DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 04/22/2026.
Claims 1-15 and 22-25 are pending in the application. Claims 1-15 and 22-25 have been amended, Claim 16 has been canceled.
a) The objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
b) The Specification Objection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that:
Adjakple and Pan fail to disclose or suggest the described features in claims 1 and 15. (Pages 12, 14 and 16, Remarks).
In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Adjakple teaches a method comprising (Figs. 10A-10F and [0079] describe the method for SL DRX in which the system comprises apparatuses that implement in wireless communication, the system may include Wireless Transmit/Receive Units (WTRUs) (also referred herein as UE 102), a base station gNB 121, a V2X server 124, and Road Side Units (RSUs)) obtaining, by s first user equipment (UE), a first inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE (Abstract, lines 1-4 states “A first apparatus receives, from a second apparatus via a sidelink (SL) transmission, first configuration parameters for a first SL DRX group and second configuration parameters for a second SL DRX group” and lines 16-21 state “The first apparatus determines that the first apparatus is in a first SL active time for receiving information on the SL based on the first configuration parameters for the first SL DRX group”. That confirms the first SL DRX active time is included in the first configuration parameters of SL DRX. [0082] states “The first device may further be configured with a common SL DRX parameter set, and one or more dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter sets. “ where the DRX active time may include the time while UE is performing resource (re-)selection or determination of candidate resource set, as stated in [0223], see also [0094]-[0095]and [0366] lines 8-30 and [0368] provide the different parameters that can include the DRX configuration parameter sets, see also Table 2); based on the first resource set, receiving, by the first UE, from the second UE, first inter-UE control information for scheduling second inter-UE control information and a inter-UE physical inter-UE physical control channel ([0060] lines 1-3 states “The first-stage SCIs transmitted by UEs on PSCCH indicate the time-frequency resources in which the UE will transmit a PSSCH” and lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0195] and Table 3 provide a list for RNTIs and their usage for dynamically schedule the SL transmission announcement/information on PSCCH , which in turn schedule PSSCH, see the first row, which implies the first UE can be configured by the second UE via necessary info to schedule further control info and PSSCH transmissions via PSCCH, [0081] lines 3-12 and [0194]-[0195]. [0056], lines 1-9 states “Resource pools are (pre-)configured to a UE separately from the transmission perspective (TX pools) and the reception perspective (RX pools). This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which defined the SL DRX group may include a group of SL communication resources such as resource pool, component carriers or BW [0082]. That confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration, [0060]); and receiving, by the first UE, from the second device, the second inter-UE control information and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) via the inter-UE physical shared channel ([0060] lines 10-11 states “PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel.” Which confirm transmitting the SCI via PSSCH. Fig. 5 and [0049] illustrate how the second UE evaluate the transmission of single and multi MAC PDUs through the PSCCH/PSSCH duration, which confirm transmitting to the first UE MAC PDU from the second UE), wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE is selected from resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE ([0223] and [0203] state “The DRX active time may include the time while UE 102 is performing resource (re-)selection or determination of candidate resource set. “ [0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set preferred by the first UE is selected from resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE , see also [0222]).
On the other hand, Pan teaches transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE ([0085], lines 3-6 and [0193] states “inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission.” which implies the first device (UE-A) can transmit SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information to the second device , including information about its preferred resource set, as described in [0011] which states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” see also [0098] that states “Type A resource set may be defined as the type or resource wherein UE-A may send to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B's transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result” see also [0009] and [00128] lines 16-18. that implies the first UE transmits to a second UE device, the inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE).
Claim 15 recite similar features, therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
The office action does not disclose or suggest a feature in which a preferred resource set is selected by simultaneously considering both resources preferred by a UE and resources within the DRX active time, as described in amended claim 1. (Pages 13 and 14, Remarks).
In response to B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Adjakple explicitly teaches the selecting of the preferred resources by simultaneously considering both resource set preferred by the UE and resource set within the DRX active time in several paras. [0214] states “ meaning UE 102 may use the collected resource pre-emption information during DRX active time, to perform resource (re-)selection including excluding such resource from candidate resources, or anytime during outside DRX active time. “ and [0219] states “For example, before transmission, UE 102 may re-evaluate resources selected during DRX active time, or candidate resource set selected during DRX active time. …. . The DRX active time may include the time while UE 102 is performing resource selection re-evaluation.” See also [0215]. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed
Adjakple and Pan fail to disclose or suggest a technical effect of the amended independent claims in which reception is performed based on a preferred resource set included within the inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE, thereby improving reception success probability while preventing unnecessary reception operations and simultaneously reducing power consumption (Page 15, Remarks).
