DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, and 16 have been amended. Claims 2-9 and 11-15 have not been modified. Claims 8-9 have been cancelled. Claims 17-22 have been added. Claims 1-7 and 10-22 are pending and are provided to be examined upon their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. A response is provided below.
Applicant argues 35 U.S.C. §102 & 103 Rejections, pg. 6 of Remarks:
On pg. 9, Applicant argues that the confidence score of Robinson is not associated with the probability of success of a treatment, as recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that [0008] specifically separates “a confidence score of the combined mappings” and “an expected success rate with non-invasive therapy, or an expected success rate with alternative treatment modalities” and that [0111] is not related to a particular treatment method.
However, the following passages of Robinson do teach a success rate, which is functionally analogous to the confidence index of the instant application.
[0008], “an expected success rate with non-invasive therapy, or an expected success rate with alternative treatment modalities.”
[0111], “The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc… the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.”
[0133], “The decision support module may further include expected success rates with various treatment modalities. In an example, the decision support module may include an expected success rate with SBRT, catheter RF, and/or amiodarone. In an example, the decision support module can further include the risk profile for therapy selection or counseling of toxicities.”
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a confidence index”, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a success rate related to successful outcomes of specific ablation procedures including SBRT and catheter RF would encompass the confidence index recited by the instant application (pg. 4 of Applicant specification, “output a confidence index corresponding to a value representative of a probability of success of said treatment”).
Examiner maintains that Robinson teaches the claim limitation.
On pg. 11, Applicant further argues that Robinson does not teach the amended limitation of “an estimation, by one or more medical experts, of a probability of success of the chosen treatment on said other patient”, previously included in dependent claim 5.
Specifically, Applicant argues that [0123] only discloses updating a database, which is not training data. However, Robinson is clear that success outcomes stored within the databases may be used as training data and inform predictive success rates for future patients ([0142], below).
[0111], “The neural network can continue to receive input (e.g., training data) over a period of time until the neural network is trained. The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc. For example, the neural network is trained, when it can receive new input (e.g., never received) and can produce the one or more segments for ablation without requiring additional information (e.g., historical information, etc.). The trained neural network can be considered “autonomous.” In an example, the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.”
[0123], “After treatment of the patient, method 200 may further determine the success of the treatment. The database may then be updated with the success information, including any side effects or problems encountered. The success information may adjust treatment recommendations or selection of segments for ablation for future patients.”
[0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module. For example, known clinical data and arrhythmia targets defined by the user over time can be used to suggest subsequent targeting for new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios or suggest selection of therapy for a new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios”
[0145], “The computing device(s) 502 can receive user (e.g., physician) input 510 related to the data source.”
[0142], “The computing device(s) 502 can include training data 504 (e.g., one or more databases or data storage device, including cloud-based storage, storage networks, local storage, etc.).”
On pg. 12, Applicant lastly argues that Robinson does not disclose or suggest “calculating using a machine learning algorithm…” without specific explanation. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
[0074], “In some examples, the one or more input mappings can be one or more images from a singular patient.”
[0096], “For example, the image mapping can be a volume for use in treatment planning (e.g., in a treatment planning system/software). In some examples, the image mapping can be used as an input to a treatment planning system (e.g., that can carry out the ablation). The image mapping can provide for patient customized treatment planning (e.g., not all patients will require or present with all known multi-modal data). In some examples, the image mapping with determined segments is provided in the decision support module.”
[0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module”
[0117], “Further provided herein is a decision support module to provide an informed ablation plan to the physician and provide metrics for support about success and risks of various treatment option and opportunities to improve patient outcomes.”
[0133], “The decision support module may further include expected success rates with various treatment modalities. In an example, the decision support module may include an expected success rate with SBRT, catheter RF, and/or amiodarone. In an example, the decision support module can further include the risk profile for therapy selection or counseling of toxicities.”
