DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 18-20 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Invention I (original claims 1-14): drawn to a soil sample collection system comprising: a sample collection vehicle comprising a pair of front wheels and a pair of rear wheels; a support frame mounted to the sample collection vehicle; and a sample collection apparatus supported by the support frame and comprising soil engaging elements disposed between the front and rear wheels, the soil engaging elements configured to engage the soil and collect the soil sample as the sample collection vehicle travels along a surface of the soil, classified in A01B 49/02.
Invention II (claim 18) drawn to a soil sample collection system comprising: a sample collection vehicle; and a sample collection apparatus mounted to the sample collection vehicle, the sample collection apparatus comprising a soil engaging element comprising a soil sample collection device alterable between: (1) a first state in which the soil sample collection device is open and collects a soil sample while the sample collection vehicle travels along a surface of the soil and the soil sample collection device engages the soil; and (2) a second state in which the soil sample collection device is closed and shielded from soil entering the soil sample collection device while the sample collection vehicle travels along the surface of the soil and the soil sample collection device engages the soil, classified in A01B 63/002.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have a materially different design and mode of operation (i.e. Invention I claims “a sample collection vehicle comprising a pair of front wheels and a pair of rear wheels; a support frame mounted to the sample collection vehicle” and “soil engaging elements disposed between the front and rear wheels” – limitations that do not appear in claim 18; and Invention II claims “(1) a first state in which the soil sample collection device is open and collects a soil sample while the sample collection vehicle travels along a surface of the soil and the soil sample collection device engages the soil; and (2) a second state in which the soil sample collection device is closed and shielded from soil entering the soil sample collection device while the sample collection vehicle travels along the surface of the soil” – limitations that do not appear in claim 1.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their separate classification, divergent subject matter, and different field of search.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because it does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mabry (U.S. Patent 3,625,296).
Regarding claim 1, Mabry discloses (Figs. 1-2) a soil sample collection system (col. 1, lines 7-8) comprising:
a sample collection vehicle (as shown in Figs. 1-2) comprising a front wheel and a pair of rear wheels (as shown in Figs. 1-2);
a support frame 10 mounted to the sample collection vehicle (as shown in Figs. 1-2); and
a sample collection apparatus 36 (digger foot: col. 2, line 9) supported by the support frame 10 (as shown in Figs. 1-2) and comprising soil engaging elements 36 disposed between the front and rear wheels (as shown in Figs. 1-2), the soil engaging elements 36 configured to create a furrow in the soil (implicit, as the apparatus is pulled over the ground and the foot digs into the soil: col. 2, lines 3-11) and to engage the soil and collect the a soil sample from the furrow (col. 2, lines 3-11) as the sample collection vehicle travels along a surface of the soil (col. 2, lines 3-11).
Mabry does not disclose a pair of front wheels, however, such a modification would be merely a duplication of parts, which is obvious.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mabry’s device to include a pair of front wheels.
Claims 1-2, 6-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monson (U.S. Patent 5,355,815) in view of Scheiderer et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0251032).
Regarding claim 1, Monson discloses (Fig. 1-2) a soil sample analysis system (col. 4, lines 26-46) comprising:
a sample collection vehicle 12 (col. 4, line 9) comprising a pair of front wheels and a pair of rear wheels (as shown in Fig. 1);
a support frame 24 (col. 4, lines 27-28) mounted to the sample collection vehicle 12 (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a soil analysis apparatus supported by the support frame 24 and comprising soil engaging elements 26 (col. 4, line 32) disposed between the front and rear wheels (as shown in Figs. 1), the soil engaging elements 26 configured to create a furrow in the soil (col. 4, lines 33-37) and to engage the soil as the sample collection vehicle travels along a surface of the soil (col. 4, lines 33-46).
Monson does not disclose a soil sample collection system/apparatus that collects a soil sample from the furrow.
Scheiderer discloses a soil sample collection system/apparatus that collects a soil sample from the furrow [0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Monson’s apparatus to include a soil sample collection system/apparatus that collects a soil sample from the furrow, as taught by Scheiderer.
Such a modification would allow further in-depth analysis of the soil.
