DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference number(s) mentioned in the description: 216, 300 (Spec. ¶ 0032).
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(d) or amendment to the specification to delete the reference number(s) (and any related portions) in the description in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(d). No new matter should be entered. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Although the drawings are sufficiently clear for examination purposes, they are compromised in terms of clarity. That is, due to the submitted format of the drawings 1-2, 3A-F, 4A-B are dithered and in grayscale/halftones, where lines and text intended to be solid, clean, and black appear jagged and grayed. The drawings are not objected to at this time for clarity. Nevertheless, Examiner suggests submitting clearer drawings for the purpose of proper notice to the general public. Applicant should note the following drawing standards:
Black and white drawings are normally required; India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(a)(1);
Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined, and the weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(l);
The clarity of the drawings must be sufficient for clear reproduction to two-thirds size. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(k).
For examples of acceptable drawing clarity and quality, see US 20220362902 A1, US 20230076152 A1, US 20230286103 A1, and US 20240009795 A1. Examiner suggests outputting and resubmitting the drawings as vector graphics instead of raster images (bitmap) and uploading them to USPTO Patent Center as “Drawings-other than black and white line drawings”, which should cause the filed image file to be stored in the SCORE database without any image conversion.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses the phrase “The present invention provides, in one aspect. Correction is required. MPEP § 608.01(b). No new matter should be entered.
The amended statement of incorporation by reference to International Application No. PCT/US2022/074704 (01/29/2024 Preliminary Amendment at 2) is ineffective because it was added on the date of entry into the U.S. national phase, which is after the filing date of this application. The filing date of this U.S. national stage application is the filing date of the associated international application, which is 08/09/2022. MPEP § 1893.03(b). Thus, the specification amendment of 01/29/2024 is new matter. MPEP § 608.01(p)(I)(B). To be clear, the objection is not to the priority claim; the objection is only with respect to the incorporation-by-reference statement to the International Application.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office action.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the Applicant) regards as the invention.
Claims 8-20 are indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations listed below, which render the claims unclear and ambiguous. For examination purposes, these limitations are interpreted as best understood.
“the carrier” (claim 10, lines 11-12) (claims 11-16 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation of claim 10);
“the carrier” (claim 17, lines 11-12) (claims 18-20 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation of claim 17);
“the dynamic mass balancer” (claim 8, line 1) (claim 9 is rejected on the basis it incorporates this limitation of claim 8).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Lindell
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20040082283 A1 (“Lindell”).
Regarding claim 1, Lindell discloses an orbital sander (Abstr.; Fig. 1, orbital sander 20) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, housing 24);
a drive unit within the housing, the drive unit including an electric motor defining a rotational axis, and a drive shaft coupled to the electric motor to receive torque therefrom, the drive shaft rotatable about the rotational axis and having an eccentric portion (Figs. 1, 1A-C, drive unit including electric motor 36 that provides torque to shaft 30 about axis 22, eccentric portion 42; ¶¶ 0038-0041);
an accessory tool configured to orbit about the rotational axis in response to rotation of the eccentric portion of the drive shaft, the accessory tool defining a rotational imbalance (Figs. 1, 1A-C; ¶¶ 0038-0041, sanding pad 44 (“accessory tool”) is capable of orbiting about axis 22 as recited, where the rotation is eccentric relative to axis 22 and causes a rotational imbalance);
and a dynamic mass balancer system including an actively adjustable counterbalance mass to attenuate vibration caused by the rotational imbalance (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including elements 34, 37, 38, 40 (including weights 34b and 40b) performs the recited function).
Regarding claim 5, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 1 as applied above and further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes an annular dynamic mass balancer (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including annular dynamic mass balancer elements 34, 40 (including weights 34b and 40b)).
Regarding claim 6, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 5 as applied above and further discloses wherein the annular dynamic mass balancer includes an annular main body having one or more moving elements comprising the first counterbalance mass are disposed therein (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, annular dynamic mass balancer includes annular main bodies 34a, 40a and moving weights 34b and 40b therein).
Regarding claim 7, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 6 as applied above and further discloses wherein the one or more moving elements include one or more balls, one or more cylindrical rollers, one or more sliding arcs, or a combination thereof (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, moving weights 34b and 40b include balls and/or cylinders).
Regarding claim 8, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 1 as applied above and further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer includes a pendulum shaped mass balancer (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38).
