DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 31st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 & 4-12 are amended. Claims 2-3 are canceled. Claims 1 & 4-12 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 4-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; as necessitate by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the first electrode is one of multiple first electrodes or the second electrode is one of multiple second electrodes; the first transmitting circuit is connected to the multiple first electrodes through the first switching circuit; the high-voltage ground is connected to the multiple second electrodes through the second switching circuit; and the control circuit is configured to control the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit so as to form the sine wave between any one of the multiple first electrodes and any one of the multiple second electrodes”; it is unclear if this claim requires there to be both multiple first electrodes and multiple second electrode, which renders the claim indefinite, as claim 8 introduces “the first electrode is one of multiple first electrodes or the second electrode is one of multiple second electrodes”, e.g. the multiple first electrodes are introduced in the alternative to the multiple second electrodes, however, the claim further recites “multiple first electrodes” and “multiple second electrodes”, therefore it is unclear if the claim requires both multiple first electrode AND multiple second electrodes or if the claim requires just one of the multiple first electrodes or the multiple second electrodes. For examination purposes the examiner is considering the multiple second electrodes to be in alternative to the multiple first electrodes (e.g. the claim just requires for one of the multiple second electrodes or the multiple first electrodes). Claim 9 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman et al. (US 20240032983 A1; effective filing date of 12/21/2020) in view of Kristoffersen et al. (previously presented-US 7022074 B2), hereinafter “Kristoffersen”.
Regarding claim 1, Sherman discloses a high-voltage transmitting circuit for a catheter, a first electrode ([0022]-[0023]; Figure 1—element 3) and a second electrode ([0096]; Figure 1—element 5) being provided on the catheter ([0022] & [0096]; Figure 1—element 100), and the high-voltage transmitting circuit comprising: a first transmitting circuit ([0152]; Figure 2—element 204); a filtering circuit ([0153]-[0157]; Figure 2—elements 205, 206, & 205’); and a control circuit ([0014]; Figure 2—element 200), wherein: a first end of the first transmitting circuit is connected to a high-voltage positive electrode, a second end of the first transmitting circuit is connected to a high-voltage ground, and a third end of the first transmitting circuit is connected to a high-voltage negative electrode ([0129], [0178], & [0179]); an input terminal of the filtering circuit is connected to a transmitting terminal of the first transmitting circuit ([0153]-[01156]; Figure 2—elements 204, 205, 206, & 205’), an output terminal of the filtering circuit is connected to the first electrode ([0025]; Figure 1—element 3; Figure 2—element “S”), and the second electrode is connected to the high-voltage ground ([0096]; Figure 1—element 5); the control circuit is connected to the first transmitting circuit, and configured to control the first transmitting circuit so that the first transmitting circuit outputs an alternating-current (AC) square wave ([0152]), which is subjected to filter processing by the filtering circuit to form a sine wave for pulse ablation between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0033] & [0153]-[0156]).
Sherman does not disclose the first transmitting circuit comprises a first switch tube, a second switch tube and a third switch tube; a first end of the first switch tube is connected to the high-voltage positive electrode; a second end of the first switch tube is connected to the input terminal; a first end of the second switch tube is connected to the input terminal; a first end of the third switch tube is connected to the input terminal; a second end of the second switch tube is connected to the high-voltage ground; a second end of the third switch tube is connected to the high-voltage negative electrode; a control terminal of the first switch tube is connected to the control circuit; a control terminal of the second switch tube connected to the control circuit; a control terminal of the third switch tube is connected to the control circuit; and the first transmitting circuit is configured to output: (i) a positive high voltage of AC square wave when the first switch tube is in a conducting state; (ii) a zero voltage of AC square wave when the second switch tube is in a conducting state; and (iii) a negative high voltage of AC square wave when the third switch tube is in a conducting state.
