DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made to the amendment received July 10, 2026, amending Claims 1, 3, and 5-12.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wet mop rag module” in Claims 1-7 and 11, “module housing” in Claims 1 and 7, “rotary cleaning unit” in Claims 1 and 7, “overheating shut-off device” in Claims 1, 5-7, and 10, and “module battery” in Claims 6, 9, and 10.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh) in view of common design knowledge.
Regarding Amended Claim 1, Oh teaches:
[Claim 1] A wet mop rag module for a cleaner (suction brush of a vacuum cleaner), which cleans a floor surface by wiping away debris (with dusters 71 and 72), the wet mop rag module comprising:
a module housing (brush main body 10);
a water tank (water storage tank 50) coupled to the module housing and configured to store water
at least one rotary cleaning unit (first and second duster rotating plates 41 and 42) disposed at a lower side of the module housing and configured to be coupled to a mop rag (dusters 71 and 72)
a steam generator (steam generating unit 60) configured to heat water supplied from the water tank,
wherein the steam generator comprises:
a heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) having a flow path (path through “U”-shaped guide groove 65a, spray hole 65b, and spray nozzle 65c, Figures 7A and 7B) in which moisture flows;
a plurality of heaters (heater 66 – see discussion below)
an overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) disposed at one side of the heating chamber (Figures 8A and 8B) and configured to cut off a supply of power to the plurality of heaters based on being equal to or higher than a predetermined reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Oh discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s), including heater 66, however, Oh does not disclose a plurality of heaters. As shown in Figure 7a, the heater has a single nozzle 65c to deliver steam to the floor surface. As shown in Figure 2, the nozzle 65c is located proximate the leftmost duster plate 41. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the location of suction port 13a would prevent steam from efficiently reaching the rightmost duster plate 42. Therefore, it would be obviously beneficial to symmetrically locate a second heater in a location proximate the rightmost duster plate to ensure that steam is more evenly distributed under the cleaning head. That being said, it would have been obvious to redesign the storage tank 50 and pump 61 to create the necessary space in the housing. Therefore, in summary, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a second heater, with the same method of operation, in a location symmetrical to the shown location with the motivation to efficiently supply steam proximate to both duster plates, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 2, Oh teaches:
[Claim 2] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the steam generator (steam generating unit 60) further comprises a temperature detector (temperature control device 81) disposed on a lateral surface (top and side shown in Figure 8A) of the heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) and configured to measure the temperature of the heating chamber (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature”).
Regarding Amended Claim 3, Oh teaches:
[Claim 3] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the steam generator (steam generating unit 60) further comprises:
a lower cover (lower case 65) disposed at a lower side of the plurality of heaters (heater 66) plurality of heaters (heater 66)
a lower insulator (see discussion below) disposed between the plurality of heaters (heater 66) plurality of heaters (heater 66)
As shown in Figure 7A, Oh discloses a heater 66 positioned below a fluid path 65a to heat water into steam. Oh does not disclose an insulator located below the heater to block heat loss away from the fluid path. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an insulator to the Oh device disposed between the heater and the lower cover with the motivation to block heat from being wasted by transferring heat away from the fluid. Additionally, an insulator would be beneficial to reduce the temperature of the outer surface of the lower case 65 which appears to be mounted in a plastic enclosure.
Regarding Amended Claim 5, Oh teaches:
[Claim 5] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the plurality of heaters (heater 66) are symmetrically (U-shaped heater comprising two straight heating segments joined by a semicircular heating segment added and labeled in attached Figures 7A and 7B below) disposed based on an imaginary symmetric surface (labeled in attached Figures 7A and 7B below), and the overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) is disposed on the symmetric surface (shown in attached Figures 7A and 7B below).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh) in view of No KR 101342567 B1 (hereafter No).
Regarding Claim 4, Oh teaches:
[Claim 4] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the steam generator further comprising:
a sealer (see discussion below) disposed at an upper side of the heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) and configured to seal the upper side of the heating chamber;
an upper insulator (see discussion below) disposed at an upper side of the sealer and configured to block heat transferred from the heating chamber; and
an upper cover (upper case 64) disposed at an upper side of the upper insulator.
