DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 09/25/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/25/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 29-30 and 32-42 are pending
Claims 1 and 29 are amended
Claims 3, 7-28, 31 and 43-46 are canceled
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 29-30 and 32-42 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 29-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOON et al. (US 20230354275 A1), hereinafter referenced as Moon, in view of Einhaus et al. (US 20180302915 A1), hereinafter referenced as Einhaus.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Moon teaches a method (Fig. 1, Para. [0004]-Moon teaches method and an apparatus for transmitting and receiving uplink signals according to ultra reliable low latency communication (URLLC) requirements. Para. [0070]-Moon teaches transmitting and receiving signals in a communication system will be described. In particular, channel occupation methods, signal transmission methods, and channel occupation-related information transmission methods of a communication node (e.g., base station and/or terminal), for improving transmission reliability and delay time in a wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Moon teaches communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications. Also, the communication node 200 may further comprise an input interface device 240, an output interface device 250, a storage device 260, and the like. Each component included in the communication node 200 may communicate with each other as connected through a bus 270), comprising:
successive uplink grants of the sequence of uplink grants being separated by a time period shorter than a duration of a fixed frame period of the plurality of unlicensed radio channels (Fig. 4, Para. [0110]-Moon discloses an FFP may include a COT and an idle period. The duration of the FFP may be referred to as T.sub.x, the COT (or CO) having a length of T.sub.y may be arrange in the front part of the FFP, and the idle period having a length of T.sub.z may be arrange in the rear part of the FFP. Each of T.sub.x, T.sub.y, and T.sub.z may be positive numbers. The sum of T.sub.y and T.sub.z may be T.sub.x. Here, the COT may mean a MCOT. That is, the duration of the MCOT may be T.sub.y, and a COT actually occupied by the communication node may be shorter than T.sub.y. The length of the idle period may occupy Z % of the FFP. For example, Z=5. The minimum value of the length of the idle period may be defined. For example, the minimum value of the length of the idle period may be 100 μs. In this case, T.sub.z may be max (0.05×T.sub.x, 100 μs). The FFP may appear periodically and repeatedly, and (20/T.sub.x) FFPs may be arranged within two consecutive radio frames (e.g., 20 ms period). Figs. 6A-6D, Para. [0133-0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may receive an uplink grant (e.g., uplink DCI, uplink DCI format, DCI format including scheduling information of a PUSCH) corresponding to the PUSCH in the COT in which the PUSCH is to be transmitted. For example, the uplink grant may be transmitted on a PDCCH. In this case, the uplink grant (or PDCCH including the uplink grant) may be regarded as a COT acquisition signal. That is, the terminal may determine that the COT initiated by the base station is shared by receiving the uplink grant, and transmit the PUSCH within the corresponding COT. Para. [0274]-Moon discloses the terminal may determine whether to transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in the period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP until a time earlier by a predetermined time than a start time of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH). Here, an entity indicating (e.g., configuring) to transmit the uplink signal may be the base station (e.g., when the uplink signal is a dynamic grant PUSCH or a configured grant PUSCH) or a higher layer of the terminal (e.g., when the uplink signal is a configured grant PUSCH)); and
in response to data becoming transmission-ready at the user equipment with one or more intervening uplink grants before the earliest opportunity to attempt to transmit the data via a first unlicensed radio channel currently activated at the user equipment (Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0248]-Moon discloses the terminal may obtain information indicating to transmit a PUSCH based on one of the two COTs through an uplink grant (e.g., DCI format 0_X (X=0, 1, 2, . . . )) for scheduling the PUSCH. Para. [0283]-Moon discloses when the DCI including the COT initiation indicator (e.g., DCI corresponding to the COT initiation indicator) is transmitted in a COT of an n-th uplink FFP, an uplink FFP to which the COT initiation indication is applied may be a (n+K)-th uplink FFP ... if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0082]-Moon discloses frequency band (e.g., carrier, bandwidth part, listen before talk (LBT) subband, guard band, etc.) is activated’ may mean that the frequency band is in a state in which a base station or terminal can transmit or receive a signal by using the corresponding frequency band (e.g., active frequency band)),
