DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-2, 4, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Peterson and Asakura.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the applicant has argued “Chae merely discloses an indirect release mechanism and likewise fails to disclose the lever portion” (page 9). However, the lever portion was already incorporated into the modified invention in parent Claim 1—Chae is used to further modify an already modified invention. In addition, the examiner notes the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim Objections
Claims 9-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 9-12, “the base unit is configured to be detachably coupled to a recess in a frame base portion of the base frame” should read “wherein the base unit is configured to be detachably coupled to a recess in a frame base portion of the base frame”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (WO 2020231405 A1, hereinafter Peterson in view of Asakura (US 20140249561 A1, hereinafter Asakura).
Regarding Claim 1, Peterson discloses an applicator (Element 10, Fig. 1) for inserting a sensor (Element 250, Fig. 37) for measuring biometric information into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (Elements 20 and 40, Fig. 1) to which a base unit comprising a base unit housing (Element 170, Fig. 4) and an adhesive portion (Element 14, Fig. 1B) provided at the base unit housing (“The non-adhesive side of the single-sided adhesive pad 14 is bonded to lower housing bottom 172 (shown in Fig. 22) of a sensor lower housing 170 by welding”, [0148]) to be attachable to the skin of the user (“The user simply removes the ready-to-use subcutaneous sensor applicator 10 from its packaging, removes the adhesive tape cover 12 from the adhesive tape 14 on the bottom of the applicator housing 20 exposing the adhesive that is aligned with the proximal external body flange portion 27, positions the subcutaneous sensor applicator in a pre-selected location onto the user’s skin or the skin of a patient, and pushes the deployment button assembly 40”, [0148]) is separatably coupled (“which sensor lower housing 170 is released from the applicator housing 21 when the sensor applicator system is deployed”, [0151]);
a locking hook (Element 30, Fig. 15; Element 130, Fig. 58) tiltably coupled to the applicator body (See Fig. 58; “Applicator housing 21 also includes an inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arms 30 formed in the applicator circumferential wall 25 where the applicator housing retaining arm 30 extend at a predefined angle from the applicator circumferential wall 25 into the applicator housing chamber 28 and terminate adjacent the open proximal body end 24”, [0157]) to be engaged with the base unit housing to maintain the base unit coupled to the applicator body (See Fig. 49); and
an insertion unit (Elements 110, 140, 149, Fig. 4; “The pre-loaded insertion assembly 100 includes an insertion assembly housing 1 10, a needle assembly 140, a biasing element 149 and an electro sensor assembly 220”, [0150]) installed to the applicator body (“…the system is preassembled, pre-loaded and ready to use [and] no assembly of any portion of the system is required by the user before placement of the system on the skin of a patient…”, [0060]) to insert the sensor into the skin of the user by moving a sensor unit (See Fig. 36) comprising the sensor (Element 250, Fig. 36) and a sensor unit housing (Element 200, Fig. 4), to which the sensor is mounted (See Figs. 36-37), from a first position, which is away from the base unit (See Fig. 49; the sensor assembly is not lowered), to a second position where the sensor unit housing is coupled to the base unit housing (See Fig. 57; the sensor assembly has fully lowered),
wherein the insertion unit comprises a shuttle (Element 114, Fig, 23) configured to move with the sensor unit from the first position (See Fig. 49) to the second position (See Fig. 57), and the shuttle is configured to tilt the locking hook in a direction to be disengaged from the base unit housing by contacting the locking hook at the second position (“In this view, closed housing proximal end 1 14 had made contact with inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arm 30 and, at its furthest most travel, has completely pushed retaining arm 30 away from sensor lower housing 170, which releases the now formed sensor module 160 from the applicator module 15”, [00179], Fig. 58). Peterson discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the locking hook comprises a pivot portion, a hook portion connected to one side of the pivot portion to be engaged with the base unit housing, and a lever portion protruding in a direction of intersecting with the pivot portion to be contactable with the shuttle, wherein the locking hook is installed to be rotatable around the pivot portion as a rotation center.
