DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wensel et al. (US 2021/0238519 A1 – hereafter ‘519).
‘519 discloses a bioproduct manufacturing system that includes a hollow-fiber membrane (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A temperature controlled biological growth surface”: ‘519 discloses a hollow fiber growth surface (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0041]) that is temperature controlled by a heating element ([0057]).
“a temperature source in thermal communication with the biomass growth surface.”: ‘519 discloses a heating element such as an electrical heater ([0057]) that is in thermal communication with the growth surface.
For claim 2, ‘519 discloses that the biomass or algae is in contact with the growth surface ([0041]).
For claim 3, ‘519 uses cyanobacteria which is a phototrophic, prokaryote ([0030]).
For claim 4, the biomass of ‘519 grows on the growth surface ([0041}).
For claim 5, ‘516 discloses using a hollow-fiber membrane ([0041]).
For claim 6, the hollow-fiber membrane of ‘519 has a cylindrical shape, i.e. a lumen ([0023]).
For claim 7, ‘519 adds a film to the membrane ([0068]) that is being interpreted as the biofilm of the instant application.
For claim 8, ‘519 discloses that the temperature control element can be a copper wire ([0057]) which is a resistive heat element.
For claim 11, ‘519 discloses using a cooling water coil ([0036]) which reads on a cold reservoir of water.
For claim 15, the lumen of ‘519 is configured to support a biomass and is made of a hydrogel ([0054]).
For claim 16, the hydrogel of ‘519 is configured to come in contact with the biomass ([0054]).
For claim 17, ‘519 discloses the following limitations:
“A method for removing one or more of nitrogen, carbon or phosphate from a medium”: ‘519 discloses a method for recovering or removing nitrogen from a waste stream ([0023]).
“contacting a temperature controlled biological growth surface according to claim 1 with the medium, wherein the biological growth surface comprises an organism configured to remove the one or more of nitrogen, carbon, or phosphate from the medium when within a temperature range”: ‘519 discloses contacting a surface with a biomass attached to it ([0016]; [0041]) that is used to remove nitrogen from a waste stream.
“heating the temperature controlled biological growth surface to within the temperature range in order to allow the organism to remove the one or more of nitrogen, carbon, or phosphate from the medium”: ‘519 discloses heating the surface within a temperature range in order to remove nitrogen from the waste stream ([0057]). This involves using a heating element such as a copper wire to heat the surface up to 80°C.
For claim 18, ‘519 discloses the following limitations:
A method for converting one or more of nitrogen, carbon or phosphate from a medium”: 519 discloses a method for recovering or removing nitrogen from a waste stream ([0023]).
“contacting a temperature controlled biological growth surface according to claim 1 with the medium, wherein the biological growth surface comprises an organism configured to remove the one or more of nitrogen, carbon, or phosphate from the medium when within a temperature range”: ‘519 discloses contacting a surface with a biomass attached to it ([0016]; [0041]) that is used to remove nitrogen from a waste stream.
“heating the temperature controlled biological growth surface to within the temperature range in order to allow the organism to remove the one or more of nitrogen, carbon, or phosphate from the medium”: ‘519 discloses heating the surface within a temperature range in order to remove nitrogen from the waste stream ([0057]). This involves using a heating element such as a copper wire to heat the surface up to 80°C.
For claim 19, ‘519 discloses that the medium is a liquid ([0034]).
For claim 20, ‘519 discloses removing nitrogen from the waste stream ([0016]; [0041]).
Therefore, ‘519 meets the limitations of claims 1-8, 11 and 15-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wensel et al. (US 2021/0238519 A1 – hereafter ‘519) in view of Paripati et al. (US 2015/0376833 A1 – hereafter ‘833).
For claim 9, ‘519 (Wensel) differs from claim 9 regarding a radiation source as the source for heating the biomass growth surface, but does disclose that any suitable heat source can be used ([0057]).
‘833 (Paripati) discloses a system for the treatment of a biomass (Abstract) that for claim 9 includes using an infrared heating system ([0077]) to heat the biomass. The wavelengths used may be the near IR of about 0.75 to 1.4 mm , the mid IR with wavelengths of about 3-8 mm or the far IR with wavelengths of about 15-1000 mm([0109]). This allows for the biomass to be maintained at a temperature range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the radiation source of ‘833 within ‘519 in order to heat the biomass. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to maintain the biomass at a temperature range ([0077]).
‘519 differs from the limitations of claim 10.
For claim 10, ‘833 discloses that the biomass is made of smaller sized particles ([0112]) that is fully capable of being heated by the radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the particles of ‘833 within ‘519 in order to form the biomass. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to maintain the biomass at a temperature range ([0077]).
‘519 differs from the limitations of claims 12 and 13.
For claims 12 and 13, ‘833 discloses using a thermocouple ([0059]; i.e. the temperature controller).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the temperature sensor of ‘833 within ‘519 in order to heat the biomass. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to maintain the biomass at a temperature range ([0077]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wensel et al. (US 2021/0238519 A1 – hereafter ‘519) in views of Paripati et al. (US 2015/0376833 A1 – hereafter ‘833) and Applegate et al. (US 2005/0133443 A1 – hereafter ‘443).
‘519 differs from claim 14 regarding a PID controller and a temperature sensor. ‘833 discloses a microcontroller ([0174]) with sensors connected to the controller ([0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the controller and temperature sensor of ‘833 within ‘519 in order to heat the biomass. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to maintain the biomass at a temperature range ([0077]).
‘833 does not disclose a PID controller.
‘443 discloses a wastewater treatment (Abstract) that for claim 14 includes using a control that may be a proportional-integral-derivative control ([0026]). This allows the operation to be automatically use an algorithm to control the process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the PID controller of ‘443 within modified ‘519 in order to operate the system. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to automate the process ([0026]). See also MPEP §2144.04 III.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aiken et al. (US 2013/0193069 A1) which discloses a fluid treatment system.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799