DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 01/29/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites “the absorbance through a layer of said contact lens”. It is unclear if the absorbance is related to the absorbing semi-conductive nanoparticles or another layer with light absorbing properties. For the purpose of continuing examination, it is interpreted as any layer of the lens that contains light absorbing properties.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: multiple periods in the claim – see line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-23, 25-27 and 29-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Li et al. (“Bulk Synthesis of Transparent and Homogeneous Polymeric Hybrid Materials with ZnO Quantum Dots and PMMA” 2007), hereinafter “Li”, in view of Dubertret et al. (WO 2021/165496 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee and some common inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses a contact lens (Pg. 4349, Col. 2, Paragraph 2), comprising: (a) at least one polymeric matrix (Pg. 4349, Col. 1, Paragraph 3 – “PMMA matrix”); and (b) absorbing semi-conductive nanoparticles which are dispersed in said polymeric matrix (Pg. 4349, Col. 1, Paragraph 3 – “ZnO QDs”); wherein the absorbance through a layer of said contact lens is higher than 0.5 for each light wavelength ranging from 350 nm to λcut, λcut being in the visible range (see Fig. 2). Li discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm, said layer having a thickness ranging from 50 μm to 250 μm. In the same field of endeavor, Dubertret discloses preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm (PG. 31, Lines 23-27), said layer having a thickness ranging from 50 μm to 250 μm (Pg. 9, Line 22, Pg. 10, Lines 13-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the contact lens of Li with preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm, said layer having a thickness ranging from 50 μm to 250 μm of Dubertret for the purpose of providing protection to the human eye from undesirable light by incorporating light absorbing elements in ophthalmic lenses (Pg. 1, Lines 12-14, 24-26). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses wherein the absorbance through a layer of said contact lens is higher than 0.5 for each light wavelength ranging from 350 nm to λcut, λcut being in the visible range (see Fig. 2). Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm (Pg. 31, Lines 23-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20. Li and Dubertret disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify said layer having a thickness of 150 μm. it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the contact lens of Li and Dubertret with said layer having a thickness of 150 μm for the purpose of providing light filtering for the desired application (Pg. 1, Lines 5-9 of Dubertret).
Regarding claim 22, Li further discloses wherein the polymeric matrix is obtained by polymerization of at least one monomer in presence of at least one catalyst for initiating the polymerization of said monomer (Pg. 4350, Col. 2, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 23, Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses wherein the polymeric matrix is a molded polymer (Pg. 22, Lines 18-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20.
Regarding claim 25, Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses wherein said contact lens has at least one of the following features: an O2 permeability ranging from 20 x 10-11 to 150 x 10-11 (cm2/s) (ml O2/ml x mmHg); an average center thickness ranging from 20 μm to 500 μm (Pg. 10, Lines 20-22); a diameter ranging from 5 mm to 20 mm; and/or a base curve ranging from 5 mm to 15 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 26, Li further discloses wherein the polymeric matrix comprises an acrylate polymer, a vinylic polymer, a polyoxyethylene polyol, a polyvinyl carbonate, a polyvinyl carbamate, or a polyoxazolone (Pg. 4347, Col. 2, Line 1 – “PMMA”).
Regarding claim 27, Li further discloses wherein the acrylate polymer is selected among polyhydroxyethylmethacrylate, polymethylmethacrylate, poly(ethylene glycol) methacrylate, poly N-dimethyl acrylamide, poly(glycerol methacrylate), polyethyleneglycol dimethacrylate, polytetraethyleneglycol dimethacrylate, poly (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylamide), poly (acrylic acid), poly (methacrylic acid), poly (meth) acrylamide, or poly (acrylamide), poly(ethylene glycol) acrylate, poly di(ethylene glycol) ethyl ether acrylate, neopentyl glycol propoxylate diacrylate, poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, poly (pentaerythritol tetraacrylate), or mixture thereof (Pg. 4347, Col. 2, Line 1 – “PMMA”).
Regarding claim 29, Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses wherein the semi-conductive nanoparticles comprise a material of formula MxQyEzAw(I), wherein: M is selected from the group consisting of Zn, Cd, Hg, Cu, Ag, Au, Ni, Pd, Pt, Co, Fe, Ru, Os, Mn, Tc, Re, Cr, Mo, W, V, Nd, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, As, Sb, Bi, Sc, Y, La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Cs or a mixture thereof; Q is selected from the group consisting of Zn, Cd, Hg, Cu, Ag, Au, Ni, Pd, Pt, Co, Fe, Ru, Os, Mn, Tc, Re, Cr, Mo, W, V, Nd, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, As, Sb, Bi, Sc, Y, La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Cs or a mixture thereof; E is selected from the group consisting of O,S, Se, Te, C, N, P, As, Sb, F, Cl, Br, I, or a mixture thereof; A is selected from the group consisting of O,S, Se, Te, C, N, P, As, Sb, F, Cl, Br, I, or a mixture thereof; and x, y, z and w are independently a decimal number from 0 to 5; x, y, z and w are not simultaneously equal to 0; x and y are not simultaneously equal to 0; z and w may not be simultaneously equal to 0 (Pg. 17, Lines 3-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20.
