DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application does not claim for foreign priority.
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/110061 filed on 8/2/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 1/29/2024, 1/14/2025 and 4/4/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, it is suggested to amend the claim as follows for clarity.
10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information further comprises at least one of a cell list or a satellite list[[;]],
wherein the cell list is configured to indicate a cell to which the dynamic adjustment rule configured in the configuration information is applicable, and the dynamic adjustment rule is adapted to adjust a time parameter of a measurement window of the cell in the cell list[[;]], and
wherein the satellite list is configured to indicate a satellite to which the dynamic adjustment rule configured in the configuration information is applicable, and the dynamic adjustment rule is adapted to adjust a time parameter of a measurement window of the satellite in the satellite list, or a time parameter of a measurement window of a cell corresponding to the satellite in the satellite list.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 16, 20, 21, 30-34, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan et al. (US 2022/0263569 A1, hereinafter Fan).
Regarding claim 1:
Fan teaches a cell measurement method (see, Fan: Abstract; Fig. 3 and Fig. 4), performed by a terminal (see, Fan: Fig. 4, Terminal device 250), comprising:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information is configured to indicate a dynamic adjustment rule of a time parameter when the terminal performs a cell measurement (see, Fan: Fig. 4 and para. [0085], “S401, the first network device 241 configures the one or more measurement gap parameters for the terminal device 250; S402, the first network device 241 sends instruction information to the terminal device 250 to instruct the one or more delay-related parameters. The one or more measurement gap parameters include the measurement window.”); and
determining a measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule (see, Fan: Fig. 3 and para. [0096], “the terminal device 250 may determine the one or more delay-related parameters according to the instruction information sent by the first network device 241”; para. [0099], “the terminal device 250 adjusts the measurement window according to the instruction information.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Fan further teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a time parameter configuration function (see, Fan: para. [0060], “Synchronization measurement timing configuration includes an SSB periodicity, an offset of a starting time of an SSB relative to the SSB periodicity, and a duration of the SSB in the SSB periodicity.”; para. [0061], “Measurement gap (MP) includes a repetition periodicity of a measurement gap, an offset of an actual starting time of the measurement gap relative to a starting time of a measurement gap periodicity, a duration of the measurement gap, and a timing advance of a starting time of the measurement gap.”); and determining the measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule comprises: determining the measurement window based on the time parameter configuration function (see, Fan: para. [0069], “After obtaining the SMTC, the terminal device determines a measurement window, measures an SSB on the measurement window, and completes downlink synchronization with the neighboring cell.”).
Regarding claim 16:
Fan teaches a cell measurement method (see, Fan: Abstract; Fig. 3 and Fig. 4), performed by a network device (see, Fan: Fig. 4, First network device 241), comprising: sending configuration information to a terminal, wherein the configuration information is configured to indicate a dynamic adjustment rule of a time parameter when the terminal performs a cell measurement (see, Fan: Fig. 4 and para. [0085], “S401, the first network device 241 configures the one or more measurement gap parameters for the terminal device 250; S402, the first network device 241 sends instruction information to the terminal device 250 to instruct the one or more delay-related parameters. The one or more measurement gap parameters include the measurement window.”).
Regarding claim 20:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 16.
Fan further teaches wherein the measurement window comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block measurement timing configuration (SSB-MTC) or a measurement gap (see, Fan: para. [0003], “a terminal device obtains synchronization measurement timing configuration (SMTC) of a target measurement cell, and quickly locates a synchronization signal block (SSB) of a frequency point of the target measurement cell according to a measurement window configured in the SMTC, so as to complete a process of downlink synchronization with the target measurement cell.”; para. [0069], “In NR, SMTC corresponding to the neighboring cell is sent to the terminal device. After obtaining the SMTC, the terminal device determines a measurement window, measures an SSB on the measurement window, and completes downlink synchronization with the neighboring cell.”; para. [0085], “the first network device 241 sends instruction information to the terminal device 250 to instruct the one or more delay-related parameters. The one or more measurement gap parameters include the measurement window.”).
Regarding claim 21:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 16.
Fan further teaches wherein the time parameter comprises at least one of an offset, a period or a duration (see, Fan: para. [0060], “Synchronization measurement timing configuration includes an SSB periodicity, an offset of a starting time of an SSB relative to the SSB periodicity, and a duration of the SSB in the SSB periodicity.”).
