DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected without traverse, Group I invention and compound species having structure shown below, on 09/09/2026.
The elected species is a compound of Formula (II) wherein A is CR5, R5 is H, D is N, E is CR3, R3 is H, R' is C1-C7 alkoxy (-OCH3), R2 is cycloalkyl (cyclopropyl), R6 is
, R7 is halogen (F), R8-R12 are each H, m is 1, n is 1, o is 2, and p is 0.
Applicant submits claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29, and 35 read on the elected invention and species.
Claims 44, 49, 50, 57 and 61 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 5-7 and 23-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The elected species, Compound 24 (See Table 1, CAS# 2899213-06-8, entered STN database on February 24, 2023), is rejected under 35 USC §103 and on the ground of double patenting. To expedite compact prosecution, the search/examination has expanded to non-elected species that are rejected under following 35 USC 102 and 103 section. The absence of other citations of prior art should not be interpreted as an indication that other subgenera within Formula II are free of prior art. Other non-elected species are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reconsidered. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during reconsideration that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 17-19, 23-25, 29, 35, 44, 49, 50, 57 and 61 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 5-7, 44, 49, 50, 57 and 61 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29, and 35 are under examination in this office action.
Priority
The instant application 18/293,109 filed on January 29, 2024, is a national stage of International Application No. PCT/US2022/038902, filed July 29, 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/227,834, filed July 30, 2021, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/289,341, filed December 14, 2021.
It’s noted instant elected species, compound 24 is NOT disclosed in Pro’ 834 application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference listed in IDS dated 01/29/2024, 12/19/2025, 03/27/2026 and 08/31/2026 are being considered. Reference written in foreign language is considered to the degree of English abstract or patent family of foreign patent.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/29/2024 are objected to because Figure 1-4 contain plots that are grey shaded and illegible.
Claim Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 35 recites “wherein the composition further comprises a formulary ingredient, an adjuvant, or a carrier”. The “formulary ingredient” and “carrier” are repetitive since formulary ingredient include pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 17-18, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the full-scope of claimed compound of Formula II. This is a written description rejection, rather than an enablement rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Applicant is directed to the MPEP 2163 and Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st "Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.
MPEP 2163.02 states “ Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.”
Independent claim 1 refers to compound of formula I, II, III with multiple rings substituted with multiple R groups that are further substituted, or a salt, ester, solvate, optical isomer, geometric isomer, salt of an isomer, prodrug, or derivative thereof. Although claims 17 and 18 recite narrower scope of R groups and ring I moiety, the scope of claims 17 and 18 encompassing different combination of L, M, Q, R groups and ring I moiety, and the ester, solvate thereof are not fully supported by instant disclosure. The Applicant is required to provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed genus, compound of Formula I, II and III and ester, solvate, prodrug, or derivative thereof that aligns with the instantly claimed broad scope.
MPEP 2163 II states; “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above)”. While applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. “A representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus” MPEP 2163 II.
Instant specification discloses about 84 compounds (See Table 1-8) and activity thereof, wherein compound species exhibit different activity with IC50 ranging from 0.5 nM (Cpd 21) to 447 nM by Cpd 14 against IRAK1 (See Table 9). The disclosed compounds are not representative for the full scope of compound of Formula I, II and III. For example, instant disclosed compounds comprise hydrogen as R3, R4 and R5. Instant specification does not disclose any working example where R3, R4 or R5 are halogen, hydroxy, oxo, —CN, —C(=O)H, —C(=O)OH, C2-C7 alkenyl, C2-C7 alkynyl, -C(=O)NR31R32, cycloalkyl, spiro-fused cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl, heteroaryl, or fused ring heteroaryl, as recited. Instant specification does not disclose embodiments wherein two of A,D, E are nitrogen.
Instant specification does not disclose any working example where R1 or R2 is oxo, C(=O)H,
-C(=O)OH, C2-C7 alkenyl, C2-C7 alkynyl,—C(=O)NR31R32, spiro-fused cycloalkyl, or fused ring heteroaryl further substituted with groups as recited.
Instant claimed R6 with different combination of m, n, o, p, q, r, s, t, u, v, w, x, are drawn to variety of nitrogen-containing heterocycle substituted with variety of R7 to R30. The R6 group in disclosed working examples are piperidine or pyrrolidine with simple substituent (e.g. F) that do not represent the full scope of R7 to R30 and m to x. Instant specification does not disclose working example wherein R6 is
, or C3-C6 cycloalkyl substitute with one or more NR33R34.
