DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 22, 25 and 29 20 have been amended. Claims 1, 22-35 and 37-39 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to claims 1, 22-35 and 37-39 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 of 1, 20-21, 29-32, 34-35 and 37-39 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 20-21, 29-32, 34-35 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20230254811 A1) in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 20190394634 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE) (method of Figs 2-7), comprising:
performing one or more positioning measurements (The terminal performs PRS measurement or reporting based on the received configuration information and activation information, [0544]) of one or more repetitions of a first positioning reference signal (PRS) resource (the configuration information of the third positioning reference signal group may include at least one of the following: period; muting parameter; number of repetitions, [0053]) on a first positioning frequency layer of at least a first PRS instance using a first receive beam (where the first unit resource includes at least the following: a positioning reference signal resource, a positioning reference signal resource set, a positioning reference signal resource corresponding to one TRP, and a positioning reference signal resource corresponding to one frequency layer, [0044] and where the resource parameter includes at least one of the following: beam (beam), beam group (beam group), [0073]); and
reporting the one or more positioning measurements to a positioning entity (The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station, or the terminal may report the measurement information and/or location information to a location management function (LMF), [0545]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource is based on a receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE, the receive beam sweeping capability parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PRS resource on a positioning frequency layer of a PRS instance for which the UE is expected to use the same receive beam.
In an analogous art, Akkarakaran teaches wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource is based on a receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE (UE 504 (e.g., the UE 350) may indicate beam-switching and other positioning-related capabilities to a network node 502 (e.g., the network node 310) that may be configured to transmit one or more positioning-related reference signals based on the UE-indicated capabilities, [0078]), the receive beam sweeping capability parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PRS resource on a positioning frequency layer of a PRS instance for which the UE is expected to use the same receive beam (PRS-specific capabilities may be determined at block 714 with reference to other capabilities associated with the UE 504 because the PRS may potentially have different configurations e.g., a number of slots repeated, whether frequency division multiplexing is allowed or disallowed in PRS slots, a number of beams per slot, PRS bandwidth, [0083]; any other signals that are frequency division multiplexed with the PRS may also be received via the same receive beam(s), [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang with the UE capability of Akkarakaran to provide a methods and a system to indicating beam-switching capabilities to a network node in a wireless network that utilizes beamformed communication as suggested, Akkarakaran [0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches a user equipment (UE) (Device of Fig. 12), comprising:
a memory (memory 1209); at least one transceiver (network module 1202); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (processor 1210), the at least one processor configured to:
perform one or more positioning measurements (The terminal performs PRS measurement or reporting based on the received configuration information and activation information, [0544]) of one or more repetitions of a first positioning reference signal (PRS) resource (the configuration information of the third positioning reference signal group may include at least one of the following: period; muting parameter; number of repetitions, [0053]) on a first positioning frequency layer of at least a first PRS instance using a first receive beam (the first unit resource includes at least the following: a positioning reference signal resource, a positioning reference signal resource set, a positioning reference signal resource corresponding to one TRP, and a positioning reference signal resource corresponding to one frequency layer, [0044] and where the resource parameter includes at least one of the following: beam (beam), beam group (beam group), [0073]); and
report the one or more positioning measurements to a positioning entity (The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station, or the terminal may report the measurement information and/or location information to a location management function (LMF), [0545]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource is based on a receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE, the receive beam sweeping capability parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PRS resource on a positioning frequency layer of a PRS instance for which the UE is expected to use the same receive beam.
In an analogous art, Akkarakaran teaches wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource is based on a receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE (UE 504 (e.g., the UE 350) may indicate beam-switching and other positioning-related capabilities to a network node that may be configured to transmit one or more positioning-related reference signals based on the UE-indicated capabilities, [0078]), the receive beam sweeping capability parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PRS resource on a positioning frequency layer of a PRS instance for which the UE is expected to use the same receive beam (PRS-specific capabilities may be determined at block 714 with reference to other capabilities associated with the UE 504 because the PRS may potentially have different configurations e.g., a number of slots repeated, whether frequency division multiplexing is allowed or disallowed in PRS slots, a number of beams per slot, PRS bandwidth, [0083]; any other signals that are frequency division multiplexed with the PRS may also be received via the same receive beam(s), [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang with the UE capability of Akkarakaran to provide a methods and a system to indicating beam-switching capabilities to a network node in a wireless network that utilizes beamformed communication as suggested, Akkarakaran [0002]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein: the number of repetitions of the PRS resource is a number of inter-slot repetitions of the PRS resource, and the number of inter-slot repetitions of the PRS resource is a number of slots containing at least one repetition of the PRS resource (where the time domain parameter may include at least one of the following: period, slot offset (slot offset), muting parameter (muting), or number of repetitions (repetition), [0069]).
