DETAILED ACTION
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “coulter blade is arranged to vertically penetrate the soil to a depth deeper than the knife assembly”, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the recited claim 3, according to claim 16 is improper claim numbering. Appropriate correction is required.
With regards to claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the recited “the collection spool is rotatable between a first position (as there is no description illustrating and / or where this position is initiated) in which the collection cavity is shielded ( from the soil, and a second position in which the collection cavity is outwardly exposed to the soil to collect the soil sample” is unclear as to what is being referred to here. The DETAILED DESCRIPTION does not define, disclose or suggest these above limitations and or their function as to how these are to be performed. Appropriate correction is required.
With regards to claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the recited “collection spool is further vertically movable in the rear blade element” is unclear as to what is being referred to as the DETAILED DESCRIPTION does not define, disclose or suggest this above limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheider et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2014/0251032 A1].
With regards to claim 1, Scheider discloses a soil sample collection system (ABSTRACT) comprising: a support frame configured for mounting to a vehicle (10, tractor, Fig. 1-7, ¶0029); a collection apparatus (¶0002) comprising: a coulter blade rotatably coupled to the support frame (14, leading in-line disk, Fig. 1-7, ¶0030); a knife assembly coupled to the support frame proximate to and at the rear of the coulter blade (18, soil collection knife, Fig. 1-4, ¶0030), the knife assembly comprising a front blade element (70, knife blade, Figs. 11-13, ) and a rear blade element coupled to the front blade element (83, housing of knife collection blade 18, Figs. 11-13, ¶0036); wherein the rear blade element is configured to engage the soil and collect the soil sample as the vehicle travels along a surface of the soil (Claim 6).
With regards to claim 2, Scheider discloses the rear blade element is pivotably movable (the soil collection knife 18 is part of a collection knife assembly 19, and the assembly 19 is mounted on a tubular member 21c that is pivotably supported by the soil sampler frame. A hydraulic cylinder 22 mounted on the soil sampler frame is selectively extended to rotate the collection knife assembly 19 toward tractor 10 and thereby raise the soil collection knife 18, or retracted to rotate the collection knife assembly 19 away from tractor, ¶0033).
With regards to claim 3, Scheider discloses the rear blade element is hingedly coupled to the front blade element (A hydraulic cylinder 22 mounted on the soil sampler frame is selectively extended to rotate the collection knife assembly 19 toward tractor 10 and thereby raise the soil collection knife 18, or retracted to rotate the collection knife assembly 19 away from tractor, ¶0033).
With regards to claim 4, Scheider discloses, wherein the rear blade element is angularly moveable relative to the front blade element in opposing lateral directions about a substantially vertical pivot axis (the soil collection knife 18 is part of a collection knife assembly 19, and the assembly 19 is mounted on a tubular member 21c that is pivotably supported by the soil sampler frame, Fig. 3, 4, & 7, ¶0031-0033).
With regards to claim 7, Scheider discloses, wherein the rear blade element comprises a movable collection spool, the collection spool being selectively rotatable axis (the soil collection knife 18 is part of a collection knife assembly 19, and the assembly 19 is mounted on a tubular member 21c that is pivotably supported by the soil sampler frame, Fig. 3, 4, & 7, ¶0031-0033) and comprising a collection cavity configured to capture the soil sample (the knife blade 70 of soil collection knife 18 incorporates a series of four sampling chambers 72, 74, 75, 76 inboard of the soil capture slot 90. The sampling chambers 72, 74, 75, 76 are disposed at different soil depths to collect samples of topsoil at different soil depths, and the canted press wheel 20 urges soil into the sampling chambers 72, 74, 75, 76 as the knife blade 70 is drawn through the soil by the forward movement of the tractor 10, Figs. 11-14, ¶0036).
With regards to claim 8, Scheider discloses, further comprising a spool drive mechanism (25, carousel, Figs. 5-9, ¶0045) operably coupled to the collection spool and operable to rotate the collection spool (Figs. 5-9, ¶0038-0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scheider et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2014/0251032 A1] in view of O’Neall et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2023/0151810 A1].