However, Asakura, which also discloses an applicator (Element 1, Fig. 1) for inserting a sensor (Element 6, Fig. 8) for measuring biometric information into skin of a user, teaches wherein the locking hook comprises a pivot portion (Element 53d, Fig. 10), a hook portion (Element 53a, Fig. 10) connected to one side of the pivot portion (See Fig. 10) to be engaged with the base unit housing (Element 52b, Fig. 10; “The mounting member 52 has two protrusions 52a and 52b, as shown in FIG. 5”, [0042]), and a lever portion (Element 53c, Fig. 10) protruding in a direction of intersecting with the pivot portion (“An inclined portion 53c is provided on the surface of the locking member 53 which faces the panel portion 41”, [0053]) to be contactable with the shuttle (Element 41 of element 4, Fig. 10; “A vertical panel portion 41 is provided at the bottom of the operating section 4”, [0052]), wherein the locking hook is installed to be rotatable around the pivot portion as a rotation center (“when the descent of the operating section 4 continues, the inclined portion 53c is pressed by the protrusion 42 and the locking member 53 is rotated on the pivot shaft 53d against the exerted force”, [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the locking hook of Peterson with the locking hook and pivoting mechanism of Asakura, because both mechanisms perform the same function of allowing a locking hook to be released allowing a sensor unit to be inserted into the skin.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the hook portion is engaged with the base unit housing in a way that at least a part of the hook portion is inserted into a housing groove (Element 178, Fig. 50B; “This view also shows inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arm 30 coupled to lower housing locking recess 178 to retain sensor lower housing 170 to application housing 21”, [0177]) formed on one side of the base unit housing (See Figs. 19-20).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 4, wherein:
the applicator body (Elements 20 and 40, Fig. 1) comprises a base frame (Element 20, Fig. 1), a middle frame disposed on the base frame (See Element 110, Fig. 4), and a top case (Element 40, Fig. 1) coupled to the middle frame and covering the upper part of the middle frame (See Figs. 1-2; when the applicator is fully assembled, element 40 couples to and covers at least the upper middle part of element 110),
the base unit (Element 170, Fig. 4) is configured to be detachably coupled to a recess in a frame base portion of the base frame (See Fig. 4; “The applicator housing assembly 20 includes an applicator housing 21 and a sensor lower housing 170 captured by the applicator housing 21 , which sensor lower housing 170 is released from the applicator housing 21 when the sensor applicator system is deployed”, [0151]), and
the locking hook (Element 30, Fig. 15; Element 130, Fig. 58) is coupled to a support portion in the base frame (“Applicator housing 21 also includes an inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arms 30 formed in the applicator circumferential wall 25 where the applicator housing retaining arm 30 extend at a predefined angle from the applicator circumferential wall 25 into the applicator housing chamber 28 and terminate adjacent the open proximal body end 24”, [0157]).
Regarding Claim 7, Peterson discloses an applicator assembly (See Fig. 1) comprising:
an applicator body (Elements 20 and 40, Fig. 1);
a sensor unit (See Fig. 36) including a sensor (Element 250, Fig. 36) and a sensor unit housing (Element 200, Fig. 4) to which the sensor is mounted (See Figs. 36-37);
a base unit including a base unit housing (Element 170, Fig. 4) and an adhesive portion (Element 14, Fig. 1B) provided at the base unit housing (“The non-adhesive side of the single-sided adhesive pad 14 is bonded to lower housing bottom 172 (shown in Fig. 22) of a sensor lower housing 170 by welding”, [0148]) to be attachable to skin of a user (“The user simply removes the ready-to-use subcutaneous sensor applicator 10 from its packaging, removes the adhesive tape cover 12 from the adhesive tape 14 on the bottom of the applicator housing 20 exposing the adhesive that is aligned with the proximal external body flange portion 27, positions the subcutaneous sensor applicator in a pre-selected location onto the user’s skin or the skin of a patient, and pushes the deployment button assembly 40”, [0148]), the base unit separatably coupled to the applicator body (“which sensor lower housing 170 is released from the applicator housing 21 when the sensor applicator system is deployed”, [0151]) by being spaced apart from the sensor unit (See Fig. 48);
a locking hook (Element 30, Fig. 15; Element 130, Fig. 58) tiltably coupled to the applicator body (See Fig. 58; “Applicator housing 21 also includes an inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arms 30 formed in the applicator circumferential wall 25 where the applicator housing retaining arm 30 extend at a predefined angle from the applicator circumferential wall 25 into the applicator housing chamber 28 and terminate adjacent the open proximal body end 24”, [0157]) to be engaged with the base unit housing to maintain the base unit to be coupled to the applicator body (See Fig. 49);
