DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that (Argument 1; Remarks pg. 13 line 20- pg. 13 line 2) the updated to claim language “in response to the determining, by the processor during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service requests handled by the new NF software version” is not indefinite, (Argument 2; Remarks pg. 14 lines 24-27) that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea element, (Argument 3; Remarks pg. 15 lines 21-24) that the claims recite a technical improvement and thus integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, (Argument 4; Remarks pg. 16 lines 18-24) applicant disagrees that the elements of “An apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components and (Argument 5; Remarks pg. 19 lines 5-18) that the cited prior art does not disclose the teachings of the amended independent claims.
With respect to applicant’s arguments examiner respectfully disagrees. As to argument 1 first it is noted that the claims were rejected under 112b previously and not 112a the amended language still has similar 112b unclear what is meant by “modify…the incorporation plan.” It is unclear if the incorporation plan itself is modified/changed/updated to modify a number of service request handled or if by modify it is just proceeding to next step/stage in the incorporation plan that has a different selection policy, changed from the previous step stage but part of the originally defined incorporation plan which is how it is interpreted for claim analysis.
As to argument 2, not every element of a claim has to be an abstract idea element for a claim as a whole to be considered as directed to an abstract idea as long as the claim does include element directed to an abstract idea and the other additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The requirement of a computer to operate/being rooted in computer technology is not by itself enough to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application as a generically recited computer and/or computer components recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components which does not show significantly more than the abstract idea or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The recited claims do recite abstract idea elements of at least “determine an incorporation plan for the new NF software version wherein the incorporation plan defines a plurality of sequential deployment steps and corresponding NF selection condition” and “monitor… runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service requests” and “repeat…monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current member of service request handled by the new NF software version” where the specifics of what runtime performance metric and/or degree in which metrics are being monitored is not specifically claimed and thus viewed as including metrics that a person can observer/monitor during/while running with a full analysis and the elements for the 101 rejection seen in detail below where the remaining elements are viewed as additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea and thus the claim is still viewed as reciting an abstract idea mental process.
As to argument 3, while a technical improvement/solution to a technical problem can be used to show the integration of an abstract idea into a practical application simply stating that the claims show a technical improvement is not enough, the specifications must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as pertaining to an improvement in the technology and the claims must reflect the improvement in the technology such that the claims covers a particular solution to the problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome as opposed to merely claiming the idea of the solution or outcome. It is unclear what part of applicants specifications are used to show the argued improvement and additionally the claims appear directed more to the idea of the improvement/solution than the particular solution or way of the improvement thus viewed that the claims are still directed to an abstract idea as the claims appear to be directed towards applying/implementing the incorporation plan where the determined plan defines the plurality of deployment steps and NF selection conditions, where the deployment steps correspond to the determined/monitored runtime performance metrics, not specifically indicated what metrics are used, and the number of service request handled correspond to the NF selection conditions and NF selection parameters defining NF software version selection thus the change/adjustment of services based on the monitored data is viewed as the implementation/applying the determined incorporation/deployment plan through the processor also it is noted that applicant’s Arguments/Remarks [0013] imply that a human can inspect/monitor performance and make adjustment based on that performance just that would not be effective as require passable of time however automating/improving speed a manual process through the recitation of generic computer components/functions is not seen as a technical improvement as long as the limitation can be practically performed.
As to argument 4, it is unclear what part of the argument applicant disagrees with as they state that the cited portion are common elements in most apparatus claims that are statutory and merely cite the elements that perform the claim elements to follow. Common elements recited to perform the claim elements that follow seems to be another way of saying that the elements are generic computer or generic computer components to apply the argued abstract idea thus unclear what applicant disagrees with. While applicant is right that these are common elements in most apparatus claims that are statutory, examiner is not stating that these elements alone or in combination are what specifically prevents the recited abstract idea elements of the claim from being integrated into a practical application just that they are generic/common computer components and/or functions that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not show significantly more these elements can be part of claims that are statutory if there are other additional elements in the claim that do integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or do show significantly more than the abstract idea or it the claim does not recite an abstract idea.