Thus, Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson teaches an electronic device comprising at least one processor and a computer memory storing program code instructions which, when they are executed by said at least one processor, configure said at least one processor to implement a method for selecting at least one optimal treatment from among several available treatments for the percutaneous ablation of a lesion within an anatomy of interest of a patient ([0141], “The storage device 430 can include software services, servers, services, etc., that when the code that defines such software is executed by the processor 410, it causes the system to perform a function. In some examples, a hardware service that performs a particular function can include the software component stored in a computer-readable medium in connection with the necessary hardware components, such as processor 410, connection 405, output device 435, etc., to carry out the function.” [0069], “improved identification of a cardiac arrhythmia target volume and treatment plan for noninvasive and invasive arrhythmia ablation and improved decision support for the selection of therapy for arrhythmia ablation”), said method comprising:
obtaining of a medical image previously acquired on the patient and on which the lesion can be seen within the anatomy of interest of the patient ([0005], “The method may include receiving one or more mappings selected from an electrical mapping, an anatomic mapping, a functional mapping, and combinations thereof; identifying an abnormality in the one or more mappings;… the electrical mapping may be an electrocardiograph image, the anatomic mapping may be at least one of a computer tomography image or a magnetic resonance image, and the functional mapping may be at least one of a photo emission computed tomographic image, a positron emission tomography image or an echocardiogram image.” [0115], “In an example, over time, the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males.”),
calculating using a machine learning algorithm, from the medical image, for each of the different available ablation treatments, a confidence index whose value is representative of a probability of success of said treatment for the ablation of the lesion in the anatomy of interest of the patient ([0074], “In some examples, the one or more input mappings can be one or more images from a singular patient.” [0096], “For example, the image mapping can be a volume for use in treatment planning (e.g., in a treatment planning system/software). In some examples, the image mapping can be used as an input to a treatment planning system (e.g., that can carry out the ablation). The image mapping can provide for patient customized treatment planning (e.g., not all patients will require or present with all known multi-modal data). In some examples, the image mapping with determined segments is provided in the decision support module.” [0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module” [0117], “Further provided herein is a decision support module to provide an informed ablation plan to the physician and provide metrics for support about success and risks of various treatment option and opportunities to improve patient outcomes.” [0133], “The decision support module may further include expected success rates with various treatment modalities. In an example, the decision support module may include an expected success rate with SBRT, catheter RF, and/or amiodarone. In an example, the decision support module can further include the risk profile for therapy selection or counseling of toxicities.”),
the machine learning algorithm having been trained beforehand from a set of training elements ([0093], “The neural network can continue to receive input (e.g., training data) over a period of time until the neural network is trained. The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc.”), each training element comprising:
a medical image on which a lesion can be seen within the anatomy of interest of another patient ([0142], “ training data can be one or more images and a label (e.g., VT or no VT) can be associated with each image. In some examples, the labeled data can be actual target probabilities (e.g., each segment as the weighted average over all received images for each patent).”),
an identification of a treatment chosen selected from among the different ablation treatments available for treating said other patient ([0093], “As additional patients are treated, the previous treatments can inform future treatments and can be used to adjust the target of the current patient (for example, by training the neural network). In another example, the target may be adjusted based on a weighting of input mappings or the confidence score of the combined mappings.” [0111], “The recommendations may be provided from prior patients... In an example, over time, the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males. Subsequent outcomes data reveals high rates of toxicity in this population and low rates of toxicity with similar outcomes in patients treated with noninvasive ablation. While the decision support module may initially suggest further catheter ablation based on the multiplicity of prior treatments, an updated decision support module would suggest noninvasive ablation.”), and
a training confidence index of said treatment on said other patient ([0111], “In an example, the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.” [0123], “After treatment of the patient, method 200 may further determine the success of the treatment. The database may then be updated with the success information, including any side effects or problems encountered. The success information may adjust treatment recommendations or selection of segments for ablation for future patients.” [0142], “The computing device(s) 502 can include training data 504 (e.g., one or more databases or data storage device, including clou d-based storage, storage networks, local storage, etc.).”),
wherein the training confidence index is defined as a function: of the observation or non-observation of a recurrence for said other patient with the chosen treatment, and/or of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a current date without a recurrence having been observed for said other patient, and/or of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a recurrence for said other patient, and/or of an estimation, by one or more medical experts, of a probability of success of the chosen treatment on said other patient ([0111], “The neural network can continue to receive input (e.g., training data) over a period of time until the neural network is trained. The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc... The trained neural network can be considered “autonomous.” In an example, the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.” [0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module. For example, known clinical data and arrhythmia targets defined by the user over time can be used to suggest subsequent targeting for new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios or suggest selection of therapy for a new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios” [0145], “The computing device(s) 502 can receive user (e.g., physician) input 510 related to the data source.”), and
selecting at least one optimal treatment as a function of the confidence indices calculated for the different available treatments ([0132], “In an example, over time, the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males. Subsequent outcomes data reveals high rates of toxicity in this population and low rates of toxicity with similar outcomes in patients treated with noninvasive ablation. While the decision support module may initially suggest further catheter ablation based on the multiplicity of prior treatments, an updated decision support module would suggest noninvasive ablation.” [0142], “The computing device(s) 502 can continue to receive data from the one or more data sources 506 until the neural network 508 (e.g., convolution neural networks, deep convolution neural networks, artificial neural networks, learning algorithms, etc.) of the computing device(s) 502 are trained (e.g., have had sufficient unbiased data to respond to new incoming data requests and provided an autonomous or near autonomous recommended course of actions, and/or actually provide input to perform the course of action).”). Examiner interprets performing a course of action/recommendation encompasses selecting said recommendation.
wherein the method comprises transforming the medical image of the patient, the medical image of each training element having undergone a similar transformation before being used to train the machine learning algorithm ([0075], “At block 110, the method 100 can define or identify one or more abnormalities in the one or more input mappings. The abnormalities can be identified, for example, in an MRI by the scar location, an abnormality in PET/SPECT may be regions that are not viable, an abnormality in an electrical mapping may be where a VT originates, etc. In various examples, the abnormality can be defined by selecting the abnormality on each mapping, manually or automatically segmenting the mapping and manually selecting the abnormality, automatically contouring the mapping and manually selecting the abnormality, automatically contouring the mapping and automatically selecting the abnormality, or combinations thereof. In some examples, the identification of the abnormalities can be used in training a neural network, for example, by using supervised or reinforcement learning.” [0132], “the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males.”),
wherein transforming the medical image comprises:
segmenting the lesion on the medical image, and/or
segmenting the anatomy of interest on the medical image ([0076], “Defining or identifying one or more abnormalities in the one or more input mappings can include segmenting one or more of the input mappings. In some examples, the one or more of the input mappings can be segmented using a segmentation model. The at least one processor can determine one or more abnormality in one or more cardiac arrhythmia target segments.”), and/or
segmenting blood vessels on the medical image, and/or
when the anatomy of interest segmenting hepatic ducts on the medical image.
