DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Application # 18/293,121 and its preliminary amendment filed on January 29, 2024 in which claims 1-13 were presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending, of which claims 1, 5, 7, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 and claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, and 12 are objected to.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed January 30, 2024 and June 25, 2025 comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. §§ 120, 121, 365(c), or 371 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” “step,” or a generic placeholder, but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitations recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are: “a predicting module, “a first calculating module,” “a second calculating module,” and “an optimizing module” in claim 7.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al., US Publication 2003/0055677 (hereinafter Brown) in view of Rudkevich et al., US Publication 2013/0226358 (hereinafter Rudkevich), as applied to the instant claims, and in further view of Alexandra Twin, Total Cost of Ownership – TCO, June 25, 2019, Investopedia.com, Pages 1-6 (hereinafter Twin).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a method for optimizing operation of a transformer substation, the transformer substation including a plurality of transformers connected or disconnected by the optimization method comprising “acquiring a current load of each of the plurality of transformers” (Brown ¶ 74) by acquiring actual load data for each customer. Additionally, Brown discloses “predicting predicted loads of each of the plurality of transformers in various possible operating modes in a plurality of time periods based on the respective current loads” (Brown ¶ 43) where the load is predicted for different times and usage terms (i.e., operating modes). Further, Brown discloses “calculating transformer costs for each of the transformers in the plurality of time periods based on the predicted loads of each of the transformers, the transformer costs comprising … transformer operation costs” (Brown ¶¶ 51, 92) by calculating costs, including management costs (i.e., operation costs). Finally, Brown discloses “calculating a total cost in a total time period based on the transformer costs” (Brown ¶ 82) where to the total cost in a time period is calculated.
Brown does not appear to explicitly disclose “the transformer costs comprising transformer losses and transformer operation costs;” “calculating switch costs in the plurality of time periods based on a purchase cost and a service life for a respective switch corresponding to each of the transformers;” and “calculating a total cost in a total time period based on the transformer costs and the switch costs, optimizing the total cost to obtain optimization parameters, and operating the transformer substation according to the optimization parameters, the total time period consisting of the plurality of time periods.”
However, Rudkevich discloses a transformer transmission network optimization process that calculates transformer costs including “the transformer costs comprising transformer losses and transformer operation costs” (Rudkevich ¶ 64) where the profitability criterion include operating costs and line loss costs. Additionally, Rudkevich discloses “calculating switch costs in the plurality of time periods … a respective switch corresponding to each of the transformers” (Rudkevich ¶ 40) where the switch cost is calculated based on the congestion costs it relieves or causes. Further, Rudkevich discloses “calculating a total cost in a total time period based on the transformer costs and the switch costs” (Rudkevich ¶ 66) where the total cost derivatives consider the switch data. Finally, Rudkevich discloses “optimizing the total cost to obtain optimization parameters, and operating the transformer substation according to the optimization parameters, the total time period consisting of the plurality of time periods” (Rudkevich ¶ 47) by optimizing the costs of the network and generating sensitivity parameters.
Brown and Rudkevich are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of transformer cost calculation methods.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Brown and Rudkevich before him or her to modify the total cost calculations of Brown to include the optimization steps of Rudkevich.
The motivation for doing so would have been that the ability to optimize the parameters of the system result in performance improvements. (Rudkevich ¶ 4).
The combination of Brown and Rudkevich does not appear to explicitly disclose “calculating switch costs in the plurality of time periods based on a purchase cost and a service life for a respective switch corresponding to each of the transformers.”
However, Twin discloses that it is a well-known fact that to calculate the total cost of ownership of any item, that cost is based on the purchase price and the cost to operate of the life of the product. (Twin 1). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would have recognized that when Twin was combined with Brown and Rudkevich, the switch costs of Brown and Rudkevich would be the total cost of ownership, as calculated according to Twin. Therefore, the combination of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin at least teaches and/or suggests the claimed limitation “calculating switch costs in the plurality of time periods based on a purchase cost and a service life for a respective switch corresponding to each of the transformers,” rendering it obvious.
Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of cost calculations.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin before him or her to modify the switch cost calculation of Brown and Rudkevich to include the total cost of ownership calculation of Twin.
The motivation for doing so would have been that the calculation of Twin provides better economic value. (Twin 1).
Regarding claim 7, it merely recites an apparatus for performing the method of claim 1. The apparatus comprises computer hardware and software modules for performing the various functions. The combination of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin comprises computer hardware and software modules for performing the same functions. Thus, claim 7 is rejected using the same rationale set forth in the above rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, it merely recites an electronic device for performing the method of claim 1. The electronic device comprises computer hardware and software modules for performing the various functions. The combination of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin comprises computer hardware and software modules for performing the same functions. Thus, claim 7 is rejected using the same rationale set forth in the above rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, the combination of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin discloses “calculating power reliability costs based on the predicted loads of each of the transformers” (Rudkevich ¶ 74) where the calculated costs using the predicted load include reliability costs. Further, the combination of Brown, Rudkevich, and Twin discloses “calculating the total cost based on the transformer costs, the switch costs and the power reliability costs” (Rudkevich ¶ 47) where the calculation of the total costs includes all the costs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Smiley et al., US Publication 2005/0096886, System and method for predicting the costs to operate a transformer.
Cheim et al., US Publication 2007/0050302, System and method for predicting the costs to operate a transformer.
Zeanah et al., US Patent 8,116,916, System and method for selecting a correct transformer size based on predicted usage.
Porter, US Patent 10,868,425, System and method for predicting load values on a transformer.
Blug, US Patent 11,251,612, System and method for calculating a transformer load value.
Ma, Li et al., CN 108549966, Provides various formulas for predicting load values.
Wang, CN 110690702, Provides various formulas for predicting load values.
Zhang, CN 11161408, Provides various formulas for predicting load values.
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662