DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --ELECTRICAL PLUG CONNECTOR HAVING INTERNAL THREAD FOR CONNECTION TO SCREW CONNECTOR CONNECTED TO A CONNECTOR SOCKET--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckemeier (WO2020119854A1) in view of Johnston (4,983,785).
With regard to claim 1, Luckemeier teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d and taught in the translation page 7 lines 15-17: “A plug receptacle 22 for a connector socket 2 for recessed installation in a plastic wall (page 7 lines 15-17 teaches the plug connector installed in plastic) and configured to receive a screw connector 1 to be connected to the connector socket 2 and for the screw-connection thereof, and also configured for the latching of a latching connector 1 to be connected to the connector socket 2, the plug receptacle 22 comprising: an internal thread portion 23 having an internal thread 16 for screw connection to an external thread of the screw connector 1; an encircling or interrupted, inwardly directed latching lug 10 arranged on a mating side of the internal thread portion 23 of the plug receptacle 22 for latching with the latching connector 1”.
Luckemeier does not teach “and a self-tapping external thread for installation in the plastic wall, and wherein the plug receptacle is made of metal”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Johnston teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 3 lines 1-8, the use of self-tapping threaded screws to engage plastic. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Johnston with the invention of Luckemeier in order to be able to hold the screw structure to the plastic without needing threading in the plastic (Johnston, column 3 lines 1-8).
Neither Luckemeier nor Johnston specifically teach the plug receptacle is made of metal. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a metal screw in order to tap easily self-tap into the plastic. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 2, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d: “wherein the plug receptacle 22 is of substantially hollow cylindrical design”.
With regard to claim 3, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Luckemeier does not specifically teach: “wherein the plug receptacle is a turned part”. However, Luckemeier teaches the use of threaded for screwed connections which work by turning on connector with respect to another. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the plug receptacle as the turning part in order to form a secure, screwed connection (Luckemeier, Abstract).
With regard to claim 4, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d: “wherein the plug receptacle 22 is formed in one piece”.
Neither Luckemeier nor Johnston teach the plug receptacle is made of brass”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the plug receptacle from brass in order to make the plug receptacle durable. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 7, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “A connector socket, The plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d: “a contact carrier 10; and at least one plug contact 17 arrange in the contact carrier 18, wherein the contact carrier 10 projects into the plug receptacle 22”.
With regard to claim 8, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The connector socket as claimed in claim 7”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d: “wherein the contact carrier 10 is formed in one piece with a… wall (taught in the Abstract), wherein the… wall has an installation opening into which the plug receptacle 22 is” inserted.
Luckemeier does not specifically teach: the plug receptacle “is screwed via the self-tapping external thread of the connector socket”. However, Luckemeier does teaches the use of screw connection between 10 and 6 in figure 1a. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a screw connection to connect the plug receptacle and the connector socket in order to form a firm connection therebetween (Luckemeier, Abstract).
Johnston also teaches the use of self-tapping screws. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Johnston with the invention of Luckemeier as modified by Johnston in order to be able to hold the screw structure to the plastic without needing threading in the plastic (Johnston, column 3 lines 1-8).
With regard to claim 9, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “A circular connector system, comprising: a connector socket as claimed in claim 7”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d: “and a circular connector 10 serving as either the screw connector or the latching connector”.
With regard to claim 10, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “…at least one plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Luckemeier as modified by Johnston above also teaches the self-tapping of the plug receptacle into plastic.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d and taught in the Abstract: “A device housing (taught in the Abstract), comprising: at least one… wall (taught in the Abstract)… which is installed in the… wall, wherein the at least one plug receptacle 22 is screwed into at least one installation opening of the plastic wall via the self-tapping external thread of the at least one plug receptacle”.
With regard to claim 11, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The device housing as claimed in claim 10”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d and taught in the Abstract: “wherein the at least one plug receptacle 22 is installed in a recessed manner in the… wall”.
