DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 10 – 15) in the reply filed on 12 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 9 and 16 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites an audio player subsystem… configured to:… play the selected audio file through an audio output. It is unclear if the audio output is being positively or functionally recited. It is suggested to first positively recite that the surgical robotic system comprises an audio output before describing how it is used.
Claims 11 – 15 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0362834) in view of Thomas (US PGPUB 2008/0027574).
Regarding claim 10, Venkataraman discloses a surgical robotic system (e.g. ¶ 6) comprising:
a video analysis subsystem (e.g. 530 in Fig. 5) configured to: detect a notification event within a surgical setting (e.g. ¶ 175); and detect a type of surgical procedure or a stage of a surgical procedure (e.g. ¶ 175)
an audio player subsystem communicatively coupled to the video analysis subsystem (e.g. ¶ 176),
wherein the audio player subsystem is configured to: receive the detected type of surgical procedure or stage of the surgical procedure from the video analysis subsystem (e.g. ¶ 114; If an occluded state is detected, the occlusion detection algorithm alerts the user, for example, by causing … an audible alarm to sound); play an audio file based on at least one of the detected type of surgical procedure or stage of surgical procedure as detected by the video analysis subsystem (e.g. ¶ 176; sometimes a given surgical video can be augmented with an audio narrative which explains the actions, events… and complications shown in the video; because the audio explains the actions/events/complications, it is understood that the audio is based on a stage of surgical procedure); play the selected audio file through an audio output device operably coupled to the audio player subsystem (e.g. ¶ 176); receive a detection of a notification event from the video analysis subsystem (e.g. ¶ 175). Venkataraman does not specifically recite that the audio is selected from a plurality of audio files or that the subsystem can control playback of the audio file through the audio output device based on the detection of the notification event by at least one of: stopping the playback of the audio file, pausing the playback of the audio file, muting a volume level of the playback of the audio file, or decreasing the volume level of the playback of the audio file.
Thomas teaches it is known to use an audio subsystem in a surgical console (e.g. Fig. 1 and ABSTRACT). Thomas teaches that an audio file can be selected from a plurality of stored audio filed based on the point of procedure (e.g. ¶ 43). Thomas also teaches that the subsystem can control playback of the audio file through the audio output device based on the detection of the notification event by at least one of: stopping the playback of the audio file, pausing the playback of the audio file, muting a volume level of the playback of the audio file, or decreasing the volume level of the playback of the audio file (e.g. ¶ 42 and Fig. 6; the device will stop background music and issue an alert notifying the surgical team of a specific step, a specific parameter, or an abnormality associated with parameters of the procedure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Venkataraman with the audio playback subsystem as taught by Thomas, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of having a single device which will improve safety during surgery by automatically adjusting background audio and playing alerts during surgery.
Regarding claim 11, Venkataraman discloses the claimed invention as discussed above, but fails to specifically recite receiving a user acknowledgement of the detection of a notification event.
Thomas teaches that it is known that a user may be required to acknowledge completion before moving on (e.g. ¶ 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Venkataraman with receiving a user acknowledgment as taught by Thomas, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing assurance that the surgical team is aware of the alert.
Regarding claims 12 – 14, neither Venkataraman nor Thomas specifically recite directional audio. Thomas does teach that it is known to use more than one audio output device (e.g. ¶ 42; using speakers of the surgical console or speakers coupled to the surgical console). Furthermore, directional audio and using multiple speakers is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the audio output as taught by Venkatraman in view of Thomas with directional audio and multiple audio outputs as is known in the art, in order to improve the sound quality to the surgical team during surgery.
Regarding claim 15, Venkatraman discloses including an alarm and notification subsystem configured to cause a display device to display a notification based on the detection of the notification event from the video analysis subsystem (e.g. ¶ 176).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796