The only disclosure of other moieties/groups, in addition to the species reduced to practice, is in the form of general formula with lists of possible groups. This kind of disclosure is not representation of any species. A "laundry list" disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species. MPEP 2163.1.A. and Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 ”.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed.Cir. 1996).
Further, there is no disclosure of working example as ester, solvate or prodrug or derivatives of instantly claimed compounds. There is no disclosure of working example of composition further comprising an adjuvant.
As elaborated, there are substantial structural variation exists in the genus/subgenus embraced by instant claims and disclosure of species is not commensurate with the scope of genus/subgenus claimed. One of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of full scope of compound of Formula II. The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed.
Claims 1, 3, 17-18, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites compound of I, II or III, wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, and R5 are each independently selected from variety of group/moiety, e.g. H, halogen, hydroxy, oxo, -CN, - C(=O)H, -C(=0)OH, C1-C7 alkyl, C2-C7 alkenyl, C2-C7 alkynyl, C1-C7 alkoxy, -C(=O)NR31R32, cycloalkyl, -O-(C3-C6 cycloalkyl), spiro-fused cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl, heteroaryl, and fused ring heteroaryl...
... . A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Spiro-fused cycloalkyl is a narrow limitation of cycloalkyl, fused ring heteroaryl is narrow limitation of heteroaryl, and pyrrolyl, piperidyl, piperazinyl, morpholinyl etc. are narrow limitation of heteroaryl, heterocyclyl, aryl, heteroaryl. It’s noted that the definition of other R groups also have similar issues. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 1 and 3 recite compounds or prodrug, or derivative thereof. The “prodrug” and “derivative” refer to variety of molecules that have different structures, might be in different recognized chemical classes and have different chemical/physical properties, different pharmaceutical /biological activity and different pharmacokinetic/toxicological profile, etc. An ordinary skilled in the art would not know what compounds/agent are encompassed by "prodrug", thus, the scope of the claim(s) are unascertainable for the patent protection desired.
Claims 29 and 35 are rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
Further, claim 29 recites compound is an inhibitor of at least one of IRAK1, IRAK4, and FLT3, or wherein the compound is an inhibitor of at least two of IRAK1, IRAK4, and FLT3, or wherein the compound is an inhibitor of IRAK1 and IRAK4, or wherein the compound is an inhibitor of IRAK1, IRAK4, and FLT3. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Recitation of “inhibitor of at least one of IRAK1, IRAK4, and FLT3” is the broad range of limitation compared with “at least two of IRAK1, IRAK4, and FLT3” or “inhibitor of IRAK1, IRAK4 and FLT3”.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 29 recites the compound of claim 1 is an inhibitor of IRAK1, IRAK4, and/or FLT3, The biological activity of compound of claim 1 is the intrinsic property of compound of claim 1. Thus, claim 29 reciting intended function/property of compound of claim 1 do not impart any further structural limitation to the compound of claim 1.
In order to overcome this ground of rejection, Applicant may wish to (a) cancel the claims, rewrite claim 1 to incorporate the subject matter of claims or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Compound CAS# 347844-08-9 (entered STN on December 4, 2011, Applicant’s IDS dated 08/31/2026 ).
Compound CAS# 347844-08-9 read on compound of Formula I, wherein,
A is CR5, R5 is H, D is N, E is CR3, R3 is H, R1 is H , R2 is C1-C7 alkoxy, R6 is
, R7-R14 are each H, m is 1, n is 1, o is 2, and p is 0.
Thus, Compound CAS# 347844-08-9 anticipates instant invention.
Claims 1, 3 , 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Eastwood et al. ( WO2011076419 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 01/29/2024).
Eastwood teaches imidazopyridine derivatives, compound of Formula I, as Janus Kinases/JAK inhibitor, pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned compound for method of treating disease /disorder (e.g. myeloproliferative disorders, inflammation etc.)( See abstract , page 8, lines 32-37, page 9, lines 15-27; page 15, line 13-14; Examples 1 -186; claims 1-35).
Eastwood teaches compound species, e.g. Example 9, 17, 21 etc. (See page 106, page 115, claim 25) that read on instant claimed compound of Formula I and Formula V, wherein,
A is CR5, R5 is H, D is CR4, R4 is H, E is N, R1 is H , R2 is F, R6 is
, R7-R14 are each H, m is 1, n is 1, o is 2, and p is 0.
Eastwood is silent that compound of Formula I is inhibitor of IRAK or FLT3. Please note biological activity is the property of compound which does not necessarily add structural limitation/ patentable weight to the compound claims. Eastwood teaches compound species that falls within the scope of instantly claimed compounds, thus, Eastwood anticipates instant invention.
