DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 24 July 2026, with respect to the specification, the drawings, and the claims have been entered. Therefore, the objection to claim 22, the rejections of claims 1-16 under the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the rejections of claims 4, 15-16, and 20-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and the rejections of claims 3 and 24-31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s arguments, see pages 37-38, regarding the required operating relationship among the elements and the use of an excitation selected for the unwanted argon ions recited in independent claim 1, the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997)), but “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(emphasis in original)). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)), i.e., a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In this case, the prior art teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 below).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 37-38, regarding the citation of “separate portions of Whitehouse”, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the ion sources disclosed in Whitehouse, column 11, lines 27-35 discloses that “[t]he invention can be configured with several types of ion sources, however, the embodiments of the invention described herein comprise…ion sources including but not limited to…Inductively Coupled Plasma (ICP)” (emphasis added). Furthermore, Whitehouse discloses that “the API MS embodiment illustrated in FIG. 2 can be configured with an Atmospheric Pressure Chemical Ionization (APCI) source, an Inductively Coupled Plasma (ICP) source, a Glow Discharge (GD) source, an atmospheric pressure MALDI source or other atmospheric pressure ion source types” (column 25, lines 36-43, emphasis added). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this disclosure supports the use of an ICP source in any of the embodiments disclosed in Whitehouse, including the embodiment of FIG. 2A which is primarily relied upon in the rejection of the instant claims.
Regarding resonant excitation, Whitehouse states that the disclosed embodiments may be combined, and specifically that the embodiment of FIG. 2 may be combined with embodiments comprising resonant excitation (see, e.g., column 33, lines 32-60).
Regarding the claimed notch techniques, the portions of Whitehouse cited with respect to claims 6-7 (e.g., column 36, lines 47-50; column 37, lines 37-42) are also directed to the same embodiment of FIG. 2 (column 36, line 42, “[r]eferring again to FIG. 2”; column 37, line 49, “within the embodiment of FIG. 2”). The portions of Whitehouse cited with respect to claims 9-10 and 23 (e.g., column 43, lines 40-50) are directed to a different embodiment (column 42, lines 64-65, “[a]nother embodiment of the invention is illustrated in FIG. 26”); however, this disclosure has been relied upon as the clearest disclosure of the plurality of notches in which the set of desired ions are stable and out of which the set of unwanted ions are unstable. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the notch disclosed at column 36, lines 47-50, in combination with the disclosure at column 37, lines 37-42, may comprise a plurality of notches in which the set of desired ions are stable and out of which the set of unwanted ions are unstable. Furthermore, Whitehouse discloses that “[s]everal combinations of m/z selection…can be performed…using the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 2” (column 31, lines 64-67); i.e., the mass to charge selection using a plurality of notch resonant frequencies disclosed at column 43, lines 40-50 may be utilized in the embodiment of FIG. 2.
Regarding the claimed space charge effects, column 50, lines 4-10 of Whitehouse is directed to “[a]n alternative embodiment…shown in FIG. 33” (column 49, lines 62-63). However, this disclosure has again been relied upon as the clearest disclosure of space charge reduction in Whitehouse. Column 50, lines 4-9 of Whitehouse discloses that “[i]on guide 444 may also be operated in RF/DC or mass selective axial ejection mode to minimize the ion population directed into ion guide 470…By directing only those ions or mass range of interest into linear trap ion guide 470, minimum space charge occurs” (emphasis added). Column 37, lines 34-42, directed to the embodiment of FIG. 2, discloses that “mass-to-charge selection…can be performed using…RF/DC techniques…wideband RF/DC can be applied to ion guides 25 or 26 to eject all ions but one or several m/z ranges, transmitting one or more fragment ions” (emphasis added). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the space charge reduction explicitly disclosed at column 50 is equivalently obtained in the embodiment of FIG. 2.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 38, regarding the method of claim 17 and the system of claim 32, claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP § 2115. Claims 17 and 32 are respectively directed to a method and a system for reducing space charge in an ICP mass spectrometer. The specific recitation of argon ions does not impart patentability to the claims because the particular type of ion in the ICP-MS provides no specific actual step of reducing space charge, therefore imparting no limiting steps to the space charge reduction process. Similarly, the particular type of ion is not a part of the system performing the space charge reduction; rather, the claimed argon ions are a material or article being worked upon by the claimed structure, i.e., the ion guide system. That is, the claims are directed towards a method and a system for reducing space charge in an ICP-MS, not towards the particular type of ions in the ICP-MS.
Furthermore, Whitehouse does not merely disclose “hardware that could be reconfigured for many forms of mass selection”; rather, Whitehouse specifically teaches receiving, in a multipole ion guide (FIG. 2A, multipole ion guides 23, 24, 25, 26, 39, 40, 41), an ion beam (column 26, lines 52-58) generated by an inductively coupled plasma (column 25, lines 36-41); and applying an auxiliary excitation (column 37, lines 34-44) selected to destabilize at least a portion of the unwanted ions (column 34, lines 33-36) while maintaining the desired analyte ions within a stable mass-to-charge-ratio range (column 26, line 64 to column 27, line 3), whereby the destabilized unwanted argon ions gain radial energy and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 33-36), fragmented, or de-clustered while the desired analyte ions are transmitted through the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 39-42), thereby reducing occupancy of the pseudo-potential well and space charge within the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 30-34, “minimizing charge depletion”).
