DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains more than 150 words. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berumen (US 20130025904 A1, and hereinafter “Berumen”).
Regarding claim 1, Berumen teaches an underwater communication interface apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Abstract : waterproof case for an electronic device at some appreciable water depth) comprising:
a first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20, end panels 22, and cover 30 of waterproof housing 12) having an interior configured to house an electronic device with a touchscreen (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : computer C with touch-screen) in such a way that the touchscreen of the electronic device is adjacent to a first side of the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen of computer C is adjacent to a first side of the front frame or panel 16), wherein the first side of the first waterproof enclosure has a non-rigid transparent membrane (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen membrane or panel 28 is on the first side of front frame or panel 16, and touch-screen membrane or panel 28 is thin, flexible, and transparent), and wherein the non-rigid transparent membrane is configured to allow a user to interact with the touchscreen of the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen membrane or panel 28 allows the user to contact the underlying touch-screen of computer C);
a second waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : back panel 14 of waterproof housing 12) that houses a control module (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : a communication device which can have a second portion housed within the case 10), wherein the control module is configured to be operatively coupled to the electronic device and an external auxiliary device (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : the communication device have a second portion housed within the case 10 and connected to the computer C, and a first portion that is outside the case 10, exposed, and connected to the first portion); and
a pressure balancing module (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36) coupled to the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 are coupled to the front frame or panel 16 and side panels 18, 20), wherein the pressure balancing module is configured to balance pressure within the first waterproof enclosure relative to external ambient conditions (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0022], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 is configured to balance the pressure within the front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20 relative to the external ambient conditions);
wherein the first and second waterproof enclosures are physically coupled together (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : front frame 16, and side panels 18,20 and back panel 14 are physically coupled together); and
wherein an internal pressure of the first waterproof enclosure enables the non-rigid transparent membrane of the first waterproof enclosure to remain within a predetermined distance to the touchscreen of the electronic device, wherein the predetermined distance is one that allows the touchscreen of the electronic device to receive inputs from the user via the non-rigid transparent membrane (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0022], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 is configured to balance the pressure within the front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20 relative to the external ambient conditions such that the shape of the membrane 28, and the location of the membrane 28 relative to the touch-screen of computer C is adjusted and optimized for use; the user can contact the membrane 28 to contact the underlying touch-screen of computer C).
Regarding claim 7, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control module further comprises a water sensor (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0040] : the case 10 can include fluid property sensors).
Regarding claim 8, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control module is configured to communicate with the electronic device using wireless communications (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : the communication device can connect to the computer C via wired or wireless connection).
Regarding claim 9, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control module includes a physical coupling configured to electrically link the control module to the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : the communication device can connect to the computer C via wired or wireless connection).
Regarding claim 10, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first waterproof enclosure further comprises a rigid housing member (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : cover 30) and a rigid frame member (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : front frame or panel 16, side panels 18,20, and end panel 22), and wherein the rigid housing member is moveably coupled to the rigid frame member to allow the user to move the members between open and closed positions (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : cover 30 is moveably coupled to the front frame or panel 16, side panels 18,20, and end panel 22 to allow the user to move the cover 30 between an open and closed positions).
Regarding claim 11, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the rigid housing member is configured to receive the electronic device, and wherein the rigid frame member surrounds the non-rigid transparent membrane so that the transparent membrane is positioned adjacent to the touchscreen of the electronic device when the rigid housing member and the rigid frame member are in the closed position (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : front frame or panel 16, side panels 18,20, and end panel 22 surrounds the touch-screen membrane or panel 28, and the touch-screen membrane or panel 28 is positioned adjacent to the computer C when the cover 30, and the panels 16, 18, 20, and 22 are the closed position).
Regarding claim 13, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first waterproof enclosure further comprises a port (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : opening on case 10 for tube of regulator 34) configured to be coupled to an air tube that is operatively coupled to the pressure balancing module (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : opening on case 10 for tube of regulator 34 is configured to be coupled to the regulator 34 and cartridge 32), wherein the port penetrates a wall of the first waterproof enclosure to allow air to be supplied to an interior portion of the first waterproof enclosure to control an internal pressure of the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : opening on case 10 penetrates the wall of side panel 20 to allow air to be supplied to the interior portion of the case 10 to control an internal pressure of the case 10).
Regarding claim 14, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the internal pressure of the first waterproof enclosure relative to an ambident water pressure is maintained to be equivalent to or slightly higher than the ambident water pressure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028-0032] : the internal pressure of case 10 relative to an ambient water pressure can be maintained to be equivalent to or slightly higher than the ambient water pressure).
