DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 20240259950, hereinafter “Nilsson”), in view of Gao et al. (US 20230262608, hereinafter “Gao”), and further in view of Grossmann et al. (US 20230403108, hereinafter “Grossman”).
Regarding claim 7, Nilsson discloses,
A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives: configuration information regarding a list of uplink (UL)
transmission configuration indication (TCI) states ([0052]-[0054: To facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, a unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection is to be evaluated and introduced in NR Rel-17. Similar to DL, where TCI states are used to indicate DL beams/TRPs, TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)..…[0071]: the information is comprised explicitly in a list or other data structure that provides mappings between the two or more power control states and the two or more TCI states and Fig. 13 and Fig. 14 explicit UL TCI state associations); a first set of transmission power control (TPC) parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0030]-[0035]: describes PUSCH power control parameter…[[0162]: describes power control state IE per UL channel. Fig. 11 shows single IE covering all UL channels and Fig. 12 shows per UL channel power control state IE); a second set of TPC parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0036]-[0037]: describes PUCCH power (P0, closed loop index)..[0168]: US applies PUCCH-specific power control state when triggered. Fig. 14 shows PUCCH spatial relation and Fig. 15 shows PUCCH configures points to power control state); and a third set of TPC parameters for a sounding reference signal ([0027]-[0029]: describes SRS power control parameters..[0168]-[0169]: SRS configuration IE pointing to power control state and Fig. 15 and Fig. shows SRS configuration IE), the first set, the second set, and the third set corresponding for each UL TCI state ID configured by the configuration information (above citations describes First set of TPC parameters for PUSCH; second set of TPC parameter for PUCCH and third set of TPC parameters for SRS); and
a processor that controls PUCCH transmission power, based on the
configuration information and the second set ([0054] describes UE performs UL transmission based on associations..[0074]-[0075] describes UE applies power control state for UL transmission..[0168]: when a UE is triggered with PUCCH transmission, the UE applies the power control parameters included in the power control state indicated in PUCCH Config IE (i.e., Power control state ID 2 in the example of FIG. 15).)
However, Nilsson does not disclose, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao discloses, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH (each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS, [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nisson by specifically providing wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH, as taught by Gao for the purpose of enabling more accurate per TRP power control with a simple signaling for multiple UL transmissions towards different TRPs scheduled by a single DCI (abstract).
Further, the combination of Nilsson and Gao does not disclose, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits. In the same field of endeavor, Grossman discloses, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits (PUSCH(s) scheduled at least in the CC via a higher layer configured grant or a PUSCH scheduled at least in the CC via the DCI without an SRI field or a DCI that has an SRI field with 0 bits, [0291]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nilsson and Gao by specifically providing wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits, as taught by Grossman for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling framework for flexible beam management in a wireless communications network such as advanced 5G networks [0095].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nilsson, Gao and Grossmann discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), further Nilsson discloses,
wherein the first set (first set = PUSCH power control parameters, per claim dependency) includes: a parameter regarding P0; a parameter regarding α; and a parameter regarding a closed loop index ([0031]: “For dynamically scheduled PUSCH... a UE is configured by RRC with a list of P0-PUSCH-Alpha sets...” and “Each SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl IE consists of a ... closed-loop index, and a PO-PUSCH-AlphaSet...” [0030]-[0035]: PUSCH open-loop and closed-loop power control equations explicitly include: PO, α (fractional pathloss compensation factor) closed-loop index. FIG. 6; Illustrates PUSCH-specific power control configuration, including PO-PUSCH-Alpha sets and closed-loop index. ), and
the second set (second set = PUCCH power control parameters) includes: a parameter regarding P0; and a parameter regarding a closed loop index ([0036]-[0037]: “For PUCCH, P0= P0,nominal_PUCCH + P0, UE_PUCCH and α= 1...”…. For closed loop power adjustment for PUCCH, up to two control loops may be configured.) [0068]-[0070]: the information comprises configuration of one or more identifiers of one or more power control states in the configuration is applicable to PUCCH and Fig. 4 shows PUCCH spatial relation IE including P0 selection and closed-loop index), and does not include a parameter regarding α (with respect to the second set/ PUCCH. The exclusion of α from PUCCH power control is explicitly supported: [0036): “For PUCCH... α = 1” This means: α is fixed, not configurable, and not included as a selectable parameter in the PUCCH power control set. In contrast: α is explicitly configurable for PUSCH via PO-PUSCH-Alpha sets see, [0031] and FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Nilsson discloses,
A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising
receiving: configuration information regarding a list of uplink (UL)