Kristoffersen teaches a first transmitting circuit configured to output an alternating-current (AC) square wave, the first transmitting circuit comprises a first switch tube, a second switch tube and a third switch tube ([Col. 5, line 50 – Col. 6, line 8]; Figure 4—elements 152, 156, & 154); a first end of the first switch tube is connected to the high-voltage positive electrode ([Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 8]; Figure 4—elements 152 & 158); a second end of the first switch tube is connected to the input terminal ([Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 124]; Figure 4—elements 152 & 164); a first end of the second switch tube is connected to the input terminal ([Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 124]; Figure 4—elements 156 & 164); a first end of the third switch tube is connected to the input terminal ([Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 124]; Figure 4—elements 154 & 164); a second end of the second switch tube is connected to the high-voltage ground ([Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 124]; Figure 4—elements 156 & 162); a second end of the third switch tube is connected to the high-voltage negative electrode ([Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 124]; Figure 4—elements 154 & 160); a control terminal of the first switch tube is connected to the control circuit; a control terminal of the second switch tube connected to the control circuit; a control terminal of the third switch tube is connected to the control circuit ([Col. 6, lines 7-25]; Figure 25—element 166); and the first transmitting circuit is configured to output: (i) a positive high voltage of AC square wave when the first switch tube is in a conducting state; (ii) a zero voltage of AC square wave when the second switch tube is in a conducting state; and (iii) a negative high voltage of AC square wave when the third switch tube is in a conducting state ([Col. 5, line 50 – Col. 6, line 31]; Figure 6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the first transmitting circuit comprising an H-bridge for outputting an alternating-current (AC) square wave, as disclosed by Sherman, to include the first transmitting circuit comprising a first switch tube, a second switch tube, and a third switch tube, as taught by Kristoffersen, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward pulse generators comprising first transmitting circuits for outputting an alternating-current (AC) square wave. As disclosed by Sherman, the first transmitting circuit may comprise an H-bridge that is configured to produce a square wave of positive and negative pulses ([0130] & [0152]). As disclosed by Kristoffersen, the first transmitting circuit may comprise a first switch connected between the positive voltage and the input, a second switch connected between ground and the input, and a third switch connection between the negative voltage and the input, such that the transmitting circuit produces a square wave of positive and negative pulses with intermediate zero segments when the first and third switch are open without high losses ([Col. 1, lines 25-31], [Col. 1, line 56 – Col. 2, line 3], & [Col. 5, line 50 – Col. 6, line 31]). A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the first transmitting circuit comprising an H-bridge for outputting an alternating-current (AC) square wave, as disclosed by Sherman, to include the first transmitting circuit comprising a first switch tube, a second switch tube, and a third switch tube, as taught by Kristoffersen, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable first transmitting circuit configuration that produces the predictable result of producing a square wave of positive and negative pulses and further would provide for intermediate zero segments when the switches are open, without high losses.
Regarding claim 4, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Kristoffersen further teaches wherein: the first switch tube, the second switch tube and the third switch tube have a same structure; and at least two of the first switch tube, the second switch tube and the third switch tube are reversely connected ([Col. 5, line 50 – Col. 6, line 31]; Figure 4—elements 152, 156, & 154; Figure 4 portrays the switches 152, 156, & 154 comprising the same structure and switches 152 & 154 being reversely connected).
Regarding claim 7, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sherman further discloses wherein the first electrode is one of multiple first electrodes ([0022]-[0024]; Figure 1—elements 3); the first transmitting circuit is one of multiple first transmitting circuits corresponding to the multiple first electrodes, respectively; the filtering circuit is one of multiple filtering circuits corresponding to the multiple first electrodes, respectively; and the control circuit is configured to control any one of the multiple first transmitting circuits to form the sine wave between: (i) the first electrode of the one of the multiple first transmitting circuits; and (ii) the second electrode ([0136], [0139], [0142], [0150]-[0151], [0153]-[0156], & [0223]; Figure 2—elements 200, 202, 204, & 205).
Regarding claim 12, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sherman further discloses an ablation tool comprising the high-voltage transmitting circuit ([0021] & [0033]; Figure 1—element 100).