Regarding claim 2, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein each available treatment is an ablation technology selected from among radiofrequencies, microwaves, laser, cryotherapy, electroporation or brachytherapy ([0069], “noninvasive ablation methods can include, but are not limited to stereotactic body radiotherapy, stereotactic ablative radiotherapy, stereotactic radiosurgery, fractionated radiotherapy, hypofractionated radiotherapy, high-frequency/focused ultrasound, or lasers.”).
Regarding claim 5, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function:
of an estimation, by one or more medical experts, of a probability of success of the chosen treatment on said other patient ([0111], “The neural network can continue to receive input (e.g., training data) over a period of time until the neural network is trained. The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc... The trained neural network can be considered “autonomous.” In an example, the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.” [0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module. For example, known clinical data and arrhythmia targets defined by the user over time can be used to suggest subsequent targeting for new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios or suggest selection of therapy for a new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios” [0145], “The computing device(s) 502 can receive user (e.g., physician) input 510 related to the data source.”).
Regarding claim 6, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein the method comprises associating a set of parameters with the medical image of the patient, said set of parameters comprising one or more parameters relating to the lesion, to the anatomy of interest and/or to characteristics of the patient ([0005], “identifying an abnormality in the one or more mappings; combining the one or more mappings; and defining the one or more cardiac arrhythmia targets based on an overlap of the identified abnormality in the combined one or more mappings.” [0065], “expert-defined targets can be used to train a model, such as a neural network, with inputs being information from the multimodality images or the images themselves.” [0074], “ the clinical mapping can be, but are not limited to: demographics (e.g., age, gender, NYHA, CKD, lungs, PVD, Charlson vs. Seattle HF model, etc.), surgical history (e.g., cardiac surgery, etc.), knowledge about clinical VT (e.g., MMVT or multiple VTs) and/or prior electroanatomical mapping/ablations.”),
each training element comprising a set of similar parameters relating to the lesion, to the anatomy of interest and/or to characteristics of the other patient for which the medical image corresponding to said reference element was obtained ([0074], “ the clinical mapping can be, but are not limited to: demographics (e.g., age, gender, NYHA, CKD, lungs, PVD, Charlson vs. Seattle HF model, etc.), surgical history (e.g., cardiac surgery, etc.), knowledge about clinical VT (e.g., MMVT or multiple VTs) and/or prior electroanatomical mapping/ablations.”).
Regarding claim 7, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claims 1 and 6. Robinson further teaches wherein the set of parameters comprises one or more parameters selected from:
the age, the sex, the weight and/or the height of the patient for whom the medical image was obtained ([0074], “ the clinical mapping can be, but are not limited to: demographics (e.g., age, gender, NYHA, CKD, lungs, PVD, Charlson vs. Seattle HF model, etc.), surgical history (e.g., cardiac surgery, etc.), knowledge about clinical VT (e.g., MMVT or multiple VTs) and/or prior electroanatomical mapping/ablations.”),
a comorbidity presented by the patient for whom the medical image was obtained,
a value representative of the size and/or of a volume of the lesion,
a distance between the lesion and a capsule of the anatomy of interest,
a distance between the lesion and a blood vessel close to the lesion, and/or
when the anatomy of interest is the liver, a distance between the lesion and a hepatic duct close to the lesion.
Regarding claim 12, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein the medical images were acquired by tomodensitometry, by magnetic resonance imaging or by ultrasound ([0064], “The imaging modality may be noninvasive. Noninvasive imaging modalities may include, but are not limited to CT, MRI, PET, SPECT, ECGI, and 12-lead EKG.”). Examiner notes tomodensitometry is a synonym for computed tomography (CT) scanning.
Regarding claim 13, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein the medical images are three-dimensional ([0078], “The input mapping may be a 3D input mapping.” [0084], “an input mapping with a segmentation model and a contour of at least one 3D input mapping can be combined. For example, a segmentation model from a 12-lead ECG can be co-registered with the identified contours from a 3D geometry (e.g., ECGI, MRI, CT, PET).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384) in view of Cornelis (Cornelis; F.H., Microwave ablation of renal tumors: A narrative review of technical considerations and clinical results, April 2017, Diagnostic and Interventional Imaging, Volume 98, Issue 4, Pages 287-297).