switching to a second unlicensed radio channel in response to a determination at the user equipment that the second unlicensed radio channel has a fixed frame period starting in alignment with a next uplink grant (Para. [0283]-Moon discloses if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0274]-Moon discloses receiving node (e.g., terminal) may dynamically determine whether to transmit a signal in an idle period of an FFP occupied by a transmitting node (e.g., base station). Transmitting or not transmitting an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in a period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP within the COT initiated by the terminal may be indicated (e.g., configured) to the corresponding terminal. In this case, the terminal may determine whether to transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in the period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP until a time earlier by a predetermined time than a start time of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH). Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA), and
attempting to transmit the data via the second unlicensed radio channel at an uplink grant of the one or more intervening uplink grants (Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0132]-Moon discloses a terminal may attempt to share the COT initiated by the base station in the channel(s), and to transmit a PUSCH within the corresponding COT. Para. [0248]-Moon discloses the terminal may obtain information indicating to transmit a PUSCH based on one of the two COTs through an uplink grant (e.g., DCI format 0_X (X=0, 1, 2, . . . )) for scheduling the PUSCH. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band).
Moon fails to explicitly teach storing, at a user equipment, information about a sequence of uplink grants for the user equipment to make uplink transmissions via one or more radio channels of a plurality of unlicensed radio channels.
However, Einhaus teaches storing, at a user equipment, information about a sequence of uplink grants for the user equipment to make uplink transmissions via one or more radio channels of a plurality of unlicensed radio channels (Para. [0225]-Einhaus discloses uplink transmission sequence happening in an unlicensed cell. Claim [11]-Einhaus discloses user equipment comprises a storage which in operation store a type pattern defining for each subframe for which an uplink transmission is possible one of the different types of uplink transmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the type of uplink transmission for an uplink transmission based on the type pattern and the subframe for which the uplink transmission is scheduled. optionally wherein a first type pattern is predetermined for a sequence of two uplink transmissions, the first type pattern defining the third type for the first of the two uplink transmissions and defining the first type for the second of the two uplink transmissions, optionally wherein a second type pattern is predetermined for a sequence of three uplink transmissions, the second type pattern defining the fourth type for the first of the three uplink transmissions, defining the second type for the second of the three uplink transmissions, and defining the first or fourth type for the third of the three uplink transmissions. Para. [0221]-Einhaus discloses the UE, being scheduled to perform an uplink transmission for a particular subframe, will determine whether and how to apply the first and second mechanism based on this pattern and the particular subframe for which it was scheduled. Para. [0191]-Einhaus discloses in case that each uplink transmission in the unlicensed band requires a clear channel assessment (CCA) prior to the respective transmission in order to support fair channel access in coexistence with other equipment (such as Wi-Fi nodes) that are operating on the same unlicensed channel).
Moon and Einhaus are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with radio base station for scheduling uplink transmissions and to a user equipment for performing the scheduled uplink transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Moon to incorporate the teachings of Einhaus on uplink grants, with a motivation to store uplink grant sequences at the UE, and guarantee the reliability of the uplink transmission can be improved, and performance of the communication system can be improved, (Moon, Para. [0025]).
Regarding claims 2 and 30, Moon teaches the method according to claim 1 and The apparatus according to claim 29 respectively,
Moon further teaches attempting to transmit the data via the second unlicensed radio channel comprises attempting to transmit the data at the earliest uplink grant of the one or more intervening uplink grants (Para. [0283]-Moon discloses when the DCI including the COT initiation indicator (e.g., DCI corresponding to the COT initiation indicator) is transmitted in a COT of an n-th uplink FFP, an uplink FFP to which the COT initiation indication is applied may be a (n+K)-th uplink FFP ... if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0132]-Moon discloses a terminal may attempt to share the COT initiated by the base station in the channel(s), and to transmit a PUSCH within the corresponding COT).