Regarding claim 20, Berumen teaches an underwater communication interface apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Abstract : waterproof case for an electronic device at some appreciable water depth) comprising:
a common waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : housing 12 is waterproof) having an interior configured to house an electronic device with a touchscreen (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : computer C with touch-screen) in such a way that the touchscreen of the electronic device is adjacent to a first side of the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen of computer C is adjacent to a first side of the front frame or panel 16), wherein the first side of the first waterproof enclosure has a non-rigid transparent membrane (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen membrane or panel 28 is on the first side of front frame or panel 16, and touch-screen membrane or panel 28 is thin, flexible, and transparent), and wherein the non-rigid transparent membrane is configured to allow a user to interact with the touchscreen of the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen membrane or panel 28 allows the user to contact the underlying touch-screen of computer C), wherein the common waterproof enclosure also houses a control module (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : a communication device which can have a second portion housed within the case 10), wherein the control module is configured to be operatively coupled to the electronic device and an external auxiliary device (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : the communication device have a second portion housed within the case 10 and connected to the computer C, and a first portion that is outside the case 10, exposed, and connected to the first portion);
a pressure balancing module (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36) coupled to the common waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 are coupled to the housing 12), wherein the pressure balancing module is configured to balance pressure within the common waterproof enclosure relative to external ambient conditions (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0022], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 is configured to balance the pressure within the housing 12 relative to the external ambient conditions); wherein the common waterproof enclosure houses the electronic device and the control module in a common compartment or in separate compartments (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : the communication device have a second portion housed within the case 10 and connected to the computer C); and
wherein an internal pressure of the common waterproof enclosure enables the non-rigid transparent membrane of the common waterproof enclosure to remain within a predetermined distance to the touchscreen of the electronic device, wherein the predetermined distance is one that allows the touchscreen of the electronic device to receive inputs from the user via the non-rigid transparent membrane (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0022], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 is configured to balance the pressure within the front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20 relative to the external ambient conditions such that the shape of the membrane 28, and the location of the membrane 28 relative to the touch-screen of computer C is adjusted and optimized for use; the user can contact the membrane 28 to contact the underlying touch-screen of computer C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berumen (US 20130025904 A1, and hereinafter “Berumen”), in view of Cole et al. (US 20180154993 A1, and hereinafter “Cole”).
Regarding claim 2, Brumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Brumen does not teach wherein the control module is operatively coupled to an interface cable that is operatively coupled to the external auxiliary device.
However, Cole teaches wherein the control module (Fig. 1, [0045] : mobile device 49) is operatively coupled to an interface cable (Fig. 1, [0045] : mobile device 49 is coupled to a cable 53) that is operatively coupled to the external auxiliary device (Fig. 1, [0045] : mobile device 49 is coupled to a cable 53, and is operatively coupled to a buoy 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interface cable as taught by Cole into Brumen’s apparatus by connecting the first portion and second portion of the communication device with the cable. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide an ethernet connection that functions underwater (([0004], [0007] of Cole), and is fast and durable ([0047] of Cole),
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berumen and Cole combination as applied above, in view of Farr et al. (US 20160127042 A1, and hereinafter “Farr”).
Regarding claim 3, Berumen as modified by Cole teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Berumen as modified by Cole does not teach wherein the external auxiliary device (Fig. 14, [0128] : diver node 1700) comprises an acoustic modem (Fig. 14, [0128] : optical modem 1706 and acoustic modem 1722 of diver node 1700) configured to receive and transmit acoustic signals .
However, Farr teaches wherein the external auxiliary device comprises an acoustic modem configured to receive and transmit acoustic signals (Fig. 14, [0128] : acoustic modem 1722 includes acoustic transducer 1720).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the acoustic modem as taught by Farr into Berumen and Cole combination’s apparatus by modifying the communication device to include the acoustic modem. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to enable communication underwater that is high-speed and long-range (Abstract of Farr), and enable communication underwater that function in high-turbidity and poor-visibility conditions ([0121] of Farr) . Additionally, connecting an electronic device to a modem underwater is known as evidence by Brumen ([0035-0037]), and Cole (Fig. 1, [0045] of Cole).
Regarding claim 4, Berumen as modified by Cole and Farr teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the control module is configured to process data received from the acoustic modem (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] of Brumen, and Fig. 14, [0128] of Farr : the communication device is configured to process data received from the first portion).