transmission configuration indication (TCI) states ([0052]-[0054: To facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, a unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection is to be evaluated and introduced in NR Rel-17. Similar to DL, where TCI states are used to indicate DL beams/TRPs, TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)..…[0071]: the information is comprised explicitly in a list or other data structure that provides mappings between the two or more power control states and the two or more TCI states and Fig. 13 and Fig. 14 explicit UL TCI state associations); a first set of transmission power control (TPC) parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0030]-[0035]: describes PUSCH power control parameter…[[0162]: describes power control state IE per UL channel. Fig. 11 shows single IE covering all UL channels and Fig. 12 shows per UL channel power control state IE); a second set of TPC parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0036]-[0037]: describes PUCCH power (P0, closed loop index)..[0168]: US applies PUCCH-specific power control state when triggered. Fig. 14 shows PUCCH spatial relation and Fig. 15 shows PUCCH configures points to power control state); and a third set of TPC parameters for a sounding reference signal ([0027]-[0029]: describes SRS power control parameters..[0168]-[0169]: SRS configuration IE pointing to power control state and Fig. 15 and Fig. shows SRS configuration IE), the first set, the second set, and the third set corresponding for each UL TCI state ID configured by the configuration information (above citations describes First set of TPC parameters for PUSCH; second set of TPC parameter for PUCCH and third set of TPC parameters for SRS); and
controlling PUCCH transmission power, based on the configuration information and the second set ([0054] describes UE performs UL transmission based on associations..[0074]-[0075] describes UE applies power control state for UL transmission..[0168]: when a UE is triggered with PUCCH transmission, the UE applies the power control parameters included in the power control state indicated in PUCCH Config IE (i.e., Power control state ID 2 in the example of FIG. 15).)
However, Nilsson does not disclose, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao discloses, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH (each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS, [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nisson by specifically providing wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH, as taught by Gao for the purpose of enabling more accurate per TRP power control with a simple signaling for multiple UL transmissions towards different TRPs scheduled by a single DCI (abstract).
Further, the combination of Nilsson and Gao does not disclose, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits. In the same field of endeavor, Grossman discloses, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits (PUSCH(s) scheduled at least in the CC via a higher layer configured grant or a PUSCH scheduled at least in the CC via the DCI without an SRI field or a DCI that has an SRI field with 0 bits, [0291]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nilsson and Gao by specifically providing wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits, as taught by Grossman for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling framework for flexible beam management in a wireless communications network such as advanced 5G networks [0095].
Regarding claim 10, Nilsson discloses,
A base station comprising:
a transmitter that transmits: configuration information regarding a list of uplink (UL) transmission configuration indication (TCI) states ([0052]-[0054: To facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, a unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection is to be evaluated and introduced in NR Rel-17. Similar to DL, where TCI states are used to indicate DL beams/TRPs, TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)..…[0071]: the information is comprised explicitly in a list or other data structure that provides mappings between the two or more power control states and the two or more TCI states and Fig. 13 and Fig. 14 explicit UL TCI state associations); a first set of transmission power control (TPC) parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0030]-[0035]: describes PUSCH power control parameter…[[0162]: describes power control state IE per UL channel. Fig. 11 shows single IE covering all UL channels and Fig. 12 shows per UL channel power control state IE); a second set of TPC parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0036]-[0037]: describes PUCCH power (P0, closed loop index)..[0168]: US applies PUCCH-specific power control state when triggered. Fig. 14 shows PUCCH spatial relation and Fig. 15 shows PUCCH configures points to power control state); and a third set of TPC parameters for a sounding reference signal ([0027]-[0029]: describes SRS power control parameters..[0168]-[0169]: SRS configuration IE pointing to power control state and Fig. 15 and Fig. shows SRS configuration IE), the first set, the second set, and the third set corresponding for each UL TCI state ID configured by the configuration information (above citations describes First set of TPC parameters for PUSCH; second set of TPC parameter for PUCCH and third set of TPC parameters for SRS); and
a processor that indicates PUCCH transmission power, using on the
configuration information and the second set ([0054] describes UE performs UL transmission based on associations..[0074]-[0075] describes UE applies power control state for UL transmission..[0168]: when a UE is triggered with PUCCH transmission, the UE applies the power control parameters included in the power control state indicated in PUCCH Config IE (i.e., Power control state ID 2 in the example of FIG. 15).)
However, Nilsson does not disclose, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao discloses, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH (each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS, [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nisson by specifically providing wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH, as taught by Gao for the purpose of enabling more accurate per TRP power control with a simple signaling for multiple UL transmissions towards different TRPs scheduled by a single DCI (abstract).