Regarding claims 4 and 32, Moon teaches the method according to claim 1 and The apparatus according to claim 29 respectively,
Moon further teaches switching to the second unlicensed radio channel in response to a determination at the user equipment that the second radio channel has an index value related in a predetermined way to an index value of the first radio channel (Para. [0283]-Moon discloses if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. For another example, the terminal may be configured with an index (or number) of an uplink FFP within a unit time (e.g., one radio frame or two consecutive radio frames) through RRC signaling or DCI from the base station, and the terminal may initiate or may not initiate a COT for the uplink FFP having the index according to an indication of the base station. Para. [0274]-Moon discloses receiving node (e.g., terminal) may dynamically determine whether to transmit a signal in an idle period of an FFP occupied by a transmitting node (e.g., base station). Transmitting or not transmitting an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in a period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP within the COT initiated by the terminal may be indicated (e.g., configured) to the corresponding terminal. In this case, the terminal may determine whether to transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in the period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP until a time earlier by a predetermined time than a start time of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH). Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA).
Regarding claims 5 and 33, Moon teaches the method according to claim 1 and The apparatus according to claim 29 respectively,
Moon further teaches the sequence of uplink grants comprises a periodic sequence of uplink grants (Para. [0128]-Moon discloses receiving a configured grant, the terminal may obtain information on a resource region(s) in which a PUSCH may be transmitted (hereinafter, referred to as ‘configured grant resource(s)’). The configured grant resource may be configured periodically. One or more configured grant resource(s) may be periodically repeated. When uplink traffic (e.g., uplink shared channel (UL-SCH)) is generated, the terminal may transmit a PUSCH in the configured grant resource).
Regarding claims 6 and 34, Moon teaches the method according to claim 1 and The apparatus according to any claim 29 respectively,
Moon further teaches the one or more intervening uplink grants do not align with the start of a fixed frame period for the first unlicensed radio channel (Fig. 15, Para. [0257]-Moon discloses he start time of the uplink transmission may not be aligned with the boundary of the uplink FFP. In this case, the terminal may determine which COT the uplink transmission belongs to through a predefined rule or signaling from the base station. Para. [0211]-Moon discloses the downlink FFPs and the uplink FFPs may not be aligned with each other. For example, a time offset may be configured between the downlink FFPs and the uplink FFPs. Para. [0160-Moon discloses when the FFPs of the channel(s) in which the terminal receives the COT acquisition signal and the FFPs of the channel(s) to perform uplink transmission are not generally aligned with each other), and
are not within a channel occupancy time of a fixed frame period for the first unlicensed radio channel for which a successful channel access procedure by the user equipment is valid (Fig. 6B, Para. [0134]-Moon discloses the terminal may receive an uplink grant corresponding to a PUSCH in a region outside the COT in which the PUSCH is to be transmitted. Para. [0116]-Moon discloses terminal may determine the position of each FFP in the time domain, the position of the COT constituting each FFP, and/or the position of the idle period constituting each FFP in the time domain according to the configuration information on LBT operation (e.g., information on the FFP) and a predefined rule. Para. [0145]-Moon discloses the transmitting node (e.g., base station) may transmit a signal after a channel sensing operation is successful in an idle period. Accordingly, the COT acquisition signal may be transmitted at a start part of the COT. For example, the COT acquisition signal may be transmitted in symbol(s) including the first symbol of the COT (e.g., the first symbol of the FFP)).
