DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 04/02/2024 and 11/26/2025 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered
Claim Objection
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
• Claim 12, line 4, “onduration” should be “on duration”.
Specification Objection
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the
disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a
separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the
disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the
full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in
the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The use of the term Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee or Z-Wave which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple et al. (US-20240172325-A1) in view of Pan et al. (US-20240172235-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Adjakple teaches a method for performing wireless communication by a first device, the method comprising (Figs. 10A-10F and [0079] describe the method for SL DRX in which the system comprises apparatuses that implement in wireless communication, the system may include Wireless Transmit/Receive Units (WTRUs) (also referred herein as UE 102), a base station gNB 121, a V2X server 124, and Road Side Units (RSUs)) obtaining a first sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including a first SL DRX active time of the first device (Abstract, lines 1-4 states “A first apparatus receives, from a second apparatus via a sidelink (SL) transmission, first configuration parameters for a first SL DRX group and second configuration parameters for a second SL DRX group” and lines 16-21 state “The first apparatus determines that the first apparatus is in a first SL active time for receiving information on the SL based on the first configuration parameters for the first SL DRX group”. That confirms the first SL DRX active time is included in the first configuration parameters of SL DRX); based on the first resource set, receiving, from the second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling second SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([0060] lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0056], lines 3-9 states “This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration); and receiving, from the second device, the second SCI and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) via the PSSCH ([0060] lines 10-11 states “PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel.” Which confirm transmitting the SCI via PSSCH. Fig. 5 and [0049] illustrate how the second UE evaluate the transmission of single and multi MAC PDUs through the PSCCH/PSSCH duration, which confirm transmitting to the first UE MAC PDU from the second UE), wherein the first resource set includes at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device ([0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set includes resources within the first SL DRX active time of the device, where the active time is when the device awake and able to receive data on the sidelink, including resources allocated within this active time as stated in [0368], lines 22-29).
Adjakple does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a second device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device.
However, Pan teaches transmitting, to a second device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device ([0085], lines 3-6 and [0193] states “inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission.” which implies the first device (UE-A) can transmit SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information to the second device , including information about its preferred resource set);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the first resource set only includes the at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device ([0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set includes resources within the first SL DRX active time of the device, where the active time is when the device awake and able to receive data on the sidelink, including resources allocated within this active time as stated in [0368], lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the information related to the first resource set includes information representing the first resource set ([claim 3, states “wherein the first SL DRX group comprises a first group of SL communication resources, and the second SL DRX group comprises a second group of SL communication resources, wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources” which defines the time and frequency resources of the resource set, another information related to the resource set also stated in [0060], lines 1-3 and [0057]).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to disclose wherein the SL IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first device, and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set.
However, Pan teaches wherein the SL IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first device ([0193], lines 2-5 states “ inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission” and [0194]-[0195] implies that the SL IUC information further includes information about resource set non-preferred by the device), and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set ([0011] lines 1-6 states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” and [0100] lines 2-6 states “UE may receive indication for which resources may be preferred for use (e.g., resource type A). UE may receive indication for which resources may not be preferred for use (e.g., resource type B)”. That explicitly distinguishes between the two resource sets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple teaches further comprising: obtaining a second SL DRX configuration including a second SL DRX active time of the first device for wireless communication with a third device ([0369] lines 1-15 the device may provide for the second configuration parameters for the second sidelink DRX group comprise a second dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter set, where the first sidelink DRX group may include a first group of sidelink communication resources, and the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, which may receive SL resource grant from a third device, as described in [0084] and [0098]), wherein the first resource set includes the at least one first resource and at least one second resource within the second SL DRX active time ([0369] lines 9-15 states” the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, wherein the first group of sidelink communication resources may include a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources, or wherein the second group of sidelink communication resources may include a second set of time resources and carrier frequency resources” that indicates the set of resource can include communication resources such as time slots, frequency blocks, or channels to be available during the second SL DRX active time).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to teach wherein the first resource set includes an idle resource determined based on the at least one first resource and a sensing.
