerated fluid through the flexible perforated membrane of the tube (see at least para. 0089), and iii) disperse sheared aerated fluid into the sparging mix conduit or chamber such that the sheared aerated fluid combines with the feed material moving within the sparging mix conduit or chamber (see at least para. 0090); wherein aerated slurry comprising a combination of i) the incoming feed material and ii) sheared aerated fluid is introduced to the main separation chamber of the flotation apparatus (see at least abstract).
Galvin discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose an aerated fluid comprising reagent. However, Mankosa discloses a similar device which includes an aerated fluid comprising a reagent (see at least col. 4, lines 40-55) for the purpose of improving flotation. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize an aerated fluid comprising a reagent, as disclosed by Mankosa for the purpose of improving flotation.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 3, Galvin discloses that the tube of the sparger is configured as a straight tube (see at least Fig. 2). The sparger comprises a plurality of sparging mix conduits each having a tube comprising a flexible perforated membrane therein (see at least Fig. 2 and para. 0013).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ding et al. (US 6,126,836) and Ding et al. (US 5,928,125) disclose similar devices utilizing spargers.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653