Regarding claim 10, Lindell discloses an orbital sander (Abstr.; Fig. 1, orbital sander 20) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, housing 24);
a drive unit within the housing, the drive unit including an electric motor defining a rotational axis, and a drive shaft coupled to the electric motor to receive torque therefrom, the drive shaft rotatable about the rotational axis and having an eccentric portion (Figs. 1, 1A-C, drive unit including electric motor 36 that provides torque to shaft 30 about axis 22, eccentric portion 42; ¶¶ 0038-0041);
an accessory tool configured to orbit about the rotational axis in response to rotation of the eccentric portion of the drive shaft, the accessory tool defining a rotational imbalance (Figs. 1, 1A-C; ¶¶ 0038-0041, sanding pad 44 (“accessory tool”) is capable of orbiting about axis 22 as recited, where the rotation is eccentric relative to axis 22 and causes a rotational imbalance);
and a dynamic mass balancer system including an actively adjustable counterbalance mass to attenuate vibration caused by the rotational imbalance, wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes a first counterbalance mass located on a first end of the drive shaft within the carrier (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including elements 34, 37, 38, 40 (including weights 34b and 40b) performs the recited function, first counterbalance mass 40b located in carrier 40a on first end of shaft 30).
Regarding claim 11, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 10 as applied above and further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer system further comprises a second counterbalance mass located on an opposite, second end of the drive shaft (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system includes second counterbalance mass 34b located on second end of shaft 30).
Regarding claim 12, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 10 as applied above and further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes an annular dynamic mass balancer having an annular main body in which one or more moving elements comprising the first counterbalance mass are disposed therein (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including annular dynamic mass balancer elements 34, 40 with annular main bodies 34a, 40a, with first counterbalance mass 40b within main body 40a).
Regarding claim 13, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 11 as applied above and further discloses wherein the one or more moving elements include one or more balls, one or more cylindrical rollers, one or more sliding arcs, or a combination thereof (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, moving weights 34b and 40b include balls and/or cylinders).
Regarding claim 17, Lindell discloses an orbital sander (Abstr.; Fig. 1, orbital sander 20) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, housing 24);
a drive unit within the housing, the drive unit including an electric motor defining a rotational axis, and a drive shaft coupled to the electric motor to receive torque therefrom, the drive shaft rotatable about the rotational axis and having an eccentric portion (Figs. 1, 1A-C, drive unit including electric motor 36 that provides torque to shaft 30 about axis 22, eccentric portion 42; ¶¶ 0038-0041);
an accessory tool configured to orbit about the rotational axis in response to rotation of the eccentric portion of the drive shaft, the accessory tool defining a rotational imbalance (Figs. 1, 1A-C; ¶¶ 0038-0041, sanding pad 44 (“accessory tool”) is capable of orbiting about axis 22 as recited, where the rotation is eccentric relative to axis 22 and causes a rotational imbalance);
and a dynamic mass balancer system including an actively adjustable counterbalance mass to attenuate vibration caused by the rotational imbalance, wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes a first counterbalance mass located on a first end of the drive shaft within the carrier and a second counterbalance mass located on an opposite, second end of the drive shaft (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including elements 34, 37, 38, 40 (including weights 34b and 40b) performs the recited function, first counterbalance mass 40b located in carrier 40a on first end of shaft 30, second counterbalance mass 34b located on second end of shaft 30).
Regarding claim 20, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 17 as applied above and further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes an annular dynamic mass balancer, a pendulum shaped mass balancer, or a combination thereof (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, dynamic mass balancer system including annular dynamic mass balancer elements 34, 40 and pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Lindell in view of Ruhland
Claims 2-4, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040082283 A1 (“Lindell”) in view of US 20220126417 A1 (“Ruhland”).
Lindell pertains to an orbital sander (Abstr.; Fig. 1). Ruhland pertains to an orbital sander (Abstr.; Figs. 1-10). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 1 as applied above and further discloses a carrier coupled to the eccentric portion of the drive shaft for orbital motion about the rotational axis (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, carrier 40a on first end of shaft 30, coupled to eccentric portion 42 for orbital motion about axis 22).
Lindell does not explicitly disclose a battery pack coupled to the housing for providing power to the electric motor.
However, the Lindell/Ruhland combination makes obvious this claim.