As to argument 5, there is no specific element of the amended claims being argued that the recited applications don’t teach just that the recited application do not teach the whole of the amended claims where it is seen in the below in the full rejection of the independent claims below the recited prior art of Mudumbai, Westberg and Zhao do teach all of the claim limitations of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12, 15 and 16 recite “…modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan..” in lines 27-28, 20-21, 25-26 and 20-21 respectively and it is unclear what is meant with the modifying the incorporation plan, is the incorporation plan itself updating/changing in response to the monitored runtime performance metrics or is the plan progressing along its deployment steps and based on the runtime performance metrics where the plan itself is not changing/updating but based on the determine metrics the specific step/stage of the incorporation plan is determined where the different stage/step have different/changed selection parameters for portions of request handled but the stages/step are part of the initial defined plan which is how the claims are being interpreted appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 2-11, 13-14 and 17-20 depend from claims 1, 12 and 16 above and do not overcome this issue and thus rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1: Claims 1-20 are claims that are directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 1 and 12: The limitation of “determine an incorporation plan for the new NF software version wherein the incorporation plan defines a plurality of sequential deployment steps and corresponding NF selection condition” and “monitor… runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service requests; in response to the determining,… during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service request handled by the new NF software version” and “repeat,… during runtime monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current number of service request handled by the new NF software version”, as drafted, is a function thus under its broadest reasonable interpretation recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitation encompasses a human mind carrying out the function of determining an incorporation plan and observing and monitoring runtime performance to determine in metrics indicate that a change should be made the number of request handled by the new NF software version viewed as determining what if it needs to change to a different step/stage of the incorporation plan through observation, evaluation, judgment and/or opinion or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
The claims have been identified to recite an abstract idea, Step 2A Prong 2 will evaluate whether the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 1 and 12: The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the following additional element “a network repository function,” “An apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components. Additionally, the claims recites additional elements of “configure, based on a step of the incorporation plan to use the new NF software version, the new NF software version to handle a portion of cases previously handled by an old NF software version, wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service requests, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service requests,” “modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version” and “repeat… modifying the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service requests handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version” that fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “configure,” and “modify and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Further the claims recites additional elements of “receive a new network function (NF) software version” do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity information to the judicial exception of merely receiving data. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims, 1 and 12 not only recite an abstract idea but that the claims are directed to the abstract idea as the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 1 and 12: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a network repository function,” “An apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to” amount to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer/computer components to carry out the exception. Additionally, the additional element of “configure, based on a step of the incorporation plan to use the new NF software version, the new NF software version to handle a portion of cases previously handled by an old NF software version, wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service requests, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service requests,” “modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version” and “repeat… modifying the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service requests handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version” does not require any particular application of the recited configure and modify and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Further, the additional elements of “receive a new network function (NF) software version” which is merely insignificant extra-solution activity information of receiving data. Further, the insignificant extra solution data activity is also WURC, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), where “the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity” i. receiving or transmitting data where the receiving a new network function limitation is receiving data. The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, mere instructions to apply an exception and merely receiving/transmitting data, do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 1 and 12 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 2, 13 and 17 they recite additional abstract idea limitations of “compare operation of the new NF software version to a predetermined performance criterion” is an additional mental process under prong 1. Further the claims recite additional elements of “in response to the new NF software version meeting the predetermined performance criterion, increase or decrease usage of the new NF software version based on a next step or a previous step of the incorporation plan” which fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “increasing or decreasing usage” and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claims 2, 13 and 17 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 2, 13 and 17 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 2, 13 and 17 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 3, 14 and 18 they recite additional elements of “cause the apparatus to increase usage of the new NF software version based on a next step of the incorporation plan comprises the processor to by incrementally increase increasing usage of the new NF software version until an old NF software version is no longer used” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claims 3, 14 and 18 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 3, 14 and 18 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 3, 14 and 18 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 4 and 19 they recite additional elements of “in response to the old NF software version no longer being used, initiate removal