DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claims received on 8/5/2026.
Examiner's Recommendations
The following are suggestions for the Applicants to overcome the rejections in the current office action; however, an additional search would be required in order to determine allowability. The disclosure enables this suggestion on par. 166 of the specification in reference to Fig. 9. These recommendations are also meant to address some of the concerns expressed by the Applicants in the remarks:
1. (Amended) A method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, by the UE, from a location server, one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning;
switching, by the UE, to a normal mode configuration;
performing, by the UE in the normal mode configuration, a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure;
transmitting, by the UE in the normal mode configuration, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources;
switching, by the UE, to a PRS mode configuration;
performing, by the UE in the PRS mode configuration, a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure; and
transmitting, by the UE in the PRS mode configuration, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources, wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements.
19. (Amended) A user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
receive, by the UE, via the one or more transceivers, from a location server, one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning;
switch, by the UE, to a normal mode configuration;
perform, by the UE in the normal mode configuration, a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure;
transmit, by the UE in the normal mode configuration, via the one or more transceivers, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources;
switch, by the UE, to a PRS mode configuration;
perform, by the UE in the PRS mode configuration, a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure; and
transmit, by the UE in the PRS mode configuration, via the one or more transceivers, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources, wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements.
37. (Amended) A user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving, by the UE, from a location server, one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning;
means for switching, by the UE, to a normal mode configuration;
means for performing, by the UE in the normal mode configuration, a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure;
means for transmitting, by the UE in the normal mode configuration, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources;
means for switching, by the UE, to a PRS mode configuration;
means for performing, by the UE in the PRS mode configuration, a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure; and
means for transmitting, by the UE in the PRS mode configuration, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources, wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant’s reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter:
Ren et al (publication number 2023/0262647), hereinafter Ren, teaches user equipment (UE) positioning methods by the UE measuring the Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) and reporting those measurements to a Location Management Function, LMF, entity. The LMF can configure, via a base station, a UE to operate in at least two different modes:
Reference UE: a UE that assists in locating the target UE. The LMF sends, to the reference UE, downlink or uplink PRS configuration information including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station.
Target UE: The LMF sends, to the target UE, downlink or uplink PRS configuration information including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station.
Regarding claim 23, Ren teaches performing a set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources indicated by the first PRS configuration (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); Ren's invention is meant to improve positioning accuracy of a UE – see [0181]. However, Ren falls short of the UE performing positioning measurements only until an accuracy of an estimate of a location of the UE is above a threshold, and activating a second set of PRS resources in response to the accuracy of the estimate of the location of the UE being above the threshold.
Regarding claim 29, Ren teaches which set of PRS resources a UE is capable of measuring, and different embodiments of Ren teach different sets of PRS resources need to be measured, for example, on the downlink by a UE or on the uplink by a base station. For example, in Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement. However, Ren falls short of a first set of PRS resources being less than all of the PRS resources of the first PRS configuration that the UE is capable of measuring, and a second set of PRS resources being all of the PRS resources of the first PRS configuration that the UE is capable of measuring.
Therefore, in view of their respective base claims, the further limitations of the above-mentioned claims in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, are neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Claim Interpretation
The independent claims are interpreted as follows: 1. (Original) A method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE; no weight is given to the preamble), comprising:
receiving (this "receiving" operation may be performed by any device), from a location server, one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning;
performing (this "performing" operation may be performed by any device, which may be either the same device which performs the "receiving" operation or any other device) a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure;
transmitting (this operation may be performed by any device, which may be either the same device which performs the "receiving" operation or any other device), to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources;
performing (this operation may be performed by any device, which may be either the same device which performs the "receiving" operation or any other device) a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure; and
transmitting (this operation may be performed by any device, which may be either the same device which performs the "receiving" operation or any other device), to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources, wherein (this "wherein" clause doesn't have patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04: In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court noted that a "whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply express the intended result of a process step positively recited.") a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements.
Claim Interpretation under 35 USC 112, sixth paragraph
Such claim limitations are, in claim 37:
means for receiving, from a location server, one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used…
means for performing a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration of the…
means for transmitting, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including…
means for performing a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration of the…
means for transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the…
The above-cited limitations use generic placeholder “means”, coupled with functional language after transitional word “for” (MPEP 2181 does not require a transitional word, such as “for”, or “configured to”) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholders are not preceded by structural modifiers.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification and drawings shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation (please refer to par. 69 in reference to Fig. 3A of the Drawings): "The UE 302 and the base station 304 each include one or more wireless wide area network (WWAN) transceivers 310 and 350, respectively, providing means for communicating (e.g., means for transmitting, means for receiving, means for measuring, means for tuning, means for refraining from transmitting, etc.) via one or more wireless communication networks…" In addition, par. 76 of the specification cites "positioning components" as "means" for performing the functions described by the limitations which invoke interpretation under 35 USC 112(f), and par. 76 explains that these positioning components are hardware circuits or memory which belong to the same transceivers 310 and 360. Therefore, clearly, claimed "means" equate to the transceiver 310 of Fig. 3A.