Ruhland discloses a battery pack coupled to the housing for providing power to the electric motor (¶ 0082, battery 18A in housing 12 powers motor 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Ruhland with Lindell by adding a battery within the Lindell housing and modifying the Lindell device to operate via battery power. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because a battery provides for portability and allows use of the sanding device when an electrical power outlet is unavailable (Ruhland ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 3, the Lindell/Ruhland combination makes obvious the orbital sander of claim 2 as applied above. Lindell further discloses wherein the counterbalance mass is a first counterbalance mass located on a first end of the drive shaft within the carrier (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, first counterbalance mass 40b located in carrier 40a on first end of shaft 30).
Regarding claim 4, the Lindell/Ruhland combination makes obvious the orbital sander of claim 3 as applied above. Lindell further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer system further comprises a second counterbalance mass located on a second end of the drive shaft opposite the first end (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, second counterbalance mass 34b located on second end of shaft 30).
Regarding claim 15, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 10 as applied above. Lindell does not explicitly disclose a plurality of compliant mounts disposed between the motor and the housing. However, the Lindell/Ruhland combination makes obvious this claim.
Ruhland discloses a plurality of compliant mounts disposed between the motor and the housing (Figs. 2, 4; ¶¶ 0086, 0118, motor 20 is mounted to housing 11 via compliant mounts (including elements 80, 95, 90, 91, 92)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Ruhland with Lindell by modifying the mounting of the drive unit to the housing to include a compliant mount as taught by Ruhland. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because this would reduce vibrations transmitted from the drive unit to the housing, thereby improving comfort to the user in terms of better ergonomics and less felt vibrations (Ruhland ¶¶ 0054-0056, 0095).
Claim 18 is rejected on the same basis as claim 15, except as depending from claim 17.
Regarding claim 16, the Lindell/Ruhland combination makes obvious the orbital sander of claim 15 as applied above. Ruhland further discloses wherein the compliant mounts permit the motor to move relative to the housing as the dynamic mass balancer system counterbalances vibration of the orbital sander during use (Ruhland Figs. 1-4; ¶¶ 0054-0056, 0095, the compliant mounts perform the recited function).
The obviousness rationale for claim 16 is the same as for claim 15.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same basis as claim 16, except as depending from claim 18.
Lindell in view of Taylor and Braun
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040082283 A1 (“Lindell”) in view of WO 9323687 A1 (“Taylor”) and US 4744177 A (“Braun”).
Lindell pertains to an orbital sander (Abstr.; Fig. 1). Taylor pertains to a counterbalancing apparatus for out-of-balance rotating members (Abstr.; Figs. 1-17). Braun pertains to an eccentric sander (Abstr.; Figs. 1-8). These references are in the same field of endeavor. To the extent Taylor is not in the same field of endeavor, Taylor is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor because it concerns methods and apparatuses to compensate for out-of-balance rotating members, such as the rotating elements of an eccentric orbital sander.
Regarding claim 9, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 8 as applied above and further discloses wherein the pendulum shaped mass balancer includes a mounting portion, a swinging mass suspended from the mounting portion that comprises the first counterbalance mass (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38 include a mounting portion (near shaft 30) and a swinging mass suspended from the mounting portion (at references 37, 38 of Fig. 1B)).
Lindell does not explicitly disclose a bearing between the mounting portion and the drive shaft.
However, the Lindell/Taylor/Braun combination makes obvious this claim.
Taylor discloses a bearing between the mounting portion and the drive shaft (Fig. 14, bearing 300/301 is between the mounting portion (near reference 300) and shaft 302).
Braun discloses a pendulum shaped mass balancer includes a mounting portion, a swinging mass suspended from the mounting portion that comprises the first counterbalance mass (Figs. 1-8, pendulum shaped mass balancer 13 and 14 include a mounting portion (near their centers) and a swing mass (towards their outer circumferences) suspended from the mounting portion, where balancer 13 and/or 14 are capable of rotating relative to each other and/or shaft 1 depending on the embodiment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Taylor and Braun with Lindell by adding a bearing between the mounting portion of the pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38 and shaft 30 of Lindell, allowing balancer elements 37, 38 to move relative to shaft 30. To the extent Lindell teaches pendulum shaped mass balancers (elements 37, 38) that are fixed relative to the shaft 30 (Lindell Figs. 1, 1A-C), Braun teaches pendulum shaped mass balancers that are able to rotate relative to each other and to the shaft 1 (Braun Figs. 1-8), and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement pendulum shaped mass balancers movable relative to the shaft because this relative rotation of the balancers allows for the automatic compensation of vibration under different operating conditions such as different speeds, directions, and loads (Braun 2:25-3:67). Further, the addition of bearings per Taylor provides for less friction between the balancers and the shaft, allowing for a smoother relative rotation and a more precise dynamic weight compensation that is unhindered by friction presented between the balancers and the shaft compared to a configuration without a bearing (e.g., a shaft to cylindrical bore (of the balancers) connection).