of the old NF software version” which fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “initiate removal” and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claims 4 and 19 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 4 and 19 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 4 and 19 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 5 and 20 they recite additional elements of “in response to the new NF software version meeting a predetermined underperformance criterion, decrease usage of the new NF software version based on the previous step of the incorporation plan” which fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “decrease usage” and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claims 5 and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 5 and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 5 and 20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 6 it recite additional elements of “decrease usage of the new NF software version based on the previous step of the incorporation plan by incrementally decreasing usage of the new NF software version until the new NF software version is no longer used” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claim 6 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 6 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 6 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 7 it recites additional abstract idea limitations of “to monitor operation of the new NF software version and monitor operation of the old NF software version” is an additional mental process under prong 1. Moreover, claim 7 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 7 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 7 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 8 it recite additional elements of “wherein the predetermined performance criterion comprises a comparison of operation of the new NF software version to operation of the old NF software version” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claim 8 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 8 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 8 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 9 it recites additional elements of “wherein the portion of cases comprises user equipments (UEs) assigned to the new NF software version, subscription requests, service requests, notification requests, requests for any functionalities the NF may provide, or a combination thereof” that is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claim 9 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 9 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 9 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 10 it recite additional elements of “wherein the cases or UEs are assigned to the new NF software version based on a location, a parameter, a characteristic, an event, a predetermined condition or a combination thereof” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, claim 10 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 10 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 10 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 11 it recites additional abstract idea limitations of “determine whether to incorporate the new NF software version” is an additional mental process under prong 1. Moreover, claim 11 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 11 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 11 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 15 and 16: The limitation of “wherein an incorporation plan is determined for the new NF software version, wherein the incorporation plan defines a plurality of sequential deployment steps and corresponding NF selection condition” and “monitor… runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service requests; in response to the determining,… during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service request handled by the new NF software version” and “repeat,… during runtime monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current number of service request handled by the new NF software version,” as drafted, is a function thus under its broadest reasonable interpretation recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitation encompasses a human mind carrying out the function of determining an incorporation plan and observing and monitoring runtime performance to determine/justify where/what step in the incorporation plan incorporation should be at through observation, evaluation, judgment and/or opinion or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
The claims have been identified to recite an abstract idea, Step 2A Prong 2 will evaluate whether the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 15 and 16: The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the following additional element “a network repository function,” “An apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components. Additionally, the claims recites additional elements of “the new NF software version is configured, based on a step of the incorporation plan to use the new NF software version, to handle a portion of cases previously handled by an old NF software version, wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service requests, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service requests,” “modify, by the processor during runtime, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version” and “repeat… modifying the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service requests handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version that fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “configured” and “modify” and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Further the claims recites additional elements of “transmit information indicating availability of a new network function (NF) software version” do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity information to the judicial exception of merely transmitting data. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims, 15 and 16 not only recite an abstract idea but that the claims are directed to the abstract idea as the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 15 and 16: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a network repository function,” “An apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to,” amount to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer/computer components to carry out the exception. Additionally, the additional element of “the new NF software version is configured, based on a step of the incorporation plan to use the new NF software version, to handle a portion of cases previously handled by an old NF software version, wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service requests, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service requests,” “modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version” and “repeat… modifying the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service requests handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version does not require any particular application of the recited configure and modify and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Further, the additional elements of “transmit information indicating availability of a new network function (NF) software version” which is merely insignificant extra-solution activity information of transmitting data. Further, the insignificant extra solution data activity is also WURC, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), where “the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity” i. receiving or transmitting data where the transmit and indication of availability limitation is transmitting data. The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, mere instructions to apply an exception and merely receiving/transmitting data, do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 15 and 16 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudumbai et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0192651 A1) in view of Westberg et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0409514 A1) and further in view of Zhao et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0019400 A1)