Generic placeholders are definite: the structure described in the Specification and Drawings as explained in the current office action is: a. present; b. sufficient to perform the function that follows in the corresponding functional limitation; and c. capable of performing the function, and the specification clearly links the structure to the claimed function, because the corresponding structure includes a transceiver, and the disclosure in the specification does link, in the description of Fig. 3A, the structure to the claimed function. Therefore, the generic placeholders are not a reason for rendering indefinite the limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this office action.
If applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regards to claims and rejection analysis have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicants argue, on page 10, 4th par., that referring first to the "receiving" feature of independent claim 1, in rejecting this feature, the Examiner alleged that "Claimed UE in 'normal mode' equates to 'target UE' in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station" (5/12/2026 Non-Final Rejection, p.11, emphasis in original). The Examiner further alleged that "Claimed UE in 'PRU mode' equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station" (Id., emphasis in original). The Examiner appears to be interpreting the target UE in Ren receiving PRS configuration information as disclosing the feature of "receiving ... one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning," and the reference UE in Ren receiving PRS configuration information as disclosing the feature of "receiving ... one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning." That is, the Examiner appears to be interpreting a first type of UE in Ren (the target UE) receiving first PRS configuration information and a second type of UE in Ren (the reference UE) receiving second PRS configuration information as disclosing the UE in independent claim 1 "receiving ... one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning." However, independent claim 1 recites operations performed by a single UE (i.e., "A method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE)"). As would be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art, different UEs receiving different PRS configuration information, as in Ren, cannot disclose or suggest a single UE "receiving ... one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning."
Examiner’s response to Argument 1: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "operations performed by a single UE") are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the independent claims do not either exclude or require the argued "a first type of UE in Ren (the target UE) receiving first PRS configuration information and a second type of UE in Ren (the reference UE) receiving second PRS configuration information" and the independent claims do not recite the argued "one single UE". The recommendations at the beginning of the office action are meant to address this concern expressed by the Applicants. If the claims were amended as recommended, all operations would need to be performed by the same UE.
Argument 2: Applicants argue, on page 11, 2nd par., that even if a single UE in Ren could operate at some times as a target UE and at other times as a reference UE, which the Applicant does not admit, there is no disclosure or suggestion in Ren that when operating as either a target UE or a reference UE, the UE would receive both the PRS configuration information for a target UE and the PRS configuration information for a reference UE. There is simply no disclosure or suggestion in Ren of a single UE "receiving ... one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning."
Examiner’s response to Argument 2: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "a single UE") are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the independent claims do not either exclude or require the argued "a single UE in Ren could operate at some times as a target UE and at other times as a reference UE" and the independent claims do not recite the argued "one single UE".
Argument 3: Applicants argue, on page 11, 3rd par., that accordingly, Ren does not disclose or suggest the feature of "receiving, from a location server, one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning," as recited in independent claim 1. Further, neither Lui nor Lunden appears to cure this deficiency of Ren.
Examiner’s response to Argument 3: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Ren teaches receiving, from a location server (Location Management Function, LMF, entity in Fig. 1 described starting on [0175]. LMF entity may be stored in a server [0536]), one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station).
Argument 4: Applicants argue, on page 11, 4th par., that referring now to the above "performing" and "transmitting" features of independent claim 1, as discussed above, the Examiner is interpreting the target UE in Ren as disclosing the "Claimed UE in 'normal mode"' and the reference UE in Ren as disclosing the "Claimed UE in 'PRU mode"' (5/12/2026 Non-Final Rejection, pp. 11, 12, emphasis in original). However, as would be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art, different UEs (i.e., the target UE and the reference UE in Ren) performing different sets of positioning measurements and transmitting different measurement reports cannot disclose or suggest a single UE performing first and second sets of positioning measurements and transmitting first and second measurement reports, as required by independent claim 1. There is simply no disclosure or suggestion in Ren of a single UE "performing a first set of positioning measurements," "performing a second set of positioning measurements," "transmitting, to the location server, a first measurement report," and "transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report," as recited in independent claim 1.