Further, the combination of Nilsson and Gao does not disclose, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits. In the same field of endeavor, Grossman discloses, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits (PUSCH(s) scheduled at least in the CC via a higher layer configured grant or a PUSCH scheduled at least in the CC via the DCI without an SRI field or a DCI that has an SRI field with 0 bits, [0291]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nilsson and Gao by specifically providing wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits, as taught by Grossman for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling framework for flexible beam management in a wireless communications network such as advanced 5G networks [0095].
Regarding claim 11, Nilsson discloses,
A system comprising a base station and a terminal (FIG. 10 illustrates one example of a cellular communications system 1000), wherein
the base station comprising:
a transmitter that transmits: configuration information regarding a list of uplink (UL) transmission configuration indication (TCI) states ([0052]-[0054: To facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, a unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection is to be evaluated and introduced in NR Rel-17. Similar to DL, where TCI states are used to indicate DL beams/TRPs, TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)..…[0071]: the information is comprised explicitly in a list or other data structure that provides mappings between the two or more power control states and the two or more TCI states and Fig. 13 and Fig. 14 explicit UL TCI state associations); a first set of transmission power control (TPC) parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0030]-[0035]: describes PUSCH power control parameter…[[0162]: describes power control state IE per UL channel. Fig. 11 shows single IE covering all UL channels and Fig. 12 shows per UL channel power control state IE); a second set of TPC parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0036]-[0037]: describes PUCCH power (P0, closed loop index)..[0168]: US applies PUCCH-specific power control state when triggered. Fig. 14 shows PUCCH spatial relation and Fig. 15 shows PUCCH configures points to power control state); and a third set of TPC parameters for a sounding reference signal ([0027]-[0029]: describes SRS power control parameters..[0168]-[0169]: SRS configuration IE pointing to power control state and Fig. 15 and Fig. shows SRS configuration IE), the first set, the second set, and the third set corresponding for each UL TCI state ID configured by the configuration information (above citations describes First set of TPC parameters for PUSCH; second set of TPC parameter for PUCCH and third set of TPC parameters for SRS); and
the terminal comprising: a receiver that receives: the configuration information ([0052]-[0054: To facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, a unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection is to be evaluated and introduced in NR Rel-17. Similar to DL, where TCI states are used to indicate DL beams/TRPs, TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)..…[0071]: the information is comprised explicitly in a list or other data structure that provides mappings between the two or more power control states and the two or more TCI states and Fig. 13 and Fig. 14 explicit UL TCI state associations); the first set, the second set, and the third set (above citations describes First set of TPC parameters for PUSCH; second set of TPC parameter for PUCCH and third set of TPC parameters for SRS); and a processor that controls PUCCH transmission power, based on the
configuration information and the second set ([0054] describes UE performs UL transmission based on associations..[0074]-[0075] describes UE applies power control state for UL transmission..[0168]: when a UE is triggered with PUCCH transmission, the UE applies the power control parameters included in the power control state indicated in PUCCH Config IE (i.e., Power control state ID 2 in the example of FIG. 15).)
However, Nilsson does not disclose, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao discloses, wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH (each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS, [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nisson by specifically providing wherein, when a UL TCI state for the PUSCH, as taught by Gao for the purpose of enabling more accurate per TRP power control with a simple signaling for multiple UL transmissions towards different TRPs scheduled by a single DCI (abstract).
Further, the combination of Nilsson and Gao does not disclose, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits. In the same field of endeavor, Grossman discloses, wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits (PUSCH(s) scheduled at least in the CC via a higher layer configured grant or a PUSCH scheduled at least in the CC via the DCI without an SRI field or a DCI that has an SRI field with 0 bits, [0291]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nilsson and Gao by specifically providing wherein, when PUSCH is configured, a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in a downlink control information format scheduling the PUSCH has a size of 0 bits, as taught by Grossman for the purpose of providing techniques for signaling framework for flexible beam management in a wireless communications network such as advanced 5G networks [0095].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 11902910: Methods and apparatuses for power control of multiple uplink transmissions. A method for operating a user equipment includes receiving information for first parameters and for second parameters, determining a first power for a first channel with a first spatial setting to a first reception point of a serving cell using the first parameters, and determining a second power for a second channel with a second spatial setting to a second reception point of the serving cell using the second parameters.
US 20230254854: A wireless device may communicate with a base station by using overlapping transmissions. A transmission such as a power headroom report may be multiplexed in a repetition of a transmission such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. A rule may be applied to indicate/determine a value/parameter associated with a transmission. For example, the rule may be used to indicate/determine a value of a power headroom report that may indicate a pathloss reference signal used to determine the power headroom report.
US 20230141329: A method according to an embodiment of the present application may include: receiving a mapping pattern and a configuration of a plurality of power control parameter sets for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, which is configured to be transmitted in a plurality of time intervals repeatedly; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PUSCH transmission, wherein the DCI includes a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641