Regarding claim 30:
Claim 30 is directed towards a terminal (see, Fan: Fig. 14, Terminal Device), comprising: a processor (see, Fan: Fig. 14, Processor 1401); a transceiver (see, Fan: Fig. 14, Transceiver 1403) connected to the processor; and a memory (see, Fan: Fig. 14, Memory 1402) having stored therein executable instructions of the processor; wherein the processor is configured to: perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim A above.
Regarding claim 31:
Claim 31 is directed towards a network device (see, Fan: Fig. 13, Network Device), comprising: a processor (see, Fan: Fig. 13, Processor 1301); a transceiver (see, Fan: Fig. 13, Transceiver 1303) connected to the processor; and a memory (see, Fan: Fig. 13, Memory 1302) having stored therein executable instructions of the processor; wherein the processor is configured to implement the cell measurement method according to claim 16. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 32:
Claim 32 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, Fan: Fig. 14, Memory 1402) having stored therein executable instructions that, when loaded and executed by a processor (see, Fan: Fig. 14, Processor 1401), cause the cell measurement method according to claim 1 to be implemented. Therefore, claim 32 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 33:
Claim 33 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, Fan: Fig. 13, Memory 1302) having stored therein executable instructions that, when loaded and executed by a processor (see, Fan: Fig. 13, Processor 1301), cause the cell measurement method according to claim 16 to be implemented. Therefore, claim 33 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 34:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Fan further teaches wherein the configuration information further comprises a priority of the measurement window (see, Fan: para. [0161], “the terminal device 250 presets the priorities of the delay offset information and the public offset information. If the terminal device 250 receives the information with the higher priority, the terminal device 250 adjusts the measurement window with the information as a reference. If no information about a neighboring cell with a highest priority is received, information with a second highest priority is used as a reference, and so on.”).
Regarding claim 37:
Claim 37 is directed towards the terminal according to claim 30 that is further limited to similar features to claim 34. Therefore, claim 37 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 34 above.
Regarding claim 38:
Claim 38 is directed towards the method according to claim 16 that is further limited to perform the similar feature of claim 34. Therefore, claim 38 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 34 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan in view of Fan (US 2023/0396325 A1, hereinafter Fan2).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein determining the measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule comprises: determining the measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule and an initial time parameter.
In the same field of endeavor, Fan2 teaches wherein determining the measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule comprises: determining the measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule and an initial time parameter (see, Fan2: para. [0006], “receiving, by a terminal device, first information, where the first information is used by the terminal device to search for a signal at a target frequency point, and the first information includes at least one of:”; para. [0008], “reference information for adjusting a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel Block Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) configuration window associated with the target frequency point”; para. [0080], “the terminal device receives the first information.”; para. [0081], “the terminal device can know position and direction of the satellite associated with the target frequency point based on the ephemeris information associated with the target frequency point, and the terminal device can also know a time domain position of the SMTC window based on the reference information for adjusting the SMTC configuration window associated with the target frequency point”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Fan in combination of the teachings of Fan2 in order for the terminal to adjust SMTC configuration window based on the reference information (see, Fan2: para. [0081]).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Fan in view of Fan2 teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Fan2 further teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a time parameter change rate (e.g., a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay) (see, Fan2: para. [0095], “information about a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay between the feed link signals for the service satellite of the terminal device and the satellite associated with the target frequency point”; para. [0098-0099], “information about a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay between the link signals from the service cell of the terminal device to the reference point and from the cell associated with the target frequency point to the reference point; and information about a rate of change in time of the SMTC information associated with the target frequency point.”); and determining the measurement window based on the dynamic adjustment rule and the initial time parameter comprises: determining the measurement window based on the initial time parameter and the time parameter change rate (see, Fan2: para. [0093], “the reference information for adjusting the SMTC configuration window associated with the target frequency point includes at least one of:”; para. [0095], “information about a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay between the feed link signals for the service satellite of the terminal device and the satellite associated with the target frequency point”; para. [0098-0099], “information about a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay between the link signals from the service cell of the terminal device to the reference point and from the cell associated with the target frequency point to the reference point; and information about a rate of change in time of the SMTC information associated with the target frequency point.”).
Regarding claim 10:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information further comprises at least one of a cell list or a satellite list; wherein the cell list is configured to indicate a cell to which the dynamic adjustment rule configured in the configuration information is applicable, and the dynamic adjustment rule is adapted to adjust a time parameter of a measurement window of the cell in the cell list; the satellite list is configured to indicate a satellite to which the dynamic adjustment rule configured in the configuration information is applicable, and the dynamic adjustment rule is adapted to adjust a time parameter of a measurement window of the satellite in the satellite list, or a time parameter of a measurement window of a cell corresponding to the satellite in the satellite list.
