DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “the projection,” it is believed that this is a typographical error, and Applicant intended to recite “the projection unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
Claims 9-16 are currently pending. Applicant submitted preliminary amendments canceling claims 1-8 and newly entering claims 9-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060120247 A1 to Noda et al.
Regarding Claim 9. Noda discloses a projection device, comprising: an image module (Fig. 4 display element 11), which generates a multicolored image (para 69) by generating a first color sub-image having a first wavelength (para 163-164, "B image data") and a second color sub-image having a second wavelength (para 163-164, "G image data"), a projection unit (Fig. 4 eyepiece optical system 21), to which the multicolored image is fed (See Fig. 4) and which images the image into an exit pupil (Fig. 4 optical pupil E) such that an observer can perceive the image as a virtual image when an eye of the observer is positioned in the exit pupil and the observer looks at the projection unit at a predetermined viewing angle (para 78, "At the position of the optical pupil E, the observer observes an enlarged virtual image of the image displayed on the LCD 15"), wherein the projection comprises a volume hologram (See Fig. 4 and para 91, "composed of a plurality of layers that are each sensitive to a different wavelength"), which deflects the multicolored image into the exit pupil for imaging purposes, wherein the volume hologram comprises a volume grating for each wavelength of the color sub-images (Fig. 4 optical element 24 para 75 and para 91, "composed of a plurality of layers that are each sensitive to a different wavelength"), the volume grating having a respective deflection efficiency profile which is dependent on the viewing angle (Fig. 9D) and which is maximal for the predetermined viewing angle (See Fig. 9D) such that a first efficiency ratio of the first deflection efficiency profile for the first wavelength to the deflection efficiency profile of the second wavelength is present (para 139, "the ratio of the diffraction efficiency for the different colors"), wherein the deflection efficiency profiles for a predetermined angular range around the predetermined viewing angle are set such that the first efficiency ratio for the predetermined angular range is constant (para 139, "the ratio of the diffraction efficiency for the different colors is approximately constant"), and wherein the image module is controlled such that the multicolored image is generated, a first brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the second color sub-image (See at least Fig. 11B).
Noda does not specifically disclose that the image module is controlled such that when the multicolored image is generated, a first brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the second color sub-image is inversely proportional to the first efficiency ratio such that the different deflection efficiency profiles are compensated for and the observer can perceive the multicolored image as a true-color virtual image for viewing angles from the predetermined angular range.
However, Noda discloses adjusting the brightness of the first color sub-image and the brightness of the second color sub-image in such a manner that would achieve reproduction of white light or color balance (See para 155 “possible to adjust those amounts of current and thereby adjust the R, G, and B light intensity so that, for example, the reproduction light is white”). Controlling the first brightness ratio relative to the first efficiency ratio are result-effective variables. In that, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the brightness of each color image to achieve the desired color balance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the image module is controlled such that when the multicolored image is generated, a first brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the second color sub-image is inversely proportional to the first efficiency ratio such that the different deflection efficiency profiles are compensated for and the observer can perceive the multicolored image as a true-color virtual image for viewing angles from the predetermined angular range, to provide a desired color balance is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 10. Noda further discloses all the volume gratings are formed in a common layer (para 91, "a single layer that is sensitive to a plurality of wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 11. Noda further discloses the volume gratings are configured as reflective volume gratings (See Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 12. Noda further discloses the volume hologram is embedded in a transparent carrier (para 87 "transparent base member 22").
Regarding Claim 13. Noda further discloses the projection unit comprises an image waveguide (See Fig. 4 optical system 21 with member 22), in which the multicolored image is coupled and guided via reflection as far as the volume hologram, which causes the deflection of the multicolored image and hence the output coupling from the image waveguide (See Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 14. Noda further discloses the image module further generates a third color sub-image having a third wavelength (para 163 “R image data”), wherein on the basis of the deflection efficiency profile of the volume grating for the third wavelength, a second efficiency ratio of the first deflection efficiency profile for the first wavelength to the deflection efficiency profile of the third wavelength is present and the deflection efficiency profiles for the predetermined angular range around the predetermined viewing angle are set such that the second efficiency ratio for the predetermined angular range is constant (para 139 "the ratio of the diffraction efficiency for the different colors is approximately constant"”), and wherein the image module is controlled such that when the multicolored image is generated, a second brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the third color sub-image is inversely proportional to the second efficiency ratio (para 155 “possible to adjust those amounts of current and thereby adjust the R, G, and B light intensity so that, for example, the reproduction light is white”).
Regarding Claim 15. Noda further discloses the first wavelength lies in a blue wavelength range, the second wavelength lies in a green wavelength range, and the third wavelength lies in a red wavelength range (See para 163).
Regarding Claim 16. Noda discloses a projection method, comprising:) generating a multicolored image (See Fig. 4 display element 11 and para 69) by generation of a first color sub-image having a first wavelength (para 163-164, "B image data") and a second color sub-image having a second wavelength (para 163-164, "G image data"); feeding the multicolored image (See Fig. 4) to a projection unit (Fig. 4 eyepiece optical system 21), which images said image into an exit pupil (Fig. 4 optical pupil E) such that an observer can perceive the image as a virtual image when an eye of the observer is positioned in the exit pupil and the observer looks at the projection unit at a predetermined viewing angle (para 78, "At the position of the optical pupil E, the observer observes an enlarged virtual image of the image displayed on the LCD 15"); providing a volume hologram (See Fig. 4 and para 91, "composed of a plurality of layers that are each sensitive to a different wavelength") to the projection unit to deflect the multicolored image into the exit pupil for imaging purposes, wherein the volume hologram has a volume grating for each wavelength of the color sub-images (Fig. 4 optical element 24 para 75 and para 91, "composed of a plurality of layers that are each sensitive to a different wavelength"), said volume grating having a respective deflection efficiency profile which is dependent on the viewing angle (Fig. 9D) and which is maximal for the predetermined viewing angle (See Fig. 9D) such that a first efficiency ratio of the first deflection efficiency profile for the first wavelength to the deflection efficiency profile of the second wavelength is present (para 139, "the ratio of the diffraction efficiency for the different colors"), wherein the deflection efficiency profiles for a predetermined angular range around the predetermined viewing angle are set such that the first efficiency ratio for the predetermined angular range is constant (para 139, "the ratio of the diffraction efficiency for the different colors is approximately constant"), and generating the multicolored image wherein, a first brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the second color sub-image (See at least Fig. 11B).
Noda does not specifically disclose generating the multicolored image, wherein a first brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the second color sub-image is inversely proportional to the first efficiency ratio such that the different deflection efficiency profiles are compensated for and the observer can perceive the multicolored image as a true-color virtual image for viewing angles from the predetermined angular range.
However, Noda discloses adjusting the brightness of the first color sub-image and the brightness of the second color sub-image in such a manner that would achieve reproduction of white light or color balance (See para 155 “possible to adjust those amounts of current and thereby adjust the R, G, and B light intensity so that, for example, the reproduction light is white”). Controlling the first brightness ratio relative to the first efficiency ratio are result-effective variables. In that, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the brightness of each color image to achieve the desired color balance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include generating the multicolored image, wherein a first brightness ratio of the brightness of the first color sub-image to the brightness of the second color sub-image is inversely proportional to the first efficiency ratio such that the different deflection efficiency profiles are compensated for and the observer can perceive the multicolored image as a true-color virtual image for viewing angles from the predetermined angular range, to provide a desired color balance is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871