Still further, features of an apparatus (e.g., the system recited in independent claim 32) may be recited either structurally or functionally (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997)), but “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(emphasis in original)). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)), i.e., a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the case at hand, Whitehouse teaches the structural limitations of the ion guide system, i.e., an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (column 25, lines 36-41); a multipole ion guide (FIG. 2A, multipole ion guides 23, 24, 25, 26, 39, 40, 41) comprising a set of rods (column 25, lines 29-35) and configured to receive an ion beam (column 26, lines 52-58); an RF source (FIG. 2B, sources 79-82); and an auxiliary excitation source coupled to the multipole ion guide (FIG. 2B, auxiliary potentials from sources 79-82). Therefore, the limitations of the claim are met.
Regarding applicant’s argument, see page 39, that claim 2 “requires unwanted argon ions to constitute a majority of sampled ions received by the guide”, claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP § 2115. Claim 2/1 is directed to an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer, and the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements of the mass spectrometer (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 below). The limitation “the unwanted argon ions constitute a majority of sample ions received by the multipole ion guide” does not impart patentability to the claim because the sample ions received by the ion guide are not part of the ion guide performing the receiving; rather, the sample ions are a material or article worked upon by the structure (ion guide within the mass spectrometer) being claimed. Therefore, patentability cannot be based upon a certain proportion of argon ions within the sample ions as the composition of the sample ions is irrelevant in terms of the device performing the receiving.
In response to applicant’s arguments, see page 39, regarding claims 3 and 7; and the sources in claims 13, 15-16, 34, and 36, Whitehouse discloses the newly amended limitations as discussed below (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102).
In response to applicant’s arguments, see page 39, regarding claim 8, Whitehouse discloses a transmission window within which ion trajectories are stable and a selected stable mass-to-charge range defined within the transmission window (column 37, lines 34-48). Furthermore, optimizing the range of q-parameters is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Whitehouse teaches “[h]igh mass rejection using high-q” and “[l]ow mass rejection using low-q” (column 33, lines 34-37). As such, Whitehouse identifies q-parameters as a variable which achieves a recognized result, i.e., high or low mass rejection. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting q-parameters and identifies said q-parameters as a result-effective variable. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize q-parameters to meet the claimed range since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
In response to applicant’s arguments, see pages 39-40, regarding the voltage states, timing relationships, and segment-specific potential wells recited in claims 13, 15-16, 34, and 36, each of these claims is directed to an apparatus. The recitation of a particular voltage to be applied, or a particular timing at which said voltages are applied, amount to nothing more than functional limitations which do not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Furthermore, Whitehouse discloses the formation of potential wells in the first and second segments (column 32, lines 38-54; quadrupole assemblies 62-63 correspond to the first segment comprising ion guide elements 23, 24, 39; and quadrupole assemblies 64-65 correspond to the second segment comprising ion guide elements 25, 26, 40, and 41); and a potential barrier maintained between the first and second segments (column 32, lines 59-61).
In response to applicant’s arguments, see pages 40-41, regarding claim 14, claim 14 is an apparatus claim. The application of the axial field during application of a particular release level is a functional and temporal limitation which does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Therefore, the limitation “apply an axial field…during application of the release level” (emphasis added) does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Similarly, the selective removal of unwanted argon ions to reduce occupancy of a pseudo-potential well before releasing an ion packet fails to recite any structural limitation; this recitation is purely functional and temporal. See MPEP 2114. Guna discloses at paragraph 0038 “a combination of some or all of…scanning an auxiliary AC field applied to the exit lens 42, scanning the RF voltage applied to the rod set 38 while applying a fixed auxiliary AC voltage to exit lens 42, and applying an auxiliary AC voltage to the rod set 38 in addition to that on lens 42 and the RF on rods 38…can be used to eject ions axially…past the DC potential barrier present at the exit lens” (emphasis added). Each of these voltages, which in combination axially drive the ions through the exit lens, must inherently be applied by a source, i.e., an axial-field source. Paragraph 0034 of Guna further discloses that “the auxiliary AC voltage can be applied to a subset of the rods or segments”, which in combination with the teachings of Whitehouse fulfills the limitation “apply an axial field to the second segment” (emphasis added).
Regarding applicant’s arguments, see page 41, with respect to claim 18, amended claim 18 recites radial to axial energy conversion as one of a set of alternative limitations by which the auxiliary excitation may be applied. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, only one of the listed alternatives is necessary for the claim limitations to be met. In this case, Whitehouse discloses that applying the auxiliary excitation comprises applying a resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53).
Regarding applicant’s arguments, see page 41, with respect to claims 19 and 20, Hager’s disclosure of an RF-only quadrupole is specific to the quadrupole Q3 13 shown in FIG. 1 and later figures (see, e.g., paragraph 0040). “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). While a significant portion of Hager’s disclosure is directed to the RF-only quadrupole Q3 13, the quadrupoles shown in FIG. 1 are all a part of Hager’s disclosure. Hager discloses the “operation of Q1 11…as a narrow band-pass filter. By selecting appropriate RF and DC voltages to be applied to the quadrupole rods in Q1 11, only ions having a certain m/z ratios are allowed to travel the length of the Q1 11 (i.e., are stable)…All other ions having other m/z ratios are either ejected radially and/or neutralized” (paragraph 0038, lines 17-23, emphasis added). Applicant’s argument regarding the fast-sweeping DC potential is moot because the rejection does not rely upon Hager to teach the fast-sweeping potential recited in amended claim 20.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 41, that Hager “fails to supply the argon-ion and pseudo-potential-well limitations incorporated from amended claim 17”, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Hager is not relied upon to teach these limitations; these limitations are met by Whitehouse.