Regarding claim 3, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claims 1 and 2. Robinson further teaches wherein each available treatment uses a strategy of energy deposition by one or more applicators ([0057], “Based on symptoms, severity, and cause of the arrhythmia, treatment options include, but are not limited to, antiarrhythmic drugs, placement of a pacemaker/defibrillator, surgical ablation, catheter-based ablation (endocardial, epicardial) using radiofrequency energy to create thermal injury, non-invasive ablation with SBRT, and/or a combination thereof.”). Examiner interprets a catheter used in catheter-based ablation to encompass an applicator.
Robinson does not explicitly teach wherein said strategy is selected from an energy deposition of centrifugal type or an energy deposition of centripetal convergent type.
However, the combination of Robinson in view of Cornelis does teach wherein said strategy is selected from an energy deposition of centrifugal type or an energy deposition of centripetal convergent type (Cornelius, pg. 291, “Several antenna designs are available to reduce return loss and focused energy radiation [37]. Then, using a centrifugal method, energy dissipates towards the periphery from a single applicator inserted into the center of the targeted tumor [9]. In some cases, an overlapping ablation strategy may be required in order to treat the whole lesion with sufficient margins. This may be achieved by multiple reinsertion of a single device or by using several applicators. Multiple antennas can be operated simultaneously in close proximity without switching [34]. As antennas may be positioned and phased to exploit overlap of the electromagnetic field, ablation strategy involving centripetal convergence of energy from the periphery towards the center of the tumor may be performed [9], [12].” Robinson, [0142], “The computing device(s) 502 can continue to receive data from the one or more data sources 506 until the neural network 508 (e.g., convolution neural networks, deep convolution neural networks, artificial neural networks, learning algorithms, etc.) of the computing device(s) 502 are trained (e.g., have had sufficient unbiased data to respond to new incoming data requests and provided an autonomous or near autonomous recommended course of actions, and/or actually provide input to perform the course of action).”).
Robinson in view of Cornelis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of laser ablation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the possible ablation treatment types of Robinson to specifically include treatment types that use energy deposition of centrifugal and/or centripetal convergence types as in Cornelis for the advantage of “identify[ing] the specific technical considerations to adequately perform MWA” (microwave ablations) (Cornelis; pg. 288).
Regarding claim 4, Robinson in view of Cornelis teaches the electronic device of claims 1-3. Robinson does not teach wherein each available treatment is characterized by a number of applicators, and/or by the positions of said applicators with respect to the lesion.
However, Cornelis does teach wherein each available treatment is characterized by a number of applicators (Pg. 292, “As a routine, the MW generator is initially powered at 50–65 W for a single antenna for a prescribed time of 5–10 min [50], [53], [54], which may be secondarily adjusted. Initial settings depend on tumor location, tumor size and the expected margins. When phased constructively, heating increases proportional to the square of the number of antennas, allowing more efficient heating and generation of higher temperatures when compared to a single antenna [12]. Therefore, for a MWA procedure with several antennas, the power of each single antenna has to be decreased in order to obtain an overall power concordant with the tumor volume.”), and/or
by the positions of said applicators with respect to the lesion (Pg. 291, “As antennas may be positioned and phased to exploit overlap of the electromagnetic field, ablation strategy involving centripetal convergence of energy from the periphery towards the center of the tumor may be performed [9], [12].”).
Robinson in view of Cornelis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of laser ablation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson with Cornelis for the advantage of “identify[ing] the specific technical considerations to adequately perform MWA” (microwave ablations) (Cornelis; pg. 288).
Claims 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384) in view of Chen (CN 112132808 A).
Regarding claim 10, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson does not teach wherein transforming the medical image comprises reframing of the image around the lesion according to a frame whose dimensions are predetermined, said frame being common to all the medical images of the training elements, the position of the lesion with respect to the frame being variable from one medical image to the other.
However, Chen does teach wherein transforming the medical image comprises reframing of the image around the lesion according to a frame whose dimensions are predetermined (Pg. 33, “from each normal breast X-ray image of the breast area randomly extracting 300 size is 256 * 256 pixel of the image block, namely normal image block… according to the medical expert manual marking the lesion position, from the abnormal breast X-ray image extracting comprises a lesion of the square image block, namely the lesion image block, as the positive sample of the test stage. Note that each image block only contains a lesion; the size of the image block is determined by the larger dimension of the lesion boundary frame… In the picture, the inner and outer frames respectively represent the original lump lesion frame and the adjusted square frame for extracting the image block. It should be noted that, using the square frame after adjusting extracting lesion image block instead of directly using the lesion frame, the purpose is when adjusting the lesion image block is a square image block of specified size suitable for CNN model, it can ensure the original shape and shape of the lesion such as not changed.” ),
said frame being common to all the medical images of the training elements (Pg. 33, “the purpose is when adjusting the lesion image block is a square image block of specified size suitable for CNN model, it can ensure the original shape and shape of the lesion such as not changed.” Pg. 27, “using the normalized part of the normal area image block as the training set; inputting to the dual-depth convolutional neural network model for training; taking the trained dual-depth convolutional neural network model as a normal model;”),
the position of the lesion with respect to the frame being variable from one medical image to the other (Pg. 33, “when extracting the image block, the lesion is located at the centre of the image block, at the same time, the background of the image block is minimum; However, the lesion near the breast or image boundary may not be located in the center of the extracted image block so as to minimize the background contained.”).