As to claims 1 and 12, Mudumbai discloses an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising :at least one memory (Mudumbai [0155] lines 1-12); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Mudumbai [0155] lines 1-12):
receive a new network function (NF) software version (Mudumbai [0019] lines 1-4, [0025] lines 1-3, [0034] lines 2-8 and [0067] lines 1-6; which shows being able to update software deployed in a network environment when new/updated version of software are made available, viewed as received, where the software can include the performance of functions, where the specifics of new/update network function seen specifically disclosed below in the teachings of Westberg);
determine an incorporation plan for the new NF software version, wherein the incorporation plan defines a plurality of sequential deployment steps and corresponding NF selection conditions (Mudumbai [0018] lines 1-12, [0029] lines 1-7, [0034] lines 2-8 and [0067] lines 1-6; which shows being able to generate/determine a deployment/incorporation plan for deployment/incorporating the new/updated software version, where the deployment plan defines order/series of sequential steps for the deployment/incorporation of the new software version where the play can be based on associated characteristics as well, viewed as selection conditions where the specifics of new network function seen specifically disclosed below in the teachings of Westberg); and
configure based on a step of the incorporation plan to use the new NF software version, the new NF software version to handle a portion of cases previously handled by an old NF software version (Mudumbai [0018] lines 1-12, [0029] lines 1-19, [0031] lines 1-13 and [0067] lines 1-6; which shows that the new/updated software version is deployed/integrated/configured for use according to the deployment plan, where as part of the deployment/incorporation of the update can include changes, deletions and additions to pervious software currently installed with new/updates version information, where the deployment/incorporation can be done in specific order and at specific times, viewed as individual steps where each individual deployment would handle a portion that was previous handled by the previous/old software version, where the specifics of new network function seen specifically disclosed below in the teachings of Westberg).
Mudumbai does not discloses the specifics of a new network function (NF) software version.
However, Westberg discloses the specifics of new network function (NF) software version (Westberg [0035] lines 7-15 and [0048] lines 1-9; which shows the specifics of the received/indicated update can includes new software with updated/new version of network function )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Westberg showing the specifics of software update including updated/new network functions into the software update deployment of Mudumbai for the purpose of increasing software update effectiveness so that it can update additional functionality including network functions, as taught by Westberg [0048] lines 1-9.
Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service request, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service request; monitor, by the processor, runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service request; in response to the determining, by the processor during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version; and repeat, by the processor during runtime, monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, and modifying, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version
However, Zhao discloses wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service request, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service request (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0007] lines 1-9, [0017] lines 1-4, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12, [0028] lines 1-9, [0033] lines 25-28, [0034] lines 1-5 and [0039] lines 15-22; which shows the software update/new version being part of a staged rollout, viewed as a type of incremental increase/selection for the new software version to be used over the old/previous software version that will continue to be used/handle request while the new version is being deployed/incrementally to handle its associated service application request where the selection of the specific client devices to push/selected to use the application is adjusted/configured based on risk level with respect to metrics viewed as the type of selection parameter being configured adjusted that adjust how many client devices implement the new software version where a push module interacting with a user version store that stores the user/client and version of application associated with to determine which user/client to push/select for the software update is viewed as a type of network repository function, with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above); and
monitor, by the processor, runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service request (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12, [0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-10, [0028] lines 1-9 and [0030] lines 1-17 and [0041] lines 1-7; which shows being able to monitor real time/runtime performance metric for the feature update, where the performance monitor is able to monitor/measure performance of those that have received the updated version, the subset handled with the new/updated version where the specifics of the NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above);
in response to the determining, by the processor during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, modify, by the processor, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12,[0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-10, [0028] lines 1-9 [0029] lines 1-19 and [0030] lines 1-17 and [0041] lines 1-7; which shows being able to monitor real time/runtime performance metric for the feature update, where the performance monitor is able to monitor/measure performance of those that have received the updated version and based on determining performance metrics can reallocate/adjust, by either decreasing or increasing based on what metrics indicate, the amount of user assigned/deployed the software update based on the staged criteria association with ramp up/deployment/incorporation plan/algorithm with modified/changed percentage/number of request handled by the new/updated version , viewed as update along the incorporation plan where the specifics of the incorporation plan are seen disclosed in the teachings of Mudumbai above and the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above); and