Regarding claim 5, Berumen as modified by Cole teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Berumen as modified by Cole does not teach wherein the external auxiliary device comprises an optical device configured to transmit and receive optical signals.
However, Farr teaches wherein the external auxiliary device comprises an optical device (Fig. 14, [0128] : optical modem 1706 and acoustic modem 1722 of diver node 1700) configured to transmit and receive optical signals (Fig. 14, [0128] : optical modem 1706 includes receiver RX and transmitter TX).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optical device as taught by Farr into Berumen and Cole combination’s apparatus by modifying the communication device to include the optical modem. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to enable communication underwater that is high-speed and long-range (Abstract of Farr), and enable communication underwater that function in high-turbidity and poor-visibility conditions ([0121] of Farr) . Additionally, connecting an electronic device to a modem underwater is known as evidence by Brumen ([0035-0037]), and Cole (Fig. 1, [0045] of Cole).
Regarding claim 6, Berumen as modified by Cole and Farr teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the control module is configured to process data received from optical device (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] of Brumen, and Fig. 14, [0128] of Farr : the communication device is configured to process data received from the first portion).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berumen (US 20130025904 A1, and hereinafter “Berumen”), in view of Thuillier (US 20200284773 A1, and hereinafter “Thuillier”).
Regarding claim 12, Berumen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second waterproof enclosure further comprises a rigid housing (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : back panel 14, front frame or panel), a cover portion (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : outer portion of back panel 14), and a seal portion (Fig. 1-2, [0008], [0016-0018], [0030] : panels 14, 16, 18, and 22 can be sealed with any material or technique forming a waterproof and fluid-tight seal, and cover 30 can be sealed with resilient waterproof seal 42).
Berumen does not teach wherein the second waterproof enclosure further comprises an opening in the cover to allow water to contact the water sensor.
However, Thuillier teaches wherein the second waterproof enclosure further comprises an opening (Fig. 1-2, [0033-0034] : openings 13) in the cover (Fig. 1-2, [0033-0034] : openings 13, 15, or 19 can be on the walls of the housing 2) to allow water to contact the water sensor (Fig. 1-2, [0033-0034] : openings 13 allow water or fluid to contact the fluid sensing device 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate opening in the cover as taught by Thuillier into Berumen’s apparatus by adding an opening on the panel to allow the fluid property sensor to contact the water. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to minimize the contamination of the fluid examined, and ([0064] of Thuillier), and provide protection for the sensor.
Claim(s) 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berumen (US 20130025904 A1, and hereinafter “Berumen”), in view of Farr et al. (US 20160127042 A1, and hereinafter “Farr”), and in further view of Cole et al. (US 20180154993 A1, and hereinafter “Cole”).
Regarding claim 15, Berumen teaches an underwater communication interface apparatus (Fig. 1-2, Abstract : waterproof case for an electronic device at some appreciable water depth) comprising:
a control module (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : a communication device which can have a second portion housed within the case 10) having a wireless communication interface configured to wirelessly communicate (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : the communication device can connect to the computer C via wired or wireless connection, and the communication device can include acoustic hydrophone or acoustic transmitters which enable wireless communication);
a first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20, end panel 22, and cover 30 of waterproof housing 12) comprising a rigid housing member (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : cover 30) moveably coupled to a rigid frame member (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : cover 30 is moveably coupled to the front frame or panel 16, side panels 18,20, and end panel 22) such that the first waterproof enclosure has an open position (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : housing 12 with cover 30 removed) and a closed and sealed position (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0018] : housing 12 with cover 30), wherein an interior of the first waterproof enclosure is configured to house an electronic device with a touchscreen (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : computer C with touch-screen) in such a way that the touchscreen of the electronic device is adjacent to a first side of the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen of computer C is adjacent to a first side of the front frame or panel 16), wherein the first side of the first waterproof enclosure includes the rigid frame member (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : front frame or panel 16) surrounding a non-rigid transparent membrane (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : front frame or panel 16 surrounds the touch-screen membrane or panel 28, and touch-screen membrane or panel 28 is thin, flexible, and transparent), wherein the non-rigid transparent membrane is positioned adjacent to the touchscreen of the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : front frame or panel 16 surrounds the touch-screen membrane or panel 28), and wherein the non-rigid transparent membrane is configured to allow a user to interact with the touchscreen of the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : touch-screen membrane or panel 28 allows the user to contact the underlying touch-screen of computer C);
a second waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : back panel 14 of waterproof housing 12) that houses the control module (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : a communication device which can have a second portion housed within the case 10), wherein the control module is configured to be operatively coupled to the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] : a communication device is configured to be operatively coupled to the computer C); and
a pressure balancing module (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36) coupled to the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 are coupled to the front frame or panel 16 and side panels 18, 20), wherein the pressure balancing module is configured to balance pressure within the first waterproof enclosure relative to external ambient conditions (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0022], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 is configured to balance the pressure within the front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20 relative to the external ambient conditions);
wherein the first and second waterproof enclosures are physically coupled together (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] : front frame 16, and side panels 18,20 and back panel 14 are physically coupled together); and
wherein an internal pressure of the first waterproof enclosure enables the non-rigid transparent membrane of the first waterproof enclosure to remain within a predetermined distance to the touchscreen of the electronic device, wherein the predetermined distance is one that allows the touchscreen of the electronic device to receive inputs from the user via the non-rigid transparent membrane (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0022], [0028], [0032] : gas cartridge 32, regulator 34, and pressure release valve 36 is configured to balance the pressure within the front frame or panel 16, and side panels 18, 20 relative to the external ambient conditions such that the shape of the membrane 28, and the location of the membrane 28 relative to the touch-screen of computer C is adjusted and optimized for use; the user can contact the membrane 28 to contact the underlying touch-screen of computer C).