However, Pan teaches wherein the first resource set includes an idle resource determined based on the at least one first resource and a sensing (Claim 21, lines 12-17 and claim 33, lines 12-17states “determine, based on the coordination information for the plurality of SL BWPs, an indication of one or more inactive BWPs; and perform, based on the one or more inactive BWPs, measurement or sensing using a second resource type that is different than the first resource type” that means the WTRU (device) determines inactive BWPS based on the coordination information, which includes details about the resource set to perform sensing or measurement operations on inactive BWPs using second resource type, where the second resource type different from the resource type for active BWPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple teaches further comprising: monitoring the first SCI within a third SL DRX active time including the first SL DRX active time and a time domain of the first resource set (claim 8, states “the operations further comprising monitoring, during the first device active time, the first-stage SCI and the second-stage SCI in SL DRX” that means the device can monitor the first SCI within the active of any of other SL DRX groups. [0085] lines 9-24 describe how the device monitor the PSCCH resources (first-stage SCI), or second-stage SCI PSSCH resources in the SL DRX group, within the other SL DRX active time. [0368], lines 22-29 describes scenario where the device can handling/monitoring multiple SL DRX. [0195] describes UE's reception monitoring activities on the sidelink are summarized in the Table 3. UE, which including SL DRX active time and a time domain of the resource set).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 7.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the third SL DRX active time is a SL DRX active time related to a source identity (ID) of the second device ([0112] lines 1-4 states “a SL DRX group may include one or more pairs of Source Layer-2 (L2) ID and Destination L2 ID, wherein a destination L2 ID is associated with a broadcast communication. Alternatively, a SL DRX group may include one or more Destination L2 IDs, wherein a destination L2 ID is associated with a broadcast communication” that implies the SL DRX can be related to the source identity of another device, where the source device is often associated with Layer 2(L2) source ID of transmitting device in SL communication as stated in lines 11-15 “ a SL DRX communication group may include one or more unicast links, wherein a unicast link is characterized by one or more pairs of Source Layer-2 (L2) ID and Destination L2 ID”).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 7.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the third SL DRX active time is a SL DRX active time related to at least one of a quality of service (QoS) or a service type ([0112], lines 8-10 states “a SL DRX group may include one or more QoS attributes such as one or more PQIs. Furthermore, the various SL DRX group examples presented above may be expanded to include QoS attributes such as PQI “ and [0104], lines 5-12 states “ The first device may implicitly determine the priority associated with a SL assistance information or SL DRX configuration, based on one or more of the priorities of Layer-2 Destination ID, the priority of a cast type, the priority of a resource pool, the priority of a PC5 5QI (PQI), the priority of a service or service type, or the priority of a unicast link associated with the SL assistance information or SL DRX configuration.” That means SL DRX active time can be configured based on QoS attributes, such as priority, 5G QoS identifier 5QI, and priority of service or service type).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple teaches further comprising: based on receiving SL data from the second device within the first SL DRX active time, extending the first SL DRX active time ([0086] states “If SL DRX group is in Active Time, and if the PSCCH (first-stage SCI) or second-stage SCI indicate a new SL transmission on SL communication or SL communication resource in this SL DRX group, start or restart drx-InactivityTimerSL (if configured) for this SL DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PSCCH (first-stage SCI) or second-stage SCI reception“). Claim 10, [0172], and [0368] states “Methods, systems, and apparatuses, among other things, as described herein may provide for the first apparatus receiving (e.g., remaining awake/active) based on the determined first sidelink active time.” These parts of paragraphs implies that extending the first SL DRX active time may be occur upon receiving new SL data from another device during active time.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 10.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the first SCI includes information related to a resource reservation period ([0060], lines -5, states “These SCI transmissions are used by sensing UEs to maintain a record of which resources have been reserved by other UEs in the recent past. It should be noted that sidelink control information (SCI) in NR V2X is transmitted in two stages. The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. “ it describes PSCCH may carry information about resource reservation for enabling sensing operations. The details about the resource reservation period can be start time as mentioned in [0061], lines 1-4, duration/period as mentioned in [0051], lines 5-6 and specific frequency blocks reserved for the transmission as stated in [0369], lines 23-26), wherein the first SL DRX active time includes a slot related to a periodic transmission of the second device based on the resource reservation period (Fig. 7-8 illustrate the reservation resource at time slot, Table 2 describes some of periodic transmission such as RSRP-SL, CBR and CR measurements. [0087] and [0178], [0201] and [0207] states “sensing information may include reserved resources and SL_RSRP measurements collected during DRX active time.” That implies the SL DRX active time includes slots related to periodic measurements which are part of the reserved resources and can be monitor through the active time), and wherein, based on receiving the SL data from the second device within the slot, the first SL DRX active time is extended ([0081], lines 3-12, describes receiving SL data from the second device. Table 1 illustrates some parameters to control the SL data that related to extended SL DRX time, such as drx-onDurationTimerSL, drx-SlotOffsetSL, drx-InactivityTimerSL, drx-RetransmissionTimerSL, where the drx-SlotOffsetSL define the delay before starting/restarting the drx-onDurationTimerSL within the slot, as stated in [0171]-[0174], [0367], and [0086] implies upon receiving a new SL data indicated by PSCCH or PSSCH, the drx-InactivityTimerSL is restarted effectively, extending the SL DRX active time).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 10.
