DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 06/03/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/03/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1 and 14-16 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 20200053724 A1), hereinafter referenced as MolavianJazi, in view of BAE et al. (WO 2020204533 A1), hereinafter referenced as Bae.
Regarding claims 1 and 14 and 16, MolavianJazi teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and (Fig. 1, Para. [0005]-MolavianJazi discloses methods for uplink transmission power allocation ... Apparatuses and systems also perform the functions of the apparatus ... method includes receiving, by a user equipment, a configuration of a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier for a serving cell, wherein the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier are different. Fig. 2, Para. [0047]-MolavianJazi discloses apparatus 200 that may be used for uplink transmission power allocation. The apparatus 200 includes one embodiment of the remote unit 102. Furthermore, the remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, an input device 206, a display 208, a transmitter 210, and a receiver 212. Fig. 3, Para. [0057]-MolavianJazi discloses the network unit 104 may include a processor 302, a memory 304, an input device 306, a display 308, a transmitter 310, and a receiver 312) configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first downlink (DL) transmission in a first resource (Para. [0081]-MolavianJazi discloses “cut-off” time for power allocation to a transmission occasion … may be defined as follows: ... 4) the time instance that an UL grant (e.g., downlink control information such as via format 0_0 or 0_1) or a downlink assignment is received {Corresponding to the first DL transmission} for the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; 5) the UL grant, DCI, or downlink assignment reception time instance plus a predefined or configured number of symbols and/or slots (e.g., as an offset) that may depend on one or more factors (e.g., UE processing time, UE minimum processing time, PUSCH and/or PUCCH preparation time, minimum PUSCH and/or PUCCH preparation time, K_PUSCH, K_PUCCH, K_SRS, PA adjustment time, or a function of any, some or all factors, etc.));
in response to receiving the first DL transmission, determine: a second resource based on a first downlink control information (DCI) that assigns resources for the first DL transmission (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses UL grant and/or scheduling DCI arrive late (e.g., very close to the start of the PUSCH transmission that carries the PHR) ... overlapping transmissions {Corresponding to the transmission resources} ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses transmission occasions [i2,2,1], . . . , [i2,2,M2] … transmission occasions [i2,2,1], . . . , [i2,2,M2] on the second CG that (i) start on or after the start time of the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; (ii) overlap with transmission occasion [i1]; and (iii) whose processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number);
a cut-off time (Para. [0009]-MolavianJazi discloses cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission. Para. [0227-0231]-MolavianJazi discloses cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission is based on downlink control information … cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission is based on downlink control information reception time offset by an offset time),
a set of DL transmissions determined prior to the cut-off time and after the first DL transmission are considered elements of a set of potential subsequent DL occasions (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses overlapping transmissions ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number. Para. [0091]-MolavianJazi discloses DC value may be computed for a CG only if the details of grant, assignment, and/or transmission (e.g., RB allocation) are known to a UE at the time of the Pcmax,DC computation, only transmission occasions {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} with [L]≤[N] on CG2 may be considered for an MGP determination in various options. For example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 transmissions as described herein (e.g., only transmission occasions on CG2 that have started before transmission occasion [i1] on CG1). In another example, determination of [L] may be based on a certain “cut-off” time (e.g., only transmission occasions before a certain “cut-off” time). In a further example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 1 transmissions ... In yet another example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 and Category 1 transmissions),
the set of potential subsequent DL occasions are associated with the first DL transmission (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses overlapping transmissions ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number. Para. [0091]-MolavianJazi discloses DC value may be computed for a CG only if the details of grant, assignment, and/or transmission (e.g., RB allocation) are known to a UE at the time of the Pcmax,DC computation, only transmission occasions {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} with [L]≤[N] on CG2 may be considered for an MGP determination in various options. For example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 transmissions as described herein (e.g., only transmission occasions on CG2 that have started before transmission occasion [i1] on CG1). In another example, determination of [L] may be based on a certain “cut-off” time (e.g., only transmission occasions before a certain “cut-off” time). In a further example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 1 transmissions ... In yet another example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 and Category 1 transmissions); and
a third resource for transmitting an acknowledgment corresponding to the first DL transmission based on the second resource and the set of potential subsequent DL occasions (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0083-0087]-MolavianJazi discloses a fourth time 408 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. Para. [0070]-MolavianJazi discloses scaling and/or dropping of the whole or parts of any transmission may be left to a UE implementation. Priority levels may be defined as follows: PRACH>PUCCH and/or PUSCH with ACK/NACK. Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number); and
transmit the acknowledgment in the third resource (Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number).