Regarding claim 35, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 29,
Moon further teaches the second unlicensed radio channel is one of a plurality of unlicensed radio channels including resource blocks for which the apparatus is configured by a radio access network node to make data transmissions (Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0095]-Moon discloses communication of an unlicensed band, a contention-based channel access scheme may be used to provide fair channel use opportunities to communication nodes. Para. [0100]-Moon discloses communication node initiates or secures a COT or a channel occupancy (CO)’ may mean ‘the communication node occupies a channel(s) by succeeding in an LBT operation’. Para. [0108]-Moon discloses channel access procedure of an unlicensed band may be performed based on an LBE operation scheme and/or an FBE operation scheme. Para. [0118]-Moon discloses LBT operation may be performed on a specific frequency bundle basis. The frequency bundle may be referred to as ‘channel’, ‘LBT subband’, ‘subband’, or ‘resource block (RB) set’ ... The communication node may perform sensing and data transmission in 20 MHz or a frequency bundle unit corresponding to 20 MHz. Para. [0178]-Moon discloses unlicensed band communication ... applied to a PUSCH scheduled by a dynamic grant (e.g., uplink grant, DCI, DCI format, etc.)), and
the start time of a next fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel is earlier than the start times of next fixed frame periods for the other unlicensed radio channels of the plurality of unlicensed radio channels (Para. [0283]-Moon discloses when if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA).
Regarding claim 36, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 29,
Moon further teaches attempting to transmit the data via the second unlicensed radio channel comprises attempting a channel access procedure for access to the second unlicensed channel in a fixed frame period starting in alignment with one of the one or more intervening uplink grants (Para. [0283]-Moon discloses if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0108]-Moon discloses communication devices (e.g., communication nodes, base stations, and terminals) performing LBT operations in an unlicensed band may be classified into LBEs and FBEs. In addition, a channel access procedure of an unlicensed band may be performed based on an LBE operation scheme and/or an FBE operation scheme. Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0132]-Moon discloses a terminal may attempt to share the COT initiated by the base station in the channel(s), and to transmit a PUSCH within the corresponding COT).
Regarding claim 37, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 36,
Moon further teaches the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: in response to the channel access procedure being successful, transmitting the data within a channel occupancy time starting at the start of the fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel (Para. [0112]-Moon discloses when a sensing operation succeeds in an idle period before an FFP (e.g., when a channel is determined to be in the idle state), the communication node may transmit a signal within a COT of the corresponding FFP. Para. [0115]-Moon discloses COT may be initiated by the base station. When an LBT operation is successful in an idle period, the base station may transmit a downlink transmission burst to the terminal from a start time of the COT. Para. [0145]-Moon discloses the transmitting node (e.g., base station) may transmit a signal after a channel sensing operation is successful in an idle period. Accordingly, the COT acquisition signal may be transmitted at a start part of the COT. For example, the COT acquisition signal may be transmitted in symbol(s) including the first symbol of the COT (e.g., the first symbol of the FFP). Para. [0108]-Moon discloses communication devices (e.g., communication nodes, base stations, and terminals) performing LBT operations in an unlicensed band may be classified into LBEs and FBEs. In addition, a channel access procedure of an unlicensed band may be performed based on an LBE operation scheme and/or an FBE operation scheme. (See also Para. [0164-0165])).
Regarding claim 38, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 37,
Moon further teaches the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: transmit further data via the second unlicensed radio channel at one more later uplink grants within the channel occupancy time starting at the start of the fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel (Para. [0118]-Moon discloses LBT operation may be performed on a specific frequency bundle basis. The frequency bundle may be referred to as ‘channel’, ‘LBT subband’, ‘subband’, or ‘resource block (RB) set’ ... The communication node may perform sensing and data transmission in 20 MHz or a frequency bundle unit corresponding to 20 MHz. Para. [0112]-Moon discloses when a sensing operation succeeds in an idle period before an FFP (e.g., when a channel is determined to be in the idle state), the communication node may transmit a signal within a COT of the corresponding FFP. Para. [0115]-Moon discloses COT may be initiated by the base station. When an LBT operation is successful in an idle period, the base station may transmit a downlink transmission burst to the terminal from a start time of the COT. Para. [0145]-Moon discloses the transmitting node (e.g., base station) may transmit a signal after a channel sensing operation is successful in an idle period. Accordingly, the COT acquisition signal may be transmitted at a start part of the COT. For example, the COT acquisition signal may be transmitted in symbol(s) including the first symbol of the COT (e.g., the first symbol of the FFP). Para. [0108]-Moon discloses communication devices (e.g., communication nodes, base stations, and terminals) performing LBT operations in an unlicensed band may be classified into LBEs and FBEs. In addition, a channel access procedure of an unlicensed band may be performed based on an LBE operation scheme and/or an FBE operation scheme. (See also Para. [0164-0165])).