In response to C), applicant's argument that the prior art fails to disclose or suggest a technical effect of the amended independent claims in preventing unnecessary reception operations and simultaneously reducing power consumption, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
However, Adjakple explicitly discloses in [0203]-[0235] states “UE 102 is expected to perform sensing during DRX active time, as there is an expectation that UE 102 may perform resource (re)selection during DRX active time in support of a sidelink transmission” that means ensuring that the UE is awake and able to receive/transmit on the selected resources and [0062] states “Thus, a higher priority transmission from a sensing UE can occupy resources which are reserved by a transmitting UE with sufficiently low SL-RSRP and sufficiently lower-priority traffic” see also [0064] lines 1-6. That confirm using the resources with lower interference and high priority or better sensing evaluation for increase the probability of successful reception and transmission, as the UE can avoid the congested/high interference resources, see [0071]-[0072] and [0235]. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that all claims are in condition for allowance (Page 16, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Claim Objection
Claims 1, 8, 9, objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
• Claim 1, line 10, “a inter-UE physical shared channel” should be “an inter-UE physical shared channel”.
• Claim 1, line 11, “a inter-UE physical control channel” should be “an inter-UE physical control channel”.
• Claim 8, line 2, “a inter-UE DRX” should be “an inter-UE DRX”.
• Claim 9, line 2, “a inter-UE DRX” should be “an inter-UE DRX”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple et al. (US-20240172325-A1) in view of Pan et al. (US-20240172235-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Adjakple teaches a method comprising (Figs. 10A-10F and [0079] describe the method for SL DRX in which the system comprises apparatuses that implement in wireless communication, the system may include Wireless Transmit/Receive Units (WTRUs) (also referred herein as UE 102), a base station gNB 121, a V2X server 124, and Road Side Units (RSUs)) obtaining, by s first user equipment (UE), a first inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE (Abstract, lines 1-4 states “A first apparatus receives, from a second apparatus via a sidelink (SL) transmission, first configuration parameters for a first SL DRX group and second configuration parameters for a second SL DRX group” and lines 16-21 state “The first apparatus determines that the first apparatus is in a first SL active time for receiving information on the SL based on the first configuration parameters for the first SL DRX group”. That confirms the first SL DRX active time is included in the first configuration parameters of SL DRX. [0082] states “The first device may further be configured with a common SL DRX parameter set, and one or more dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter sets. “ where the DRX active time may include the time while UE is performing resource (re-)selection or determination of candidate resource set, as stated in [0223], see also [0094]-[0095]and [0366] lines 8-30 and [0368] provide the different parameters that can include the DRX configuration parameter sets, see also Table 2); based on the first resource set, receiving, by the first UE, from the second UE, first inter-UE control information for scheduling second inter-UE control information and a inter-UE physical shared channel via a inter-UE physical control channel ([0060] lines 1-3 states “The first-stage SCIs transmitted by UEs on PSCCH indicate the time-frequency resources in which the UE will transmit a PSSCH” and lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0195] and Table 3 provide a list for RNTIs and their usage for dynamically schedule the SL transmission announcement/information on PSCCH , which in turn schedule PSSCH, see the first row, which implies the first UE can be configured by the second UE via necessary info to schedule further control info and PSSCH transmissions via PSCCH, [0081] lines 3-12 and [0194]-[0195]. [0056], lines 1-9 states “Resource pools are (pre-)configured to a UE separately from the transmission perspective (TX pools) and the reception perspective (RX pools). This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which defined the SL DRX group may include a group of SL communication resources such as resource pool, component carriers or BW [0082]. That confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration, [0060]); and receiving, by the first UE, from the second device, the second inter-UE control information and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) via the inter-UE physical shared channel ([0060] lines 10-11 states “PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel.” Which confirm transmitting the SCI via PSSCH. Fig. 5 and [0049] illustrate how the second UE evaluate the transmission of single and multi MAC PDUs through the PSCCH/PSSCH duration, which confirm transmitting to the first UE MAC PDU from the second UE), wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE is selected from resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE ([0223] and [0203] state “The DRX active time may include the time while UE 102 is performing resource (re-)selection or determination of candidate resource set. “ [0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set preferred by the first UE is selected from resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE , see also [0222]).
Adjakple does not explicitly teach transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE.
