DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 10/02/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allard et al., (US 2009/0074701).
Allard et al. teaches, applying to hair “a composition containing at least one silicone film forming resin, at least one polysilicone polymer, and at least one hair colorant” (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2-3, “the silicone film former may be chosen from siloxysilicates. Preferably, the siloxysilicate is trimethylsiloxysiicate, which may or may not be in powder form” (p. 2, para. [0020]). “Suitable polysiloxane liquids include, but art not limited to . . . dimethicones” (p. 7, para. [0163]). Accordingly, the reference teaches a component B, i.e. a film forming polymer other than the component A.
The prior art teaches a specific embodiment:
(p. 18).
Here, the prior art teaches several embodiments that anticipate the instant claims, where all contain less than 0.5% or 0.1% of an oil gelling agent, as per claims 1 and 20. Example A comprises component (A) “Trimethylsiloxysilicate”, which is a MQ resin as per 1(A), (B) Nylon-611/Dimethicone, which suffices as film-forming polymer other than component A, and component C. 63% Isododecane (hydrocarbon-based volatile solvent; clm. 6).
The content mass ratio of A over A+B [20%TMS/20%TMS+5% Nylon-611/Dimethocone, is about 80% [20/20+5], which falls within the claimed range of 10% or more and 90% or less, as per claim 4.
The total content of component A and B for Example A above is about 25%, which is within the claimed range of 1% by mass or more and 40% by mass or less, as per claim 5.
Since the prior art composition contains substantially the same components in the same relative proportions as instantly claimed, it would be expected to inherently possess the same chemical and physical properties, such as exhibiting a spreading area per 0.1 mL of 12 cm2 or more.
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches a cosmetic composition comprising M unit (R1)3SiO1/2 and Q unit SiO4/2, i.e., trimethylsiloxysilicate; component B film-forming polymer; and 50% by mass or more of component C, a volatile solvent, e.g. isododecane, wherein the composition contains 0.5% by mass or less of an oil gelling agent.
Technological Background
1) The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Disapio et al., (International Journal of Cosmetic Science, 1988). Disapio et al. is pertinent for teaching, “Initially used in skin care products, and more recently in hair care applications, silicones are recognized for their lubricating properties and for the characteristic soft smooth feel they impart. With recent advances in silicone technology, these fluids can also provide substantivity and durability” (Summary) “In hair care products, organofunctional silicones, particularly those with amine functionality, provide substantive, durable conditioning properties. These properties can be related to the molecular weight and mole percent amine present. Conditioning properties are durable through a number of washes, yet the substantive films are -self-limiting and do not pose a problem of build-up” (p. 76, 3rd paragraph).
2) The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Glenn Corp (BRB TMS-5OI, May 2015). Glenn Corp is pertinent for teaching features and benefits of Trimethylsiloxysilicate in isododecane, i.e., BRB TMS-5OI, which “can be used in a wide range of personal care applications such as Colour cosmetics, Sun care, Hair Care, antiperspirants and deodorants” (Application). Features and benefits include: “Due to the high volatility of isosodecane, the solvent quicklyevaporates during application leaving behind a water insoluble highly durable film of trimethylsiloxysilicate”; “Wash-off and rub-off resistant, long lasting effect”: “Hair Care: fixative, frizz control”
Response to Arguments
Initially, the declaration of Tomoka Maekawa, filed 10/02/2026, is acknowledged. Affiant provided a showing where the presence of 12-Hydroxystearic acid at an amount greater than 0.5% reduced the ease of applying and spreading the cosmetic. Although the prior art uses disteardimonium hectorite instead of 12-Hydrocystearic acid, Affiant postulates, “both materials are oil gelling agents and have a common mechanism of action in that they structure the oil phase to form a gel” (p. 4).
Nevertheless, the claims have been amended to require 0.5% by mass or less in an oil gelling agent and wherein the composition exhibits a spreading area per 0.1mL of 12 cm2 or more.
As a result of the amendment, applicant argues that Chen et al. “cannot affect the patentability of the present claims” (See Remarks filed 10/02/2026 at p. 8)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612