In response to applicant's arguments, see page 42, with respect to claim 22, against the references individually (i.e., applicant’s argument that Javahery fails to disclose “the entire method of amended claims 17 and 21”), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Similarly, Javahery is not relied upon to teach “target[ing] the unwanted argon-ion population of an ICP beam in the claimed pseudo-potential-well arrangement”; these limitations are met by Whitehouse.
In response to applicant’s arguments, see page 42, with respect to claim 22, that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Javahery discloses that “by applying a range of frequencies, with one “notch” in the range corresponding to the mass of one ion of interest, only that ions of one mass will not be excited, and will be transmitted through Q11 to Q12” (page 6, lines 5-8). Javahery further discloses that increased rejection of unwanted ions permits more efficient mass selection (page 8, lines 1-2). Therefore, the disclosure of Javahery provides a motivation to modify the teachings of Whitehouse, i.e., improvements in mass selection.
Furthermore, Javahery’s disclosure at page 6, lines 4-8 (“the unwanted ions will consist of all ions except one desired mass…by applying a range of frequencies, with one “notch” in the range corresponding to the mass of one ion of interest, only that ions of one mass will not be excited, and will be transmitted through Q11 to Q12”, emphasis added) meets the claimed functional relationship between the selected notch, the unwanted ions, and the retained analyte-ion range.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 24 July 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.97(c) because it lacks a timing statement as specified in 37 CFR 1.97(e) and/or the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 24 July 2026 further fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The amendment filed 24 July 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The references to unwanted argon ions in the amended specification are not sufficiently supported by the original disclosure. The only disclosure of argon ions in the originally-filed specification is at paragraph 15: “In cases where an RF confinement field is used to focus the ion beam, the limited transmission capability depends on the "pseudo-potential well depth" of the RF field. Therefore, transmission of the atomic ions of interest is dependent on the presence of unwanted molecular/atomic ions. Specially, in an Ar ICP, most of the sampled ions are of argon which fill the pseudo-potential well of the RF field and leave less room for the ions of interest” (emphasis added). Paragraph 15 is present in the Background of the Invention portion of the specification and contains no reference to the claimed invention; rather, it discloses argon ions as an example of unwanted ions known in the prior art. There is no teaching in the originally filed disclosure that the invention is directed to any particular species of unwanted ions. The unwanted ions are referred to only using generic language such as “ions outside the stable region within the notch” (e.g., paragraph 0032), “ions with various mass-to-charge ratios that are desired to be ejected” (e.g., paragraph 0036), or simply “unwanted ions” (e.g., paragraph 0038).
Furthermore, the originally-filed disclosure provides support for argon ions only in the specific case where an argon inductively coupled plasma is used. None of the original claims recites an argon ICP, nor does the originally-filed specification disclose that the present invention comprises an argon ICP. Further still, the amended specification recites generation of argon ions from a sample substance (amended paragraph 0016) and manipulation (e.g., destabilizing, ejection, fragmentation, declustering) of argon ions (amended paragraphs 0016, 0038). None of these actions are supported by the original disclosure, which teaches only that argon ions may be present in the pseudo-potential well of an RF field in an Ar ICP. Therefore, the amendments to the specification containing reference to unwanted argon ions in the present invention are not adequately described in the disclosure as originally filed, and are objected to for the introduction of new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed 24 July 2026 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1:
An RF source
An auxiliary excitation system coupled to the multipole ion guide
Claim 9:
A secondary RF potential source
Claims 13, 34:
An exit-lens voltage source
Claims 14, 35:
An axial-field source
Claim 15:
A voltage source configured to apply an offset potential or a trapping-potential pulse
Claim 16:
A barrier-potential source
An excitation source
Claim 17:
A confinement field
Claim 32:
An RF source
A confinement field
An auxiliary excitation source
Claim 36:
A rod-offset source
Figures 2A, 2B, and 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: FIG. 2B contains a reference character x. The amendments to the specification disclose reference character x as representing a transverse axis together with axis y (amended paragraph 0017). However, FIG. 2B shows a graph, where reference character x appears to be indicating some value on the vertical axis, not an axis or direction.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have been entered. Claims 1 and 16 are no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The introduction of claim changes which involve narrowing the claims by introducing elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure is a violation of the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See, e.g., Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996); and Regents of the Univ. of Minnesota v. Gilead Scis., Inc., 61 F.4th 1350, 1356-58, 2023 USQ2d 269 (Fed. Cir. 2023). MPEP § 2163.05 (II).
The recitation of “unwanted argon ions” in the claims are not supported by the originally-filed disclosure. As discussed supra, the specification as filed does not disclose that the unwanted ions in the present invention are argon ions as currently claimed; nor does the original specification teach argon ions in any ICP implementation other than an Ar ICP. There is no disclosure of a generic ICP generating argon ions as recited in independent claim 1. Independent claim 17 recites “receiving, in a multipole ion guide comprising a plurality of poles, an ion beam…comprising desired analyte ions and unwanted argon ions”; the original specification teaches only that argon ions may be present in the pseudo-potential well of an RF field in an Ar ICP, with no reference to an ion beam received by an ion guide. Independent claim 32 recites “an argon inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer”; this is similarly unsupported by the original disclosure, which at most teaches an argon inductively coupled plasma (paragraph 0015 contains no reference to a mass spectrometer). Therefore, claims 1, 17, and 32 fail to meet the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 2-16, 18-31, and 33-37 are rejected because of their dependence on claims 1, 17, and 32, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7, 18, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a DC potential source configured to rapidly apply a constant resolving DC potential”; it is unclear what is meant by rapidly applying a constant potential. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “a DC potential source configured to rapidly apply a constant resolving DC potential” to mean “a DC potential source configured to
Claims 18 and 33 recite “axial ejection of the ions.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims; it is unclear which ions are referred to as “the ions”. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “axial ejection of the ions” to mean “axial ejection of the ions having the selected mass-to-charge ratio.”
