DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-14 filed 07/24/2024 are pending in the application and are hereby examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0183613 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Nakamura).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14, Nakamura teaches a method of modifying a flavor of an alcoholic beverage such as shochu (0057), the method comprising introducing to the alcoholic beverage an emulsified flavor composition that comprises an oil-soluble component containing a flavor (0009-0014; 0054-0057), wherein the oil-soluble component containing a flavor can be an ether such as vanillyl butyl ether (0019; 0026). vanillyl butyl ether reads on formula (I) where R1 is methyl and R2 is butyl, and shochu is a distilled spirit known to have an ethanol content of at least 25% ABV, and is also known to contain congeners (e.g., taste or aroma compounds) as a result of fermentation.
Claims 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by R. Ter Heide, “Concentration and identification of trace constituents in alcoholic beverages”, Anal. Foods Beverages, [Proc. Symp.], 1978, pages 249-81 (hereinafter referred to as Heide).
Regarding claims 8-12 and 14, Heide teaches a beverage composition comprising a distilled spirit (e.g., Cognac) and a vanillic ether compound that meets formula (I) as recited in instant claims 8-11 (e.g., ethyl vanillyl ether) (Abstract; Table 1 on page 261, under “PHENOLS”). Cognac is known to contain more than 20% ethanol ABV, and contain congeners.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claims 1 and 8 above.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Nakamura teaches that the emulsified flavor composition comprises 0.1-10% flavor component (0033), and that the alcoholic beverage comprises 0.01-0.5% by weight of the emulsified flavor composition (0058). As such, the alcoholic beverage contains 0.00001-0.05% or 0.1-500 ppm a flavor component such as vanillyl butyl ether. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Conclusion
Pertinent art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure
-MacNamara, “Advances in the ageing Chemistry of Distilled Spirits Maturated in oak barrel”, LC-GC Europe, 2011, 24(9), pages 448-466, which teaches whiskey matured in oak barrels contains vanillyl ethyl ether and vanillyl butyl ether.
-Aida US Patent No. 8,071,531 B2, which teaches including a flavor and fragrant composition that comprises vanillyl ethyl ether or vanillyl propyl ether in a beverage such as fruit spirit.
-Harvey US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0148103 A1, which teaches adding a heating or warming composition that comprises a cooling agent and a warming agent such as vanillyl alkyl (e.g., ethyl, propyl, or butyl) ether to a beverage such as an alcoholic beverage so as to provide a heating sensation to the beverage.
-Xie CN109481659 A, which teaches including vanillyl butyl ether in Baijiu.
-Simon, “Characterization of Volatile Constituents in Commercial Oak Wood Chips”, J. Agric. Food Chem. 2010, 58, pages 9587-9596, which teaches that oak wood contains ethyl vanillyl ether.
/CHANGQING LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791