Regarding claim 29, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform the one or more positioning measurements of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource in at least the first PRS instance using a second receive beam (The activation information is used to activate transmission of the first target positioning reference signal, and/or to activate reporting of a second target positioning reference signal, where the first target positioning reference signal includes one or more of the first positioning reference signals, and the second target positioning reference signal includes one or more of the first positioning reference signals, [0035]), wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the second PRS resource is based on the receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE (reporting, by the terminal, capability information, where the capability information indicates that a to-be-configured activation time of the positioning reference signal that the terminal expects is not less than the first threshold time. In this possible implementation, the network side may know the capability of the terminal, so that a suitable target QCL can be configured for the terminal, to avoid measurement failure of the positioning reference signal, Wang [0498]).
Regarding claim 30, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform the one or more positioning measurements of one or more repetitions of a second PRS resource in at least the first PRS instance using the first receive beam (The activation information is used to activate transmission of the first target positioning reference signal, and/or to activate reporting of a second target positioning reference signal, where the first target positioning reference signal includes one or more of the first positioning reference signals, and the second target positioning reference signal includes one or more of the first positioning reference signals, [0035]), wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the second PRS resource is based on the receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE (reporting, by the terminal, capability information, where the capability information indicates that a to-be-configured activation time of the positioning reference signal that the terminal expects is not less than the first threshold time. In this possible implementation, the network side may know the capability of the terminal, so that a suitable target QCL can be configured for the terminal, to avoid measurement failure of the positioning reference signal, Wang [0498]).
Regarding claim 31, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 30, wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the second PRS resource in the first PRS instance is different from the number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource in the first PRS instance (Group ID information of a second positioning reference signal group contained in each piece of the second activation state information may be the same or different, [0085]).
Regarding claim 32, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 30, wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the second PRS resource is the same as the number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource (having a same time domain parameter, where the time domain parameter may include at least one of the following: period, slot offset (slot offset), muting parameter (muting), or number of repetitions (repetition), [0069]).
Regarding claim 34, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein: based on PRS resources of a first positioning frequency layer being Type D quasi- colocated with PRS resources of a second positioning frequency layer, NRxBeam = 1 based on the UE having previously measured the PRS resources of the second positioning frequency layer, and N_RxBeam indicates a total number of PRS instances needed to measure PRS resources on the first positioning frequency layer (The configuration information includes at least one of the following: activation state configuration information, reporting state configuration information, first time domain offset information, second time domain offset information, or configuration information of beam or quasi co-location (QCL) switching. The activation information is used to activate transmission of the first target positioning reference signal, and/or the activation information is used to activate reporting of a second target positioning reference signal, where the first target positioning reference signal includes one or more of the first positioning reference signals, [0528]).
Regarding claim 35, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 34, wherein: the PRS resources of the first positioning frequency layer are on-demand PRS resources, and the PRS resources of the second positioning frequency layer are periodic or static PRS resources (That is, in the on-demand activation state list, a positioning reference signal associated with the activation state information (including the first activation state information and/or the second activation state information) is an on-demand positioning reference signal. The on-demand positioning reference signal may be a semi-static positioning reference signal or an aperiodic positioning reference signal, Wang [0122]).
Regarding claim 37, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the receive beam sweeping capability parameter to a location server in a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) provide capabilities message (transmitting or receiving the target reporting related information via LPP or RRC, and receiving the information for activating reporting of the second target positioning reference signal via one DCI, or transmitting or receiving the information for activating reporting of the second target positioning reference signal via a MAC CE, [0486]).
Regarding claim 38, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein a default value of the number of repetitions of the PRS resource is one (In a case that it is less than the beam switching time, UE does not expect to use the configured QCL to receive the PRS or report the measurement information; and optionally, the UE uses the default QCL or beam or the QCL or beam associated with a CORESET with the lowest ID to receive the PRS or report the measurement information, [0289]).
Regarding claim 39, Wang teaches a user equipment (UE)(device of Fig. 12), comprising:
means for performing one or more positioning measurements (processor 1210) of one or more repetitions of a first positioning reference signal (PRS) resource (The terminal performs PRS measurement or reporting based on the received configuration information and activation information, [0544]) of one or more repetitions of a first positioning reference signal (PRS) resource (the configuration information of the third positioning reference signal group may include at least one of the following: period; muting parameter; number of repetitions, [0053]) on a first positioning frequency layer of at least a first PRS instance using a first receive beam (where the first unit resource includes at least the following: a positioning reference signal resource, a positioning reference signal resource set, a positioning reference signal resource corresponding to one TRP, and a positioning reference signal resource corresponding to one frequency layer, [0044] and where the resource parameter includes at least one of the following: beam (beam), beam group (beam group), [0073]), and
means for reporting (network module 1202) the one or more positioning measurements to a positioning entity (The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station, or the terminal may report the measurement information and/or location information to a location management function (LMF), [0545]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource is based on a receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE, the receive beam sweeping capability parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PRS resource on a positioning frequency layer of a PRS instance for which the UE is expected to use the same receive beam.