Claims 34-36 are rejected because of their dependence on claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-21, 23-26, 28-29, 32-34, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Whitehouse et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,034,292 B1), hereinafter Whitehouse.
Regarding claim 1, Whitehouse discloses an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (ICP-MS) system (column 25, lines 36-41) for analyzing chemical species (claim 1, line 1), comprising:
an inductively coupled plasma torch configured to generate, from a sample substance, an ion beam (column 25, lines 36-41) comprising desired analyte ions and unwanted ions (column 34, lines 30-32);
a vacuum chamber (FIG. 2A) having at least one vacuum stage (FIG. 2A, vacuum stages 46, 47, 48, 50, 51, 52);
a multipole ion guide disposed within the vacuum chamber (FIG. 2A, multipole ion guides 23, 24, 25, 26, 39, 40, 41) and comprising a plurality of poles (column 25, lines 29-35); an RF source (FIG. 2B, sources 79-82) configured to apply a time-varying radio-frequency (RF) potential to the plurality of poles to create a confinement field having a pseudo-potential well within the multipole ion guide (column 33, lines 12-15);
an auxiliary excitation system coupled to the multipole ion guide and configured to apply an auxiliary excitation (FIG. 2B, auxiliary potentials from sources 79-82) selected to destabilize at least a portion of the unwanted ions (column 34, lines 33-36) while maintaining the desired analyte ions within a stable mass-to-charge ratio range (column 26, lines 64-67), whereby the destabilized unwanted argon ions gain radial energy and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 33-36), fragmented, or de-clustered, thereby reducing occupancy of the pseudo-potential well and space charge within the multipole ion guide and improving transmission of the desired analyte ions (column 34, lines 30-38); a mass analyzer disposed within the vacuum chamber (column 24, lines 49-50) and configured to receive and analyze the desired analyte ions transmitted by the multipole ion guide (column 28, lines 10-22); and an ion detector disposed within the vacuum chamber (FIG. 2A, element 76) and configured to detect the desired analyte ions analyzed by the mass analyzer (column 28, lines 30-32).
Whitehouse fails to disclose that the unwanted ions are argon ions. However, claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP § 2115. Claim 1 is directed to an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer, and the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements of the mass spectrometer as discussed supra. The identification of the unwanted ions as argon ions does not impart patentability to the claim because the ions received by the ion guide are not part of the ion guide performing the receiving; rather, the ions are a material or article worked upon by the structure (ion guide within the mass spectrometer) being claimed. Therefore, patentability cannot be based upon a particular species of ions because the species of ions received by the mass spectrometer is irrelevant in terms of the structure of the mass spectrometer itself.
Regarding claim 2, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP § 2115. Claim 2/1 is directed to an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer, and the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements of the mass spectrometer as discussed supra. The limitation “the unwanted argon ions constitute a majority of sample ions received by the multipole ion guide” does not impart patentability to the claim because the sample ions received by the ion guide are not part of the ion guide performing the receiving; rather, the sample ions are a material or article worked upon by the structure (ion guide within the mass spectrometer) being claimed. Therefore, patentability cannot be based upon a certain proportion of argon ions within the sample ions as the type of ions received by the mass spectrometer is irrelevant in terms of the structure of the mass spectrometer itself.
Regarding claim 3, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the multipole ion guide comprises an upstream quadrupole segment (FIG. 2A, quadrupole ion guides 23, 24, 39) in which the auxiliary excitation is applied (FIG. 2B, auxiliary excitation from power supplies 79, 80) and a downstream RF-only (column 27, lines 28-29) quadrupole segment (FIG. 2A, quadrupole ion guides 25, 26, 40, 41) configured to collisionally focus and transmit the desired analyte ions remaining after removal of the unwanted argon ions (column 27, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 4, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation comprises a resolving direct-current (DC) potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53).
Regarding claim 5, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation system comprises a DC potential source configured to apply a constant low-band resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53) to the multipole ion guide (FIG. 2B, auxiliary DC offset applied by sources 79-82), the constant low-band resolving DC potential rendering unwanted ions having mass-to-charge ratios below a selected mass-to-charge ratio unstable and ejecting the unwanted ions from the multipole ion guide (column 33, lines 36-37).
Regarding claim 6, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation system comprises a DC potential source (FIG. 2B, auxiliary DC offset applied by sources 79-82) configured to apply a fast-sweeping resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53) having at least one notch (column 37, lines 40-41) that defines a stable mass-to-charge-ratio range for the desired analyte ions, while ions having a mass-to-charge ratios outside the notch are unstable and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 37-42).
Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997)), but “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(emphasis in original)). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)), i.e., a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the case at hand, Whitehouse teaches the structural limitations of the DC potential source. Therefore, the functional limitation regarding the fast-sweeping potential is met.