Examiner’s response to Argument 4: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "a single UE") are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the independent claims do not either exclude or require the argued "a single UE performing first and second sets of positioning measurements and transmitting first and second measurement reports".
Argument 5: Applicants argue, on page 11, 5th par., that Accordingly, Ren does not disclose or suggest the features of ''performing a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure; and transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of P RS resources," as recited in independent claim 1. Further, neither Lui nor Lunden appears to cure these deficiencies of Ren.
Examiner’s response to Argument 5: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Ren teaches performing a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); and transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources (Ren [0192] Step 4.2: The reference UE reports the downlink positioning measurement and the reliability indication and the location information of the reference UE obtained in Step 1 to the LMF entity or the base station).
Argument 6: Applicants argue, on page 12, 2nd – 3rd par., that referring now to the feature of "wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements," in rejecting this feature, the Examiner alleged that "Over a fixed period of time, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1" (05/12/2026 Non-Final Rejection, p.12). The Examiner further alleged that Lunden discloses "the user equipment 114B may enter a second mode 215B and search/measure less frequently" (Id. at p. 44). However, Liu is directed to measuring inter-frequency cells to acquire signal quality, and Lunden is directed to searching for small cell base stations. Neither Liu nor Lunden discloses or suggests performing different numbers of positioning measurements, much less reporting different numbers of positioning measurements. Modifying the temporal frequency or periodicity of signal quality or cell search measurements over a fixed period of time, as disclosed in Liu and Lunden, does not disclose or suggest a first measurement report including a smaller number of positioning measurements than a second measurement report, as required by independent claim 1.
Examiner’s response to Argument 6: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "modifying the temporal frequency or periodicity of signal quality or cell search measurements over a fixed period of time") are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the independent claims do not either exclude or require the argued "modifying the temporal frequency or periodicity of signal quality or cell search measurements over a fixed period of time". The "wherein" clause does not have patentable weight.
Argument 7: Applicants argue, on page 11, 4th par., that accordingly, neither Lui nor Lunden discloses or suggests the feature of "wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements," as recited in independent claim 1.
Examiner’s response to Argument 7: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because applicant’s arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. In this case, the "wherein" clause does not have patentable weight.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: INTERDIGITAL INC: “Discussion on Supporting Positioning Reference Units”, 3GPP RAN WG2 Meeting #115-e, R2-2107689, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG2, No. Electronic, 20210816-20210827, 5 August 2021, 3 Pages, XP052032360, Chapter 2 Discussion, hereinafter "R2-2107689", is cited in the IDS received on 1/29/2024. R2-2107689 defines two measurement modes: UE-based and UE-assisted. R2-2107689's location server requests for a UE to perform positioning measurements in both modes and send the results back to the server for the server to determine a location of the UE. R2-2107689 is focused on which types of measurements are to be made (RSTD, RSRP, Rx-Tx time differences); R2-2107689 also focuses on downlink-based and uplink-based methods of location determination. However, R2-2107689 falls short of defining the modes, i.e., the reference doesn't explain the meanings of "UE-based" and "UE-assisted". R2-2107689 is silent with respect to an amount of measurements, let alone explaining which mode provides a greater amount of measurements per report, which is also a claim requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Joint Inventors, Common Ownership Presumed
Test for Obviousness
Claims 1, 19, 22, 24-28, 30-33, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al (publication number 2023/0262647), hereinafter Ren, and further in view of Liu et al (publication number 2020/0137605), hereinafter Liu.
Ren uses the following terminology and acronyms:
[0003] The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) defines User Equipment (UE) positioning methods by measuring the Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), such as: Downlink Time Difference of Arrival (DL-TDOA), Uplink Time Difference Of Arrival (UL-TDOA).
[0007] Location Management Function, LMF, entity.
[0024] Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) measurement.
[0030] Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA) measurement.
[0177] Ren's reference UE is a UE that assists in locating the target UE.
[0183] Ren's reference UE is also the first UE.
[0221] Ren's target UE is also the second UE.
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches a method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE, please refer to UE in Fig. 1 and method described starting on [0175]; [0005] "positioning method"), comprising:
receiving, from a location server (Location Management Function, LMF, entity in Fig. 1 described starting on [0175]. LMF entity may be stored in a server [0536]), one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station);
performing a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement);
transmitting, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF);
performing a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); and
transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources (Ren [0192] Step 4.2: The reference UE reports the downlink positioning measurement and the reliability indication and the location information of the reference UE obtained in Step 1 to the LMF entity or the base station).
