DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 January 2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (WO 2021128633).
[AltContent: textbox (rotor)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (ring-segment shaped section)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (press ring)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (stop)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (reinforcement sleeve)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1, Zhang.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches, a method for pressing a reinforcing sleeve (carbon fiber sheath 6, Figs. 1 and 2) onto a rotor of an electric motor (rotor 5), the method comprising:
affixing a press ring (compression sleeve middle component 32, Fig. 1) having a stop (see annotated Fig. 1) to the reinforcing sleeve (middle press sleeve assembly 32 is fixedly connected to the upper press sleeve assembly 31 and the lower press sleeve assembly 33, para. [0025]), so that the stop abuts an end face of the reinforcing sleeve (see Fig. 1), and at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section (compression sleeve lower component 33, Figs. 1 and 2) of the press ring embraces at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve that terminates at the end face of the reinforcing sleeve (lower part of the press sleeve assembly 33 on the outer periphery of the carbon fiber sheath 6 first touches the top surface of the positioning sleeve 7, para. [0025]); and pressing the reinforcing sleeve onto the rotor, the reinforcing sleeve being centered relative to the rotor so that a longitudinal axis of the reinforcing sleeve is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the rotor, and a pressing force being applied to the press ring affixed to the reinforcing sleeve in the direction of the aligned longitudinal axes so that the pressing force is introduced into the reinforcing sleeve via the stop (the lower part of the press sleeve assembly 33 is fitted onto the carbon fiber sheath 6. The lower end of the lower part of the press sleeve assembly 33 is slightly lower than the carbon fiber sheath 6. The carbon fiber sheath 6 is fitted onto the guide sleeve 4. The press machine 2 presses down the upper part of the press sleeve assembly 31, causing the carbon fiber sheath 6 to move down along the guide sleeve 4, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Zhang further teaches, the method according to claim 11, wherein a fiber-reinforced plastic sleeve (carbon fiber protective sleeve 6) is used as the reinforcing sleeve.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Zhang further teaches, the method according to claim 11, wherein the reinforcing sleeve is centered relative to the rotor and/or pressed onto the rotor via a centering cone (guide sleeve 4, Fig. 1) disposed between the reinforcing sleeve and the rotor and widening towards the rotor (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches, a device for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor (assembly tool, Figs. 1 and 2), the device comprising:
a press ring (compression sleeve middle component 32, Fig. 1) having a stop (see annotated Fig. 1), the press ring being affixable to the reinforcing sleeve such that the stop abuts an end face of the reinforcing sleeve and at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section (compression sleeve lower component 33, Figs. 1 and 2) of the press ring embraces at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve that terminates at the end face of the reinforcing sleeve (the lower part of the press sleeve assembly 33 is fitted onto the carbon fiber sheath 6. The lower end of the lower part of the press sleeve assembly 33 is slightly lower than the carbon fiber sheath 6. The carbon fiber sheath 6 is fitted onto the guide sleeve 4. The press machine 2 presses down the upper part of the press sleeve assembly 31, causing the carbon fiber sheath 6 to move down along the guide sleeve 4, para. [0027]); and
a press (press 2, Figs. 1 and 2) for applying a pressing force to the press ring affixed to the reinforcing sleeve (a positioning rotor carbon fiber sheath assembly tooling includes a support 1, a press 2, a pressing assembly, para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Zhang further teaches, the device according to claim 17, wherein the press ring has at least one slot (separation of the middle press sleeve assembly 32 and the lower press sleeve assembly 33, Fig. 1) connecting a first end face of the press ring to a second end face of the press ring opposite the first end face, and an adjustment device for adjusting a width of the slot (the middle press sleeve assembly 32 and the lower press sleeve assembly 33 are fixedly connected by screws, which facilitates the separation of the middle press sleeve assembly 32 and the lower press sleeve assembly 33, and makes it easy to replace different lower press sleeve assemblies 33, para. [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 15 and 17-18 are alternatively, and claims 13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank (DE 102007014192, one of the prior arts listed in the IDS).
[AltContent: textbox (stop)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (reinforcement sleeve)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (press ring)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs. 5 and 6, Frank.
Regarding claim 11, Frank teaches, a method for pressing a reinforcing sleeve (bandage ring 3, Fig. 5) onto a rotor of an electric motor (rotor 1), the method comprising:
affixing a press ring (7) having a stop (see annotated Fig. 5) to the reinforcing sleeve, so that the stop abuts an end face of the reinforcing sleeve (see Fig. 5), and at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section of the press ring embraces at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve that terminates at the end face of the reinforcing sleeve (see Fig. 5); and pressing the reinforcing sleeve onto the rotor, the reinforcing sleeve being centered relative to the rotor so that a longitudinal axis of the reinforcing sleeve is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the rotor (see Figs. 5 and 6), and a pressing force being applied to the press ring affixed to the reinforcing sleeve in the direction of the aligned longitudinal axes so that the pressing force is introduced into the reinforcing sleeve via the stop (prefabricated bandages (3) are then placed on the press cone and pressed onto the magnets (2) and the lower fiber composite plate (4a) with a suitable upper pressing auxiliary mold (7) …one bandage ring ( 3 ) is pressed on after the other, para. [0029]).