However, Pan teaches transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE ([0085], lines 3-6 and [0193] states “inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission.” which implies the first device (UE-A) can transmit SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information to the second device , including information about its preferred resource set, as described in [0011] which states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” see also [0098] that states “Type A resource set may be defined as the type or resource wherein UE-A may send to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B's transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result” see also [0009] and [00128] lines 16-18. that implies the first UE transmits to a second UE device, the inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE only includes the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE ([0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set includes resources within the first SL DRX active time of the device, where the active time is when the device awake and able to receive data on the sidelink, including resources allocated within this active time as stated in [0368], lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple further teaches and wherein, based on the second resource set preferred by the first UE being selected from outside the first inter-UE DRX active time ([0204]-[0205] describe the scenario where the first UE can perform a resource selection during the outside DRX active time. See also [0211] lines 19-22, [0215] lines 31-34, and [0369] lines 1-15), an additional inter-UE DRX active time is formed to include the second resource set (Claims 1 and 14 describe the receiving of configuration parameters for the first and second SL DRX group, and each of them includes on duration and inactivity timers, see also Fig. 12. [00203] states “ The outside DRX active time will be denoted herein interchangeably DRX sleep time, DRX OFF time, or DRX inactive time. UE 102 is in DRX active time or outside DRX active time.” That implies additional inter-UE DRX active time is formed to include the second resource set, which also confirmed in [0368]-[0369], where both resource sets have their own active time).
Adjakple does not explicitly teach but Pan teaches wherein the IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set preferred by the first UE ([0098] states “different types of resource set and signaling (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, resource conflict, etc.) and indicate from one UE to another UE”. [0245]-[0268] illustrate different scenarios for different resource sets with configuration of DRX active times and the possibility of configuring/performing additional DRX active times to support the resource selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to disclose wherein the IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first UE, and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set.
However, Pan teaches wherein the IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first UE ([0193], lines 2-5 states “ inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission” and [0194]-[0195] implies that the SL IUC information further includes information about resource set non-preferred by the device), and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set ([0011] lines 1-6 states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” and [0100] lines 2-6 states “UE may receive indication for which resources may be preferred for use (e.g., resource type A). UE may receive indication for which resources may not be preferred for use (e.g., resource type B)”. That explicitly distinguishes between the two resource sets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple teaches further comprising: obtaining a second inter-UE DRX configuration including a second inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE ([0369] lines 1-15 the device may provide for the second configuration parameters for the second sidelink DRX group comprise a second dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter set, where the first sidelink DRX group may include a first group of sidelink communication resources, and the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, which may receive SL resource grant from a third device, as described in [0084] and [0098]), wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE includes the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time and inter-UE DRX active time ([0369] lines 9-15 states” the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, wherein the first group of sidelink communication resources may include a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources, or wherein the second group of sidelink communication resources may include a second set of time resources and carrier frequency resources” that indicates the set of resource can include communication resources such as time slots, frequency blocks, or channels to be available during the second SL DRX active time).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to teach wherein the first resource set includes an idle resource determined based on a sensing.
However, Pan teaches wherein the first resource set includes an idle resource determined based on a sensing (Claim 21, lines 12-17 and claim 33, lines 12-17states “determine, based on the coordination information for the plurality of SL BWPs, an indication of one or more inactive BWPs; and perform, based on the one or more inactive BWPs, measurement or sensing using a second resource type that is different than the first resource type” that means the WTRU (device) determines inactive BWPS based on the coordination information, which includes details about the resource set to perform sensing or measurement operations on inactive BWPs using second resource type, where the second resource type different from the resource type for active BWPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple teaches further comprising: monitoring, by the first UE, the first inter-UE control information within a third inter-UE DRX active time including the first inter-UE (claim 8, states “the operations further comprising monitoring, during the first device active time, the first-stage SCI and the second-stage SCI in SL DRX” that means the device can monitor the first SCI within the active of any of other SL DRX groups. [0085] lines 9-24 describe how the device monitor the PSCCH resources (first-stage SCI), or second-stage SCI PSSCH resources in the SL DRX group, within the other SL DRX active time. [0368], lines 22-29 describes scenario where the device can handling/monitoring multiple SL DRX. [0195] describes UE's reception monitoring activities on the sidelink are summarized in the Table 3. UE, which including SL DRX active time and a time domain of the resource set).