Ren does not explicitly teach: "wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements."
Liu teaches:
receiving, from a network device, one or more configurations to be used for signal measurements (Liu [0003] While a mobile terminal moves between inter-frequency cells, it is required to measure the inter-frequency cells to acquire signal quality of the inter-frequency cells. [0093] Fig. 4 S150: the network device sends to the terminal device indication information for indicating the target measurement gap mode determined in S140), wherein a number of the first set of measurements (Liu [0078] The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) proposes a measurement gap where part of time, i.e., measurement gap time, is reserved for the UE to perform inter-frequency measurements until the end of the gap time) is less than a number of the second set of measurements (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms – Over a fixed period of time, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1. See another example in Liu [0100]: When the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively high, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively short; and when the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively low, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively long.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Regarding claim 19, Ren teaches a user equipment (UE, please refer to UE in Fig. 1 and method described starting on [0175]), comprising:
a memory (Ren Fig. 8 and [0445] processor 800; memory 820);
one or more transceivers (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810 configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 800); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory (Ren Fig. 8 and [0445] processor 800; memory 820) and the one or more transceivers (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810 configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 800), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination (Ren Fig. 8 and [0445] processor 800; memory 820), configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810 configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 800), from a location server (Location Management Function, LMF, entity in Fig. 1 described starting on [0175]. LMF entity may be stored in a server [0536]), one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station);
perform a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement);
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF);
perform a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources (Ren [0192] Step 4.2: The reference UE reports the downlink positioning measurement and the reliability indication and the location information of the reference UE obtained in Step 1 to the LMF entity or the base station).
Ren does not explicitly teach: "wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements."
Liu teaches:
receiving, from a network device, one or more configurations to be used for signal measurements (Liu [0003] While a mobile terminal moves between inter-frequency cells, it is required to measure the inter-frequency cells to acquire signal quality of the inter-frequency cells. [0093] Fig. 4 S150: the network device sends to the terminal device indication information for indicating the target measurement gap mode determined in S140), wherein a number of the first set of measurements (Liu [0078] The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) proposes a measurement gap where part of time, i.e., measurement gap time, is reserved for the UE to perform inter-frequency measurements until the end of the gap time) is less than a number of the second set of measurements (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms – Over a fixed period of time, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1. See another example in Liu [0100]: When the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively high, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively short; and when the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively low, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively long.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Regarding claim 22, Ren teaches wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, an activation of the first PRS configuration for the normal mode positioning procedure (Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station; claimed "activation" is met because Ren's configuration in Step 1 triggers the next steps after step 1); and receive, via the one or more transceivers, an activation of the second PRS configuration for the PRU mode positioning procedure (Ren [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station; claimed "activation" is met because Ren's configuration in Step 2 triggers the next steps after step 2).
Regarding claim 24, Ren teaches wherein the activation of the first PRS configuration (Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station; claimed "activation" is met because Ren's configuration in Step 1 triggers the steps after step 1), the activation of the second PRS configuration, or both is received via radio resource control (RRC, Ren [0222], Step 1: The configuration information is communicated via RRC signaling) signaling, medium access control control element (MAC-CE) signaling, or downlink control information (DCI).
Regarding claim 25, Ren teaches wherein: a mode of the first PRS configuration is the normal mode positioning (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station), and a mode of the second PRS configuration is the PRU mode positioning (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station).
Ren does not explicitly teach "default"
Liu teaches a default mode (Liu [0009] The multiple measurement gap modes include a mode 1 and mode 2 in a Long Term Evolution (LTE) system. Predetermination refers to determination according to a default factory configuration of the terminal device – Therefore, it would have been obvious to set a default mode being mode 1 or 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Regarding claim 26, Ren teaches wherein: the one or more PRS configurations comprise a plurality of PRS configurations, and the first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and the second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) are different PRS configurations of the plurality of PRS configurations (Ren [0378] downlink PRS configuration of a reference UE; uplink PRS configuration of a reference UE; [0419] downlink PRS configuration of a target UE; uplink PRS configuration of a target UE).
Regarding claim 27, Ren teaches the first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station); the second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station).