As shown in Figures 7A and 7B, Oh shows a bolted connection between upper case 64 and lower case 65 that form a fluid cavity. Oh does not disclose a gasket (sealer) between the two parts to prevent fluid leakage out of the cavity. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a gasket to seal the flange between the two parts since it is common knowledge prior art solution for preventing leakage. The reference No discloses in Figure 6 a steam generating means 130 that includes a concave groove 136a forming a fluid path between heater block 136 and heater block cover 138. No discloses a gasket 139 that “is installed between the heater block cover 138 and the heater block 136 to prevent water leakage. In addition, by installing one surface of the heater block 136 in which the recess groove 136a is formed to cover the heater block cover 138, the water is covered through the recess groove 136a to cover the recess groove 136a. To form a movable flow path.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to include a gasket as taught by No between the bolted connection between upper case 64 and lower case 65 that form a fluid cavity with the motivation to prevent fluid leakage out of the heating chamber an into the inside of the device.
As shown in Figure 7A, Oh discloses a heater 66 positioned below a fluid path 65a to heat water into steam. Oh, does not disclose an insulator located above the fluid path inside the heating chamber to block heat loss away from the fluid path. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an insulator to the Oh device disposed between the fluid path and the upper cover with the motivation to block heat from being wasted by transferring heat away from the fluid. Additionally, an insulator would be beneficial to reduce the temperature of the outer surface of the upper case which appears to be mounted in a plastic enclosure.
Claim 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh) in view of Lee et al. KR 100766437 B1 (hereafter Lee et al.) and Yang et al. US 2019/0328193 (hereafter Yang et al.).
Regarding Amended Claim 6, Oh teaches:
[Claim 6] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, further comprising:
a module battery (see discussion below) configured to supply power (through power line (not shown), Paragraph [0059]) to the plurality of heaters (heater 66)
wherein the overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) [[cuts]] is configured to cut off a supply of power from the module battery to the plurality of heaters (heater 66) based on being [[is]] equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Oh discloses a power source to supply power heat water from a water tank into steam and supply power to rotate the dusters. Oh, however, does not disclose the type of power source.
The reference Lee et al. discloses a steam cleaner device that includes a heating element 1a powered by a battery 14 located in main body 1 as shown in Figure 2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to locate a battery within the suction head body to specifically power the heater as taught by Lee et al. with the motivation to provide a power source for creating steam.
The reference Yang et al. discloses a suction head 1 in Figure 6 with rotating dusters 40 and 41 configured with a connection tube 50 to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Yang et al. discloses in Paragraph [0097] that the suction head 1 can have a battery to supply power or can be operated by receiving power from the cleaner. That being said, Yang et al. appears to be referring to a battery powered cleaner since an AC powered cleaner would not benefit from a suction head mounted battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to employ a main battery to power the non-illustrated main cleaner, as taught by Yang et al, and also include a module battery, as taught by Lee et al., inside the suction head. with the motivation to provide additional power capacity specifically to the heater to create steam, since the amount of power to heat water to steam is significant and would otherwise greatly reduce the operational life of a main battery operating the cleaner device.
Regarding Amended Claim 7, Oh teaches:
[Claim 7] A cleaner comprising:
a cleaner main body (a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed, Paragraph [0041]) comprising a main battery (see discussion below); and
a wet mop rag module (suction brush of a vacuum cleaner) connected to the cleaner main body (through connection tube 10a) and configured to clean a floor surface by wiping away debris (with dusters 71 and 72),
wherein the wet mop rag module comprises:
a module housing (brush main body 10);
a water tank (water storage tank 50) coupled to the module housing and configured to store water
at least one rotary cleaning unit (first and second duster rotating plates 41 and 42) disposed at a lower side of the module housing and configured to be coupled to a mop rag (dusters 71 and 72)
a drive motor (turbine fan 20) accommodated in the module housing and configured to provide a rotational force (through power transfer unit 30) to the rotary cleaning unit; and
a steam generator (steam generating unit 60) configured to heat water supplied from the water tank, [[and]] wherein the steam generator comprises:
a heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) having a flow path (path through “U”-shaped guide groove 65a, spray hole 65b, and spray nozzle 65c, Figures 7A and 7B) in which moisture flows, [[;]]
a plurality of heaters (heater 66 – see discussion below) , [[;]] and
an overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) disposed at one side of the heating chamber (Figures 8A and 8B) and configured to cut off a supply of power to the plurality of heaters (heater 66) based on a temperature of the heating chamber [[is]] being equal to or higher than a predetermined reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Oh discloses a power source to supply power heat water from a water tank into steam and supply power to rotate the dusters. Oh, however, does not disclose the type of power source.