The applied reference has a common Inventor and Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
With regards to claim 11, Scheider disclose the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1, however is silent on the collection apparatus includes at least one guide ski disposed adjacent to the coulter blade and configured to ride along the surface of the soil.
O’Neall ‘1032 teaches of collection apparatus (8002, soil sample collection apparatus, Fig. 44-82, ¶0229) includes at least one guide ski (8060, at least one guide ski, Fig. 46, ¶0229) disposed adjacent to the coulter blade (8021, coulter blade Fig. 46, ¶0229) and configured to ride along the surface of the soil (Fig. 53, ¶0238).
At the timer of filing, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to modify Scheider’s soil sample collection system with a at least one guide ski based upon O’Neall ‘1032 teachings. When modifying Scheider one would have readily concluded to provide the guide ski to substantially limits the insertion depth of the knife assembly into the soil, (¶0239).
With regards to claim 12, O’Neall ‘1032 teaches wherein the at least one guide ski comprises an upturned wedge-shaped front-end portion, (Figs 46-48, ¶0239).
With regards to claim 15, O’Neall ‘1032 teaches coulter blade is arranged to vertically penetrate the soil to a depth deeper than the knife assembly
Claims 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scheider et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2014/0251032 A1] in view of Kornecki et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2020/0100418 A1].
With regards to claim 16, Scheider disclose the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1, however is silent on the coulter blade is coupled to and rotated by a motor.
Kornecki teaches of coulter blade (20, active coulter component, Fig. 2, ¶0011) is coupled to and rotated by a motor, (21, active external mechanical power means like a hydraulic motor, a tractor power take-off, an electric motor, or the like, Fig. 2, ¶0011).
At the timer of filing, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to modify Scheider’s soil sample collection system having 14, leading in-line disk having a mechanical power means to power the active coulter component based upon Kornecki teachings. When modifying Scheider one would have readily concluded to provide the active external mechanical power means as this structure enables the active coulter component to be vertically adjusted quickly and efficiently, ¶0014)
With regards to claim 17, Kornecki teaches further comprising an overrunning clutch operably coupled between the motor and the coulter blade (The active coulter component is directly driven by an active external mechanical power means, like a hydraulic motor, a tractor power take-off, an electric motor, or the like, ¶0011).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Scheider et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2014/0251032 A1] in view of Renyer et al. [PG. Pub. No.: US 2012/0241180 A1].
With regards to claim 18, Scheider disclose the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1, however is silent on the further comprising a drive wheel coupled to the coulter blade and operable to rotate the coulter blade, the drive wheel configured to roll on the surface of the soil when the collection apparatus is pulled through the soil.
Renyer teaches of (10, a farm implement, Fig. 1, ABSTRACT) comprising a drive wheel (16, a pair of ground wheels secured by means of conventional implement height adjustment mechanisms, 0036) coupled to the coulter blade (26, rotatable coulter blades, being coupled to 12, frame Figs. 1 & 2, 0036-0039) and operable to rotate the coulter blade, the drive wheel (16) configured to roll on the surface of the soil when the collection apparatus is pulled through the soil (Figs. 1 & 2).
At the timer of filing, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to modify Scheider’s soil sample collection system having a pair of ground wheels based upon Renyer teachings. When modifying Scheider one would have readily concluded to provide the a pair of ground wheels secured by means of conventional implement height adjustment mechanisms, ¶0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 13, & 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 5, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “a pair of rudder actuators operably coupled to the rear blade element, the rudder actuators operable to pivot the rear blade element in opposing lateral directions” in combination with the remaining claimed elements as set forth in claim 5 from which it depends. Claim 6 depends therefrom claim 5.
With regards to claim 13, wherein the knife assembly further comprises a plurality of low friction pads disposed adjacent to the at least one guide ski on lateral side surfaces of the knife assembly.
With regards to claim 14, wherein the at least one guide ski is spaced apart from the coulter blade by a gap between less than a thickness of the coulter blade and no more than five times the thickness, or optionally twice the thickness.
Conclusion
/FRANCIS C GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852