Adjakple teaches wherein the first SL DRX active time is extended based on the reception of the SL data and SL DRX timer ([0171]-[0172] states “if the PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission on a SL communication or a SL communication resource in this SL DRX group” then “ start or restart drx-InactivityTimerSL (if configured) for this SL DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PSCCH reception” which is clear indication that SL DRX active time is extended based on the reception of the SL data and SL DRX timer, [0086]), and wherein the SL DRX timer includes at least one of SL DRX on duration timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, or SL DRX retransmission timer ([0032] lines 1-5 states “SL DRX may have configuration parameters or parameter sets. The parameters associated with a SL DRX group may control the SL DRX operation, related to the On duration timer, inactivity timer, retransmission timers, HARQ RTT timers, short and long cycles, etc.” which implies the SL DRX timer includes on duration timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, or SL DRX retransmission timer).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to teach wherein, based on a threshold number of the at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device, the SL IUC information includes information for performing transmission of the second device.
However, Pan teaches wherein, based on a threshold number of the at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device, the SL IUC information includes information for performing transmission of the second device ([0069] describes several thresholds such as threshold-1 configured into the UE to determine whether or not to pre-empt the traffic, threshold-2, where any traffic associated with a preemption value above threshold-2, is not preemptable, and a priority threshold-3 may be configured into the controlling or scheduling UE. If the priority of the traffic is below threshold-3, the traffic is admitted. In some aspects, if the priority of the traffic is above threshold-3, the traffic is admitted. Accordingly, controlling or scheduling UE may decide to admit or deny the transmission of the traffic based on threshold -3, as mentioned “a priority threshold-3 may be configured into the controlling or scheduling UE. If the priority of the traffic is below threshold-3, the traffic is admitted. In some aspects, if the priority of the traffic is above threshold-3, the traffic is admitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Adjakple and Pan teach the method of claim 1.
Adjakple fails to teach wherein, based on a threshold number of the at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device, the SL IUC information includes information for performing retransmission of the second device.
However, Pan teaches based on a threshold number of the at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device, the SL IUC information includes information for performing retransmission of the second device ([0070]-[0071] illustrate the mode 2, where mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Having selected such resources, the UE can transmit and re-transmit in them a certain number of times, or until a cause of resource reselection is triggered. [0071] states “It may reserve resources to be used for a number of blind (re-)transmissions or HARQ-feedback-based (re-)transmissions of a transport block, in which case the resources are indicated in the SCI(s) scheduling the transport block.” [0096] lines 7-11, states “The receiving UE of a preemption indication may compare the preemption indication value to threshold-1 and determine whether or not to pre-empt the traffic, e.g., URLLC traffic associated with the SL pre-emption indicator.” That implies the SL IUC information includes threshold for sensing which can effect on the decision of retransmission based on the resource availability within the first SL DRX active time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Adjakple teaches a first device performing wireless communication (Figs. 10A-10F and [0079] describe the method for SL DRX in which the system comprises apparatuses that implement in wireless communication, the system may include Wireless Transmit/Receive Units (WTRUs) (also referred herein as UE 102), a base station gNB 121, a V2X server 124, and Road Side Units (RSUs)), the first device comprising: at least one memory storing instructions at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is adapted to execute instructions to perform operations (Figs. 10F and 10G and [0346] describe the apparatus may include a processor, communications circuitry, transceiver, and a memory as stated “As shown in FIG. 10F, the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132”, when the instructions executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform one or more operations of the method) comprising triggering a first sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) report related to a first resource set (Table 1 and Table 3 illustrate first and second-stage SCI can be utilized for dynamically scheduled sidelink transmission announcement, control for SL HARQ procedure, and triggers for CSI feedback, where these reports (feedback) can include information about the channel state of a specific resource set. [0060], lines 7-10 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH.”); transmitting, to a second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling a first physical sidelink shared channel (PS SCH) and second SCI via a first physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([0060] lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0056], lines 3-9 states “This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration); based on a resource related to the first PS SCH, transmitting, to the second device, a first SL CSI reference signal (RS) and the second SCI including information related to a first SL CSI request ([0109], lines 21-26 indicates that the sending of SL CSI RS is tied to resources allocated for the PSSCH, and the second stage SCI provides the necessary control information for the transmission process. Table 3 specified the use of SL CSI RNTI for dynamically schedule SL CSI RS transmission announcement, which means the device can transmit the SL CSI RS to other device when it monitors the PSCCH/PSSCH, as mentioned in [0368] lines 16-22. [0087] states “Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all SL DRX Active Time conditions, then the device may not transmit periodic SL CSI-RS and SL semi-persistent CSI-RS, the device may not report semi-persistent SL CSI configured on PSSCH.” That describes how the SL CSI reporting through scheduling request, where [0060], lines 11-14 indicates the second stage CSI carries information about HARQ procedures, triggers for CSI feedback and other relevant data);
triggering a second SL CSI report related to a second resource set ([0060], lines 11-15 states “The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH, as well as control for HARQ procedures, and triggers for CSI feedback, etc.” Table 1 and Table 3 illustrate first and second-stage SCI can be utilized for dynamically scheduled sidelink transmission announcement, control for SL HARQ procedure, and triggers for CSI feedback, where these reports (feedback) can include information about the channel state of a specific resource set. ); transmitting, to the second device, third SCI for scheduling a second PS SCH and fourth SCI via a second PSCCH (([0060] lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0056], lines 3-9 states “This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration); and based on a resource related to the second PSSCH, transmitting, to the second device, a second SL CSI RS and the fourth SCI including information related to a second SL CSI request ([0109], lines 21-26 indicates that the sending of SL CSI RS is tied to resources allocated for the PSSCH, and the second stage SCI provides the necessary control information for the transmission process. Table 3 specified the use of SL CSI RNTI for dynamically schedule SL CSI RS transmission announcement, which means the device can transmit the SL CSI RS to other device when it monitors the PSCCH/PSSCH, as mentioned in [0368] lines 16-22. [0087] states “Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all SL DRX Active Time conditions, then the device may not transmit periodic SL CSI-RS and SL semi-persistent CSI-RS, the device may not report semi-persistent SL CSI configured on PSSCH.” That describes how the SL CSI reporting through scheduling request, where [0060], lines 11-14 indicates the second stage CSI carries information about HARQ procedures, triggers for CSI feedback and other relevant data); wherein, before a time when information related to the first SL CSI report related to the first resource set is completely received, the first device is allowed to trigger the second SL CSI report related to the second resource set ([0082] states “The first device may be configured with one or more SL DRX group, with a SL DRX group being a group of sidelink communications (for e.g., unicast communication or unicast link, or multicast communication, or broadcast communication), or a group of sidelink communication resources (for e.g., or a group of component carriers, a group of carrier frequencies, a group of services, a group of resource pools, or a group of BWPs, etc.) with the same SL DRX Active time.” That implies the ability of the device to manage multiple SL DRX groups (for multiple activities) with their associated resources, since the groups operate independently. [0083], lines 9-18describe the scenario where the SL DRX active group time includes the time while the drx-onDurationTimerSL, or drx-InactivityTimerSL, configured for the SL DRX group is running; or drx-RetransmissionTimerSL is running for any sidelink communication; or drx-RetransmissionTimer- SL is running for any sidelink communication resource in the SL DRX group. That means the device can process or monitor SCI and trigger new reports for resources within the active time of SL DRX group, as also indicates in [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Adjakple teaches an apparatus adapted to perform a first device ( claim 1 describes the apparatus that performs wireless communication is equipped with internal devices to adapt it to perform the functions/operations of the first device), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device to perform operations (Figs. 10F and 10G and [0346] describe the apparatus may include a processor, communications circuitry, transceiver, and a memory as stated “As shown in FIG. 10F, the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132”, when the instructions executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform one or more operations of the method) comprising: triggering a first sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) report related to a first resource set (Table 1 and Table 3 illustrate first and second-stage SCI can be utilized for dynamically scheduled sidelink transmission announcement, control for SL HARQ procedure, and triggers for CSI feedback, where these reports (feedback) can include information about