Regarding claim 30, Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 29, Dubertret further discloses wherein the semi-conductive nanoparticles comprise a material of formula MxQyEzAw(I), wherein: M is selected from the group consisting of Zn, Cd, Hg, Cu, Ag, Au, Ni, Pd, Pt, Co, Fe, Ru, Os, Mn, Tc, Re, Cr, Mo, W, V, Nd, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, As, Sb, Bi, Sc, Y, La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Cs or a mixture thereof; Q is selected from the group consisting of Zn, Cd, Hg, Cu, Ag, Au, Ni, Pd, Pt, Co, Fe, Ru, Os, Mn, Tc, Re, Cr, Mo, W, V, Nd, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, As, Sb, Bi, Sc, Y, La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Cs or a mixture thereof; E is selected from the group consisting of S, Se, Te, C, N, P, As, Sb, F, Cl, Br, I, or a mixture thereof; A is selected from the group consisting of S, Se, Te, C, N, P, As, Sb, F, Cl, Br, I, or a mixture thereof; and x, y, z and w are independently a decimal number from 0 to 5; x, y, z and w are not simultaneously equal to 0; x and y are not simultaneously equal to 0; z and w may not be simultaneously equal to 0 (Pg. 17, Lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 31, Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 30, Dubertret further discloses wherein the semi-conductive nanoparticles are selected among CdS, ZnSe, CdSe/CdS, CdSeS/CdS, or CdSeS/CdZnS nanoparticles (Pg. 17, Line 25 – Pg. 18, Line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20.
Regarding claim 32, Li further discloses wherein the semi-conductive nanoparticles are nanospheres, nanoplates or nanorods (Pg. 4347, Col. 2 – “nanofiber”; Pg. 4350, Col. 1 – “spherical shapes”).
Regarding claim 33, Li further discloses wherein the semi-conductive nanoparticles are core/shell particles or core/crown particles, the core being a different material from the shell or crown (Pg. 4347, Col. 2 – “core/shell structures”).
Regarding claim 34, Li discloses contact lens (Pg. 4349, Col. 2, Paragraph 2). Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses wherein the amount of semi- conductive nanoparticles in the lens is from 10 ppm to 10 wt%, based on the weight of the lens (Pg. 10, Lines 23-24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20.
Regarding claim 35, Li and Dubertret teach the contact lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses wherein the semi-conductive nanoparticles are capped with an organic layer or encapsulated in an inorganic matrix (Pg. 25, Lines 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the contact lens of Li with the teachings of Dubertret for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 20.
Regarding claim 36, Li discloses contact lens (Pg. 4349, Col. 2, Paragraph 2). Li and Dubertret teach the lens set forth above for claim 20, Dubertret further discloses wherein the absorbance of the lens has: a local maximum absorbance of highest wavelength in the range from 350 nm to 500 nm, said local maximum having an absorbance value Amax for a wavelength λmax, a value of 0.9Amax for a wavelength λ0.9, λ0.9 being greater than λmax; a value of 0.5Amax for a wavelength λ0.5, λ0.5 being greater than λ0.9; and wherein lλ0.5 – λ0.9| is less than 15 nm (Pg. 8, Lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 37, Li discloses a polymerizable composition for the manufacture of a contact lens (Pg. 4349, Col. 2, Paragraph 2), comprising: (a) at least one monomer (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental); (b) at least one catalyst for initiating the polymerization of said monomer (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental); and (c) absorbing semi-conductive nanoparticles which are dispersed in said monomer (Pg. 4349, Col. 1, Paragraph 3 – “ZnO QDs”) wherein the absorbance through a layer of said contact lens is higher than 0.5 for each light wavelength ranging from 350 nm to λcut, λcut being in the visible range (see Fig. 2). Li discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm, said layer having a thickness ranging from 50 μm to 250 μm. In the same field of endeavor, Dubertret discloses preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm (PG. 31, Lines 23-27), said layer having a thickness ranging from 50 μm to 250 μm (Pg. 9, Line 22, Pg. 10, Lines 13-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the polymerizable composition of Li with preferably in the range from 400 nm to 480 nm, said layer having a thickness ranging from 50 μm to 250 μm of Dubertret for the purpose of providing protection to the human eye from undesirable light by incorporating light absorbing elements in ophthalmic lenses (Pg. 1, Lines 12-14, 24-26). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 38, Li discloses a process for the manufacturing of the contact lens according to claim 20 (Pg. 4349, Col. 2, Paragraph 2), comprising the steps of: (a) providing a monomer (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental); (b) providing absorbing semi-conductive nanoparticles in the form of a powder dispersible within said monomer or in the form of a dispersion of said absorbing semi-conductive nanoparticles in a liquid dispersible within said monomer (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental); (c) providing a catalyst for initiating the polymerization of said monomer (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental); and (d) mixing said monomer, said absorbing semi-conductive nanoparticles and said catalyst so as to obtain a polymerizable composition (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental); (e) curing said polymerization composition (Pg. 4351, Col. 1, Experimental).
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (“Bulk Synthesis of Transparent and Homogeneous Polymeric Hybrid Materials with ZnO Quantum Dots and PMMA” 2007) in view of Dubertret (WO 2021/165496 A1) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Gu et al. (USPG Pub No. 2021/0389731), hereinafter “Gu”.
Regarding claim 24, Li and Dubertret disclose the claimed invention except for the polymeric matrix is a flexible material such that said contact lens is a soft contact lens. In the same field of endeavor, Gu discloses the polymeric matrix is a flexible material such that said contact lens is a soft contact lens (Paragraphs 31, 32, 150). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the contact lens of Li and Dubertret with the polymeric matrix is a flexible material such that said contact lens is a soft contact lens of Gu for the purpose of providing comfortable and cost effective contact lenses (Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 28, Li and Dubertret disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the polymeric matrix comprises a silicone hydrogel. In the same field of endeavor, Gu discloses wherein the polymeric matrix comprises a silicone hydrogel (Paragraphs 51, 150). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the contact lens of Li and Dubertret with wherein the polymeric matrix comprises a silicone hydrogel of Gu for the purpose of providing comfortable and cost effective contact lenses (Paragraph 1).
Prior Art Citations
Chauhan et al. (USP No. 11,260,612) is being cited herein to show a contact lens relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/24/2026