From the teaching of Frank in para. [0029], one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the prefabricated bandages 3 are pressed by a press. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Frank, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pressing auxiliary mold 7 to press down the bandages 3 of Frank so that it enables placing an enclosure for the permanent magnets and the rotor core in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 12, Frank teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Frank further teaches, the method according to claim 11, wherein a fiber-reinforced plastic sleeve (pressing discs are made of fiber compost material, Abstract) is used as the reinforcing sleeve.
Regarding claim 13, Frank teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Frank further teaches, the method according to claim 11, wherein an outer diameter of the reinforcing sleeve is smaller than 50 mm, in particular smaller than 25 mm; and/or wherein an inner diameter of the reinforcing sleeve is smaller than an outer diameter of the rotor by at least 0.1 mm, in particular by at least 0.2 mm (inner diameter of the bandage (3) is some 0.1 mm smaller than the diameter of the earthing magnets (2), para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Frank teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Frank further teaches, the method according to claim 11, wherein the reinforcing sleeve is centered relative to the rotor and/or pressed onto the rotor via a centering cone (press cone 5, Fig. 5) disposed between the reinforcing sleeve and the rotor and widening towards the rotor (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 16, Frank teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Frank further teaches, the method according to claim 15, wherein a largest outer diameter of the centering cone (press core 5, Fig. 5) is larger than an inner diameter of the reinforcing sleeve (bandage ring 3) and/or is at least as large as an outer diameter of the rotor (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 17, Frank teaches, a device for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor (Figs. 5 and 6), the device comprising:
a press ring (bandage ring 3, Fig. 5) having a stop (see annotated Fig. 5), the press ring being affixable to the reinforcing sleeve such that the stop abuts an end face of the reinforcing sleeve and at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section (see Fig. 5) of the press ring embraces at least one annular and/or ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve that terminates at the end face of the reinforcing sleeve (prefabricated bandages (3) are then placed on the press cone and pressed onto the magnets (2) and the lower fiber composite plate (4a) with a suitable upper pressing auxiliary mold (7) …one bandage ring (3) is pressed on after the other, para. [0029]); and
a press (see Figs. 5 and 6) for applying a pressing force to the press ring affixed to the reinforcing sleeve (para. [0029]). From the teaching of Frank in para. [0029], one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the prefabricated bandages 3 are pressed by a pressing auxiliary mold 7. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Frank, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pressing auxiliary mold 7 to press down the bandages 3 of Frank so that it enables placing an enclosure for the permanent magnets and the rotor core in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 20, Frank teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Frank further teaches, the device according to claim 17, wherein the stop comprises an annular and/or ring segment-shaped stop surface extending at least partially along an inner circumference of the press ring (see Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 14 would be allowable for disclosing a method for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor, wherein the pressing force is at least 20 kN, in particular at least 30 kN.
Claim 19 would be allowable for disclosing a device for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor, wherein the press ring has two ribs on its outer surface, each rib extending along a longitudinal edge of the slot; wherein the adjustment device is configured to compress the two ribs together so that the width of the slot is reduced.
Though, prior art of record Zhang teaches, a pressing force being applied to the press ring affixed to the reinforcing sleeve in the direction of the aligned longitudinal axes, and the press ring has at least one slot connecting a first end face of the press ring to a second end face of the press ring opposite the first end face, and an adjustment device for adjusting a width of the slot, Zhang fails to teach, the pressing force is at least 20 kN, in particular at least 30 kN; or the press ring has two ribs on its outer surface, each rib extending along a longitudinal edge of the slot; wherein the adjustment device is configured to compress the two ribs together so that the width of the slot is reduced.
Prior art of record Frank does not teach, the pressing force is at least 20 kN, in particular at least 30 kN; or the press ring has two ribs on its outer surface, each rib extending along a longitudinal edge of the slot; wherein the adjustment device is configured to compress the two ribs together so that the width of the slot is reduced.
Therefore, claims 14 and 19 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Miura (US 6047461) teaches, a method and a device for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor, including affixing a press ring having a stop to the reinforcing sleeve, so that the stop abuts an end face of the reinforcing sleeve; and a ring-segment-shaped section of the press ring embraces the ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve; and pressing the reinforcing sleeve onto the rotor.
Prior art Kawaguchi (US 20160352197) teaches, a method and a device for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor, including affixing a press ring having a stop to the reinforcing sleeve; and a ring-segment-shaped section of the press ring embraces the ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve; and pressing the reinforcing sleeve onto the rotor.
Prior art Schneider (US 20200378530) teaches, a method and a device for pressing a reinforcing sleeve onto a rotor of an electric motor, including affixing a press ring having a stop to the reinforcing sleeve; and a ring-segment-shaped section of the press ring embraces the ring-segment-shaped section of the reinforcing sleeve; and pressing the reinforcing sleeve onto the rotor.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729