Response to Arguments
Claims 1-2 remain pending on the application.
Applicant argues:
Claim 1 recites, in part, "an ultraviolet light LED element is provided on an inner wall of the hollow circular pipe only within a distance of approximately 1/2 of a flow passage length of the hollow circular pipe from an end portion of the hollow circular pipe on the fluid inlet side."
The Office action contends on page 3 that Shinagawa at Fig. 4 teaches this features "since the UV light sources are equally distributed at regular intervals through the spiral pipe, one of the LED's would be located approximately halfway on the pipe." However, it is respectfully submitted that this assertion in the Office action misinterprets the explicit claim limitation "ONLY". Shinagawa not only fails to teach or suggest the abovementioned claim features, but in fact Shinagawa teaches away from such claim features. Shinagawa explicitly teaches placing a plurality of UV lamps sequentially/continuously at regular intervals across the entire length of the pipe. See Fig. 4 of Shinagawa. The design philosophy of Shinagawa relies on continuous irradiation along the entire flow channel to achieve sterilization.
The claim recites wherein a single LED is only located at an approximate location. A single LED of the plurality of LED’s of the prior art would meet that limitation. The claim does not recite wherein there is only one LED in the hollow circular pipe.
Applicant argues:
Claim 1 further recites "a radiation prevention means that prevents radiation of an ultraviolet light from the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to the outside is provided."
As the Office action concedes on page 4, Shinagawa fails to teach or suggest such claim features. The Office action, however, contends that "Kermode teaches wherein the body of the device comprises a UV opaque material such as polycarbonate, ABS or polyethylene, which are not substantially reflective", citing paragraph [0067]. However, blocking light transmission through a housing wall is structurally and functionally distinct from preventing light radiation out through the openings of the fluid inlet and fluid outlet. Even if the body/housing of Shinagawa were made opaque as taught by Kermode, UV light propagating inside the pipe through multiple reflections would still directly escape to the outside through the open fluid inlet and fluid outlet holes.
This argument is found persuasive. Therefore, Shinagawa has been modified by new prior art, Abbott, to read on this limitation. In addition, the radiation prevention means is now interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 includes a limitation that recites the word “means” and is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. “a radiation prevention means that prevents radiation of an ultraviolet light from the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to the outside” does not recite sufficient structure for performing the claimed function. In view of Applicant’s Specification par. 9, this limitation is interpreted to recite “a method of making an inner surface in the vicinity of both ends of the hollow circular pipe with a material that does not reflect an ultraviolet light, a method of applying surface processing that does not reflect ultraviolet light to the inner surface in the vicinity of both ends of the hollow circular pipe, etc”.
Because this claim limitation being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinagawa (WO 2012141709 A1) in view of Kim (KR 20010086418 A) and Kermode (US 20170182305 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shinagawa teaches A fluid cleaning circulator that deactivates harmful microorganisms in a fluid by ultraviolet light irradiation (abstract: In some examples, a water sterilizing apparatus may include a surface water collection apparatus configured to collect surface water; a pipe operably coupled to the surface water collection apparatus and configured to allow water collected by the surface water collection apparatus to flow through the pipe; and a multiple number of UV lamps arranged along an inner wall of the pipe. Further, the water flowing through the pipe is sterilized by UV light from the multiple number of UV lamps),
wherein a hollow circular pipe formed in a spiral shape is provided (Fig. 4: pipe 306),
surface processing that reflects ultraviolet light is applied to an inner surface of the hollow circular pipe (par. 19: An inner wall of pipe 302 may be configured to reflect the UV light from UV lamps 402 in order to more effectively sterilize the water flowing down through pipe 302),
an ultraviolet light LED element is provided on an inner wall of the hollow circular pipe only within a distance of approximately 1/2 of a flow passage length of the hollow circular pipe from an end portion of the hollow circular pipe on the fluid inlet side (Fig. 4: 406; par. 15: UV lamps 400 may include, but not limited to, ultraviolet fluorescent lamps, ultraviolet LEDs; NOTE: since the UV light sources are equally distributed at regular intervals through the spiral pipe, one of the LED’s would be located approximately halfway on the pipe), and
an interior of the hollow circular pipe is irradiated by light emission by the ultraviolet light LED element (par. 19: As depicted in FIG. 2, a multiple number of UV lamps 402 may be arranged along an inner wall of a pipe 302), but does not teach
and a radiation prevention means that prevents radiation of an ultraviolet light from the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to the outside is provided,
inside a closed container
both ends of the hollow circular pipe are fixed to an inner wall of the closed container,
and holes for a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet for allowing the fluid to flow through the hollow circular pipe are formed in the closed container.
Shinagawa already teaches an embodiment where an outer pipe surrounding the pipe with the LED’s is non-transparent to UV light (par. 28: Outer pipe 350 may be non-transparent to UV light… in order to more effectively sterilize the water flowing down through inner pipe 304).