Robinson in view of Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing for lesions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image transformation of Robinson with the reframing of lesions as taught by Chen for the advantage of ensuring that images are of a “specified size suitable for CNN model” (Chen; pg. 33).
Regarding claim 15, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson does not teach wherein the machine learning algorithm is further trained beforehand with training elements whose medical images do not show any lesion in the anatomy of interest.
However, Chen does teach wherein the machine learning algorithm is further trained beforehand with training elements whose medical images do not show any lesion in the anatomy of interest (Pg. 30, “FIG. 6 shows a schematic diagram of 20 square image blocks extracted from an X-ray image of a normal mammary gland according to an embodiment of the present invention;” Pg. 33, “As one embodiment of the present invention, from each normal breast X-ray image of the breast area randomly extracting 300 size is 256 * 256 pixel of the image block, namely normal image block, as the negative sample of the training and test stage. the normal area image block only comprises a breast area, and by setting a redundant threshold value, the redundancy between each two normal area image blocks does not exceed the redundancy threshold value; that is, preferably only selecting completely located in the breast area of the image block, and limiting the overlapping degree of the image block to reduce the redundancy of the sample set. extracting 20 image blocks from 300 image blocks, as shown in FIG. 6.”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that normal tissue used as a negative sample would indicate images without lesions.
Robinson in view of Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing for lesions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson with Chen for the advantage of including a “negative sample [in] the training” (Chen; pg. 33).
Regarding claim 16, Robinson teaches an electronic device comprising at least one processor and a computer memory storing program code instructions which, when they are executed by said at least one processor, configure said at least one processor to implement a method for selecting at least one optimal treatment from among several available treatments for the percutaneous ablation of a lesion within an anatomy of interest of a patient ([0141], “The storage device 430 can include software services, servers, services, etc., that when the code that defines such software is executed by the processor 410, it causes the system to perform a function. In some examples, a hardware service that performs a particular function can include the software component stored in a computer-readable medium in connection with the necessary hardware components, such as processor 410, connection 405, output device 435, etc., to carry out the function.” [0069], “improved identification of a cardiac arrhythmia target volume and treatment plan for noninvasive and invasive arrhythmia ablation and improved decision support for the selection of therapy for arrhythmia ablation”), said method comprising:
obtaining a medical image previously acquired on the patient and on which the lesion can be seen within the anatomy of interest of the patient ([0005], “The method may include receiving one or more mappings selected from an electrical mapping, an anatomic mapping, a functional mapping, and combinations thereof; identifying an abnormality in the one or more mappings;… the electrical mapping may be an electrocardiograph image, the anatomic mapping may be at least one of a computer tomography image or a magnetic resonance image, and the functional mapping may be at least one of a photo emission computed tomographic image, a positron emission tomography image or an echocardiogram image.” [0115], “In an example, over time, the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males.”),
calculating using a machine learning algorithm, from the medical image, for each of the different available ablation treatments, a confidence index whose value is representative of a probability of success of said treatment for the ablation of the lesion in the anatomy of interest of the patient ([0074], “In some examples, the one or more input mappings can be one or more images from a singular patient.” [0096], “For example, the image mapping can be a volume for use in treatment planning (e.g., in a treatment planning system/software). In some examples, the image mapping can be used as an input to a treatment planning system (e.g., that can carry out the ablation). The image mapping can provide for patient customized treatment planning (e.g., not all patients will require or present with all known multi-modal data). In some examples, the image mapping with determined segments is provided in the decision support module.” [0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module” [0117], “Further provided herein is a decision support module to provide an informed ablation plan to the physician and provide metrics for support about success and risks of various treatment option and opportunities to improve patient outcomes.” [0133], “The decision support module may further include expected success rates with various treatment modalities. In an example, the decision support module may include an expected success rate with SBRT, catheter RF, and/or amiodarone. In an example, the decision support module can further include the risk profile for therapy selection or counseling of toxicities.”),
the machine learning algorithm having been trained beforehand from a set of training elements ([0093], “The neural network can continue to receive input (e.g., training data) over a period of time until the neural network is trained. The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc.”),
each training element comprising:
a medical image on which a lesion can be seen within the anatomy of interest of another patient ([0142], “ training data can be one or more images and a label (e.g., VT or no VT) can be associated with each image. In some examples, the labeled data can be actual target probabilities (e.g., each segment as the weighted average over all received images for each patent).”),
an identification of a treatment selected from among the different ablation treatments available for treating said other patient ([0093], “As additional patients are treated, the previous treatments can inform future treatments and can be used to adjust the target of the current patient (for example, by training the neural network). In another example, the target may be adjusted based on a weighting of input mappings or the confidence score of the combined mappings.” [0111], “The recommendations may be provided from prior patients... In an example, over time, the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males. Subsequent outcomes data reveals high rates of toxicity in this population and low rates of toxicity with similar outcomes in patients treated with noninvasive ablation. While the decision support module may initially suggest further catheter ablation based on the multiplicity of prior treatments, an updated decision support module would suggest noninvasive ablation.”), and
a training confidence index of said treatment on said other patient ([0111], “In an example, the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.” [0123], “After treatment of the patient, method 200 may further determine the success of the treatment. The database may then be updated with the success information, including any side effects or problems encountered. The success information may adjust treatment recommendations or selection of segments for ablation for future patients.” [0142], “The computing device(s) 502 can include training data 504 (e.g., one or more databases or data storage device, including clou d-based storage, storage networks, local storage, etc.).”),
wherein the training confidence index is defined as a function: of the observation or non-observation of a recurrence for said other patient with the chosen treatment, and/or of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a current date without a recurrence having been observed for said other patient, and/or of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a recurrence for said other patient, and/or of an estimation, by one or more medical experts, of a probability of success of the chosen treatment on said other patient ([0111], “The neural network can continue to receive input (e.g., training data) over a period of time until the neural network is trained. The input into the neural network can also include data related to the success of a treatment, such as a success outcome, survival, side effects, etc... The trained neural network can be considered “autonomous.” In an example, the machine learning environment can be used to predict success of an ablation procedure using past information such as patient success related to their confidence score.” [0124], “Machine learning tools and predictive analytics can be integrated within method 200 to create a clinical decision support infrastructure such as the decision support module. For example, known clinical data and arrhythmia targets defined by the user over time can be used to suggest subsequent targeting for new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios or suggest selection of therapy for a new similar clinical and multi-modal data scenarios” [0145], “The computing device(s) 502 can receive user (e.g., physician) input 510 related to the data source.”)