repeat, by the processor during runtime, monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, and modifying, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12,[0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-10, [0028] lines 1-9 [0029] lines 1-19, [0030] lines 1-24; which shows that the monitoring and updating population adjustment for the deployment of the software version is part of a stagged roll out, where for each stage it is viewed as repeating the monitoring and based on the monitored performance update deployment/incorporation based on associated rollout/deployment/incorporation plan/algorithm for the new software version where the percentage of request that are directed to the new version increases overtime based on the algorithm as long as performance metric indicate it and thus would eventually have all request handled/directed to the new software version where the specifics of the incorporation plan are seen disclosed in the teachings of Mudumbai above and the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claims 2 and 13 Mudumbai as modified by Westberg do not specifically disclose however, Zhao discloses compare operation of the new NF software version to a predetermined performance criterion; and in response to the new NF software version meeting the predetermined performance criterion, increase or decrease usage of the new NF software version based on a next step or a previous step of the incorporation plan (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0007] lines 1-9, [0018] lines 1-12 and [0036] lines 7-19; which shows being able to monitor for one or more specified/predetermined performance metric for the feature update and if it performs successfully, viewed as meeting a predetermined performance criterion, being able to adjust/increase or decrease, the amount of users the update is deployed to according to the staged rollout/plan with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claims 3 and 14 Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose, however, Zhao discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to increase usage of the new NF software version based on a next step of the incorporation plan by incrementallywhich shows the step/iteratively deployment of the update based on the staged rollout plan to iteratively/incrementally increase the usage of the plan until update deployed to full set of user, viewed as old version no longer used with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 5 Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose, however, Zhao discloses in response to the new NF software version meeting a predetermined underperformance criterion, decrease usage of the new NF software version based on the previous step of the incorporation plan (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0007] lines 1-9, [0018] lines 1-12, [0028] lines 1-9 and [0036] lines 7-19; which shows being able to monitor performance metric for the feature update and if performance criteria for a number of abnormal operation notification, viewed as type of underperformance criteria, can initiate a rollback of the update, viewed as decrease the usage of the new version to a previous step in the rollout/incorporation plan with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 6, Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose, however, Zhao discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to decrease usage of the new NF software version based on the previous step of the incorporation plan by incrementallywhich shows being able to monitor performance metric for the feature update and if performance criteria for a number of abnormal operation notification, viewed as type of underperformance criteria, can initiate a rollback/reversions of the update rollout, viewed as decrease the usage of the new version to a previous step in the rollout/incorporation plan, where the update system iteratively/incrementally performs the pushing the update, monitoring the performance and relocation of user thus if the monitored performance parameters would indicate rollback/reverting would incrementally decrease usage and not limited so can be decreased until the new version is no longer deployed/used with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 7, Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose, however, Zhao discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to monitor operation of the new NF software version and monitor operation of the old NF software version (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0025] lines 1-10 and [0029] lines 1-19; which shows being able to monitor performance metric for the feature update, where the performance monitor is able to monitor/measure performance of those that have received the updated version and monitor of the performance of those still using the prior/old version of the software with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 8, Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose, however, Zhao discloses wherein the predetermined performance criterion comprises a comparison of operation of the new NF software version to operation of the old NF software version (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0025] lines 1-10 and [0029] lines 1-19; which shows being able to monitor performance metric for the feature update, where the performance monitor is able to monitor/measure performance of those that have received the updated version and monitor of the performance of those still using the prior/old version of the software and being able to make statistical comparisons between the two population, the population using the new version and population using the old version, to determine a statistical metric from monitoring for use where the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 9, Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose, however, Zhao discloses wherein the portion of cases comprises user equipments (UEs) assigned to the new NF software version, subscription requests, service requests, notification requests, requests for any functionalities the NF may provide, or a combination thereof (Zhao [0016] lines 1-17, [0017] lines 5-9 and [0019] lines 1-13; which shows the updated application is pushed to a specific portion of user/devices that are associated with client device/user equipment where the update is pushed to a portion of those client devices/user equipment for the user/device identified/assigned to receive the application update/new version thus showing that portion of cases comprises at lease user equipment assigned to the new software version, where the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 10, Mudumbai discloses wherein the cases or UEs are assigned to the new NF software version based on a location, a parameter, a characteristic, an event, a predetermined condition or a combination thereof (Mudumbai [0018] lines 1-12, [0029] lines 1-7 and [0034] lines 2-8; which shows that in the generation of the deployment plan for deploying/assigning software update version to cluster/devices, where characteristics of the device cluster are taken into account for deployment/assignment of the updated software, thus showing that at least UEs/device cluster are assigned/deployed to the new/updated software version based on at least characteristics, where the specifics of user equipment are seen specifically disclosed in the teachings of Zhao above and the specifics of a NF software version are seen disclosed above in the teachings of Westberg above).