the channel state of a specific resource set. [0060], lines 7-10 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH.”); transmitting, to a second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling a first physical sidelink shared channel (PS SCH) and second SCI via a first physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([0060] lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0056], lines 3-9 states “This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration); based on a resource related to the first PS SCH, transmitting, to the second device, a first SL CSI reference signal (RS) and the second SCI including information related to a first SL CSI request ([0109], lines 21-26 indicates that the sending of SL CSI RS is tied to resources allocated for the PSSCH, and the second stage SCI provides the necessary control information for the transmission process. Table 3 specified the use of SL CSI RNTI for dynamically schedule SL CSI RS transmission announcement, which means the device can transmit the SL CSI RS to other device when it monitors the PSCCH/PSSCH, as mentioned in [0368] lines 16-22. [0087] states “Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all SL DRX Active Time conditions, then the device may not transmit periodic SL CSI-RS and SL semi-persistent CSI-RS, the device may not report semi-persistent SL CSI configured on PSSCH.” That describes how the SL CSI reporting through scheduling request, where [0060], lines 11-14 indicates the second stage CSI carries information about HARQ procedures, triggers for CSI feedback and other relevant data); triggering a second SL CSI report related to a second resource set ([0060], lines 11-15 states “The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH, as well as control for HARQ procedures, and triggers for CSI feedback, etc.” Table 1 and Table 3 illustrate first and second-stage SCI can be utilized for dynamically scheduled sidelink transmission announcement, control for SL HARQ procedure, and triggers for CSI feedback, where these reports (feedback) can include information about the channel state of a specific resource set. ); transmitting, to the second device, third SCI for scheduling a second PS SCH and fourth SCI via a second PSCCH (([0060] lines 7-11 states “The first-stage SCI is carried on PSCCH and may include information to enable sensing operations, as well as information about the resource allocation of the PSSCH. PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel” and lines 11-14 describe the information enables the device to schedule and prepare for receiving the second SCI. [0056], lines 3-9 states “This allows a UE to monitor for PSCCH, and hence receive PSSCH transmissions, in resource pools other than those in which it transmits, so that it can attempt to receive transmissions made by other UEs in those RX pools. PSCCH and PSSCH resources are defined within resource pools for the respective channels.” which confirm that the process of transmission can be based on the defined resource set configuration); and based on a resource related to the second PSSCH, transmitting, to the second device, a second SL CSI RS and the fourth SCI including information related to a second SL CSI request ([0109], lines 21-26 indicates that the sending of SL CSI RS is tied to resources allocated for the PSSCH, and the second stage SCI provides the necessary control information for the transmission process. Table 3 specified the use of SL CSI RNTI for dynamically schedule SL CSI RS transmission announcement, which means the device can transmit the SL CSI RS to other device when it monitors the PSCCH/PSSCH, as mentioned in [0368] lines 16-22. [0087] states “Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all SL DRX Active Time conditions, then the device may not transmit periodic SL CSI-RS and SL semi-persistent CSI-RS, the device may not report semi-persistent SL CSI configured on PSSCH.” That describes how the SL CSI reporting through scheduling request, where [0060], lines 11-14 indicates the second stage CSI carries information about HARQ procedures, triggers for CSI feedback and other relevant data); wherein, before a time when information related to the first SL CSI report related to the first resource set is completely received, the first device is allowed to trigger the second SL CSI report related to the second resource set ([0082] states “The first device may be configured with one or more SL DRX group, with a SL DRX group being a group of sidelink communications (for e.g., unicast communication or unicast link, or multicast communication, or broadcast communication), or a group of sidelink communication resources (for e.g., or a group of component carriers, a group of carrier frequencies, a group of services, a group of resource pools, or a group of BWPs, etc.) with the same SL DRX Active time.” That implies the ability of the device to manage multiple SL DRX groups (for multiple activities) with their associated resources, since the groups operate independently. [0083], lines 9-18describe the scenario where the SL DRX active group time includes the time while the drx-onDurationTimerSL, or drx-InactivityTimerSL, configured for the SL DRX group is running; or drx-RetransmissionTimerSL is running for any sidelink communication; or drx-RetransmissionTimer- SL is running for any sidelink communication resource in the SL DRX group. That means the device can process or monitor SCI and trigger new reports for resources within the active time of SL DRX group, as also indicates in [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 22 (New), Adjakple teaches the apparatus of claim 16.