In an analogous art, Akkarakaran teaches wherein a number of the one or more repetitions of the first PRS resource is based on a receive beam sweeping capability parameter of the UE (UE 504 (e.g., the UE 350) may indicate beam-switching and other positioning-related capabilities to a network node 502 (e.g., the network node 310) that may be configured to transmit one or more positioning-related reference signals based on the UE-indicated capabilities, [0078]), the receive beam sweeping capability parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PRS resource on a positioning frequency layer of a PRS instance for which the UE is expected to use the same receive beam (PRS-specific capabilities may be determined at block 714 with reference to other capabilities associated with the UE 504 because the PRS may potentially have different configurations e.g., a number of slots repeated, whether frequency division multiplexing is allowed or disallowed in PRS slots, a number of beams per slot, PRS bandwidth, [0083]; any other signals that are frequency division multiplexed with the PRS may also be received via the same receive beam(s), [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang with the UE capability of Akkarakaran to provide a methods and a system to indicating beam-switching capabilities to a network node in a wireless network that utilizes beamformed communication as suggested, Akkarakaran [0002]).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Akkarakaran and further in view of Meng et al. (US 20230094748 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 21.
However, Wang and Akkarakaran do not teach wherein: based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of inter-slot repetitions per PRS instance, a measurement period for performing the one or more positioning measurements on the positioning frequency layer assumes that the UE sweeps min(X1, N_RxBeam_max) receive beams per PRS instance, where N_RxBeammax indicates a maximum number of receive beams the UE can use, and based on less than all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of inter-slot repetitions, the measurement period assumes that the UE sweeps one receive beam per PRS instance.
In an analogous art, Meng teaches wherein: based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of inter-slot repetitions per PRS instance, a measurement period for performing the one or more positioning measurements on the positioning frequency layer assumes that the UE sweeps min(X1, N_RxBeam_max) receive beams per PRS instance, where N_RxBeammax indicates a maximum number of receive beams the UE can use, and based on less than all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of inter-slot repetitions, the measurement period assumes that the UE sweeps one receive beam per PRS instance (The information Specify the maximum and minimum beam of supported width that the UE supported. beam width Based on this, the gNB can determine the number of SRS resources for beam sweeping (that is, 360° or some desired directions), [0077], Table 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang and Akkarakaran with the beam sweeping rule of Weng to provide a methods and a system to provide a more efficient SRS transmission mechanism for beamformed UL transmission to support UL reception at UL positioning-only reception points (RP) in NR positioning as suggested, Weng [0019]).
Regarding claim 23, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran and Weng teaches the UE of claim 22, wherein:X1 is a number of inter-slot repetitions of all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of inter-slot repetitions per PRS instance (the group of PRSs (which may be referred to as a trigger group) may have at least one of the following characteristics: having a same time domain parameter, where the time domain parameter may include at least one of the following: period, slot offset (slot offset), muting parameter (muting), or number of repetitions (repetition), Wang [0065]-[0069]), or X1 is a minimum number of inter-slot repetitions across all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer based on less than all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of inter-slot repetitions per PRS instance.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Akkarakaran and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20200374850 A1).
Regarding 24, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20.
However, Wang and Akkarakaran do not teach wherein: the number of repetitions of the PRS resource is a number of intra-slot repetitions of the PRS resource, the number of intra-slot repetitions of the PRS resource is a number of symbol groups containing a repetition of the PRS resource, and a length of each symbol group of the number of symbol groups is equal to a size of a comb pattern of the PRS resource.
In an analogous art, Khoryaev teaches wherein: the number of repetitions of the PRS resource is a number of intra-slot repetitions of the PRS resource (the following options can be applied for PRS muting in NR system: [0113] Intra-Resource Muting: Muting of PRS transmissions on subset of time-frequency resources inside of DL PRS Resource, [0113]), the number of intra-slot repetitions of the PRS resource is a number of symbol groups containing a repetition of the PRS resource, and a length of each symbol group of the number of symbol groups is equal to a size of a comb pattern of the PRS resource (DL PRS configuration information further includes an indication of a resource element (RE) offset pattern, and wherein the RE offset pattern indicates a comb size of 2, 4, or 6, [0177]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang and Akkarakaran with the prs configuration of Khoryaev to provide a methods and a system to provide NR DL PRS resource configurations such as comb size, number of symbols, DL PRS resource time configuration (e.g., initial start time and periodicity), and providing formulas for calculation of seed for DL PRS sequence generation as suggested, Khoryaev [0003].