Regarding claim 7, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation system comprises a DC potential source (FIG. 2B, auxiliary DC offset applied by sources 79-82) configured to rapidly apply a constant resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53) that defines at least one stable mass-to-charge-ratio region corresponding to a notch for the desired analyte ions (column 36, lines 47-50), while ions having mass-to-charge ratios outside the stable region are unstable and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 37-42).
Regarding claim 9, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation system comprises a secondary RF potential source (column 28, lines 45-50) configured to apply a broadband (column 37, lines 39-41) auxiliary RF dipolar or quadrupolar field (column 39, lines 27-29) having a range of frequencies that resonate with ions within a predefined range of mass-to-charge ratios (column 37, lines 38-42), the broadband auxiliary RF dipolar or quadrupolar field having at least one frequency notch corresponding to resonance frequencies of the desired analyte ions (column 37, lines 38-42), such that ions outside the frequency notch are radially ejected, fragmented, or de-clustered while the desired analyte ions are transmitted through the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 38-42).
Regarding claim 10, Whitehouse as applied to claim 9 discloses the system of claim 9.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the broadband auxiliary RF dipolar or quadrupolar field comprises a plurality of frequency notches corresponding to respective mass-to-charge-ratio ranges of desired analyte ions (column 37, lines 39-41, “several m/z ranges”).
Regarding claim 11, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the multipole ion guide comprises a first segment and a second segment (FIG. 2A, first segment comprising elements 23, 24, 39, and second segment comprising elements 25, 26, 40, 41), the RF potential is applied to the first and second segments (FIG. 2B, RF potential from sources 79-82), the auxiliary excitation is applied to the first segment (FIG. 2B, auxiliary excitation from sources 79, 80) to remove the unwanted argon ions and produce a reduced-charge-density ion beam (column 34, lines 30-48), and the second segment is configured to receive, collisionally focus, accumulate, and transmit the desired analyte ions remaining after removal of the unwanted argon ions (column 37, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 12, Whitehouse as applied to claim 11 discloses the system of claim 11.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation applied to the first segment comprises a broadband auxiliary quadrupolar or dipolar RF potential (column 37, lines 39-41).
Regarding claim 13, Whitehouse as applied to claim 11 discloses the system of claim 11.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses an exit lens (FIG. 2A, element 68) positioned after the second segment (FIG. 2A, elements 25, 26, 40, 41) and an exit-lens voltage source configured to pulse an exit-lens voltage (column 32, lines 38-54) between a trapping level that retains the desired analyte ions in a potential well of the second segment (column 32, lines 38-54) and a release level that permits a packet of the retained desired analyte ions to pass through the exit lens (column 32, lines 50-54), wherein a pulse period and a voltage difference between the trapping level and the release level are selected to accumulate the desired analyte ions in the potential well before the release level is applied (column 32, lines 38-42 and column 33, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 15, Whitehouse as applied to claim 11 discloses the system of claim 11.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses a voltage source (FIG. 2B, voltage sources 81, 82) configured to apply an offset potential to the second segment (column 32, lines 38-42, DC offset potentials of ion guide elements 40, 41) or a trapping-potential pulse between the first and second segments to retain ions in a potential well of the first segment (column 32, lines 50-54; quadrupole assemblies 62-63 correspond to the first segment comprising ion guide elements 23, 24, 39; and quadrupole assemblies 64-65 correspond to the second segment comprising ion guide elements 25, 26, 40, and 41), and then to reduce or remove the offset potential or the trapping-potential pulse to transfer the desired analyte ions from the first segment to the second segment (column 32, lines 51-52).
Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997)), but “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(emphasis in original)). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)), i.e., a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the case at hand, Whitehouse teaches the structural limitations of the claim, i.e., the voltage source capable of applying an offset potential or trapping-potential pulse, the first and second segments of the multipole ion guide, the auxiliary excitation system, and the potential well. Therefore, the functional/temporal limitations regarding applying a potential “while the auxiliary excitation removes the unwanted argon ions” and “wherein a duration of the retaining operation and a voltage difference between a retaining level and a transfer level are selected to accumulate the desired analyte ions in the potential well before transfer to the second segment” are met.
Regarding claim 16, Whitehouse as applied to claim 15 discloses the system of claim 15.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses a barrier-potential source (FIG. 2B, sources 79-82) configured to maintain, between the first and second segments, a potential barrier having a given barrier height that retains ions in the first segment (column 32, lines 59-61), and an excitation source coupled to the first segment (FIG. 2B, sources 79-80).
Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997)), but “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(emphasis in original)). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)), i.e., a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the case at hand, Whitehouse teaches the structural limitations of the excitation source, the ion guide segments, and the formation of the potential barrier as discussed supra. Therefore, the functional limitations “an excitation source…configured to mass-selectively radially excite the desired analyte ions retained in the first segment such that a portion of their radial energy is converted into axial energy sufficient to pass the desired analyte ions through the potential barrier into the second segment” are met.