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 7.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the third inter-UE DRX active time is a inter-UE DRX active time related to a source identity (ID) of the second UE ([0112] lines 1-4 states “a SL DRX group may include one or more pairs of Source Layer-2 (L2) ID and Destination L2 ID, wherein a destination L2 ID is associated with a broadcast communication. Alternatively, a SL DRX group may include one or more Destination L2 IDs, wherein a destination L2 ID is associated with a broadcast communication” that implies the SL DRX can be related to the source identity of another device, where the source device is often associated with Layer 2(L2) source ID of transmitting device in SL communication as stated in lines 11-15 “ a SL DRX communication group may include one or more unicast links, wherein a unicast link is characterized by one or more pairs of Source Layer-2 (L2) ID and Destination L2 ID”).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 7.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the third inter-UE DRX active time is a inter-UE DRX active time related to at least one of a quality of service (QoS) or a service type ([0112], lines 8-10 states “a SL DRX group may include one or more QoS attributes such as one or more PQIs. Furthermore, the various SL DRX group examples presented above may be expanded to include QoS attributes such as PQI “ and [0104], lines 5-12 states “ The first device may implicitly determine the priority associated with a SL assistance information or SL DRX configuration, based on one or more of the priorities of Layer-2 Destination ID, the priority of a cast type, the priority of a resource pool, the priority of a PC5 5QI (PQI), the priority of a service or service type, or the priority of a unicast link associated with the SL assistance information or SL DRX configuration.” That means SL DRX active time can be configured based on QoS attributes, such as priority, 5G QoS identifier 5QI, and priority of service or service type).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple teaches further comprising: extending, by the first UE, the first inter-UE DRX active time, based on receiving data from the second UE within the first inter-UE DRX active time. ([0086] states “If SL DRX group is in Active Time, and if the PSCCH (first-stage SCI) or second-stage SCI indicate a new SL transmission on SL communication or SL communication resource in this SL DRX group, start or restart drx-InactivityTimerSL (if configured) for this SL DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PSCCH (first-stage SCI) or second-stage SCI reception“). Claim 10, [0172], and [0368] states “Methods, systems, and apparatuses, among other things, as described herein may provide for the first apparatus receiving (e.g., remaining awake/active) based on the determined first sidelink active time.” These parts of paragraphs implies that extending the first SL DRX active time may be occur upon receiving new SL data from another device during active time.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 10.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the first inter-UE control information includes information related to a resource reservation period ([0060], lines -5, states “These SCI transmissions are used by sensing UEs to maintain a record of which resources have been reserved by other UEs in the recent past. It should be noted that sidelink control information (SCI) in NR V2X is transmitted in two stages. The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. “ it describes PSCCH may carry information about resource reservation for enabling sensing operations. The details about the resource reservation period can be start time as mentioned in [0061], lines 1-4, duration/period as mentioned in [0051], lines 5-6 and specific frequency blocks reserved for the transmission as stated in [0369], lines 23-26), wherein the first inter-UE DRX active time includes a slot related to a periodic transmission of the second device based on the resource reservation period (Fig. 7-8 illustrate the reservation resource at time slot, Table 2 describes some of periodic transmission such as RSRP-SL, CBR and CR measurements. [0087] and [0178], [0201] and [0207] states “sensing information may include reserved resources and SL_RSRP measurements collected during DRX active time.” That implies the SL DRX active time includes slots related to periodic measurements which are part of the reserved resources and can be monitor through the active time), and wherein, based on receiving the data from the second UE within the slot, the first inter-UE DRX active time is extended ([0081], lines 3-12, describes receiving SL data from the second device. Table 1 illustrates some parameters to control the SL data that related to extended SL DRX time, such as drx-onDurationTimerSL, drx-SlotOffsetSL, drx-InactivityTimerSL, drx-RetransmissionTimerSL, where the drx-SlotOffsetSL define the delay before starting/restarting the drx-onDurationTimerSL within the slot, as stated in [0171]-[0174], [0367], and [0086] implies upon receiving a new SL data indicated by PSCCH or PSSCH, the drx-InactivityTimerSL is restarted effectively, extending the SL DRX active time).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 10.
Adjakple teaches wherein the first inter-UE DRX active time is extended based on the reception of the nter-UE DRX timer ([0171]-[0172] states “if the PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission on a SL communication or a SL communication resource in this SL DRX group” then “ start or restart drx-InactivityTimerSL (if configured) for this SL DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PSCCH reception” which is clear indication that SL DRX active time is extended based on the reception of the SL data and SL DRX timer, [0086]), and wherein the inter-UE DRX timer includes at least one of inter-UE DRX on duration timer, inter-UE DRX inactivity timer, or inter-UE DRX retransmission timer ([0032] lines 1-5 states “SL DRX may have configuration parameters or parameter sets. The parameters associated with a SL DRX group may control the SL DRX operation, related to the On duration timer, inactivity timer, retransmission timers, HARQ RTT timers, short and long cycles, etc.” which implies the SL DRX timer includes on duration timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, or SL DRX retransmission timer).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to teach wherein, based on a threshold number of the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE, the IUC information includes information for performing transmission of the second UE.