selecting at least one optimal treatment as a function of the confidence indices calculated for the different available treatments ([0132], “In an example, over time, the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males. Subsequent outcomes data reveals high rates of toxicity in this population and low rates of toxicity with similar outcomes in patients treated with noninvasive ablation. While the decision support module may initially suggest further catheter ablation based on the multiplicity of prior treatments, an updated decision support module would suggest noninvasive ablation.” [0142], “The computing device(s) 502 can continue to receive data from the one or more data sources 506 until the neural network 508 (e.g., convolution neural networks, deep convolution neural networks, artificial neural networks, learning algorithms, etc.) of the computing device(s) 502 are trained (e.g., have had sufficient unbiased data to respond to new incoming data requests and provided an autonomous or near autonomous recommended course of actions, and/or actually provide input to perform the course of action).”);
wherein the method comprises transforming the medical image of the patient, the medical image of each training element having undergone a transformation before being used to train the machine learning algorithm ([0075], “At block 110, the method 100 can define or identify one or more abnormalities in the one or more input mappings. The abnormalities can be identified, for example, in an MRI by the scar location, an abnormality in PET/SPECT may be regions that are not viable, an abnormality in an electrical mapping may be where a VT originates, etc. In various examples, the abnormality can be defined by selecting the abnormality on each mapping, manually or automatically segmenting the mapping and manually selecting the abnormality, automatically contouring the mapping and manually selecting the abnormality, automatically contouring the mapping and automatically selecting the abnormality, or combinations thereof. In some examples, the identification of the abnormalities can be used in training a neural network, for example, by using supervised or reinforcement learning.” [0132], “the method can predict consistent utilization of invasive catheter ablation for small endocardial lesions in the left ventricular apex in older males.”).
Robinson does not teach wherein transforming the medical image comprises reframing of the image around the lesion according to a frame whose dimensions are predetermined, said frame being common to all the medical images of the training elements, the position of the lesion with respect to the frame being variable from one medical image to the other.
However, Chen does teach wherein transforming the medical image comprises reframing of the image around the lesion according to a frame whose dimensions are predetermined (Pg. 33, “from each normal breast X-ray image of the breast area randomly extracting 300 size is 256 * 256 pixel of the image block, namely normal image block… according to the medical expert manual marking the lesion position, from the abnormal breast X-ray image extracting comprises a lesion of the square image block, namely the lesion image block, as the positive sample of the test stage. Note that each image block only contains a lesion; the size of the image block is determined by the larger dimension of the lesion boundary frame… In the picture, the inner and outer frames respectively represent the original lump lesion frame and the adjusted square frame for extracting the image block. It should be noted that, using the square frame after adjusting extracting lesion image block instead of directly using the lesion frame, the purpose is when adjusting the lesion image block is a square image block of specified size suitable for CNN model, it can ensure the original shape and shape of the lesion such as not changed.” ),
said frame being common to all the medical images of the training elements (Pg. 33, “the purpose is when adjusting the lesion image block is a square image block of specified size suitable for CNN model, it can ensure the original shape and shape of the lesion such as not changed.” Pg. 27, “using the normalized part of the normal area image block as the training set; inputting to the dual-depth convolutional neural network model for training; taking the trained dual-depth convolutional neural network model as a normal model;”),
the position of the lesion with respect to the frame being variable from one medical image to the other (Pg. 33, “when extracting the image block, the lesion is located at the centre of the image block, at the same time, the background of the image block is minimum; However, the lesion near the breast or image boundary may not be located in the center of the extracted image block so as to minimize the background contained.”).
Robinson in view of Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing for lesions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image transformation of Robinson with the reframing of lesions as taught by Chen for the advantage of ensuring that images are of a “specified size suitable for CNN model” (Chen; pg. 33).