Adjakple teaches wherein the first resource set only includes the at least one first resource within the first SL DRX active time of the first device ([0215], lines 8-11 states “ UE 102 may exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time”, Abstract lines 16-21 and claim 3, lines 4-6 states “wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources”. That indicates the first resource set includes resources within the first SL DRX active time of the device, where the active time is when the device awake and able to receive data on the sidelink, including resources allocated within this active time as stated in [0368], lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 23 (New), Adjakple teaches the apparatus of claim 16.
Adjakple further teaches wherein the information related to the first resource set includes information representing the first resource set ([claim 3, states “wherein the first SL DRX group comprises a first group of SL communication resources, and the second SL DRX group comprises a second group of SL communication resources, wherein the first group of SL communication resources comprises a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources” which defines the time and frequency resources of the resource set, another information related to the resource set also stated in [0060], lines 1-3 and [0057]).
Regarding claim 24 (New), Adjakple teaches the apparatus of claim 16.
Adjakple fails to disclose wherein the SL IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first device, and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set.
However, Pan teaches wherein the SL IUC information further includes information related to a second resource set non-preferred by the first device ([0193], lines 2-5 states “ inter-UE Coordination Scheme 1 may be defined where the coordination information sent from UE-A to UE-B is the set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B's transmission” and [0194]-[0195] implies that the SL IUC information further includes information about resource set non-preferred by the device), and wherein the second resource set is a different resource set from the first resource set ([0011] lines 1-6 states “the first UE may select a subset of types of resources (e.g., one or more of preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) from a type of resources set (e.g., preferred, non-preferred, and resource conflict) based on the received coordination information and/or based on a priority order” and [0100] lines 2-6 states “UE may receive indication for which resources may be preferred for use (e.g., resource type A). UE may receive indication for which resources may not be preferred for use (e.g., resource type B)”. That explicitly distinguishes between the two resource sets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adjakple to incorporate the teachings of Pan (in analogous art) by a transmitting, to the device, SL inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a first resource set preferred by the first device, that would enhance sensing procedure, reliability and power saving or power consumption reduction (Pan, [0078], lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 25 (New), Adjakple teaches the apparatus of claim 16.
Adjakple further teaches the operations further comprising: obtaining a second SL DRX configuration including a second SL DRX active time of the first device for wireless communication with a third device ([0369] lines 1-15 the device may provide for the second configuration parameters for the second sidelink DRX group comprise a second dedicated SL DRX configuration parameter set, where the first sidelink DRX group may include a first group of sidelink communication resources, and the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, which may receive SL resource grant from a third device, as described in [0084] and [0098]), wherein the first resource set includes the at least one first resource and at least one second resource within the second SL DRX active time ([0369] lines 9-15 states” the second sidelink DRX group may include a second group of sidelink communication resources, wherein the first group of sidelink communication resources may include a first set of time resources and carrier frequency resources, or wherein the second group of sidelink communication resources may include a second set of time resources and carrier frequency resources” that indicates the set of resource can include communication resources such as time slots, frequency blocks, or channels to be available during the second SL DRX active time).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
PARK et al. (US-20230363048-A1), LUO et al. (US-20230171843-A1), LEE et al. (US-20220416969-A1), Selvanesan et al. (US-12414192-B2) and PAN et al. (US-20210227621-A1) teach methods for V2X communication for potential SL slots through determining Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463