Regarding claim 39, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 37,
Moon further teaches the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: in response to having further data transmission-ready in time for transmission at a later uplink grant within the channel occupancy time of the fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel after no data transmission at a preceding uplink grant within the channel occupancy time of the fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel, attempt transmission of the further data via the second unlicensed radio channel (Para. [0283]-Moon discloses when the DCI including the COT initiation indicator (e.g., DCI corresponding to the COT initiation indicator) is transmitted in a COT of an n-th uplink FFP, an uplink FFP to which the COT initiation indication is applied may be a (n+K)-th uplink FFP ... if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0112]-Moon discloses when a sensing operation succeeds in an idle period before an FFP (e.g., when a channel is determined to be in the idle state), the communication node may transmit a signal within a COT of the corresponding FFP. Para. [0075]-Moon discloses base station may schedule a data channel (e.g., physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) using some or all of symbols constituting a slot. In particular, for URLLC transmission, unlicensed band transmission. Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0132]-Moon discloses a terminal may attempt to share the COT initiated by the base station in the channel(s), and to transmit a PUSCH within the corresponding COT).
Regarding claim 40, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 37,
Moon further teaches the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the at a later uplink grant within the channel occupancy time of the fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel after no data transmission by the user equipment at a preceding uplink grant within the channel occupancy time of the fixed frame period for the second unlicensed radio channel, attempt transmission of the further data via the second unlicensed radio channel or via another unlicensed radio channel, depending on whether no data transmission at the preceding uplink grant was a result of no data being transmission- ready for transmission at the preceding uplink grant, or the result of a channel access failure to make a data transmission at the preceding uplink grant (Para. [0112]-Moon discloses when a sensing operation succeeds in an idle period before an FFP (e.g., when a channel is determined to be in the idle state), the communication node may transmit a signal within a COT of the corresponding FFP. Para. [0283]-Moon discloses when the DCI including the COT initiation indicator (e.g., DCI corresponding to the COT initiation indicator) is transmitted in a COT of an n-th uplink FFP, an uplink FFP to which the COT initiation indication is applied may be a (n+K)-th uplink FFP ... if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0075]-Moon discloses base station may schedule a data channel (e.g., physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) using some or all of symbols constituting a slot. In particular, for URLLC transmission, unlicensed band transmission. Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0132]-Moon discloses a terminal may attempt to share the COT initiated by the base station in the channel(s), and to transmit a PUSCH within the corresponding COT).
Regarding claim 41, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 29,
Moon further teaches the first and second unlicensed radio channels comprise 20MHz channels (Para. [0118]-Moon discloses LBT operation may be performed on a specific frequency bundle basis. The frequency bundle may be referred to as ‘channel’, ‘LBT subband’, ‘subband’, or ‘resource block (RB) set’ ... The communication node may perform sensing and data transmission in 20 MHz or a frequency bundle unit corresponding to 20 MHz).