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach the second resource is an uplink (UL) resource.
However, Bae teaches in response to receiving the first DL transmission, determine: a second resource based on a first downlink control information (DCI) that assigns resources for the first DL transmission, wherein the second resource is an uplink (UL) resource (Fig. 10, Para. [0197-0198]-Bae discloses the DCI carried by the PDCCH to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH includes a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) field, and the TDRA field provides a value m for row index m +1 to an allocation table for PDSCH or PUSCH).
MolavianJazi and Bae are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with uplink transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Bae on downlink transmission, with a motivation to determine uplink resource, and guarantee limiting the uplink transmission power, (MolavianJazi, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, MolavianJazi teaches a base station, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig. 1, Para. [0005]-MolavianJazi discloses methods for uplink transmission power allocation ... Apparatuses and systems also perform the functions of the apparatus ... method includes receiving, by a user equipment, a configuration of a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier for a serving cell, wherein the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier are different. Fig. 2, Para. [0047]-MolavianJazi discloses apparatus 200 that may be used for uplink transmission power allocation. The apparatus 200 includes one embodiment of the remote unit 102. Furthermore, the remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, an input device 206, a display 208, a transmitter 210, and a receiver 212. Fig. 3, Para. [0057]-MolavianJazi discloses the network unit 104 may include a processor 302, a memory 304, an input device 306, a display 308, a transmitter 310, and a receiver 312) and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit a first downlink (DL) transmission in a first resource (Para. [0081]-MolavianJazi discloses “cut-off” time for power allocation to a transmission occasion … may be defined as follows: ... 4) the time instance that an UL grant (e.g., downlink control information such as via format 0_0 or 0_1) or a downlink assignment is received {Corresponding to the first DL transmission} for the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; 5) the UL grant, DCI, or downlink assignment reception time instance plus a predefined or configured number of symbols and/or slots (e.g., as an offset) that may depend on one or more factors (e.g., UE processing time, UE minimum processing time, PUSCH and/or PUCCH preparation time, minimum PUSCH and/or PUCCH preparation time, K_PUSCH, K_PUCCH, K_SRS, PA adjustment time, or a function of any, some or all factors, etc.)),
in response to transmitting the first DL transmission: a second resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) that assigns resources for the first DL transmission (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses UL grant and/or scheduling DCI arrive late (e.g., very close to the start of the PUSCH transmission that carries the PHR) ... overlapping transmissions {Corresponding to the transmission resources} ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses transmission occasions [i2,2,1], . . . , [i2,2,M2] … transmission occasions [i2,2,1], . . . , [i2,2,M2] on the second CG that (i) start on or after the start time of the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; (ii) overlap with transmission occasion [i1]; and (iii) whose processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number);
a cut-off time is determined (Para. [0009]-MolavianJazi discloses cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission. Para. [0227-0231]-MolavianJazi discloses cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission is based on downlink control information … cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission is based on downlink control information reception time offset by an offset time),
a set of DL transmissions determined prior to the cut-off time and after the first DL transmission are considered elements of a set of potential subsequent DL occasions (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses overlapping transmissions ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number. Para. [0091]-MolavianJazi discloses DC value may be computed for a CG only if the details of grant, assignment, and/or transmission (e.g., RB allocation) are known to a UE at the time of the Pcmax,DC computation, only transmission occasions {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} with [L]≤[N] on CG2 may be considered for an MGP determination in various options. For example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 transmissions as described herein (e.g., only transmission occasions on CG2 that have started before transmission occasion [i1] on CG1). In another example, determination of [L] may be based on a certain “cut-off” time (e.g., only transmission occasions before a certain “cut-off” time). In a further example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 1 transmissions ... In yet another example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 and Category 1 transmissions),
the set of potential subsequent DL occasions are associated with the first DL transmission (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses overlapping transmissions ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number. Para. [0091]-MolavianJazi discloses DC value may be computed for a CG only if the details of grant, assignment, and/or transmission (e.g., RB allocation) are known to a UE at the time of the Pcmax,DC computation, only transmission occasions {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} with [L]≤[N] on CG2 may be considered for an MGP determination in various options. For example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 transmissions as described herein (e.g., only transmission occasions on CG2 that have started before transmission occasion [i1] on CG1). In another example, determination of [L] may be based on a certain “cut-off” time (e.g., only transmission occasions before a certain “cut-off” time). In a further example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 1 transmissions ... In yet another example, {i2_1, . . . , i2_L} may be only Category 0 and Category 1 transmissions); and
a third resource is determined for transmitting an acknowledgment corresponding to the first DL transmission based on the second resource and the set of potential subsequent DL occasions (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0083-0087]-MolavianJazi discloses a fourth time 408 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. Para. [0070]-MolavianJazi discloses scaling and/or dropping of the whole or parts of any transmission may be left to a UE implementation. Priority levels may be defined as follows: PRACH>PUCCH and/or PUSCH with ACK/NACK. Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number); and
receive the acknowledgment in the third resource (Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number).