Ren does not explicitly teach: "indicates fewer positioning frequency layers, fewer transmission-reception points (TRPs), fewer PRS resource sets, fewer PRS resources, longer PRS periodicities, or any combination thereof"
Liu teaches:
indicates fewer positioning frequency layers, fewer transmission-reception points (TRPs), fewer PRS resource sets, fewer PRS resources, longer PRS periodicities (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms. Liu [0100]: When the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively high, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively short; and when the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively low, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively long.), or any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Regarding claim 28, Ren teaches wherein the first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and the second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) are the same PRS configuration of the one or more PRS configurations (Ren [0186] The downlink PRS configuration information for the reference UE includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS, the index information of the reference base station, etc. [0222] The downlink PRS configuration information for the target UE includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS, the index information of the reference base station, etc. – there may be no difference between both configurations; therefore, the may be the same).
Regarding claim 30, Ren teaches RSTD measurements per PRS resource (Ren [0003] The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) defines various User Equipment (UE) positioning methods by measuring the Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) of the 3GPP wireless communication system. [0247] The downlink positioning measurement information reported by the reference terminal is the RSTD value and/or TOA value between different base stations). Ren does not explicitly teach: "wherein the number of the first set of positioning measurements being less than the number of the second set of positioning measurements comprises the first measurement report including: measurements of fewer TRPs than the second measurement report, measurements of fewer positioning frequency layers than the second measurement report, measurements of fewer PRS resource sets than the second measurement report, fewer RSTD measurements per PRS resource than the second measurement report, fewer Rx-Tx time difference measurements per PRS resource than the second measurement report, fewer additional path reporting measurements per PRS resource than the second measurement report, fewer RSRP measurements per PRS resource than the second measurement report, or any combination thereof".
Liu teaches: wherein the number of the first set of positioning measurements being less than the number of the second set of positioning measurements (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms – Over a fixed period of time, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1) comprises the first measurement report (Liu [0078] report configuration indicated in the measurement configuration) including: fewer RSTD measurements per PRS resource than the second measurement report (Liu [0087] As previously explained, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Regarding claim 31, Ren does not explicitly teach wherein a periodicity of transmitting the second measurement report is longer than a periodicity of transmitting the first measurement report.
Liu teaches: wherein a periodicity of transmitting the second measurement report (Liu [0078] report configuration indicated in the measurement configuration) is longer than a periodicity of transmitting the first measurement report (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms. Last sentence of [0087]: Measurement information reported at the period of 80 ms is likely inaccurate for the terminal device – This suggests that the UE may transmit a measurement report for every period T)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Regarding claim 32, Ren teaches wherein the one or more PRS configurations include one or more downlink PRS configurations (Ren [0378] downlink PRS configuration of a reference UE; uplink PRS configuration of a reference UE; [0419] downlink PRS configuration of a target UE; uplink PRS configuration of a target UE), one or more uplink PRS configurations, or both.
Regarding claim 33, Ren teaches wherein:
the one or more PRS configurations include at least one uplink PRS configuration (Ren [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives the uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF), the first set of PRS resources, the second set of PRS resources, or both are downlink PRS resources (Ren provides an example of downlink PRS sources in [0186] The downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS, the index information of the reference base station, etc.), and
the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, one or more uplink PRS for the normal mode positioning procedure (Ren's base station transmits an uplink PRS configuration for the normal mode, as claimed, in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station), the PRU mode positioning procedure, or both based on the at least one uplink PRS configuration (Ren's base station transmission is based on an uplink PRS configuration for the normal mode, as claimed, in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) before (no weight is given to claimed “after” or “before”, because when a process repeats itself, all steps occur before and after each other) transmitting the first measurement report (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF), the second measurement report, or both.
Regarding claim 36, Ren teaches wherein:
the first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station), the second PRS configuration, or both is a downlink PRS configuration (Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information),
the first set of PRS resources (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA), the second set of PRS resources, or both is a set of downlink PRS resources (Ren [0225] downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs), and downlink positioning measurement, downlink RSTD, downlink TOA,),
the one or more processors configured to perform the first set of positioning measurements (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA), the second set of positioning measurements, or both comprises the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to measure reception times of the set of downlink PRS resources (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink TOA, time of arrival), and
the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF), the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements, or both comprises the first measurement report (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF), the second measurement report, or both including a set of RSTD measurements (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink RSTD), a set of RSRP measurements, a set of angle-of-arrival (AoA) measurements, or any combination thereof.
Claims 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren, in view of Liu, and further in view of Shi et al (publication number 2013/0142164), hereinafter Shi.
Regarding claim 20, Ren teaches: capabilities of the UE to act as a normal UE (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement), capabilities of the UE to act as a PRU (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement), or both.
Ren as modified does not explicitly teach: "one or more positioning capability messages indicating capabilities of the UE"; "wherein the capabilities of the UE to act as the normal UE are lower than the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU".