Regarding claim 42, Moon teaches the apparatus according to claim 41,
Moon further teaches attempting to transmit the data via the second unlicensed radio channel comprises attempting to transmit the data via a set of resource blocks within the second 20MHz channel (Para. [0118]-Moon discloses LBT operation may be performed on a specific frequency bundle basis. The frequency bundle may be referred to as ‘channel’, ‘LBT subband’, ‘subband’, or ‘resource block (RB) set’ ... The communication node may perform sensing and data transmission in 20 MHz or a frequency bundle unit corresponding to 20 MHz. Para. [0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may desire to transmit a configured grant PUSCH within a COT. Para. [0132]-Moon discloses a terminal may attempt to share the COT initiated by the base station in the channel(s), and to transmit a PUSCH within the corresponding COT).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 08/31/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6, 29-30 and 32-42 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [26-27], Applicant argues that, “…Einhaus's contribution … adds nothing regarding channel selection or FFP alignment across multiple channels.”
However, in Para. [0160]-Moon discloses boundaries of FFPs for a plurality of channels may be aligned with each other. Para. [0283]-Moon discloses if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [19-23], Applicant argues that, “…passage addresses timing considerations within a single channel to determine which FFP receives the COT initiation indication. It does not teach evaluating multiple channels to determine which channel has an FFP aligned with an upcoming grant, nor does it teach switching between channels based on such a determination.”
However, in Para. [0160]-Moon discloses boundaries of FFPs for a plurality of channels may be aligned with each other. Para. [0283]-Moon discloses if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0274]-Moon discloses receiving node (e.g., terminal) may dynamically determine whether to transmit a signal in an idle period of an FFP occupied by a transmitting node (e.g., base station). Transmitting or not transmitting an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in a period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP within the COT initiated by the terminal may be indicated (e.g., configured) to the corresponding terminal. In this case, the terminal may determine whether to transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in the period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP until a time earlier by a predetermined time than a start time of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH).
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [6-13], Applicant argues that, “…Neither Moon nor Einhaus, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests a user equipment determining which of multiple unlicensed radio channels has a fixed frame period starting in alignment with a next uplink grant and switching to that channel ... nothing in paragraph [0157] concerns selecting a channel by reference to fixed frame period alignment with an upcoming grant”.
However, in Para. [0160]-Moon discloses boundaries of FFPs for a plurality of channels may be aligned with each other. Para. [0283]-Moon discloses if a distance between a start time of a preconfigured uplink FFP or a start time of a sensing period corresponding to a start time of an uplink FFP and a reception end time of the DCI is less than T, the terminal may apply the COT initiation indication to an earliest uplink FFP for which the time T is secured among the next uplink FFPs of the preconfigured uplink FFP. Alternatively, in this case, the terminal may ignore the COT initiation indicator. Para. [0274]-Moon discloses receiving node (e.g., terminal) may dynamically determine whether to transmit a signal in an idle period of an FFP occupied by a transmitting node (e.g., base station). Transmitting or not transmitting an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in a period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP within the COT initiated by the terminal may be indicated (e.g., configured) to the corresponding terminal. In this case, the terminal may determine whether to transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in the period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP until a time earlier by a predetermined time than a start time of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH). Para. [0070]-Moon discloses wireless communication system supporting communication in an unlicensed band. Para. [0157]-Moon discloses transmitting node may perform an LBT operation on a plurality of channels (e.g., a plurality of LBT subbands, a plurality of RB sets), and initiate a common COT for channel(s) in which the transmitting node succeeded in CCA. Alternatively, the transmitting node may independently initiate a COT for each of the channel(s) that succeeded in CCA. Para. [0249]-Moon discloses among the above-described methods, a plurality of methods may be used as being combined.
In the remarks, on page 8, Lines [8-11], Applicant argues that, “…Einhaus's stored type pattern cannot disclose "successive uplink grants of the sequence of uplink grants being separated by a time period shorter than a duration of a fixed frame period of the plurality of unlicensed radio channels" as recited by claims 1 and 29 as amended.”