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach the second resource is an uplink (UL) resource.
However, Bae teaches in response to transmitting the first DL transmission: a second resource is determined based on a first downlink control information (DCI) that assigns resources for the first DL transmission, wherein the second resource is an uplink (UL) resource (Fig. 10, Para. [0197-0198]-Bae discloses the DCI carried by the PDCCH to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH includes a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) field, and the TDRA field provides a value m for row index m +1 to an allocation table for PDSCH or PUSCH).
MolavianJazi and Bae are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with uplink transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Bae on downlink transmission, with a motivation to determine uplink resource, and guarantee limiting the uplink transmission power, (MolavianJazi, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 1 and the processor of claim 16 respectively,
MolavianJazi further teaches a fourth resource from the set of potential subsequent DL occasions is determined such that the fourth resource is an earliest valid DL resource after the second resource (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0083-0087]-MolavianJazi discloses a first time 402 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 404 indicates an end of the PDCCH ... A first time 502 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 504 indicates an end of the PDCCH ... A first time 602 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 604 indicates an end of the PDCCH. Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses overlapping transmissions ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number);
a fifth resource from the set of potential subsequent DL occasions is determined such that the fifth resource is a latest valid DL resource before the second resource (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0083-0087]-MolavianJazi discloses a first time 402 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 404 indicates an end of the PDCCH ... A first time 502 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 504 indicates an end of the PDCCH ... A first time 602 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 604 indicates an end of the PDCCH. Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses overlapping transmissions ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number); and
the third resource is determined based on the second resource, the fourth resource, and the fifth resources (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0083-0087]-MolavianJazi discloses a fourth time 408 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 2 and the processor of claim 17 respectively,
MolavianJazi further teaches the third resource is determined to be the second resource if the fifth resource is at most 'l1' time units before the second resource (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses category 1 transmissions: any and all transmission occasions [i2,1,1], . . . , [i2,1,M1] on the second CG that (i) start on or after the start time of the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; (ii) overlap with transmission occasion [i1]; and (iii) whose processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion), processed configured UL grant (e.g., time needed to process can be PUSCH preparation time in which PUSCH preparation time includes DCI decoding delay and PUSCH TB preparation, and may be based on UE capability), or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 3 and the processor of claim 18 respectively,
MolavianJazi further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to report a value of 'l1' (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0083-0084]-MolavianJazi discloses a first set of symbols or a first slot (n−1), a second set of symbols or a second slot (n), a third set of symbols or a third slot (n+1) ... A first time 402 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 404 indicates an end of the PDCCH. A third time 406 indicates a “cut-off” time (e.g., a latest time for a UE to change a TX power setting), and a fourth time 408 indicates a start time for PUSCH. A time period 410 indicates a PUSCH preparation time ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. The third time 506 in the second cell group is before the “cut-off” time 406 for the PUSCH transmission on the first cell group. (See also Figs. 4-8, Para. [0075])).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 2 and the processor of claim 17 respectively,
MolavianJazi further teaches the third resource is determined to be the earliest valid uplink (UL) resource that is at most 'l1' time units after the fourth resource (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0084-0085]-MolavianJazi discloses a first time 502 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 504 indicates an end of the PDCCH. A third time 506 indicates a “cut-off” or “PDCCH decoding” time from the end of the PDCCH (e.g., an earliest time for a UE to obtain information on PUSCH from the PDCCH), and a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... A first time 602 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant {#608 in Fig. 6}, and a second time 604 indicates an end of the PDCCH. A third time 606 indicates a “cut-off” or “PDCCH decoding” time from the end of the PDCCH (e.g., an earliest time for a UE to obtain information on PUSCH from the PDCCH), and a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. The third time 606 in the second cell group is after the “cut-off” time 406 for the PUSCH transmission on the first cell group).