Claims 5 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Kristoffersen and Bowers et al. (previously presented-US 20200230403 A1), hereinafter “Bowers”.
Regarding claim 5, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sherman in view of Kristoffersen do not disclose wherein: the first transmitting circuit further comprises a first resistor and a second resistor; the first resistor is connected in series between the first end of the first switch tube and the high-voltage positive electrode; and the second resistor is connected in series between the second end of the third switch tube and the high-voltage negative electrode.
Bowers teaches a first transmitting circuit comprising a first switch tube and a third switch tube configured to output an AC voltage square wave ([0078]; Figure 2—elements 220 & 230); wherein: the first transmitting circuit further comprises a first resistor and a second resistor; the first resistor is connected in series between the first end of the first switch tube and the high-voltage positive electrode; and the second resistor is connected in series between the second end of the third switch tube and the high-voltage negative electrode ([0080]; Figure 2—elements 240 & 252).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection of the high-voltage positive electrode and the high-voltage negative electrode to the first switch tube and third switch tube, as disclosed by Sherman in view of Kristoffersen, to include a first resistor and a second resistor, as taught by Bowers, as all references and the claimed invention are directed toward transmitting circuits for producing an AC voltage square wave. As disclosed by Bowers, resistors can be coupled in series between the high-voltage electrodes and switch tubes in order to discharge a capacitive element of the energy source when the energy source is not in use, such that excess stored energy can be discharged to ground, and further can be used to aid in detecting arcing during use of the transmitting circuit ([0052] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of the high-voltage positive electrode and the high-voltage negative electrode to the first switch tube and third switch tube, as disclosed by Sherman in view of Kristoffersen, to include a first resistor and a second resistor, as taught by Bowers, as such a modification would provide for discharging a capacitive element of the energy source when the energy source is not in use, such that excess stored energy can be discharged to ground, and would further aid in detecting arcing during use of the transmitting circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sherman does not disclose a sampling resistor, which is connected in series between the second end of the first transmitting circuit and the high-voltage ground.
Bowers teaches a first transmitting circuit ([0078]) comprising a sampling resistor, which is connected in series between the second end of the first transmitting circuit and the high-voltage ground ([0080]; Figure 2—element 252).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the first transmitting circuit, as disclosed by Sherman, to include a sampling resistor, which is connected in series between the second end of the first transmitting circuit and the high-voltage ground, as taught by Bowers, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward transmitting circuits for producing an AC voltage square wave. As disclosed by Bowers, a current sensing resistor may be coupled between the first transmitting circuit and ground in order to detect arcing during use ([0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first transmitting circuit, as disclosed by Sherman, to include a sampling resistor, which is connected in series between the second end of the first transmitting circuit and the high-voltage ground, as taught by Bowers, as such a modification would aid in detecting arcing during use of the transmitting circuit.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Kristoffersen and Bluvshtein et al. (previously presented-US 20180256242 A1), hereinafter “Bluvshtein”.
Regarding claim 6, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sherman further discloses wherein: the filtering circuit further comprises a first inductor and a first capacitor; a first end of the first inductor is connected to the transmitting terminal of the first transmitting circuit; a second end of the first inductor is connected to the first electrode and a first end of the first capacitor ([0185] & [0186]; Figure 6—elements 205, L14, & C1).
Sherman does not disclose a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the high-voltage ground.