Lindell in view of Taylor, Braun, and Wiker
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040082283 A1 (“Lindell”) in view of WO 9323687 A1 (“Taylor”), US 4744177 A (“Braun”), and US 20080107492 A1 (“Wiker”).
Lindell pertains to an orbital sander (Abstr.; Fig. 1). Taylor pertains to a counterbalancing apparatus for out-of-balance rotating members (Abstr.; Figs. 1-17). Braun pertains to an eccentric sander (Abstr.; Figs. 1-8). Wiker pertains to a power tool with a balancing device, including grinders (Abstr.; Figs. 1-9; ¶ 0002). These references are in the same field of endeavor. To the extent Taylor is not in the same field of endeavor, Taylor is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor because it concerns methods and apparatuses to compensate for out-of-balance rotating members, such as the rotating elements of an eccentric orbital sander.
Regarding claim 14, Lindell discloses the orbital sander of claim 10 as applied above and further discloses wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes a pendulum shaped mass balancer having a mounting portion, a swinging mass suspended from the mounting portion that comprises the first counterbalance mass (Figs. 1, 1A-C, 4A-I; ¶¶ 0038-0041, pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38 (“first counterbalance mass”) include a mounting portion (near shaft 30) and a swinging mass suspended from the mounting portion (at references 37, 38 of Fig. 1B)).
Lindell does not explicitly disclose:
a bearing between the mounting portion and the drive shaft;
[from claim 10] wherein the dynamic mass balancer system includes a first counterbalance mass located on a first end of the drive shaft within the carrier.
However, the Lindell/Taylor/Braun/Wiker combination makes obvious this claim.
Taylor discloses a bearing between the mounting portion and the drive shaft (Fig. 14, bearing 300/301 is between the mounting portion (near reference 300) and shaft 302).
Braun discloses a pendulum shaped mass balancer includes a mounting portion, a swinging mass suspended from the mounting portion that comprises the first counterbalance mass (Figs. 1-8, pendulum shaped mass balancer 13 and 14 (“first counterbalance mass”) include a mounting portion (near their centers) and a swing mass (towards their outer circumferences) suspended from the mounting portion, where balancer 13 and/or 14 are capable of rotating relative to each other and/or shaft 1 depending on the embodiment).
Wiker discloses mass balancers located on a first end of the drive shaft within a carrier (Fig. 6; ¶ 0038, mass balancers 5, 6 (“first counterbalance mass”) located at first end of shaft 3 near tool 2 (shaft portion shown is driven by a motor located higher on the shaft (not shown)) and inside carrier 20; ¶ 0035).
For the same reasons stated for claim 9 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Taylor and Braun with Lindell by adding a bearing between the mounting portion of the pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38 and shaft 30 of Lindell, allowing balancer elements 37, 38 to move relative to shaft 30. Further, it would have been obvious to place the pendulum shaped mass balancer elements 37, 38 of Lindell in a carrier located at the first end of the shaft (swapping locations with the balancer 40). This would have been obvious because the carrier serves as a protective housing (Wiker ¶ 0038) that would prevent any dust debris from accumulating on the balancer elements 37, 38, which would impact their vibration compensation function (e.g., due to friction or added mass due to the debris). Furthermore, regarding the placement of balancer elements 37, 38 at the first end, this is a matter of design choice and would have been obvious to try in order to experimentally determine the optimal arrangement of the balancers (e.g., elements 37, 38, 34, 40) on shaft 32 to best reduce vibrations for the expected operating conditions (see US 6855040 B2 (“Huber”) Fig. 1A, eccentric balancer 54 is located at the first end of the shaft closest to the polishing pad 70).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
US 20100167632 A1 (“Roehm”) discloses an orbital sander (Abstr.; Figs. 1-4);
EP 2596908 A1 (“Valentini2”) discloses an orbital sander (Abstr.; Figs. 1-11).
/KENT N SHUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723