DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“present specification”) are to the published application PG Pub. 2025/0101179, unless stated otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudo et al. (US 2011/0189458, “Sudo”) in view of Furukawa et al. (JP 2003-041001, “Furukawa” a machine translation of which is provided and used as the citation copy unless otherwise noted).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Sudo teaches a benzoxazine compound having a similar formula to that of presently claimed general formula (1) (see [0020], [0021], formula (I) wherein Y may be hydroxyl, q may be 2, and wherein Z groups are not particularly limited and may include alkylene groups). Sudo differs from the invention of this application in that the linking moiety Z of the benzoxazine does not have an alicyclic structure. However, in the same field of endeavor Furukawa discloses benzoxazine that is a resin starting material similarly to that of Sudo (e.g., Furukawa, pp. 1-3), and teaches that a hydrocarbon ring group is used as the linking group X of benzoxazine in order that preferred characteristics are achieved when forming a resin (see claims, especially claims 1-2, etc.). Furukawa additionally teaches that benzoxazines (examples 1-3, etc.) having, as a linking group, cyclohexyl, cyclopentyl, or specifically a 3,3,5-trimethyleyclohexyl group (see, e.g., Furukawa p. 7 of original foreign document, 14-B, or [0020], wherein the medial group is a 3,3,5-trimethyleyclohexyl group, consistent with the requirements of claim 2) provide improved physical properties when compared to benzoxazines having, as a linking group, the carbonyl, direct bond or 1,1-dimethylmethine employed as a linking group in Sudo (Furukawa, [0016] – [0020], and comparative examples 1-3, etc. of Furukawa). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included linking groups such as a 3,3,5-trimethyleyclohexyl group in order to improve the physical properties of the benzoxazine compound (Furukawa, [0016] – [0020], and comparative examples 1-3, etc. of Furukawa).
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 8 Sudo additionally teaches the composition may comprise various polymerizable compounds in a curable resin (e.g., [0007] – [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Sudo additionally teaches the content of the benzoxazine compound may be on the range of from, e.g., 10 to 100% by mass (e.g., [0093] – [0096]). The Examiner notes that a composition comprising the above amount of benzoxazine would present that amount under various testing methods including gel permeation chromatography analysis. Further, the Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Sudo additionally teaches the resin may include epoxy resins ([0098]).
Regarding claim 7, Sudo additionally teaches that the cured resin may be made into a cured product (e.g., [0002], [0013]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Katagiri et al. (US 2010/0210810) discloses a similar benzoxazine composition.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782