With regard to claim 12, Luckemeier teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d and taught in the translation page 7 lines 15-17 and the Abstract: “A method for producing a device housing (taught in the Abstract) having at least one plug receptacle 22… the method comprising: forming a device housing (taught in the Abstract) using an injection molding process (the Abstract teaches the use of molding for the body), with at least one… wall (taught in the Abstract)… wherein at least one installation opening (where the plug receptacle is mounted in the wall of the device as described in the Abstract)… is integrally formed in the… wall… and wherein the at least one plug receptacle 22 further includes an internal thread portion 23 having an internal thread for screw connection to a screw connector, and an encircling or interrupted, inwardly directed latching lug (where 12 engage 22 in figure 1a) arranged on a mating side of the internal thread portion 23 for latching with a latching connector 10”.
Luckemeier does not teach the plug receptacle being made of metal, the wall being made of a plastic material, the installation opening having a cylindrical external contour, or “and screwing the at least one plug receptacle into the at least one installation opening via a self-tapping external thread of the plug receptacle, wherein the external thread of the plug receptacle cuts a mating thread into the plastic material of the plastic wall which surrounds the installation opening”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Johnston teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 3 lines 1-8, the use of self-tapping threaded screws to engage plastic around a cylindrical opening and cut cutting a mating thread into the plastic material that surrounds the opening 24b. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Johnston with the invention of Luckemeier in order to be able to hold the screw structure to the plastic without needing threading in the plastic (Johnston, column 3 lines 1-8).
Neither Luckemeier nor Johnston specifically teach the plug receptacle is made of metal. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a metal screw in order to tap easily self-tap into the plastic. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 13, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The method as claimed in claim 12”, as shown above.
Neither Luckemeier nor Johnston teach: “wherein the screwing of the at least one plug receptacle into the at least one installation opening includes screwing the plug receptacle so deeply into the plastic wall that the plug receptacle is installed in a recessed manner in the plastic wall”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the depth the plug receptacle is screwed into the plastic wall of Luckemeier as modified by Johnston in order to better hold the plug receptacle in the plastic wall. Also, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 14, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The circular connector system as claimed in claim 9”, as shown above.
Luckemeier does not teach: “wherein the circular connector 10 is the screw connector, which has the external thread with which the screw connector can be screwed into the internal thread of the plug receptacle”. However, Luckemeier teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d, the use of a screw connector (where 16 is located in figure 1a) screwed into an internal threading (threading engaged by 16 in figure 1a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a screw connection to connect to the external threading of the plug receptacle in order to form a solid connection with the plug receptacle (Luckemeier, Abstract). Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 15, Luckemeier teaches: “The circular connector system as claimed in claim 9”, as shown above.
Luckemeier also teaches, as shown in figures 1a-1d: “wherein the circular connector 10 is the latching connector, which has a plurality of outwardly directed latching hooks 12, with which the latching connector can be latched on the latching lug (where 12 are engaged with 22 in figure 1a) of the plug receptacle 22 from an inside of the plug receptacle 22”.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luckemeier (WO2020119854A1) in view of Johnston (4,983,785) and Dobler (2021/0151942).
With regard to claim 5, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teach: “The plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Luckemeier nor Johnston teach: “wherein the plug receptacle has, at an end opposite the mating side, an encircling external chamfer for self-centering”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Dobler teaches, as shown in figures 2-3: “wherein the plug receptacle 1 has, at an end opposite the mating side 10, an encircling external chamfer for self-centering”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Dobler with the invention of Luckemeier as modified by Johnston in order to create a clamping force on the mating connector (Dobler, paragraph 62).
With regard to claim 6, Luckemeier as modified by Johnston teaches: “The plug receptacle as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Luckemeier nor Johnston teach: “wherein the plug receptacle has, at an end opposite the mating side, an encircling external chamfer for self-centering”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Dobler teaches, as shown in figures 2-3: “wherein the plug receptacle 5 has, at an end (left end in figure 3) opposite the mating side (right side in figure 3), an encircling external chamfer for self-centering”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Dobler with the invention of Luckemeier as modified by Johnston in order to be clamped force by the mating connector (Dobler, paragraph 62).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831