Shi teaches: transmit to the location server, one or more positioning capability messages indicating capabilities of the UE to act as a normal UE (Shi [0076] step 301: a RNC needs to obtain multi-carrier frequency measurement capability information of a UE and initiates a UE Capability Enquiry request to the UE. [0077] step 302: the UE sends its multi-carrier frequency measurement capability to the RNC via a UE Capability Information message), capabilities of the UE to act as a PRU, or both, wherein the capabilities of the UE to act as the normal UE are lower than the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU (Shi [0025] When the multi-carrier frequency measurement capability is 2, it means that 2 carrier frequencies can be measured without starting a compressed mode. [0026] When the value of the multi-carrier frequency measurement capability is 3, it means that 3 carrier frequencies can be measured without starting a compressed mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren as modified by incorporating the teachings of Shi into the disclosure of Ren as modified in order to provide a method and system for controlling compressed mode so as to enhance the utilization rate of system resources and improve system performance. (Shi [0010]).
Regarding claim 21, Ren teaches: capabilities of the UE to act as a normal UE (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement), capabilities of the UE to act as a PRU (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); and PRS resources (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations).
Ren as modified does not explicitly teach: "wherein the capabilities of the UE to act as the normal UE being lower than the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU comprise the capabilities of the UE to act as the normal UE indicating: a lower maximum number of PRS resources than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, a lower maximum number of PRS sets than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, a lower maximum number of positioning frequency layers than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, lower PRS processing capabilities than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, lower PRS quasi-colocation (QCL) capabilities than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, a lower maximum number of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements the UE can report than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, a lower maximum number of reception-to-transmission (Rx-Tx) time difference measurements the UE can report than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, a lower maximum number of reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements the UE can report than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, a lower maximum number of additional path reporting measurements the UE can report than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU, or any combination thereof."
Shi teaches: wherein the capabilities of the UE to act as the normal UE (Shi [0076] step 301: a RNC needs to obtain multi-carrier frequency measurement capability information of a UE and initiates a UE Capability Enquiry request to the UE. [0077] step 302: the UE sends its multi-carrier frequency measurement capability to the RNC via a UE Capability Information message) being lower than the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU comprise the capabilities of the UE to act as the normal UE indicating: a lower maximum number of resources than indicated by the capabilities of the UE to act as the PRU (Shi [0025] When the multi-carrier frequency measurement capability is 2, it means that 2 carrier frequencies can be measured without starting a compressed mode. [0026] When the value of the multi-carrier frequency measurement capability is 3, it means that 3 carrier frequencies can be measured without starting a compressed mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren as modified by incorporating the teachings of Shi into the disclosure of Ren as modified in order to provide a method and system for controlling compressed mode so as to enhance the utilization rate of system resources and improve system performance. (Shi [0010]).
Claims 34, 35, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren, in view of Liu, and further in view of Aggarwal et al (publication number 2010/0135178), hereinafter Aggarwal.
Regarding claim 34, Ren teaches wherein: the normal mode positioning procedure, the PRU mode positioning procedure (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station), or both, and the first set of positioning measurements, the second set of positioning measurements (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement), or both comprise a set of Rx-Tx time difference measurements (Ren [0190] Step 4: Process for the DL-TDOA positioning method [0003] Downlink Time Difference Of Arrival, DL-TDOA).
Ren as modified does not explicitly teach: "comprises a round-trip-time (RTT) positioning procedure".
Aggarwal teaches a round-trip-time (RTT) positioning procedure (Aggarwal [0012] wirelessly determining the position of a mobile station may include measuring a round trip time - RTT); Rx-Tx time difference measurements (Aggarwal [0071] To measure the RTT with respect to a given WAP 311k, the mobile station 108 sends a directed probe request to WAP 311k, and then record the time the probe request packet was sent (t.sub.TX Packet). After a second propagation time t.sub.p, the mobile station 108 may record the time the ACK packet was received (t.sub.RX ACK) as shown on the MS time line. The mobile station may then determine the RTT as the time difference t.sub.RX ACK-t.sub.TX Packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren as modified by incorporating the teachings of Aggarwal into the disclosure of Ren as modified in order to implement various models, alone or in combination, that exploit wireless signal properties (such as, for example, RTT, signal strength, etc.) which can improve position determination while avoiding costly pre-deployment efforts and/or changes to the network infrastructure (Aggarwal [0011]).