However, Pan teaches wherein, based on a threshold number of the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE, the IUC information includes information for performing transmission of the second UE ([0069] describes several thresholds such as threshold-1 configured into the UE to determine whether or not to pre-empt the traffic, threshold-2, where any traffic associated with a preemption value above threshold-2, is not preemptable, and a priority threshold-3 may be configured into the controlling or scheduling UE. If the priority of the traffic is below threshold-3, the traffic is admitted. In some aspects, if the priority of the traffic is above threshold-3, the traffic is admitted. Accordingly, controlling or scheduling UE may decide to admit or deny the transmission of the traffic based on threshold -3, as mentioned “a priority threshold-3 may be configured into the controlling or scheduling UE. If the priority of the traffic is below threshold-3, the traffic is admitted. In some aspects, if the priority of the traffic is above threshold-3, the traffic is admitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to teach wherein, based on a threshold number of the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE, the IUC information includes information for performing retransmission of the second UE.
However, Pan teaches wherein, based on a threshold number of the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE, the IUC information includes information for performing retransmission of the second UE ([0070]-[0071] illustrate the mode 2, where mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered. [0071] states “It may reserve resources to be used for a number of blind (re-)transmissions or HARQ-feedback-based (re-)transmissions of a transport block, in which case the resources are indicated in the SCI(s) scheduling the transport block.” [0096] lines 7-11, states “The receiving UE of a preemption indication may compare the preemption indication value to threshold-1 and determine whether or not to pre-empt the traffic, e.g., URLLC traffic associated with the SL pre-emption indicator.” That implies the SL IUC information includes threshold for sensing which can effect on the decision of retransmission based on the resource availability within the first SL DRX active time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Adjakple teaches a first user equipment (UE) (Figs. 10A-10F and [0079] describe the method for SL DRX in which the system comprises apparatuses that implement in wireless communication, the system may include Wireless Transmit/Receive Units (WTRUs) (also referred herein as UE 102), a base station gNB 121, a V2X server 124, and Road Side Units (RSUs)), comprising: at least one memory storing instructions at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is adapted to execute instructions to perform operations (Figs. 10F and 10G and [0346] describe the apparatus may include a processor, communications circuitry, transceiver, and a memory as stated “As shown in FIG. 10F, the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132”, when the instructions executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform one or more operations of the method) comprising obtaining a first inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE (Abstract, lines 1-4 states “A first apparatus receives, from a second apparatus via a sidelink (SL) transmission, first configuration parameters for a first SL DRX group and second configuration parameters for a second SL DRX group” and lines 16-21 state “The first apparatus determines that the first apparatus is in a first SL active time for receiving information on the SL based on the first configuration parameters for the first SL DRX group”. That confirms the first SL DRX active time is included in the first configuration parameters of SL DRX. [0082] states “The first device may further be configured with a common SL DRX parameter set, and one or more dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter sets. “ where the DRX active time may include the time while UE is performing resource (re-)selection or determination of candidate resource set, as stated in [0223], see also [0094]-[0095]and [0366] lines 8-30 and [0368] provide the different parameters that can include the DRX configuration parameter sets, see also Table 2), receiving, from the second UE, first inter-UE control information for scheduling second inter-UE control information and a inter-UE physical shared channel via a inter-UE physical control channel ([0060] lines 1-3 states “The first-stage SCIs transmitted by UEs on PSCCH indicate the time-frequency resources in which the UE will transmit a PSSCH” and lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0195] and Table 3 provide a list for RNTIs and their usage for dynamically schedule the SL transmission announcement/information on PSCCH , which in turn schedule PSSCH, see the first row, which implies the first UE can be configured by the second UE via necessary info to schedule further control info and PSSCH transmissions via PSCCH, [0081] lines 3-12 and [0194]-[0195]. [0056], lines 1-9 states “Resource pools are (pre-)configured to a UE separately from the transmission perspective (TX pools) and the reception perspective (RX pools). This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which defined the SL DRX group may include a group of SL communication resources such as resource pool, component carriers or BW [0082]. That confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration, [0060]); and receiving, from the second UE, the second inter-UE control information and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) via the inter-UE physical shared channel ([0060] lines 10-11 states “PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel.” Which confirm transmitting the SCI via PSSCH. Fig. 5 and [0049] illustrate how the second UE evaluate the transmission of single and multi MAC PDUs through the PSCCH/PSSCH duration, which confirm transmitting to the first UE MAC PDU from the second UE), wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE is selected from resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE ([0223] and [0203] state “The DRX active time may include the time while UE 102 is performing resource (re-)selection or determination of candidate resource set. “ [0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set preferred by the first UE is selected from resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE , see also [0222]).