Regarding claim 17, Robinson in view of Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 16,. This claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384) in view of Krishnan (US 20050049497).
Regarding claim 11, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein the method comprises: for each training element corresponding to the selected optimal treatment, calculating a similarity value representative of the similarity between the medical image of the patient to be treated and the medical image of the training element, and selecting a reference training element from among the set of the training elements as a function of the calculated similarity values.
However, Krishnan does teach wherein the method comprises:
for each training element corresponding to the selected optimal treatment, calculating a similarity value representative of the similarity between the medical image of the patient to be treated and the medical image of the training element ([0072], “Another exemplary approach is as follows. Assume that there are m cases in a training set. A new case will be compared to these m cases using the n features described above. Based on this comparison, p cases are selected as being most "similar" to the current case, wherein similarity can be defined in one of various ways. For instance, one approach is to consider the Euclidean distance in the n-dimensional feature space. Other well-known distance measures can also be employed. It is to be appreciated that the above process can also be used to select exemplar cases from a library of cases for display as well.” [0023], “The input to the CAD system (10) comprises various sources of patient information including image data (1) in one or more imaging modalities (e.g., ultrasound image data, X-ray mammography image data, MRI etc.) and non-image data” [0038], “The automated detection module (29) implements methods for processing ultrasound image data (3) of breast tissue to detect and segment potential lesions in the imaged breast tissue.”), and
selecting a reference training element from among the set of the training elements as a function of the calculated similarity values ([0072], “Based on this comparison, p cases are selected as being most "similar" to the current case, wherein similarity can be defined in one of various ways. For instance, one approach is to consider the Euclidean distance in the n-dimensional feature space.” [0010], “CAD systems and methods for breast imaging implement machine-learning techniques which use training data that is obtained (learned) from a database of previously diagnosed (labeled) patient cases in one or more relevant clinical domains and/or expert interpretations of such data to enable the CAD systems to "learn" to properly and accurately analyze patient data and make proper diagnostic and/or therapeutic assessments and decisions for assisting physician workflow.”).
Robinson in view of Krishnan are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing for lesions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson with Krishnan for the advantage of “studying similar cases to see how other patients responded to different treatment options… to assess the efficacy of these options for the current patient” (Krishnan; [0029]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384) in view of Wibowo (US 20210038314).
Regarding claim 14, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson further teaches wherein the anatomy of interest is the liver, a kidney or a lung ([0064], “FIG. 9B shows serial thoracic CT scans after treatment in Patient 1. The treatment area is shown in blue. At 3 months, there were adjacent local inflammatory changes in the lung parenchyma, effects that had nearly resolved at 12 months.”).
Robinson does not teach wherein the lesion is a tumor or a cyst.
However, Wibowo does teach wherein the lesion is a tumor or a cyst ([0007], “inputs to the dose prediction model include the geometry of the target tumor, physical properties of the tissue, dimensions of the ablation device's probe/applicator, position of the probe/applicator within the lesion, and extracted tissue properties” [0029], “The settings allow the method to detect more tumors and pre-compute radiomics features for each detected lesion.” [0026], “Additionally, although the invention has particular use for planning ablation for lung tumors and nodules, the invention is not so limited. Examples of other tumor types for which ablation zone models and dose may be computed include, without limitation, lung, breast, liver, kidney, colon, prostrate, and ovarian.”).
Robinson in view of Wibowo are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing for lesions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson with Wibowo for the advantage of promoting “ablation planning for treatment of cancerous tissue” (Wibowo; [0002]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384) in view of Chen (CN 112132808 A) further in view of Sethi (US 20180232883).
Regarding claim 18, Robinson in view of Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 16. Robinson in view of Chen does not teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of the observation or non-observation of a recurrence for said other patient with the chosen treatment.
However, Sethi does teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of the observation or non-observation of a recurrence for said other patient with the chosen treatment ([0009], “the metric of one or more disease classifications is the probability of cancer recurrence or effectiveness of treatment options” [0076], “Many disease classes and POI types may be used consistently with the spirit of the disclosure… treatment outcomes determined using years of follow up after specific treatments can be used as classes such as “likely to metastasize after chemotherapy” vs. “unlikely to metastasize after chemotherapy” so that prognostic models that predict treatment effectiveness and disease course can be built.” [0077], “the disease class of the training image may be given as a label to all window sets extracted centered at every POI in that image. The paired window sets and their labels at each POI location form the training data.” [0078], “With sufficient training using example input-output pairs, a machine learning based POI detector training module learns to predict labels for input sub-image windows of processed tissue image.”).
Robinson in view of Chen further in view of Sethi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson in view of Chen with Sethi for the advantage of “predict[ing] treatment effectiveness and disease course” (Sethi; [0076]).
Regarding claim 19, Robinson in view of Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 16. Robinson in view of Chen does not teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a current date without a recurrence having been observed for said other patient and/or wherein, for each training element the training confidence index is defined as a function-of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a recurrence for said other patient.
