DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2020/0187555).
Claim 1. Lee discloses an aerosol generation device 1000 comprising a heater 1030. Cigarette 2000 may be inserted into an inner space of the aerosol generation device 1000 ([0039]; Figure 1). When the cigarette 2000 is inserted into the aerosol generation device 1000, the heater 1030 may be located inside the cigarette 2000 ([0047]; Figure 1). The aerosol generation device 1000 includes the case 1001 into which the cigarette 2000 may be inserted, a protrusion pipe 1020 of a hollow shape protruding from the one end portion 1001a of the case 1001 and open toward the outside, the heater 1030 installed in the case 1001 such that an end portion 1031 (proximal end of heater) is positioned inside the protrusion pipe 1020 and generating heat when an electric signal is applied, and a heater fixing portion 1040 (first spacer) including a round surface 1040r extending from an inner surface of the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) and installed inside the protrusion pipe 1020 to support the heater 1030. In addition, the aerosol generation device 1000 further includes the cigarette support portion 4 which may be coupled to and separated from the protrusion pipe 1020 ([0092]; Figure 6 wherein the distal end of the heater 1030 comprises a base which is wider than the end portion 1031 (proximal end of heater)).
Claim 3. Lee discloses that the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) surrounds the distal end of the heater 1030 which comprises a base that is wider than the end portion 1031 (proximal end of heater)) (Figure 6 reproduced above).
Claim 4. Lee discloses that a contact area between the heater fixing portion 1040 (first spacer) and the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) is less than a surface area of an inner wall of the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) (Figure 6 reproduced above).
Claim 6. Lee discloses that the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) is open at both ends and forms an accommodating room extending from the first open end to the second open end wherein the accommodating room receives the fixing portion 1040 (first spacer) and base of heater 1030 (Figure 6 reproduced above).
Claim 12. Lee discloses that the heater fixing portion 1040 (first spacer) may further include a sealing groove 1040h formed to be drawn in from a surface in contact with the protrusion pipe 1020, and the sealing member 1050 may be installed in the sealing groove 1040h ([0119]; Figure 6 showing sealing member 1050 between the base and fixing base).
Claim 18. Lee discloses a cover 1002 configured to keep the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) (Figure 6 reproduced above).
Claim 20. Lee discloses a gap, or heat insulating chamber, between the cover 1002 and a portion of the protrusion pipe 1020 (fixing base) (Figure 6 reproduced above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-9, 13, 15-17, 19, and 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Lee (US 2020/0187555).
Lee discloses the device of claim 4 but does not disclose wherein the first spacer comprises a first convex edge formed on the inner wall of the fixing base, and the first convex edge abuts against the base; and/or the first spacer comprises a second convex edge formed on the outer wall of the base, and the second convex edge abuts against the fixing base.
Lee discloses the device of claim 6 but does not disclose wherein the fixing base further comprises a first extending portion extending radially from the second open end, and the base is kept on the first extending portion.
Lee discloses the device of claim 12 but does not disclose that the axial distance between the sealing member and the proximal end of the heater is less than an axial distance between the first spacer and the proximal end of the heater; or wherein the sealing member comprises a body and a deviation portion; the body abuts against the base; and an end of the deviation portion is disposed on the body, and an other end deviates from the body and abuts against the fixing base.
Lee discloses the device of claim 18 but does not disclose wherein the fixing base comprises a base body and a second extending portion extending radially from the base body toward the outside of the aerosol generation device; and the base body is configured to keep the base, and the second extending portion is kept on the holder; or wherein the fixing base comprises a third extending portion extending axially toward the proximal end of the heater; the third extending portion is configured to be inserted into the aerosol generation product to transfer heat of the fixing base to the aerosol generation product; or wherein the fixing base comprises a fourth extending portion extending axially toward the holder, so that the fixing base is kept on the holder through the fourth extending portion; or an end portion of the holder is provided with a second bump protruding toward the fixing base, and the fixing base is kept on the second bump.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747