Bluvshtein teaches a transmitting circuit coupled to a filtering circuit that is configured to output an AC sine wave comprising: a first inductor and a first capacitor, and wherein one end of the first inductor is connected to the transmitting terminal of the first transmitting circuit, a second end of the first inductor is connected to the first electrode and a first end of the first capacitor ([0022] & [0036]; Figure 5—element 522 & 524), and a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the high-voltage ground ([0036], [0039], & [0065]; Figure 1—element 124; Figure 5—element 524; the filtering circuit may include an inductor-capacitor circuit (figure 5 portrays the inductor and capacitor configuration)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the filtering circuit comprising the first inductor and the first capacitor, as disclosed by Sherman, to include the filtering circuit wherein a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the high-voltage ground, as taught by Bluvshtein, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward transmitting circuits comprising filtering circuits for producing an AC sine wave. As disclosed by Sherman, the resonance filtering circuit is configured to receive the AC square waveform from the first transmitting circuit and output a sinusoidal waveform signal, the resonance filtering circuit may comprise an inductor with a capacitor, or may have an alternative arrangement ([0184]-[0186]). As disclosed by Bluvshtein, the filtering circuit may comprise an inductor-capacitor circuit that is configured to receive the AC square waveform signal from switches and provide a sinusoidal waveform signal as an output to the patient ([0022] & [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the filtering circuit comprising the first inductor and the first capacitor, as disclosed by Sherman, to include the filtering circuit wherein a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the high-voltage ground, as taught by Bluvshtein, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable, alternative arrangement of a filtering circuit for an electrosurgical generator that produces the predictable result of receiving an AC square waveform signal from first transmitting circuit and produces a sinusoidal waveform signal as an output to the patient.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Kristoffersen and Altmann et al. (previously presented-US 20210177503 A1), hereinafter “Altmann”.
Regarding claims 8-9, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Sherman in view of Kristoffersen disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sherman further discloses wherein: the first electrode is one of multiple first electrodes or the second electrode is one of multiple second electrodes ([0022]-[0024]; Figure 1—element 3; the examiner notes “or the second electrode is one of multiple second electrodes” is in the alternative) (claim 8).
Sherman does not disclose a first switching circuit; and a second switching circuit, the first transmitting circuit is connected to the multiple first electrodes through the first switching circuit; the high-voltage ground is connected to the multiple second electrodes through the second switching circuit; and the control circuit is configured to control the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit so as to form the sine wave between any one of the multiple first electrodes and any one of the multiple second electrodes (claim 8); wherein: the first switching circuit comprises multiple first switches corresponding to the multiple first electrodes, respectively, such that each of the multiple first switches is connected in series between the output terminal of the filtering circuit and one of the multiple first electrodes; the second switching circuit comprises multiple second switches corresponding to the multiple second electrodes, respectively, such that each of the multiple second switches is connected in series between one of the multiple second electrodes and the high-voltage ground (claim 9).
Altmann teaches a high voltage transmitting circuit ([0076]) comprising: a first electrode ([0032]; Figure 1—element 30) and a second electrode ([0042]; Figure 1—element 65), wherein the first electrode is one of multiple first electrodes or the second electrode is one of multiple second electrodes ([0032], & [0061]; Figures 1, & 6-7—elements CH1-CH10 & 30; the first electrode comprises multiple electrodes; the examiner notes the rest “or the second electrodes” is in the alternative), a first switching circuit; and a second switching circuit ([0063]-[0064]; Figures 6 & 7—elements “SO” & “BP”; with the first switching circuit comprising the switches “SO” that are in electrical communication with electrodes 30 via channels CH1-CH10; and the second switching circuit comprising switches “BP” that are in electrical communication with return patch electrode 65, as shown in Figure 6); the first transmitting circuit is connected to the multiple first electrodes through the first switching circuit; the high-voltage ground is connected to the multiple second electrodes through the second switching circuit; and the control circuit is configured to control the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit so as to form the sine wave between any one of the multiple first electrodes and any one of the multiple second electrodes ([0061]-[0072]; Figures 5-7—elements CH1-CH10, 65, & 408) (claim 8); wherein: the first switching circuit comprises multiple first switches corresponding to the multiple first electrodes, respectively, such that each of the multiple first switches is connected in series between the output terminal of the filtering circuit and one of the multiple first electrodes; the second switching circuit comprises multiple second switches corresponding to the multiple second electrodes, respectively, such that each of the multiple second switches is connected in series between one of the multiple second electrodes and the high-voltage ground ([0064], [0076], & [0079]; Figures 6 & 7—elements “SO”, “BP”, CH1-CH10, & 65) (claim 9).