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Akkarakaran and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20200374850 A1) and Tran et al. (US 20230412238 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran and Khoryaev teaches the UE of claim 24.
However, Wang, Akkarakaran and Khoryaev do not teach wherein: based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of intra-slot repetitions per PRS instance, a measurement period for performing the one or more positioning measurements on the positioning frequency layer assumes that the UE sweeps min(X2, N_RxBeam_max) receive beams per slot, where N_RxBeammax indicates a maximum number of receive beams the UE can use, and based on less than all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of intra-slot repetitions, the measurement period assumes that the UE sweeps one receive beam per slot.
In an analogous art, Tran teaches wherein: based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of intra-slot repetitions per PRS instance, a measurement period for performing the one or more positioning measurements on the positioning frequency layer assumes that the UE sweeps min(X2, N_RxBeam_max) receive beams per slot, where N_RxBeammax indicates a maximum number of receive beams the UE can use, and based on less than all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of intra-slot repetitions, the measurement period assumes that the UE sweeps one receive beam per slot (Beam switching might be applicable within each slot (e.g. slot 1002, slot 1004). In other words, inter-slot level beam switching and mapping are applicable per slot. A cyclical beam mapping pattern may be used, as shown in FIG. 10, that is, a first beam, e.g. beam#1 1010, and a second beam, .e.g. beam#2 1012, are applied to a first repetition, e.g. repetition #1 1006, and a second repetition, e.g. repetition#2 1008 of the slot respectively, [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang, Akkarakaran and Khoryaev with the pattern of Tran to provide a methods and a system for enhancing uplink transmission with multiple beams as suggested, Tran [0001].
Regarding claim 26, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran and Khoryaev and Tran teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein:X2 is a number of intra-slot repetitions of all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of intra-slot repetitions per slot, or X2 is a minimum number of intra-slot repetitions across all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer based on less than all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer having the same number of intra-slot repetitions per slot (Beam switching might be applicable within each slot (e.g. slot 1002, slot 1004). In other words, inter-slot level beam switching and mapping are applicable per slot. A cyclical beam mapping pattern may be used, as shown in FIG. 10, that is, a first beam, e.g. beam#1 1010, and a second beam, .e.g. beam#2 1012, are applied to a first repetition, e.g. repetition #1 1006, and a second repetition, e.g. repetition#2 1008 of the slot respectively, [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang, Akkarakaran and Khoryaev with the pattern of Tran to provide a methods and a system for enhancing uplink transmission with multiple beams as suggested, Tran [0001].
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jung et al. (US 20210144703 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Wang as modified by Akkarakaran teaches the UE of claim 20.
However, Wang and Akkarakaran do not teach wherein: based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer being Type D quasi- colocated with synchronization signals (SSBs), NRxBeam = 1 based on the UE having previously measured the SSBs, and N_RxBeam indicates a total number of PRS instances needed to measure PRS resources on the positioning frequency layer.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches wherein: based on all PRS resources of the positioning frequency layer being Type D quasi- colocated with synchronization signals (SSBs), NRxBeam = 1 based on the UE having previously measured the SSBs, and N_RxBeam indicates a total number of PRS instances needed to measure PRS resources on the positioning frequency layer (According to an embodiment, the id of the additional PUCCH cycling candidate beam may be configured through modulo calculation of the total number of SSBs. As another embodiment, the SSB index, CSI-RS resource index, or CSI-RS resource set index may be configured through incremental numbering. That is, the configured id number (n) may be (n+2), (n+4), or (n+k) (here, k=2(1-1), 1 is the number of cycling beams through which PUCCH is transmitted), [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning method of Wang and Akkarakaran with the beam of Jung to provide a methods and a system for managing transmission beams by a terminal in a 5G system as suggested, Jung [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zewail et al. (US 20210320772 A1): Various aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communication. In some aspects, a user equipment may receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration that indicates a code-division multiplexing (CDM) group configured for the UE; receive a first indication of an antenna port, included in the CDM group, assigned to the UE for reception of a first set of DMRS transmissions; receive a second indication of whether a second set of DMRS transmissions for another antenna port, included in the CDM group, is present or absent for another UE; and perform channel estimation based at least in part on the first indication of the antenna port and the second indication of whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent. Numerous other aspects are provided.
Cha et al. (US 20210006372 A1): Disclosed is a method for a terminal for receiving a positioning reference signal (PRS) in a wireless communication system. Particularly, the method includes: receiving first information related to a PRS resource group including a plurality of PRS resources, and second information related to a repetition count for the PRS resource group; and receiving a PRS on the plurality of PRS resources based on the first information and second information, wherein the PRS resource group may be allocated repeatedly as many times as the repetition count within a certain period.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641