Regarding claim 6, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 5,
MolavianJazi further teaches the third resource is no later than 'l2' time units after the second resource (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0084-0085]-MolavianJazi discloses a first time 502 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 504 indicates an end of the PDCCH. A third time 506 indicates a “cut-off” or “PDCCH decoding” time from the end of the PDCCH (e.g., an earliest time for a UE to obtain information on PUSCH from the PDCCH), and a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... A first time 602 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant {#608 in Fig. 6}, and a second time 604 indicates an end of the PDCCH. A third time 606 indicates a “cut-off” or “PDCCH decoding” time from the end of the PDCCH (e.g., an earliest time for a UE to obtain information on PUSCH from the PDCCH), and a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. The third time 606 in the second cell group is after the “cut-off” time 406 for the PUSCH transmission on the first cell group).
Regarding claim 7, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 2,
MolavianJazi further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication indicating whether the third resource is determined based on the fourth resource and the fifth resource in addition to the second resource (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH).
Regarding claim 8, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 7,
MolavianJazi further teaches in response to the indication indicating that the third resource is determined based on the fourth resource and the fifth resource in addition to the second resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the third resource based on the second resource, the fourth resource, and the fifth resource (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH. Figs. 4-5, Para. [0083-0084]-MolavianJazi discloses a first set of symbols or a first slot (n−1), a second set of symbols or a second slot (n), a third set of symbols or a third slot (n+1) ... A first time 402 indicates a start of PDCCH carrying a PUSCH grant, and a second time 404 indicates an end of the PDCCH. A third time 406 indicates a “cut-off” time (e.g., a latest time for a UE to change a TX power setting), and a fourth time 408 indicates a start time for PUSCH. A time period 410 indicates a PUSCH preparation time ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. The third time 506 in the second cell group is before the “cut-off” time 406 for the PUSCH transmission on the first cell group).
Regarding claim 9, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 7,
MolavianJazi further teaches in response to the indication not indicating that the third resource is determined based on the fourth resource and the fifth resource in addition to the second resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the third resource based on the second resource and not based on the fourth resource and the fifth resource (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH ... the UE may ignore the scheduling DCI).
Regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 7,
MolavianJazi further teaches the indication comprises a group-common DCI (Para. [0123]-MolavianJazi discloses the UE receives a downlink DCI, a group common DCI, or an uplink DCI based command).
Regarding claim 11, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 7,
MolavianJazi further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine a time duration, and the indication is applicable for the time duration (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH).
Regarding claim 12, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 11,
MolavianJazi further teaches the time duration is determined to be a time interval between a first time instance and a second time instance (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH), and
the first time instance is determined based on a time that the indication is received (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH).