Claims 1, 3, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. ( WO2018141002, family member of US 11111245, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/19/2025).
Wang teaches 4-(imidazo[1,2-a] pyridine)pyrimidin-2-amine derivatives, compound of Formula I as Cyclin-dependent Kinase (CDK) inhibitors, pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned compound and the use thereof for modulating protein kinase activity in a cell and treating cancer (e.g. lung colorectal, etc.)(See abstract, [0008]-[0061], Table 1-2, Examples 1-172, claims 1-16)
It’s noted A moiety of Wang compound read on instant R6
Wang discloses compound species, e.g. compound 1- 14 ,143, etc. that are encompassed by instant claimed compound of Formula I (See Table 1 ),
Wang is silent that compound of Formula I is inhibitor of IRAK or FLT3. Please note biological activity is the property of compound which does not necessarily add structural limitation/ patentable weight to the compound claims. Wang teaches compound species that falls within the scope of instantly claimed compounds, thus, Wang anticipates instant invention.
Claims 1, 3, 17-18, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Braganza et al. (US 20110144084, US 8518952, family member of WO 2010016005, JP2011530500, Applicant’s IDS dated 08/31/2026).
Braganza discloses substituted 2- heterocyclylamino pyrazine compound of formula I , II, III, or pharmaceutical acceptable salt thereof, as check point kinase I (CHK-1) inhibitors, pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned compound and the use thereof for the treatment of disease or condition associated with check point kinase I (CHK-1), e.g. cancers, leukemia (See abstract, [0002]-[0088], [0282], [0379], Table 1, Examples 1-299, claims 1-18 ).
Braganza discloses A is a heteroaryl selected from a variety of group optionally further substituted with 1-5 Ro (See [0032], [0044], claims 4 and 6-7).
It’s noted Braganza 2-heterocyclylamino pyrazine read on instant compound wherein D is N, A is CR5, E is CR3. Braganza discloses compound species, e.g. compound 37, 60, 78, 82, 83, etc. that are encompassed by instant claimed compound of Formula I, II, and VI. (See Table 1, Examples 1-299),
Braganza is silent that compound of Formula I is inhibitor of IRAK or FLT3. Please note biological activity is the property of compound which does not necessarily add structural limitation/ patentable weight to the compound claims. Braganza teaches compound species that falls within the scope of instantly claimed compounds, thus, Braganza anticipates instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Hoyt et al. (WO2022132936, hereafter “Hoyt ‘936”, corresponding to US12534469 B2), in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Hoyt ‘936 discloses multicyclic compound of formula I, II, or ester, solvate, optical isomer, geometric isomer, salt of an isomer, prodrug, or derivative thereof , as IRAK and/or FLT3 inhibitors, pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned multicyclic compound and the use thereof for the treatment of IRAK4-mediated disease or condition, e.g. hematopoietic cancers, myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS), acute myeloid leukemia (AML) (See abstract, [0009]-[0014], [00380], Table 1-16 , Examples 1-26, claims 1-77).
It’s noted the definition of R groups in Hoyt ‘936 are the same or similar with instant recited R1-R6. Hoyt ‘936 discloses compound species , e.g. Compound 70-86, 96-112, 133- 136, etc. that are similar to instant claimed compounds (See page 16, [0013], [00380], [00484], [00576], Table 1-15; claims 19, 28 and 31) .
The difference of Hoyt ‘936 compound and instant compounds is pyridine wherein all A, D and E is CH, versus instant
wherein at least one of A, D, or E is N.
Patani teaches bioisosterism for rational modification of lead compounds. Patani teaches a group of bioisosteres elicit similar biological activity as either classical or nonclassical, wherein the classical bioisosteres are a series of replacements defined by Grimm’s Hydride Displacement Law and Erlenmeyer’s definition of isosteres (See p. 3148-3149).
Patani teaches modifications of classical isosteres involving fluorine, hydroxyl, amino, and methyl group interchanges (See page 3150-3152). Patani also teaches modifications of classical isosteres in the ring, wherein CH, O, N are modified as divalent or trivalent ring equivalent (See page 3158-3160). It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to explore alternative IRAK and/or FLT inhibitor based on the collective teachings of Hoyt ‘936, together with experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification as taught by Patani. A skilled artisan would be motivated to do so and reasonably expect the bioisosteric replacement of =CH with =N on pyridine ring would provide alternative compounds that exhibit activity against IRAK.