Abbott teaches a fluid sterilization device using UV light (C1L5-10: Field of the invention relates to sterilization of a flowing fluid by method of novel placement of one or more light sources relative to the fluid and/or novel powering of light sources and/or use of turbulence and/or reflective surfaces to allow for use in a variety of environments, geometries, and applications). Abbott teaches having structures at the inlet and outlet of its device comprising material that absorbs UV light (which means the material is nonreflective) and comprising geometry that blocks UV light, in order to prevent UV light from escaping to the outside (C6L65-C7L10: The inlet 68 of the inlet section 96 allows fluid to pass into the sterilization section 102 while not allowing significant sterilizing light to escape out. It does this by channeling the fluid radially around the inlet bulbous element 84 that is maintained in the flow path by the inlet struts 82. The fluid passes the inlet bulbous element 84 along the inlet outer wall 83 and into a first sterilization chamber 72. In order to protect against the escape of significant sterilizing light, the inlet exterior housing 80 narrows in front of the bulbous element 84. Because of these elements and the non-UV-reflecting surfaces on the exterior housing 80 inner surface and the bulbous element 84, light does not have a path out of a first sterilization chamber 72 without being dissipated; C7L56-66: At the distal end of the chamber there is the outlet section 98 with an inlet that is not aligned with the centerline of the device or the channels 75. This causes the fluid to follow the parabolic path of outlet reflective cone 78 thus causing further turbulence 81. The outlet section 98 interior surfaces are coated with or made of UV absorbing material. The fluid flow path tapers toward the centerline around the outlet bulbous element 90 which is supported by the outlet struts 92 and continues along the path of the outlet inner surface 79 such that the UV light cannot escape without hitting the UV absorbent surfaces of the outlet section 98). This provides the advantage of preventing UV light that escapes the outlet from harming humans.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inlet and outlets of the UV sterilizing pipe of Shinagawa to have structures which block and absorb UV light, as taught by Abbott, in order to prevent UV light from harming humans. This would read on and a radiation prevention means that prevents radiation of an ultraviolet light from the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to the outside, which has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to mean “a method of making an inner surface in the vicinity of both ends of the hollow circular pipe with a material that does not reflect an ultraviolet light, a method of applying surface processing that does not reflect ultraviolet light to the inner surface in the vicinity of both ends of the hollow circular pipe, etc”.
Shinagawa modified by Abbott still does not teach
inside a closed container
both ends of the hollow circular pipe are fixed to an inner wall of the closed container,
and holes for a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet for allowing the fluid to flow through the hollow circular pipe are formed in the closed container.
Kim teaches a similar UV sterilization device involving a spiral tube for conveying liquid (Fig. 1; abstract: The ultra violet lamp prolongs the time of exposure and sterilization of the fluid to the violet ray but the fluorescent substance around the lamp transmits visual and illuminating light. CONSTITUTION: The violet ray lamp(1) centers light on and sterilizes the fluid which is made to flow a fluid pipe(2) from an inlet(5) to an outlet(6) which are between bases(3). Electrons clash against the vapor of mercury between the bases(3) to generate ultraviolet ray, which effuses on the fluid in the pipe(2) for exposure. The pipe(2) is formed to be in a curbed or spiral way to take a time to flow from an end to the other end). Kim teaches a container having holes for a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet, to which the ends of the spiral tube are attached (Fig. 1). The container would provide numerous advantages; ease of handling, protection for the flow tube, and integration of the flow tube into a larger device for handling the fluids.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shinagawa modified by Kermode to be located inside a closed container, wherein both ends of the hollow circular pipe are fixed to an inner wall of the closed container,
and holes for a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet for allowing the fluid to flow through the hollow circular pipe are formed in the closed container, as taught by Kim, in order to provide ease of handling, protection for the flow tube, and a means of integrating the flow tube into a larger device for handling fluids.
Regarding claim 2, Shinagawa modified by Abbott and Kim teaches the fluid cleaning circulator according to Claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the ultraviolet light to be irradiated is UV-C and has a wavelength of 250 to 280 nm.
Shinagawa teaches wherein the UV light source may be a mercury lamp emitting light at a wavelength of 254 nm, but also teaches that this is a non-limiting embodiment and that the UV light source can be an LED (par. 15: UV lamps 400 may include, but not limited to, ultraviolet fluorescent lamps, ultraviolet LEDs (light-emitting diodes), ultraviolet lasers or gas-discharge lamps. In some embodiments, UV lamps 400 may be a low-power UV lamp. By way of example, UV lamps 400 may include, but not limited to, a low-pressure mercury lamp with a wavelength of about 254 nm).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UV light sources of Shinagawa modified by Abbott and Kim to be UV LEDs that emit light at 254 nm, as taught by Shinigawa, as a suitable means of providing UV sterilization among equally effective lighting sources.
Conclusion
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799