Regarding claim 17, Whitehouse discloses a method for reducing space charge (column 34, lines 30-33: minimizing charge depletion) in an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (column 25, lines 36-41), the method comprising: receiving, in a multipole ion guide (FIG. 2A, multipole ion guides 23, 24, 25, 26, 39, 40, 41) comprising a plurality of poles (column 25, lines 29-35), an ion beam (column 26, lines 52-58) generated by an inductively coupled plasma (column 25, lines 36-41) and comprising desired analyte ions and unwanted ions (column 34, lines 30-32); applying a time-varying radio-frequency (RF) potential to the plurality of poles to create a confinement field having a pseudo-potential well within the multipole ion guide (column 33, lines 5-15); and applying an auxiliary excitation (column 37, lines 34-44) selected to destabilize at least a portion of the unwanted ions (column 34, lines 33-36) while maintaining the desired analyte ions within a stable mass-to-charge-ratio range (column 26, line 64 to column 27, line 3), whereby the destabilized unwanted argon ions gain radial energy and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 33-36), fragmented, or de-clustered while the desired analyte ions are transmitted through the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 39-42), thereby reducing occupancy of the pseudo-potential well and space charge within the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 30-34, “minimizing charge depletion”).
Whitehouse fails to disclose that the inductively coupled plasma is an argon inductively coupled plasma; and that the unwanted ions are argon ions. However, claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP § 2115. Claim 17 is directed to a method for reducing space charge in an ICP-MS, and the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements of the method as discussed supra. The identification of the ions as argon ions does not impart patentability to the claim because identifying the ions in the ICP-MS as argon ions provides no specific actual step of reducing the space charge in the ICP-MS; rather, the ions are a material or article worked upon by the structure performing the claimed space charge reduction. Therefore, patentability cannot be based upon a particular species of ions because the species of ions in the ICP-MS is irrelevant in terms of the method of reducing space charge in the ICP-MS.
Regarding claim 18, Whitehouse as applied to claim 17 discloses the method of claim 17.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that applying the auxiliary excitation comprises applying a resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53).
Regarding claim 19, Whitehouse as applied to claim 17 discloses the method of claim 17.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that applying the auxiliary excitation comprises applying a constant low-band resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53) that renders ions below a selected stability boundary unstable and ejects the unstable ions from the multipole ion guide (column 33, lines 36-37).
Regarding claim 20, Whitehouse as applied to claim 17 discloses the method of claim 17.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that applying the auxiliary excitation comprises applying a fast-sweeping resolving DC potential having a notch (column 33, lines 1-12; column 41, lines 61-67) that defines a stable mass-to-charge-ratio range for the desired analyte ions, while ions having mass-to-charge ratios outside the notch are unstable and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 41, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 21, Whitehouse as applied to claim 17 discloses the method of claim 17.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that applying the auxiliary excitation comprises applying a broadband (column 37, lines 39-41) auxiliary quadrupolar or dipolar RF potential (column 39, lines 27-29) having frequencies that resonate with ions within a predefined range of mass-to-charge ratios (column 37, lines 38-42) and cause the resonant ions to gain radial energy and be radially ejected, fragmented, or de-clustered (column 37, lines 38-42).
Regarding claim 23, Whitehouse as applied to claim 21 discloses the method of claim 21.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the broadband auxiliary quadrupolar or dipolar RF potential has a plurality of frequency notches corresponding to respective mass-to-charge-ratio ranges of desired analyte ions (column 37, lines 40-41: “eject all ions but…several m/z ranges”), whereby the desired analyte ions are stable and pass through the multipole ion guide while remaining ions outside the plurality of frequency notches are radially ejected, fragmented, or de-clustered (column 37, lines 38-42).
Regarding claim 24, Whitehouse as applied to claim 17 discloses the method of claim 17.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the multipole ion guide comprises a first segment and a second segment (FIG. 2A, first segment comprising elements 23, 24, 39, and second segment comprising elements 25, 26, 40, 41), the RF potential is applied to the first and second segments (FIG. 2B, RF potential from sources 79-82), the auxiliary excitation is applied to the first segment (FIG. 2B, auxiliary excitation from sources 79, 80) to remove the unwanted ions and produce a reduced-charge-density ion beam (column 34, lines 30-48), and the second segment receives, collisionally focuses, accumulates, and transmits the desired analyte ions remaining after removal of the unwanted ions (column 37, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 25, Whitehouse as applied to claim 24 discloses the method of claim 24.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses applying an exit-lens voltage (column 32, lines 38-40) to an exit lens (FIG. 2A, element 68) positioned after the second segment (FIG. 2A, elements 25, 26, 40, 41).
Regarding claim 26, Whitehouse as applied to claim 25 discloses the method of claim 25.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses pulsing the exit-lens voltage between a trapping level that retains the desired analyte ions in a potential well of the second segment (column 32, lines 38-42) and a release level that permits a packet of the retained desired analyte ions to pass through the exit lens (column 32, lines 50-54), wherein a pulse period and a voltage difference between the trapping level and the release level are selected to accumulate the desired analyte ions in the potential well before the release level is applied (column 32, lines 38-42 and column 33, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 28, Whitehouse as applied to claim 24 discloses the method of claim 24.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses applying a rod-offset potential to the second segment of the multipole ion guide (column 32, lines 38-39).
