DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 12-14 in the reply filed on 03/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16, 18, 19, 21, and 23-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The examiner recommends amending the phrase “the other 10%” in claim 12, line 3 to “the remaining 10%”.
The examiner recommends amending the phrase “the other 90 number percent” in claim 13, line 3 to “the remaining 90%”.
The current phrasing of claim 14 is awkward because the group of plasticizers combines distinct Markush group formats and the list of acetate esters of glycerol reads in such a way to include substances that are not acetate esters of glycerol (e.g. TEC). The readability of claim 14 would be improved if the claim were amended to recite a consistent Markush group style and avoid listing substances that are not glycerol esters within the Markush group identifying the acetate esters of glycerol. Please refer to MPEP 2173.05(h): When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A water insoluble micro-dispersion comprising … water”. The examiner considers this language to be internally contradictory, and therefore indefinite, because the phrase “water insoluble” is applied to the entire micro-dispersion composition as the claim is currently worded; however, water itself is necessarily dissolvable in water. In the interest of compact prosecution, the phrase water insoluble is interpreted to read on any water insoluble substance in the microdispersion.
Claim 2 recites “A water insoluble micro-dispersion comprising … water”. The examiner considers this language to be internally contradictory, and therefore indefinite, because the phrase “water insoluble” is applied to the entire micro-dispersion composition as the claim is currently worded; however, water itself is necessarily dissolvable in more water. In the interest of compact prosecution, the phrase water insoluble is interpreted to read on any water insoluble substance in the microdispersion.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites “wherein water is present in an amount of at least about 98% by total weight of the microdispersion"; however, claim 1, from which claim 6 depends places an upper limit on water of “not more than about 98% by total weight of the composition”. Accordingly the scope of claim 6 is outside the scope of the claim 1 and thus claim 6 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayakawa et al. (WO2020162303; publication date: 08/13/2020; effective filing date of priority document: JP 2019-018101 02/04/2019) citing the US National Stage Application as an English translation: US 20220127435).
With regard to claim 2, Hayakawa discloses a 10 % aqueous dispersion of spherical calcium alginate beads (i.e. 10% dispersed particles of calcium alginate and 90% water; 0112). The particles are hydrophobized, i.e. water-insoluble. Figure 1, drawing sheet 1 establishes the particles to have micron size range, therefore the composition is a microdispersion.
With regard to claim 3, the composition does not contain a plasticizer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa et al. (WO2020162303; available as prior art under 35 USC §§ 102(a)(1) and (a)(2); publication date: 08/13/2020; effective filing date 02/04/2019; citing the US National Stage Application as an English translation: US 20220127435).
With regard to claims 1, 6, and 7, Hayakawa discloses example compositions having 41% wt water,1% ethylene glycol and 2% propylene glycol (both polyols, i.e. a total amount of 3% wt plasticizer), and 3% wt particles A1 or A6 (calcium alginate particles of micron size range; 0111-0112 and 0128-0131). The amount of calcium alginate particles fall within the range required by instant claim 1. The plasticizer is present in the composition at 100% by weight relative to the calcium alginate particles.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are considered prima facie obvious because the amount of water falls just below the lower limit recited in the instant claims; however, Hayakawa teaches varied uses for the particles (0011) and teaches that the particles are preferably present in e.g. cosmetic compositions in amounts ranging from 0.5 to 50% wt (0105), with corresponding ranges in other ingredients, including water, also implicitly taught. In view of the many applications taught for the calcium alginate microparticles, the examiner does not consider the claimed range of 50-98% by weight water to patentably define over the cited prior art, absent criticality to some unexpectedly superior performance of the composition. Please refer to MPEP 2144.05(II): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") See also MPEP 2144.05(I): a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With regard to claims 2 and 3, as noted above Hayakawa anticipates claims 2 and 3 and so in anticipating these claims, said claims are also considered obvious under 35 USC 103(a) over Hayakawa for the reasons set forth below ("lack of novelty is the epitome of obviousness" May, 574 F.2d at 1089, 197 USPQ at 607 (citing In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1402, 181 USPQ 641, 644 (CCPA 1974))). Moreover, as noted with regard to claim 1 above, Hayakawa teaches a wide range of applications for the particles and that a broad range in amount is suitable, 0.1 to 50% wt (0105) and thus implicitly teaches a range of 99.9 to 50% wt of other ingredients. This range overlaps with the range required by instant claim 2 for amount of calcium alginate particles. Many of the applications would employ aqueous compositions, including paints, emulsions, creams, sunscreens, aftershave, makeup bases, facial cleansers etc. therefore Hayakawa implicitly teaches a range for water overlapping with the range required by the instant claims (see MPEP 2144.05). These compositions do not require plasticizers and the examiner does not consider the range in amount of water recited in instant claim 2 to patentably define over the cited prior art in the absence of a persuasive showing of criticality to an unexpectedly superior property of the instant invention.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, as noted above, the example composition contains ethylene glycol + propylene glycol (plasticizers) in a weight ratio of 100% relative to the weight of the calcium alginate particles.
With regard to claims 8 and 9, as noted above, Hayakawa teaches a range in amount of calcium alginate particles of from 0.1 to 50% (0102). This range overlaps with the range required by the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05(I): In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 10, 12, and 13 recite limitations on the Dn50, Dn90, and Dn10 for the calcium alginate particles. Hayakawa teaches a particle size that is preferably 5 mm or less, and more preferably, in order of increasing preference: 1 mm or less, 500 μm or less, 100 μm or less, 60 μm or less, 30 μm or less, 15 μm or less, or 10 μm or less. The lower limit is preferably at least 0.1 μm, more preferably at least 0.5 μm, and even more preferably at least 1.0 μm. Thus, the examiner considers Hayakawa to teach a range of particle sizes, including the particle size parameters required by instant claims 10, 12, and 13, that embraces the ranges required by the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05(I), as noted above.
With regard to claim 14, as noted above, Hayakawa discloses a polyol in an example composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12,15-17, 19, 20, and 22-24 of copending Application No. 18292990 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
The claims of the ‘990 application embrace a water insoluble micro-dispersion comprising a) dispersed particles of alginic acid in an amount of about 1% to about 10% by total weight of the micro-dispersion, and b) a plasticizer in an amount of about 2% to about 6% by total weight of the micro-dispersion, and c) water in an amount of at least about 88% to not more than about 96% by total weight of the micro-dispersion. The amounts of each substance and particle size ranges required by the copending application overlap with the ranges for these parameters recited in the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The plasticizer is a polyol or acetate esters of glycerol selected from mono-, di-, and tri-acetates of glycerol, TEC (triethyl citrate), dibutyl sebacate, and dibutyl phthalate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617