The reference Lee et al. discloses a steam cleaner device that includes a heating element 1a powered by a battery 14 located in main body 1 as shown in Figure 2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to locate a battery within the suction head body to specifically power the heater as taught by Lee et al. with the motivation to provide a power source for creating steam.
The reference Yang et al. discloses a suction head 1 in Figure 6 with rotating dusters 40 and 41 configured with a connection tube 50 to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Yang et al. discloses in Paragraph [0097] that the suction head 1 can have a battery to supply power or can be operated by receiving power from the cleaner. That being said, Yang et al. appears to be referring to a battery powered cleaner since an AC powered cleaner would not benefit from a suction head mounted battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to employ a main battery to power the non-illustrated main cleaner, as taught by Yang et al, and also include a module battery, as taught by Lee et al., inside the suction head. with the motivation to provide additional power capacity specifically to the heater to create steam, since the amount of power to heat water to steam is significant and would otherwise greatly reduce the operational life of a main battery operating the cleaner device.
Oh discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s), including heater 66, however, Oh does not disclose a plurality of heaters. As shown in Figure 7a, the heater has a single nozzle 65c to deliver steam to the floor surface. As shown in Figure 2, the nozzle 65c is located proximate the leftmost duster plate 41. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the location of suction port 13a would prevent steam from efficiently reaching the rightmost duster plate 42. Therefore, it would be obviously beneficial to symmetrically locate a second heater in a location proximate the rightmost duster plate to ensure that steam is more evenly distributed under the cleaning head. That being said, it would have been obvious to redesign the storage tank 50 and pump 61 to create the necessary space in the housing. Therefore, in summary, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a second heater, with the same method of operation, in a location symmetrical to the shown location with the motivation to efficiently supply steam proximate to both duster plates, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Amended Claim 8, Oh teaches:
[Claim 8] The cleaner of claim 7, wherein the drive motor (turbine fan 20) is configured to, [[when]] based on the temperature of the heating chamber [[is]] being equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature, receive power, while the supply of power to the plurality of heaters (heater 66)
As previously presented in Claim 7, Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected to a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. As presented, it would have been obvious that the main body of the cleaner is battery powered and could possibly be configured to drive different suction heads such as a typical motor driven vacuum brush head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to provide power to the turbine fan 20 to rotate the dusters 70 and 71 using power to from the main device and provide user controlled signal to switch the power of the battery inside the suction head to provide power to the heater through the module battery as desired by a user.
That being said, it would have been obvious to modify the Oh device to have the overheating shut-off device to only shut off the power to the heater without shutting off power provided by the main cleaner to the rotating dusters.
Regarding Amended Claim 9, Oh teaches:
[Claim 9] The cleaner of claim 7, further comprising:
a module battery (see discussion in Claim 7) configured to supply power (through power line (not shown), Paragraph [0059]) to the steam generator (steam generating unit 60),
wherein the main battery is configured to supply is configured to supply plurality of heaters (heater 66)
As previously presented in Claim 7, Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected to a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. As presented, it would have been obvious that the main body of the cleaner is battery powered and could possibly be configured to drive different suction heads such as a typical motor driven vacuum brush head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to provide power to the turbine fan 20 to rotate the dusters 70 and 71 using power to from the main device and provide user controlled signal to switch the power of the battery inside the suction head, as taught by Lee et al. to provide power to the heater through the module battery as desired by a user.
Regarding Amended Claim 10, Oh teaches:
[Claim 10] The cleaner of claim 9, wherein the overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) is configured to cut off based on the temperature of the heating chamber being [[is]] equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, a search of the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the method as claimed in the context of the entire scope of the claims. Thus, for at least the foregoing reasons, the instant invention is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art because the method is not taught nor suggested as set forth in the entire context of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant’s arguments with amendments, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 2 under Oh US 2008/0282490, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, as necessitated by amendment, the rejections under Oh US 2008/0282490 have been withdrawn.
As necessitated by amendment, new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of Claims 1-10 have been made under Oh US 2008/0282490 in view of design choice.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with amendments, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of Claims 3-10 under Oh US 2008/0282490, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with amendments, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of Claims 11 and 12 under Oh US 2008/0282490, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, as necessitated by amendment, the rejections of Claims 1-10 stand and the rejections of Claims 11 and 12 have been withdrawn.
The Applicant’s arguments regarding the plurality of heaters are addressed in this office action. Other arguments are persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723