In the same field of endeavor, Fan2 teaches wherein the configuration information further comprises at least one of a cell list or a satellite list; wherein the cell list is configured to indicate a cell to which the dynamic adjustment rule configured in the configuration information is applicable, and the dynamic adjustment rule is adapted to adjust a time parameter of a measurement window of the cell in the cell list; the satellite list is configured to indicate a satellite to which the dynamic adjustment rule configured in the configuration information is applicable, and the dynamic adjustment rule is adapted to adjust a time parameter of a measurement window of the satellite in the satellite list, or a time parameter of a measurement window of a cell corresponding to the satellite in the satellite list (see, Fan2: para. [0061], “the network side typically configures one or more Measurement Objects (MOs) for the terminal device through a dedicated signaling. Each piece of MO configuration information includes information about one target frequency point. Alternatively, one piece of MO configuration information may include both information about one target frequency point and Physical Cell Identity (PCI) list information associated with this target frequency point. … To identify a cell, the terminal needs to determine both the frequency point and the PCI information corresponding to the cell. However, since there are only 1008 NR PCIs, the terminal device may also search for the target cell through a PCI traversal method when the MO configuration information only contains the target frequency point information. On the other hand, if the network side informs the terminal device of both the frequency point and the PCI list information of the measurement object, the cell search of the terminal device may be speeded up.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Fan in combination of the teachings of Fan2 in order for the terminal to speed up the cell search based on the frequency point and the PCI list information of the measurement object (see, Fan2: para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 17:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 16.
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of a time parameter change rate an initial time parameter, or a time parameter configuration function.
In the same field of endeavor, Fan2 teaches wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of a time parameter change rate an initial time parameter, or a time parameter configuration function (see, Fan2: para. [0093], “the reference information for adjusting the SMTC configuration window associated with the target frequency point includes at least one of:”; para. [0095], “information about a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay between the feed link signals for the service satellite of the terminal device and the satellite associated with the target frequency point”; para. [0098-0099], “information about a rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay between the link signals from the service cell of the terminal device to the reference point and from the cell associated with the target frequency point to the reference point; and information about a rate of change in time of the SMTC information associated with the target frequency point.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Fan in combination of the teachings of Fan2 in order for the terminal to adjust SMTC configuration window based on the reference information and the rate of change in time of the amount of difference in propagation time delay (see, Fan2: para. [0093] [0095] [0098-0099]).
Claims 11, 13, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan in view of LG Electronics Inc. (“Measurement window enhancements for NTN cell”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #114 electronic, R2-2106347, May 19-27, 2021, hereinafter LG).
Regarding claim 11:
As discussed above, Fan teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information further comprises sharing mode indication information; and wherein the sharing mode indication information is configured to indicate a window determining manner when measurement windows calculated from at least two sets of configuration information overlap.
In the same field of endeavor, LG teaches wherein the configuration information further comprises sharing mode indication information; and wherein the sharing mode indication information is configured to indicate a window determining manner when measurement windows calculated from at least two sets of configuration information overlap (see, LG: Discussion and Figure 2, “If the difference of the measurement timing of cell A and B is 2ms form an UE perspective and the length of the SMTC window is 5ms, then the SMTC windows configured for cell A and B will be partially overlapped as shown below. Then, the overlapping two windows can be used as a single long measurement window with 7ms length for SSB measurements.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Fan in combination of the teachings of LG in order to configure the overlapping two windows as a single long measurement window for SSB measurements (see, LG: Discussion and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13:
As discussed above, Fan in view of LG teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Fan further teaches wherein performing a measurement using a measurement window with a highest priority from the measurement windows calculated from the at least two sets of configuration information when the sharing mode indication information indicates a priority determining manner, wherein the measurement window with the highest priority comprises a measurement window calculated according to configuration information with a highest priority (see, Fan: para. [0161], “If the terminal device 250 receives the information with the higher priority, the terminal device 250 adjusts the measurement window with the information as a reference. If no information about a neighboring cell with a highest priority is received, information with a second highest priority is used as a reference, and so on.”).
Regarding claim 35:
Claim 35 is directed towards the terminal according to claim 30 that is further limited to similar features to claim 11. Therefore, claim 35 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 36:
Claim 36 is directed towards the terminal according to claim 30 that is further limited to similar features to claim 13. Therefore, claim 36 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 13 above.
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471