Regarding claim 29, Whitehouse as applied to claim 28 discloses the method of claim 28.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses pulsing the rod-offset potential between a trapping level that retains ions in the first segment (column 32, lines 38-54) while the auxiliary excitation removes the unwanted ions (column 39, lines 20-32) and a transfer level that permits the desired analyte ions to enter the second segment for collisional focusing and transmission (column 32, lines 42-54), wherein a pulse period and a voltage difference between the trapping level and the transfer level are selected to accumulate the desired analyte ions in a potential well of the first segment before the transfer level is applied (column 32, lines 38-42 and column 33, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 32, Whitehouse discloses an ion-guide system for reducing space charge (column 34, lines 30-33: minimizing charge depletion) in an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (column 25, lines 36-41), the system comprising: a multipole ion guide (FIG. 2A, multipole ion guides 23, 24, 25, 26, 39, 40, 41) comprising a set of rods (column 25, lines 29-35) and configured to receive an ion beam (column 26, lines 52-58) comprising desired analyte ions and unwanted argon ions (column 34, lines 30-32); an RF source (FIG. 2B, sources 79-82) configured to apply a time-varying radio-frequency (RF) potential to the set of rods to create a confinement field having a pseudo-potential well within the multipole ion guide (column 33, lines 12-15); and an auxiliary excitation source coupled to the multipole ion guide (FIG. 2B, auxiliary potentials from sources 79-82) and configured to apply an auxiliary excitation (column 37, lines 34-44) selected to destabilize at least a portion of the unwanted ions (column 34, lines 33-36) while maintaining the desired analyte ions within a stable mass-to-charge-ratio range (column 26, line 64 to column 27, line 3), whereby the destabilized unwanted ions gain radial energy and are ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 33-36), fragmented, or de-clustered while the desired analyte ions are transmitted through the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 39-42), thereby reducing occupancy of the pseudo-potential well and space charge within the multipole ion guide (column 34, lines 30-38, “minimizing charge depletion”).
Whitehouse fails to disclose that the unwanted ions are argon ions. However, claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP § 2115. Claim 32 is directed to an ion guide system, and the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements of the ion guide system as discussed supra. The identification of the unwanted ions as argon ions does not impart patentability to the claim because the ions received by the ion guide are not part of the ion guide performing the receiving; rather, the ions are a material or article worked upon by the structure (ion guide system) being claimed. Therefore, patentability cannot be based upon a particular species of ions because the species of ions received by the ion guide is irrelevant in terms of the structure of the ion guide itself.
Regarding claim 33, Whitehouse as applied to claim 32 discloses the system of claim 32.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the auxiliary excitation comprises a resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53).
Regarding claim 34, Whitehouse as applied to claim 33 discloses the system of claim 33.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the multipole ion guide comprises a first segment and a second segment (FIG. 2A, first segment comprising elements 23, 24, 39, and second segment comprising elements 25, 26, 40, 41), and the system further comprises an exit lens (FIG. 2A, element 68) positioned after the second segment (FIG. 2A, elements 25, 26, 40, 41) and an exit-lens voltage source configured to pulse an exit-lens voltage (column 32, lines 38-54) between a trapping level that retains the desired analyte ions in a potential well of the second segment (column 32, lines 38-54) and a release level that permits a packet of the retained desired analyte ions to pass through the exit lens (column 32, lines 50-54), wherein a pulse period and a voltage difference between the trapping level and the release level are selected to accumulate the desired analyte ions in the potential well before the release level is applied (column 32, lines 38-42 and column 33, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 36, Whitehouse as applied to claim 33 discloses the system of claim 33.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the multipole ion guide comprises a first segment and a second segment (FIG. 2A, first segment comprising elements 23, 24, 39, and second segment comprising elements 25, 26, 40, 41), and the system further comprises a rod-offset source (column 32, lines 38-39) configured to pulse a rod-offset potential applied to the second segment between a trapping level that retains ions in the first segment (column 32, lines 38-54) while the auxiliary excitation removes the unwanted ions (column 39, lines 20-32) and a transfer level that permits the desired analyte ions to enter the second segment for collisional focusing and transmission (column 32, lines 42-54) wherein a pulse period and a voltage difference between the trapping level and the transfer level are selected to accumulate the desired analyte ions in a potential well of the first segment before the transfer level is applied (column 32, lines 38-42 and column 33, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 37, Whitehouse as applied to claim 32 discloses the system of claim 32.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the multipole ion guide is a quadrupole ion guide (column 26, lines 55-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehouse et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,034,292 B1), hereinafter Whitehouse.
Regarding claim 8, Whitehouse as applied to claim 1 discloses the system of claim 1.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that the RF potential defines a transmission window within which ion trajectories are stable (column 37, lines 34-48), and wherein the auxiliary excitation system comprises a DC potential source (FIG. 2B, auxiliary DC offset applied by sources 79-82) configured to apply a constant resolving DC potential (column 33, lines 33-41 and 51-53) that defines, within the transmission window, a selected stable mass-to-charge-ratio range, ions outside the selected stable mass-to-charge-ratio range being unstable and ejected from the multipole ion guide (column 37, lines 34-48).
Whitehouse fails to disclose that the transmission window corresponds to q-parameter values from 0.1 to 0.9.
However, the range of q-parameters is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Whitehouse teaches “[h]igh mass rejection using high-q” and “[l]ow mass rejection using low-q” (column 33, lines 34-37). As such, Whitehouse identifies q-parameters as a variable which achieves a recognized result, i.e., high or low mass rejection. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting q-parameters and identifies said q-parameters as a result-effective variable. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize q-parameters to meet the claimed range since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claims 14, 27, 30, 31, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehouse as respectively applied to claims 13, 26, 29, 28, and 34 above, in view of Guna (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0286659 A1), hereinafter Guna.
Regarding claim 14, Whitehouse as applied to claim 13 discloses the system of claim 13.
Whitehouse fails to disclose an axial-field source configured to apply an axial field to the second segment during application of the release level to drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens.