As to claim 15 and 16 Mudumbai disclose an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory (Mudumbai [0155] lines 1-12); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Mudumbai [0155] lines 1-12):
wherein an incorporation plan is determined for the new NF software version, wherein the incorporation plan defines a plurality of sequential deployment steps and corresponding NF selection conditions (Mudumbai [0018] lines 1-12, [0029] lines 1-7, [0034] lines 2-8 and [0067] lines 1-6; which shows being able to generate/determine a deployment/incorporation plan for deployment/incorporating the new/updated software version, where the deployment plan defines order/series of sequential steps for the deployment/incorporation of the new software version where the play can be based on associated characteristics as well, viewed as selection conditions where the specifics of new network function seen specifically disclosed below in the teachings of Westberg), and
the new NF software version is configured based on a step of the incorporation plan to use the new NF software version to handle a portion of cases previously handled by an old NF software version (Mudumbai [0018] lines 1-12, [0029] lines 1-19, [0031] lines 1-13 and [0067] lines 1-6; which shows that the new/updated software version is deployed/integrated/configured for use according to the deployment plan, where as part of the deployment/incorporation of the update can include changes, deletions and additions to pervious software currently installed with new/updates version information, where the deployment/incorporation can be done in specific order and at specific times, viewed as individual steps where each individual deployment would handle a portion that was previous handled by the previous/old software version, where the specifics of new network function seen specifically disclosed below in the teachings of Westberg).
Mudumbai does not specifically disclose transmit information indicating availability of a new network function (NF) software version.
However, Westberg discloses transmit information indicating availability of a new network function (NF) software version, (Westberg [0035] lines 7-15 and [0048] lines 1-9; which shows the specifics of the received, and thus transmitted information, indicated update that can includes new software with updated/new version of network function is available)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Westberg showing the specifics of software update including updated/new network functions into the software update deployment of Mudumbai for the purpose of increasing software update effectiveness so that it can update additional functionality including network functions, as taught by Westberg [0048] lines 1-9.
Mudumbai as modified by Westberg does not specifically disclose wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service request, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service request; and monitor, by the processor, runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service request; in response to determining, by the processor during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, modify, by the processor during runtime, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version; and repeat, by the processor during runtime, monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, and modifying the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version until all service request are handled by the new NF software version.