However, Sethi does teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a current date without a recurrence having been observed for said other patient and/or wherein, for each training element the training confidence index is defined as a function-of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a recurrence for said other patient ([0009], “the metric of one or more disease classifications is the probability of cancer recurrence or effectiveness of treatment options” [0031], “These new disease classes at the time of their determination could be based on evidence of causes of diseases such as genomic differences of diseased cells, or on their histological or other evidence linked to future course of disease with or without a specified treatment such as “will become metastatic within 1 year even after the treatment in question” vs. otherwise, or “will recur within 3 years even after the treatment in question” vs. otherwise, or “will lead to mortality in 5 years” vs. otherwise. Such future outcomes may be determined based on patient follow up after the treatment.” [0076], “Similarly, treatment outcomes determined using years of follow up after specific treatments can be used as classes” [0077], “the disease class of the training image may be given as a label to all window sets extracted centered at every POI in that image. The paired window sets and their labels at each POI location form the training data.” [0078], “With sufficient training using example input-output pairs, a machine learning based POI detector training module learns to predict labels for input sub-image windows of processed tissue image.”).
Robinson in view of Chen further in view of Sethi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson in view of Chen with Sethi for the advantage of “predict[ing] treatment effectiveness and disease course” (Sethi; [0076]).
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20210137384) in view of Sethi (US 20180232883).
Regarding claim 20, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson does not teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of the observation or non-observation of a recurrence for said other patient with the chosen treatment.
However, Sethi does teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of the observation or non-observation of a recurrence for said other patient with the chosen treatment ([0009], “the metric of one or more disease classifications is the probability of cancer recurrence or effectiveness of treatment options” [0076], “Many disease classes and POI types may be used consistently with the spirit of the disclosure… treatment outcomes determined using years of follow up after specific treatments can be used as classes such as “likely to metastasize after chemotherapy” vs. “unlikely to metastasize after chemotherapy” so that prognostic models that predict treatment effectiveness and disease course can be built.” [0077], “the disease class of the training image may be given as a label to all window sets extracted centered at every POI in that image. The paired window sets and their labels at each POI location form the training data.” [0078], “With sufficient training using example input-output pairs, a machine learning based POI detector training module learns to predict labels for input sub-image windows of processed tissue image.”).
Robinson in view of Chen further in view of Sethi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson in view of Chen with Sethi for the advantage of “predict[ing] treatment effectiveness and disease course” (Sethi; [0076]).
Regarding claim 21, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson does not teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a current date without a recurrence having been observed for said other patient.
However, Sethi does teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a current date without a recurrence having been observed for said other patient ([0009], “the metric of one or more disease classifications is the probability of cancer recurrence or effectiveness of treatment options” [0031], “These new disease classes at the time of their determination could be based on evidence of causes of diseases such as genomic differences of diseased cells, or on their histological or other evidence linked to future course of disease with or without a specified treatment such as “will become metastatic within 1 year even after the treatment in question” vs. otherwise, or “will recur within 3 years even after the treatment in question” vs. otherwise, or “will lead to mortality in 5 years” vs. otherwise. Such future outcomes may be determined based on patient follow up after the treatment.” [0076], “Similarly, treatment outcomes determined using years of follow up after specific treatments can be used as classes” [0077], “the disease class of the training image may be given as a label to all window sets extracted centered at every POI in that image. The paired window sets and their labels at each POI location form the training data.” [0078], “With sufficient training using example input-output pairs, a machine learning based POI detector training module learns to predict labels for input sub-image windows of processed tissue image.”). Examiner notes that “otherwise” indicate may indicate no reoccurrence after a specified time period post-treatment ([0031]), which may be based on training data indicative of real outcomes from patient follow-ups of other patients ([0076]).
Robinson in view of Sethi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson with Sethi for the advantage of “predict[ing] treatment effectiveness and disease course” (Sethi; [0076]).
Regarding claim 22, Robinson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Robinson in view of Chen does not teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function-of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a recurrence for said other patient.
However, Sethi does teach wherein, for each training element, the training confidence index is defined as a function-of a duration of the period elapsed between the end of the treatment and a recurrence for said other patient ([0009], “the metric of one or more disease classifications is the probability of cancer recurrence or effectiveness of treatment options” [0031], “These new disease classes at the time of their determination could be based on evidence of causes of diseases such as genomic differences of diseased cells, or on their histological or other evidence linked to future course of disease with or without a specified treatment such as “will become metastatic within 1 year even after the treatment in question” vs. otherwise, or “will recur within 3 years even after the treatment in question” vs. otherwise, or “will lead to mortality in 5 years” vs. otherwise. Such future outcomes may be determined based on patient follow up after the treatment.” [0076], “Similarly, treatment outcomes determined using years of follow up after specific treatments can be used as classes” [0077], “the disease class of the training image may be given as a label to all window sets extracted centered at every POI in that image. The paired window sets and their labels at each POI location form the training data.” [0078], “With sufficient training using example input-output pairs, a machine learning based POI detector training module learns to predict labels for input sub-image windows of processed tissue image.”).
Robinson in view of Sethi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of medical image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robinson with Sethi for the advantage of “predict[ing] treatment effectiveness and disease course” (Sethi; [0076]).
Conclusion
/D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684