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the first electrodes and the second electrode, as disclosed by Sherman, to include the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit, as taught by Altmann, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward high-voltage transmitting circuits comprising a plurality of electrodes for pulsed field ablation. As disclosed by Sherman, the high-voltage transmitting circuit is configured to energize each of the first electrodes to apply voltage electric fields through biological tissues to the return second electrode ([0095] & [0096]). As disclosed by Altmann, the high-voltage transmitting circuit comprises first switching circuits and second switching circuits to switch the electric field and ground between the plurality of electrodes so as to ablate tissue between different pairs of electrodes, this enables flexible and fast distribution of pulses to the electrodes ([0061]-[0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first electrodes and the second electrode, as disclosed by Sherman, to include the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit, as taught by Altmann, as such a modification would allow for the high-voltage transmitting circuit to be configured to selectively energize each of the electrodes and enable flexible and fast distribution of pulses to the electrodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Dependent claim 11 recites “The high-voltage transmitting circuit according to claim 1, further comprising an overcurrent protection module, wherein the overcurrent protection module comprises: a sensing resistor; a transformer; a third resistor; a fourth resistor; an operational amplifier; and a fifth resistor, wherein: the sensing resistor is at the transmitting terminal of the first transmitting circuit; the transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding; the primary winding of the transformer is connected in parallel with an induction resistor; the third resistor is connected in parallel with the secondary winding of the transformer, and a first end of the third resistor is connected to aground; a first end of the fourth resistor is connected to a second end of the third resistor; the operational amplifier comprises a coaxial input terminal, a positive source voltage terminal, a negative source voltage terminal, an inverting input terminal and an output terminal; the coaxial input terminal of the operational amplifier is connected to a second end of the fourth resistor, the positive source voltage terminal of the operational amplifier is connected to a power supply, and the negative source voltage terminal of the operational amplifier is connected to the ground; the fifth resistor is connected between the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier and the output terminal of the operational amplifier; and the output terminal of the operational amplifier, a full-wave peak detection circuit, a filter voltage dividing circuit, an analog-to-digital converter, and a digital chip are connected in sequence”. Behnke (US 20060161148 A1) provides a teaching for an overcurrent protection module ([0036] & [0038]; Figure 6—element 17) wherein the overcurrent protection module comprises a transformer ([0038]; Figure 6—element TX2); a third resistor ([0036]; Figure 6—element R2); a fourth resistor ([0036]; Figure 6—element R3); an operational amplifier ([0038]; Figure 6—element 60); and a fifth resistor ([0038]; Figure 6—element R4), wherein; the transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding; the primary winding of the transformer is connected in parallel with an induction resistor; the third resistor is connected in parallel with the secondary winding of the transformer ([0038]; Figure 6—elements TX2 & R2), and a first end of the third resistor is connected to aground; a first end of the fourth resistor is connected to a second end of the third resistor ([0038]; Figure 6—elements R2 & R3); the operational amplifier comprises a coaxial input terminal, a positive source voltage terminal, a negative source voltage terminal, an inverting input terminal and an output terminal; the coaxial input terminal of the operational amplifier is connected to a second end of the fourth resistor ([0038]; Figure 6—element R3), the positive source voltage terminal of the operational amplifier is connected to a power supply, and the negative source voltage terminal of the operational amplifier is connected to the ground ([0038]; Figure 6—element 60); the fifth resistor is connected between the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier and the output terminal of the operational amplifier ([0038]; Figure 6—element R4). Behnke does not provide a teaching for: a sensing resistor is at the transmitting terminal of the first transmitting circuit and at the output terminal of the operational amplifier, a full-wave peak detection circuit, a filter voltage dividing circuit, an analog-to-digital converter, and a digital chip are connected in sequence. The examiner notes that no other references or combination of references have been found to disclose, fairly suggest, or make obvious each and every limitations set forth in dependent claim 11.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1, 4-10, & 12 are rejected. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794