However, Zhao discloses wherein configuring the new NF software version comprises configuring one or more NF selection parameters to cause the new NF software version, while servicing remaining service request, to be incrementally selected by a network repository function (NRF) for a subset of service requests, and wherein an old NF software version continues to handle remaining service request (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0007] lines 1-9, [0017] lines 1-4, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12, [0028] lines 1-9, [0033] lines 25-28, [0034] lines 1-5 and [0039] lines 15-22; which shows the software update/new version being part of a staged rollout, viewed as a type of incremental increase/selection for the new software version to be used over the old/previous software version that will continue to be used/handle request while the new version is being deployed/incrementally to handle its associated service application request where the selection of the specific client devices to push/selected to use the application is adjusted/configured based on risk level with respect to metrics viewed as the type of selection parameter being configured adjusted that adjust how many client devices implement the new software version where a push module interacting with a user version store that stores the user/client and version of application associated with to determine which user/client to push/select for the software update is viewed as a type of network repository function, with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above); and
monitor, by the processor, runtime performance metrics of the new NF software version during handling of the subset of service request (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12, [0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-10, [0028] lines 1-9 and [0030] lines 1-17 and [0041] lines 1-7; which shows being able to monitor real time/runtime performance metric for the feature update, where the performance monitor is able to monitor/measure performance of those that have received the updated version, the subset handled with the new/updated version where the specifics of the NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above);
in response to the determining, by the processor during runtime, that the monitored runtime performance metrics justify modifying a number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, modify, by the processor during runtime, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12,[0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-10, [0028] lines 1-9 [0029] lines 1-19 and [0030] lines 1-17 and [0041] lines 1-7; which shows being able to monitor real time/runtime performance metric for the feature update, where the performance monitor is able to monitor/measure performance of those that have received the updated version and based on determining performance metrics can reallocate/adjust, by either decreasing or increasing based on what metrics indicate, the amount of user assigned/deployed the software update based on the staged criteria association with ramp up/deployment/incorporation plan/algorithm with modified/changed percentage/number of request handled by the new/updated version , viewed as update along the incorporation plan where the specifics of the incorporation plan are seen disclosed in the teachings of Mudumbai above and the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above); and
repeat, by the processor during runtime, monitoring runtime performance metrics for a current number of service requests handled by the new NF software version, and modifying, the incorporation plan to increase or decrease service request handled by the new NF software version until all service request and handled by the new NF software version (Zhao [0005] lines 1-7, [0018] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-12,[0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-10, [0028] lines 1-9 [0029] lines 1-19, [0030] lines 1-24; which shows that the monitoring and updating population adjustment for the deployment of the software version is part of a stagged roll out, where for each stage it is viewed as repeating the monitoring and based on the monitored performance update deployment/incorporation based on associated rollout/deployment/incorporation plan/algorithm for the new software version where the percentage of request that are directed to the new version increases overtime based on the algorithm as long as performance metric indicate it and thus would eventually have all request handled/directed to the new software version where the specifics of the incorporation plan are seen disclosed in the teachings of Mudumbai above and the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao showing the specifics monitoring performance of an update in light of a deployment plan for rolling out the update into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg for the purpose of improving the effectiveness of an update by being able to monitor performance of the update as it is being rolled out to be able to determine and react to negative impacts in performance before deployed and effecting all users, as taught by Zhao [0004] lines 8-19 and [0005] lines 1-6.
As to claim 17, it is comparable to claim 2 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
As to claim 18, it is comparable to claim 3 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
As to claim 20, it is comparable to claim 5 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudumbai, Westberg and Zhao as applied to claims 3, and 18 above, and further in view of Wei (Pub. No. US 2015/0149658 A1)
As to claims 4 and 19 Mudumbai as modified by Westberg and Zhao do not specifically disclose in response to the old NF software version no longer being used, initiate removal of the old NF software version.
However, Wei discloses in response to the old NF software version no longer being used, initiate removal of the old NF software version (Wei [0059] lines 1-5; which shows being able to in response to all CPU cores being updated with new software/program version, thus viewed as old version no longer used by any of the cores, delete/remove the old version of the program, with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wei showing the specifics deleting old version of a program after new version fully deployed to all source into the deployment of the updated software version of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg and Zhao for the purpose of improving resource utilization by being able to remove for memory used programs and thus freeing up memory space, as taught by Wei [0059] lines 1-5.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudumbai, Westberg and Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fitzgerald et al. (Patent No. US 8,850,419 B1)
As to claim 11, Mudumbai as modified by Westberg and Zhao does not specifically disclose determine whether to incorporate the new NF software version.
However, Fitzgerald discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine whether to incorporate the new NF software version (Fitzgerald Col. 18 lines 19-25; which shows being able to determine when an update to the application/new software version of the application should be applied/incorporated with the specifics of NF software version update is seen in the teachings of Westberg above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fitzgerald showing the specifics of determining with an application update should be applied into the deployment plan for an update of Mudumbai as modified by Westberg and Zhao for the purpose of improving efficient resource utilization by being able to take into account price of resource used during the update process when determining if the software update should be applied, as taught by Fitzgerald Col. 18 lines 6-17.
Conclusion
/BRADFORD F WHEATON/Examiner, Art Unit 2193