Brumen does not teach a modem;
wherein the control module is operatively coupled to the modem.
However, Farr teaches a modem (Fig. 14, [0128] : optical modem 1706 and acoustic modem 1722);
wherein the control module is operatively coupled to the modem (Fig. 14, [0128] : diver computer 1710 is operatively coupled to the optical modem 1706 and acoustic modem 1722).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the modem as taught by Farr into Brumen’s underwater communication interface apparatus by modifying the first portion of the communication device to include the modems of the diver node. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to enable communication underwater that is high-speed and long-range (Abstract of Farr), and enable communication underwater that function in high-turbidity and poor-visibility conditions ([0121] of Farr) . Additionally, connecting an electronic device to a modem underwater is known as evidence by Brumen ([0035-0037]), and Cole (Fig. 1, [0045] of Cole).
Regarding claim 16, Brumen as modified by Farr and Cole teaches the underwater communication interface apparatus of claim 15, wherein the modem is an optical modem configured to transmit and receive optical signals (Fig. 14, [0128] of Farr : optical modem 1706 includes receiver RX and transmitter TX).
Regarding claim 17, Brumen as modified by Farr and Cole teaches the underwater communication interface apparatus of claim 15, wherein the modem is an acoustic modem configured to transmit and receive acoustic signals (Fig. 1-2, [0035-0038] of Brumen, and Fig. 14, [0128] of Farr : the communication device includes an acoustic hydrophone, and an acoustic transmitter, and acoustic modem 1722 includes acoustic transducer 1720).
Regarding claim 18, Brumen as modified by Farr and Cole teaches the underwater communication interface apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first and second waterproof enclosures are physically coupled together (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] of Brumen : front frame 16, side panels 18,20, end panel 22, and cover 30, and back panel 14 are physically coupled together) and the second waterproof enclosure is secured to the rigid housing member of the first waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] of Brumen : back panel 14 is secured to the front frame 16, side panels 18,20, end panel 22, and cover 30).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berumen, Farr, and Cole combination as applied above, in view of Gorski et al. (US 20140037184 A1, and hereinafter “Gorski”).
Regarding claim 19, Brumen as modified by Farr and Cole teaches the underwater communication interface apparatus of claim 18, wherein the rigid housing member of the first waterproof enclosure includes a transparent opening (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] of Brumen : front panel 14, side panels 18,20, end panel 22, and back panel 14 can be transparent) configured to be aligned with a camera of the electronic device (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] of Brumen : front panel 14, side panels 18,20, end panel 22, and back panel 14 can align with the computer C), wherein the transparent opening is unobscured by the second waterproof enclosure (Fig. 1-2, [0016-0019] of Brumen : front panel 14, side panels 18,20, end panel 22, and back panel 14 can be transparent).
Brumen as modified by Farr and Cole does not teach a camera.
However, Gorski teaches a camera (Fig. 2, [0065] : camera 210 can be disposed on the back side and front side of the mobile device 200)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the camera as taught by Gorski into Brumen, Farr, and Cole combination’s underwater communication interface apparatus by adding the cameras to the computer. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide the electronic device an ability to capture an image of an object ([0065] of Gorski).
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/KEON NMN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841