Regarding claim 13, MolavianJazi, in view of Bae, teaches the UE of claim 12,
MolavianJazi further teaches if a second indication of the same type of the indication is received (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH),
the second time instance is determined to be the time that the second indication is received (Para. [0076]-MolavianJazi discloses a minimum UE processing time to prepare a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH preparation time may be defined such as follows. If the first uplink symbol in the PUSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K.sub.2 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI, is no earlier than at symbol L.sub.2 then the UE shall transmit PUSCH where L.sub.2 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting T.sub.proc,2=max(((N.sub.2+d.sub.2,1+d.sub.2,2)(2048+144).Math.κ2.sup.−μ).Math.T.sub.C,d.sub.2,3) after the end of the last symbol of the PDCCH carrying the DCI scheduling the PUSCH).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 06/03/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 10-11, Para. [0006], Applicant argues that, “…Paragraph 81 of MolavianJazi merely defines "the 'cut-off' time for power allocation to a transmission occasion [il] on a cell group CG 1 in NR-DC power control with look-ahead" and has nothing to do with "receiv[ing] a first downlink (DL) transmission in a first resource."”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because MolavianJazi teaches receive a first downlink (DL) transmission in a first resource (Para. [0081]-MolavianJazi discloses “cut-off” time for power allocation to a transmission occasion … may be defined as follows: ... 4) the time instance that an UL grant (e.g., downlink control information such as via format 0_0 or 0_1) or a downlink assignment is received {Corresponding to the first DL transmission} for the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; 5) the UL grant, DCI, or downlink assignment reception time instance plus a predefined or configured number of symbols and/or slots (e.g., as an offset) that may depend on one or more factors (e.g., UE processing time, UE minimum processing time, PUSCH and/or PUCCH preparation time, minimum PUSCH and/or PUCCH preparation time, K_PUSCH, K_PUCCH, K_SRS, PA adjustment time, or a function of any, some or all factors, etc.)).
In the remarks, on page 11, Para. [0007], Applicant asserts that, “…The Office Action states that MolavianJazi teaches "in response to receiving the first DL transmission, determine: a second resource based on a first downlink control information (DCI) that assigns resources for the first DL transmission" and cites Figures 4-8 and paragraphs 103 and 77 of MolavianJazi as evidence." Id. at p. 4. The Applicant disagrees.”
However, MolavianJazi teaches in response to receiving the first DL transmission, determine: a second resource based on a first downlink control information (DCI) that assigns resources for the first DL transmission (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0103]-MolavianJazi discloses UL grant and/or scheduling DCI arrive late (e.g., very close to the start of the PUSCH transmission that carries the PHR) ... overlapping transmissions {Corresponding to the transmission resources} ... for which UL grants are received. Para. [0077]-MolavianJazi discloses transmission occasions [i2,2,1], . . . , [i2,2,M2] … transmission occasions [i2,2,1], . . . , [i2,2,M2] on the second CG that (i) start on or after the start time of the transmission occasion [i1] on CG1; (ii) overlap with transmission occasion [i1]; and (iii) whose processed downlink control information and/or UL grant (e.g., in a PDCCH occasion) (e.g., DCI time instance plus some [N] symbols and/or/slots, minimum PUSCH preparation time), processed configured UL grant, or processed higher-layer signaling such as successfully received RRC signaling or activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., after [X] ms activation time, such as X=3) arrive after the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M2≥0 is an integer number).
In the remarks, on page 13, Para. [0014], Applicant argues that, “…nothing in paragraphs 103 and 77 of MolavianJazi disclose "a cut-off time, wherein a set of DL transmissions determined prior to the cut-off time and after the first DL transmission are considered elements of a set of potential subsequent DL occasions."”.
However, MolavianJazi teaches determine: … a cut-off time (Para. [0009]-MolavianJazi discloses cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission. Para. [0227-0231]-MolavianJazi discloses cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission is based on downlink control information … cut-off time for power determination for the first transmission is based on downlink control information reception time offset by an offset time).
In the remarks, on page 14, Para. [0017], Applicant argues that, “…The only mention of any acknowledgment is with respect to a HARQ-ACK, which includes information for the PDSCH, but does not teach "a third resource for transmitting an acknowledgment corresponding to the first DL transmission based on the second resource and the set of potential subsequent DL occasions."”.
However, MolavianJazi teaches a third resource for transmitting an acknowledgment corresponding to the first DL transmission based on the second resource and the set of potential subsequent DL occasions (Figs. 4-8, Para. [0083-0087]-MolavianJazi discloses a fourth time 408 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH ... a fourth time 508 indicates a start time for PUSCH. Para. [0070]-MolavianJazi discloses scaling and/or dropping of the whole or parts of any transmission may be left to a UE implementation. Priority levels may be defined as follows: PRACH>PUCCH and/or PUSCH with ACK/NACK. Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number); and transmit the acknowledgment in the third resource (Para. [0075]-MolavianJazi discloses activated MAC-CE signaling (e.g., process time may include x (e.g., 2 ms) after a slot in which the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE signaling) arrive before or on the power control cut-off time for transmission occasion [i1] on CG1. Here, M1≥0 is an integer number).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472