Regarding claim 35, Ren teaches wherein:
the first PRS configuration, the second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives uplink or downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station), or both is an uplink PRS configuration (Ren [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives uplink or downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station),
the first set of PRS resources, the second set of PRS resources (Ren [0186] the uplink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the uplink PRS, the index information of the reference base station), or both is a set of uplink PRS resources (Ren [0186] the uplink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the uplink PRS, the index information of the reference base station),
the one or more processors configured to perform the first set of positioning measurements, the second set of positioning measurements, or both comprises the one or more processors, alone or in combination, configured to measure the set of uplink PRS resources (Ren [0194] [0195] Step 5.1: The reference UE sends an uplink PRS to the base station and the reference UE also reports the location information of the reference UE obtained in Step 1 to the LMF entity or the base station. [0236] Step 4.1: The base station receives and measures an uplink PRS sent by the reference UE to obtain the uplink positioning measurement information, i.e., an uplink RTOA value), and
the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements (Ren [0237] Step 4.2: The base station reports the uplink positioning measurement information to the LMF entity, and forwards the location information of the reference UE reported by the reference UE), or both comprises the first measurement report, the second measurement report (Ren [0236] Step 4.1: The base station receives and measures an uplink PRS sent by the reference UE to obtain the uplink positioning measurement information, i.e., an uplink RTOA value), or both including the set of uplink PRS resources.
Ren as modified does not explicitly teach: "comprises a round-trip-time (RTT) positioning procedure".
Aggarwal teaches to measure transmission times of the set of resources (Aggarwal [0071] To measure the RTT with respect to a given WAP 311k, the mobile station 108 sends a directed probe request to WAP 311k, and then record the time the probe request packet was sent (t.sub.TX Packet)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren as modified by incorporating the teachings of Aggarwal into the disclosure of Ren as modified in order to implement various models, alone or in combination, that exploit wireless signal properties (such as, for example, RTT, signal strength, etc.) which can improve position determination while avoiding costly pre-deployment efforts and/or changes to the network infrastructure (Aggarwal [0011]).
Regarding claim 37, Ren teaches a user equipment (UE, please refer to UE in Fig. 1 and method described starting on [0175]), comprising:
means (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810; [0168] Worldwide interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX) system, 5G system and 5G NR system. [0169] Wireless terminal device can communicate with core networks via the Radio Access Network (RAN) – therefore, transceiver 810 can be a WWAN transceiver) for receiving, from a location server (Location Management Function, LMF, entity in Fig. 1 described starting on [0175]. LMF entity may be stored in a server [0536]), one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station);
means (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810) for performing a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement);
means (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810) for transmitting, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF);
means (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810) for performing a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); and
means (Ren Fig. 8 and [0443] transceiver 810) for transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources (Ren [0192] Step 4.2: The reference UE reports the downlink positioning measurement and the reliability indication and the location information of the reference UE obtained in Step 1 to the LMF entity or the base station).
Ren does not explicitly teach: "wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements."
Liu teaches:
receiving, from a network device, one or more configurations to be used for signal measurements (Liu [0003] While a mobile terminal moves between inter-frequency cells, it is required to measure the inter-frequency cells to acquire signal quality of the inter-frequency cells. [0093] Fig. 4 S150: the network device sends to the terminal device indication information for indicating the target measurement gap mode determined in S140), wherein a number of the first set of measurements (Liu [0078] The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) proposes a measurement gap where part of time, i.e., measurement gap time, is reserved for the UE to perform inter-frequency measurements until the end of the gap time) is less than a number of the second set of measurements (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms – Over a fixed period of time, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1. See another example in Liu [0100]: When the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively high, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively short; and when the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively low, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively long.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Ren as modified does not explicitly teach: "WWAN Transceiver" as means.
Aggarwal teaches a WWAN transceiver (Aggarwal [0042] When deriving position from the WWAN, each WAN-WAPs 104a-104c may take the form of base stations within a digital cellular network, and the mobile station 108 may include a cellular transceiver and processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren as modified by incorporating the teachings of Aggarwal into the disclosure of Ren as modified in order to implement various models, alone or in combination, that exploit wireless signal properties (such as, for example, RTT, signal strength, etc.) which can improve position determination while avoiding costly pre-deployment efforts and/or changes to the network infrastructure (Aggarwal [0011]).
Claims 1, 19, 22, 24-28, 30-33, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al (publication number 2023/0262647), hereinafter Ren, in view of Liu, and further in view of Lunden et al (publication number 2015/0045024), hereinafter Lunden.