However, in Fig. 4, Para. [0110]-Moon discloses an FFP may include a COT and an idle period. The duration of the FFP may be referred to as T.sub.x, the COT (or CO) having a length of T.sub.y may be arrange in the front part of the FFP, and the idle period having a length of T.sub.z may be arrange in the rear part of the FFP. Each of T.sub.x, T.sub.y, and T.sub.z may be positive numbers. The sum of T.sub.y and T.sub.z may be T.sub.x. Here, the COT may mean a MCOT. That is, the duration of the MCOT may be T.sub.y, and a COT actually occupied by the communication node may be shorter than T.sub.y. The length of the idle period may occupy Z % of the FFP. For example, Z=5. The minimum value of the length of the idle period may be defined. For example, the minimum value of the length of the idle period may be 100 μs. In this case, T.sub.z may be max (0.05×T.sub.x, 100 μs). The FFP may appear periodically and repeatedly, and (20/T.sub.x) FFPs may be arranged within two consecutive radio frames (e.g., 20 ms period). Figs. 6A-6D, Para. [0133-0135]-Moon discloses the terminal may receive an uplink grant (e.g., uplink DCI, uplink DCI format, DCI format including scheduling information of a PUSCH) corresponding to the PUSCH in the COT in which the PUSCH is to be transmitted. For example, the uplink grant may be transmitted on a PDCCH. In this case, the uplink grant (or PDCCH including the uplink grant) may be regarded as a COT acquisition signal. That is, the terminal may determine that the COT initiated by the base station is shared by receiving the uplink grant, and transmit the PUSCH within the corresponding COT. Para. [0274]-Moon discloses the terminal may determine whether to transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH) in the period corresponding to the idle period of the downlink FFP until a time earlier by a predetermined time than a start time of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH). Here, an entity indicating (e.g., configuring) to transmit the uplink signal may be the base station (e.g., when the uplink signal is a dynamic grant PUSCH or a configured grant PUSCH) or a higher layer of the terminal (e.g., when the uplink signal is a configured grant PUSCH).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
LI et al. (US 20180263029 A1)-discloses Methods and devices for transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a licensed-assisted access using Long Term Evolution (LAA-LTE) system are provided. One example method performed by a terminal includes: determining that a first unlicensed carrier is unavailable in a subframe n+k, and sending the PUSCH to a base station in the subframe n+k by using an alternate carrier or in one of a subframe n+k+1 to a subframe n+k+m by using the first unlicensed carrier. In such a way, a delay in sending uplink data by the terminal is reduced…. …Fig. 1-5
Jiang et al. (US 20210378014 A1)-discloses an unlicensed band information transmission method, a terminal and a network device. The method includes: listening to a first transmission channel, where the first transmission channel adopts a first fixed frame period; and sending uplink information on the first transmission channel while detecting that the channel is idle…. …Fig. 1-5
Guo et al. (US 20240015791 A1)-discloses a user equipment (UE) may receive an uplink grant scheduling an uplink transmission that is not aligned with a fixed frame period (FFP) boundary configured for the UE. The UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) including an indication that the UE is to initiate a channel occupancy time (COT) acquisition in association with transmitting the uplink transmission. The UE may modify the indication based at least in part on the uplink transmission not being aligned with the FFP boundary and the indication indicating that the UE is to initiate the COT acquisition. The UE may transmit the uplink transmission based at least in part on the uplink grant and after the modification of the indication.… …Fig. 1-5
Moon et al. (US 20200280971 A1)-discloses methods and apparatuses for transmitting and receiving control information in a communication system supporting unlicensed band communication. An operation method of a terminal may comprise receiving, from a base station, first configuration information of a CORESET and second configuration information of a search space associated with the CORESET; receiving, from the base station, third configuration information indicating one or more PDCCH monitoring resource sets associated with the CORESET and the search space; and performing a PDCCH monitoring operation on the one or more PDCCH monitoring resource sets. Therefore, the performance of the communication system can be improved…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472