Regarding claim 2, Monson discloses (Fig. 1-2) the soil engaging elements 26 are disposed between a transverse front wheel axis (implicit) extending through the front wheels (as shown in Fig. 1) and a transverse rear wheel axis (implicit) extending through the rear wheels (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6-9, Monson does not disclose the soil engaging elements are disposed equidistant between opposing lateral sides of the sample collection vehicle; and the sample collection vehicle is a trailer comprising a hitch configured for coupling to an engine-powered vehicle operable to pull the trailer along the surface of the soil; and the sample collection apparatus is disposed in a central equipment opening defined by a frame of the trailer; and the central equipment opening has a length which extends for a majority of a length of the frame of the trailer and a width which extends for a majority of a width of the frame of the trailer.
Scheiderer discloses (Figs. 1-14) the soil engaging elements 12/18 [0030] are disposed equidistant between opposing lateral sides of the sample collection vehicle (as shown in Fig. 5); and the sample collection vehicle is a trailer (as shown in Figs. 1-7) comprising a hitch [0029] configured for coupling to an engine-powered vehicle 10 [0029] operable to pull the trailer along the surface of the soil (see pars. [0029] and [0032]); and the sample collection apparatus 12/18 is disposed in a central equipment opening defined by a frame of the trailer (as shown in Figs. 1-7); and the central equipment opening has a length which extends for a majority of a length of the frame of the trailer (as shown in Figs. 1-7) and a width which extends for a majority of a width of the frame of the trailer (as shown in Figs. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Monson’s apparatus so that the soil engaging elements are disposed equidistant between opposing lateral sides of the sample collection vehicle; and the sample collection vehicle is a trailer comprising a hitch configured for coupling to an engine-powered vehicle operable to pull the trailer along the surface of the soil; and the sample collection apparatus is disposed in a central equipment opening defined by a frame of the trailer; and the central equipment opening has a length which extends for a majority of a length of the frame of the trailer and a width which extends for a majority of a width of the frame of the trailer, as taught by Scheiderer.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 14-17, Monson does not disclose the sample collection apparatus is angularly adjustable relative to the surface of the soil; and the soil engaging elements comprise a furrow creating device, a knife assembly located rearward of the furrow creating device, and a soil sample collection device disposed in the knife assembly; and the soil engaging elements include a furrow creating device and a soil sample collection device located rearward of the furrow creating device, the soil sample collection device configured to travel through the furrow created by the furrow creating device.
Scheiderer discloses (Figs. 1-14) the sample collection apparatus is angularly adjustable relative to the surface of the soil (i.e. pivots around 21c to lower the collection apparatus into the sampling position: [0033]; Figs. 3-4); and the soil engaging elements comprise a furrow creating device 14 [0032], a knife assembly 19 [0032] located rearward of the furrow creating device 14 (as shown in Figs. 1-4), and a soil sample collection device 19/84 [0036] disposed in the knife assembly (as shown in Figs. 11-14); and the soil engaging elements include a furrow creating device 14 and a soil sample collection device 19/84 located rearward of the furrow creating device 14 (as shown in Figs. 1-4), the soil sample collection device 19/84 configured to travel through the furrow created by the furrow creating device 14 [0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Monson’s apparatus so that the sample collection apparatus is angularly adjustable relative to the surface of the soil; and the soil engaging elements comprise a furrow creating device, a knife assembly located rearward of the furrow creating device, and a soil sample collection device disposed in the knife assembly; and the soil engaging elements include a furrow creating device and a soil sample collection device located rearward of the furrow creating device, the soil sample collection device configured to travel through the furrow created by the furrow creating device, as taught by Scheiderer.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monson (U.S. Patent 5,355,815) in view of Scheiderer et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0251032), and further in view of Riggle (U.S. Pub. 6,820,887).
Regarding claims 10-11, Monson’s modified apparatus is applied as above, but does not disclose each of the front and rear wheels are rotatably mounted to the trailer by individual torsion axles which do not extend laterally through the central equipment opening; and wherein each torsion axle is supported by an associated spring suspension member coupled to the frame of the trailer.
Riggle discloses (Fig. 7) wheels rotatably mounted to the trailer by individual torsion axles (col. 2, lines 30-44) which do not extend laterally through the central equipment opening (when combined with Eugelink); and wherein each torsion axle is supported by an associated spring suspension member coupled to the frame of the trailer (col. 2, lines 30-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Monson’s device so that each of the front and rear wheels are rotatably mounted to the trailer by individual torsion axles which do not extend laterally through the central equipment opening; and wherein each torsion axle is supported by an associated spring suspension member coupled to the frame of the trailer, as taught by Riggle.
Such a modification would be the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 12-13 are allowed.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 6-11, and 14-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852