For example, Hoyt ‘936 compound 102 could have been modified from pyridine ring to pyridazine ring and arrive at instant elected species.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art and general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1,3, 17-19, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starczynowski et al. (WO2018038988, hereafter “Starczynowski’ 988”, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/19/2025 ), in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
Starczynowski’ 988 discloses compound of formula I, II, or salt or isomer or derivative thereof , as IRAK and/or FLT3 inhibitors, pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned multicyclic compound and the use thereof for the treatment of IRAK4-mediated disease or condition, e.g. cancers, (See abstract, [0005]-[0013], [0053], [0062], Table 1, page 112-117, [00242], Table 1-2, claims 1-67).
...
Starczynowski’ 988 embodiments comprising R7 attached to Y is NH read on instant R6.
Starczynowski’ 988 discloses compound species , e.g. Compound I-3, I-18, I-21, I-29 , etc. that are similar to instant claimed compounds (See Table 1-15; claims 19, 28 and 31) .
The major difference of Starczynowski’ 988 compound and instant compounds is CH vs N on the rings which are bioisosteres as taught by Patani as elaborated in preceding 103 rejection. It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to explore alternative IRAK and/or FLT inhibitor based on the collective teachings of Starczynowski’ 988 and general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification as taught by Patani. A skilled artisan would be motivated to do so and reasonably expect the bioisosteric replacement of =CH with nitrogen on the rings would provide alternative compounds that exhibit activity against IRAK.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art and general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29, and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12534469, in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
Reference claims are drawn to a compound of Formula I or salt, ester, solvate, optical isomer, geometric isomer, salt of an isomer, prodrug, or derivative thereof.
The definition of R groups in reference claims are the same or similar with instant recited R1-R6. For example, R6 is
Reference claims 4 and 7 recite compounds that are similar to instant claimed compounds
The difference of reference compound and instant compounds are CH on pyridine vs N on pyrazine or pyrimidine which are bioisosteres as taught by Patani as elaborated in preceding 103 rejection. It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 3, 17-18, 29 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11254667, in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
Reference claims are drawn to a compound of Formula I or salt, or stereoisomer thereof, as IRAK and/or FLT inhibitor.
Reference compounds comprising R7 attached to Y is NH read on instant R6. The definition of R1, R2, R4, R5, R6 group in reference compounds are similar with instant recited R group, respectively,
Reference claim 23 recites compound species that are similar to instant claimed compounds.
The main difference of reference compound and instant compounds is CH vs N on the rings which are bioisosteres as taught by Patani as elaborated in preceding 103 rejection. It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12612410 , in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
Reference claims are drawn to a compound of Formula I or salt, ester, solvate, optical isomer, geometric isomer, salt of an isomer, prodrug, or derivative thereof, as IRAK or FLT3 inhibitor.
The definition of R group in reference compounds are similar with instant recited R group, respectively.
Reference claims 4 and 7 recite compound species that are similar to instant claimed compounds
The main difference of reference compound and instant compounds is CH vs N on the rings which are bioisosteres as taught by Patani as elaborated in preceding 103 rejection. It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3, 6, 11, 14-15,18, 27, 29, 43, 49-51 and 55-57 of copending U.S. Patent application No. 18/018, 742 , in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
Reference claims are drawn to a compound of Formula I or salt, ester, solvate, optical isomer, geometric isomer, salt of an isomer, prodrug, or derivative thereof, as IRAK or FLT3 inhibitor.
The definition of R group in reference compounds are similar with instant recited R group, respectively.
Reference claims 6, 14, 18 recite compound species that are similar to instant claimed compounds.
The main difference of reference compound and instant compounds is CH vs N on the rings which are bioisosteres as taught by Patani as elaborated in preceding 103 rejection. It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 29 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13, 19, 23 and 27 of copending U.S. Patent application No. 18/874, 609, in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996. Vol. 96, 8: 3147-3176).
Reference claims are drawn to a compound of Formula I or salt, ester, solvate, optical isomer, geometric isomer, salt of an isomer, prodrug, or derivative thereof, as IRAK or FLT3 inhibitor.
The definition of R group in reference compounds are similar with instant recited R group, respectively.
Reference claims 4 and 11 recite compound species that are similar to instant claimed compounds.
The main difference of reference compound and instant compounds is CH vs N on the rings which are bioisosteres as taught by Patani as elaborated in preceding 103 rejection. It’s noted instant recited A, D, E is N or CR further attests bioisosterism between =CH and =N.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LIYUAN MOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628