Adjakple does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE; based on the first resource set.
However, Pan teaches transmitting, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE; based on the first resource set ([0085], lines 3-6 and [0193] states “inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission.” which implies the first device (UE-A) can transmit SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information to the second device , including information about its preferred resource set, as described in [0011] which states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” see also [0098] that states “Type A resource set may be defined as the type or resource wherein UE-A may send to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B's transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result” see also [0009] and [00128] lines 16-18. that implies the first UE transmits to a second UE device, the inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the first UE of claim 15.
Adjakple teaches wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE only includes the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE ([0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set includes resources within the first SL DRX active time of the device, where the active time is when the device awake and able to receive data on the sidelink, including resources allocated within this active time as stated in [0368], lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 23 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the apparatus of claim 15.
Adjakple further teaches and wherein, based on the second resource set preferred by the first UE being selected from outside the first inter-UE DRX active time ([0204]-[0205] describe the scenario where the first UE can perform a resource selection during the outside DRX active time. See also [0211] lines 19-22, [0215] lines 31-34, and [0369] lines 1-15), an additional inter-UE DRX active time is formed to include the second resource set (Claims 1 and 14 describe the receiving of configuration parameters for the first and second SL DRX group, and each of them includes on duration and inactivity timers, see also Fig. 12. [00203] states “ The outside DRX active time will be denoted herein interchangeably DRX sleep time, DRX OFF time, or DRX inactive time. UE 102 is in DRX active time or outside DRX active time.” That implies additional inter-UE DRX active time is formed to include the second resource set, which also confirmed in [0368]-[0369], where both resource sets have their own active time).
Adjakple does not explicitly teach but Pan teaches wherein the IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set preferred by the first UE ([0098] states “different types of resource set and signaling (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, resource conflict, etc.) and indicate from one UE to another UE”. [0245]-[0268] illustrate different scenarios for different resource sets with configuration of DRX active times and the possibility of configuring/performing additional DRX active times to support the resource selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by transmitting, by the first UE, to a second UE, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first UE, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 24 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the first UE of claim 15.
Adjakple fails to disclose wherein the IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first UE, and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set.
However, Pan teaches wherein the IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first UE ([0193], lines 2-5 states “ inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission” and [0194]-[0195] implies that the SL IUC information further includes information about resource set non-preferred by the device), and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set ([0011] lines 1-6 states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” and [0100] lines 2-6 states “UE may receive indication for which resources may be preferred for use (e.g., resource type A). UE may receive indication for which resources may not be preferred for use (e.g., resource type B)”. That explicitly distinguishes between the two resource sets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), Adjakple and Pan teach the first UE of claim 15.
Adjakple further teaches the operations further comprising: obtaining a second inter-UE DRX configuration including a second inter-UE DRX active time of the first UE for wireless communication with a third UE ([0369] lines 1-15 the device may provide for the second configuration parameters for the second sidelink DRX group comprise a second dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter set, where the first sidelink DRX group may include a first group of sidelink communication resources, and the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, which may receive SL resource grant from a third device, as described in [0084] and [0098]), wherein the first resource set preferred by the first UE includes the resources within the first inter-UE DRX active time and resources within the second inter-UE DRX active time ([0369] lines 9-15 states” the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, wherein the first group of sidelink communication resources may include a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources, or wherein the second group of sidelink communication resources may include a second set of time resources and carrier frequency resources” that indicates the set of resource can include communication resources such as time slots, frequency blocks, or channels to be available during the second SL DRX active time).
Relevant Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
PARK et al. (US-20230363048-A1), LUO et al. (US-20230171843-A1), LEE et al. (US-20220416969-A1), Selvanesan et al. (US-12414192-B2) and PAN et al. (US-20210227621-A1) teach methods for V2X communication for potential SL slots through determining Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463