However, Guna discloses an axial-field source (paragraph 0038; each of the disclosed voltages must inherently be applied by a source) configured to apply an axial field (paragraph 0038, voltages “used to eject ions axially”) to the second segment (paragraph 0034, “a subset of the rods or segments”) during application of the release level (paragraph 0034, “while applying a DC potential to the exit lens”) to drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens (paragraph 0038, “eject ions axially…past the DC potential barrier present at the exit lens”).
The application of the axial field during application of a particular release level is a functional and temporal limitation which does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Therefore, the limitation “apply an axial field…during application of the release level” (emphasis added) does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2114.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Whitehouse to include an axial-field source configured to apply an axial field to the second segment during application of the release level to drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens, based on the teachings of Guna that this advantageously couples axial and radial ion motions, enabling axial ion ejection at radial secular frequencies (Guna, paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 27, Whitehouse as applied to claim 26 discloses the method of claim 26.
Whitehouse fails to disclose applying an axial field to the second segment during application of the release level to accelerate and drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens toward a subsequent stage of the mass spectrometer.
However, Guna discloses applying an axial field (paragraph 0034, lines 1-9) to the second segment during application of the release level (paragraph 0034, last sentence) to accelerate and drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens toward a subsequent stage of the mass spectrometer (paragraph 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Whitehouse to include applying an axial field to the second segment during application of the release level to accelerate and drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens toward a subsequent stage of the mass spectrometer, based on the teachings of Guna that the application of the axial field improves peak resolution and sensitivity (Guna, paragraphs 0050-0051).
Regarding claim 30, Whitehouse as applied to claim 29 discloses the method of claim 29.
Whitehouse fails to disclose applying an axial field to drive the desired analyte ions through the second segment and out of the multipole ion guide.
However, Guna discloses applying an axial field (paragraph 0034, lines 1-9) to drive the desired analyte ions through the second segment and out of the multipole ion guide (paragraph 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Whitehouse to include applying an axial field to drive the desired analyte ions through the second segment and out of the multipole ion guide, based on the teachings of Guna that the application of the axial field improves peak resolution and sensitivity (Guna, paragraphs 0050-0051).
Regarding claim 31, Whitehouse as applied to claim 28 discloses the method of claim 28.
In addition, Whitehouse discloses that applying the rod-offset potential comprises forming between the first and second segments a constant potential barrier having a given barrier height that retains ions in the first segment (column 32, lines 59-61).
Whitehouse fails to disclose mass-selectively radially exciting the desired analyte ions retained in the first segment such that a portion of their radial energy is converted into axial energy sufficient to pass the desired analyte ions through the constant potential barrier into the second segment.
However, Guna discloses mass-selectively (paragraph 0046, lines 17-19) radially exciting the desired analyte ions retained in the first segment such that a portion of their radial energy is converted into axial energy sufficient to pass the desired analyte ions through the constant potential barrier into the second segment (paragraph 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Whitehouse to include mass-selectively radially exciting the desired analyte ions retained in the first segment such that a portion of their radial energy is converted into axial energy sufficient to pass the desired analyte ions through the constant potential barrier into the second segment, based on the teachings of Guna that this improves extraction efficiency by reducing the number of ions which collide with the rods of the ion guide due to high radial energy (Guna, paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 35, Whitehouse as applied to claim 34 discloses the system of claim 34.
Whitehouse fails to disclose an axial-field source configured to apply an axial field to the second segment during application of the release level to accelerate and drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens toward a subsequent stage of the mass spectrometer.
However, Guna discloses an axial-field source configured to apply an axial field (paragraph 0034, lines 1-9; the applied field must inherently be supplied by an axial-field source) to the second segment during application of the release level (paragraph 0034, last sentence) to accelerate and drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens toward a subsequent stage of the mass spectrometer (paragraph 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Whitehouse to include an axial-field source configured to apply an axial field to the second segment during application of the release level to accelerate and drive the packet of retained desired analyte ions through the exit lens toward a subsequent stage of the mass spectrometer, based on the teachings of Guna that the application of the axial field improves peak resolution and sensitivity (Guna, paragraphs 0050-0051).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehouse as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Javahery et al. (CA Patent No. 2236199 C), hereinafter Javahery.
Regarding claim 22, Whitehouse as applied to claim 21 discloses the method of claim 21.
Whitehouse fails to disclose that the broadband auxiliary quadrupolar or dipolar RF potential has a single frequency notch corresponding to a mass-to-charge-ratio range of the desired analyte ions, whereby the desired analyte ions are stable and pass through the multipole ion guide while remaining ions outside the single frequency notch are radially ejected, fragmented, or de-clustered.
However, Javahery discloses that the broadband auxiliary quadrupolar or dipolar RF potential has a single frequency notch corresponding to a mass-to-charge-ratio range of the desired analyte ions (page 6, lines 4-8), whereby the desired analyte ions are stable and pass through the multipole ion guide (page 6, lines 7-8) while remaining ions outside the single frequency notch are radially ejected, fragmented, or de-clustered (page 8, lines 27-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Whitehouse to include that the broadband auxiliary quadrupolar or dipolar RF potential has a single frequency notch corresponding to a mass-to-charge-ratio range of the desired analyte ions, whereby the desired analyte ions are stable and pass through the multipole ion guide while remaining ions outside the single frequency notch are radially ejected, fragmented, or de-clustered, based on the teachings of Javahery that this advantageously enables filtering out of unwanted ions from the signal to be analyzed (Javahery, page 6, lines 1-8), which permits more efficient mass selection (Javahery, page 8, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881