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches a method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE, please refer to UE in Fig. 1 and method described starting on [0175]; [0005] "positioning method"), comprising:
receiving, from a location server (Location Management Function, LMF, entity in Fig. 1 described starting on [0175]. LMF entity may be stored in a server [0536]), one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) configurations to be used for normal mode positioning (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) and positioning reference unit (PRU) mode positioning (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink or uplink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station);
performing a first set of positioning measurements of a first set of PRS resources indicated by a first PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "normal mode" equates to "target UE" in Ren [0222], Step 1: The target UE receives the downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF entity or base station, including the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a normal mode positioning procedure (Ren [0225] Step 3.1: The target UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations, and obtains a downlink positioning measurement including: downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and a reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement);
transmitting, to the location server, a first measurement report for the normal mode positioning procedure, the first measurement report including the first set of positioning measurements of the first set of PRS resources (Ren [0226] Step 3.2: The target UE reports the downlink positioning measurements and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement obtained in Step 3.1 to the LMF);
performing a second set of positioning measurements of a second set of PRS resources indicated by a second PRS configuration (Claimed UE in "PRU mode" equates to Ren's reference UE in [0185] Step 2: The reference UE receives downlink PRS configuration information provided by the LMF or the base station. [0186] Downlink PRS configuration information includes the time-frequency position of the downlink PRS and the index information of the reference base station) of the one or more PRS configurations for a PRU mode positioning procedure (Ren [0191] Step 4.1: The reference UE receives and measures the downlink Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) from different base stations and obtains a downlink positioning measurements, including downlink RSTD, downlink TOA, and the reliability indication of the downlink positioning measurement); and
transmitting, to the location server, a second measurement report for the PRU mode positioning procedure, the second measurement report including the second set of positioning measurements of the second set of PRS resources (Ren [0192] Step 4.2: The reference UE reports the downlink positioning measurement and the reliability indication and the location information of the reference UE obtained in Step 1 to the LMF entity or the base station).
Ren does not explicitly teach: "wherein a number of the first set of positioning measurements is less than a number of the second set of positioning measurements."
Liu teaches:
receiving, from a network device, one or more configurations to be used for signal measurements (Liu [0003] While a mobile terminal moves between inter-frequency cells, it is required to measure the inter-frequency cells to acquire signal quality of the inter-frequency cells. [0093] Fig. 4 S150: the network device sends to the terminal device indication information for indicating the target measurement gap mode determined in S140), wherein a number of the first set of measurements (Liu [0078] The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) proposes a measurement gap where part of time, i.e., measurement gap time, is reserved for the UE to perform inter-frequency measurements until the end of the gap time) is less than a number of the second set of measurements (Liu [0087] Measurement map modes: In the mode 1, TGAP is 6 ms and Tperiod is 40 ms. In the mode 2, TGAP is 6 ms, and Tperiod is 80 ms – Over a fixed period of time, a number of measurements taken by the UE every 80 ms in mode 2 would be less than a number of measurements taken by the UE every 40 ms in mode 1. See another example in Liu [0100]: When the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively high, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively short; and when the movement speed of the terminal device is relatively low, the gap period of the measurement gap mode may be configured to be relatively long.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren by incorporating the teachings of Liu into the disclosure of Ren, in order to enable a network device to match a suitable measurement gap mode for the terminal device better in combination with the performance of the terminal (Liu [0010]), also in order to avoid a mismatch between the configured gap mode and a movement speed of the terminal device, which would result in poor system performance (Liu [0087]).
Ren as modified does not explicitly teach a number of a set of positioning measurements.
Lunden teaches:
wherein a number of the first set of measurements (Lunden [0028] User equipment 114B sends a measurement report to the base station. The measurement report includes information concerning small cell 112B, such as a cell identifier and signal strength, and/or macrocell 112A) is less than a number of the second set of measurements (Lunden [0048] User equipment 114B detects and reports, in a measurement report to the base station 110A, the existence of small cell 112B. When this report is received, the network triggers user equipment 114B to measure in a less frequent mode, such as a background mode. Fig. 2 and [0035] The user equipment 114B may enter the first mode 205A and search/measure more frequently for the small cell base station 110B. The user equipment 114B, the user equipment 114B may enter a second mode 215B and search/measure less frequently).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Ren as modified by incorporating the teachings of Lunden into the disclosure of Ren as modified, in order to consume less power when searching/measuring for the small cell base station (Lunden [0035]).
Claims 19, 22, 24-28, 30-33, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren, in view of Liu, in view of Lunden as previously explained.
Claims 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren, in view of Liu, in view of Shi, in view of Lunden as previously explained.
Claims 34, 35, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren, in view of Liu, in view of Aggarwal, in view of Lunden as previously explained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD EISNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644