and an insertion unit (Elements 110, 140, 149, Fig. 4; “The pre-loaded insertion assembly 100 includes an insertion assembly housing 1 10, a needle assembly 140, a biasing element 149 and an electro sensor assembly 220”, [0150]) installed to the applicator body (“…the system is preassembled, pre-loaded and ready to use [and] no assembly of any portion of the system is required by the user before placement of the system on the skin of a patient…”, [0060]) to insert the sensor into the skin of the user by moving the sensor unit from a first position, which is away from the base unit (See Fig. 49; the sensor assembly is not lowered), to a second position where the sensor unit housing is coupled to the base unit housing (See Fig. 57; the sensor assembly has fully lowered),
wherein the insertion unit comprises a shuttle (Element 114, Fig, 23) configured to move with the sensor unit from the first position (See Fig. 49) to the second position (See Fig. 57), and the shuttle is configured to tilt the locking hook in a direction to be disengaged from the base unit housing by contacting the locking hook at the second position (“In this view, closed housing proximal end 1 14 had made contact with inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arm 30 and, at its furthest most travel, has completely pushed retaining arm 30 away from sensor lower housing 170, which releases the now formed sensor module 160 from the applicator module 15”, [00179], Fig. 58).
Peterson discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the locking hook comprises a pivot portion, a hook portion connected to one side of the pivot portion to be engaged with the base unit housing, and a lever portion protruding in a direction of intersecting with the pivot portion to be contactable with the shuttle, wherein the locking hook is installed to be rotatable around the pivot portion as a rotation center.
However, Asakura, which also discloses an applicator assembly (Element 1, Fig. 1), teaches wherein the locking hook comprises a pivot portion (Element 53d, Fig. 10), a hook portion (Element 53a, Fig. 10) connected to one side of the pivot portion (See Fig. 10) to be engaged with the base unit housing (Element 52b, Fig. 10; “The mounting member 52 has two protrusions 52a and 52b, as shown in FIG. 5”, [0042]), and a lever portion (Element 53c, Fig. 10) protruding in a direction of intersecting with the pivot portion (“An inclined portion 53c is provided on the surface of the locking member 53 which faces the panel portion 41”, [0053]) to be contactable with the shuttle (Element 41 of element 4, Fig. 10; “A vertical panel portion 41 is provided at the bottom of the operating section 4”, [0052]), wherein the locking hook is installed to be rotatable around the pivot portion as a rotation center (“when the descent of the operating section 4 continues, the inclined portion 53c is pressed by the protrusion 42 and the locking member 53 is rotated on the pivot shaft 53d against the exerted force”, [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the locking hook of Peterson with the locking hook and pivoting mechanism of Asakura, because both mechanisms perform the same function of allowing a locking hook to be released allowing a sensor unit to be inserted into the skin.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein:
the applicator body (Elements 20 and 40, Fig. 1) comprises a base frame (Element 20, Fig. 1), a middle frame disposed on the base frame (See Element 110, Fig. 4), and a top case (Element 40, Fig. 1) coupled to the middle frame and covering the upper part of the middle frame (See Figs. 1-2; when the applicator is fully assembled, element 40 couples to and covers at least the upper middle part of element 110),
the base unit (Element 170, Fig. 4) is configured to be detachably coupled to a recess in a frame base portion of the base frame (See Fig. 4; “The applicator housing assembly 20 includes an applicator housing 21 and a sensor lower housing 170 captured by the applicator housing 21 , which sensor lower housing 170 is released from the applicator housing 21 when the sensor applicator system is deployed”, [0151]), and
the locking hook (Element 30, Fig. 15; Element 130, Fig. 58) is coupled to a support portion in the base frame (“Applicator housing 21 also includes an inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arms 30 formed in the applicator circumferential wall 25 where the applicator housing retaining arm 30 extend at a predefined angle from the applicator circumferential wall 25 into the applicator housing chamber 28 and terminate adjacent the open proximal body end 24”, [0157]).
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Asakura, and further in view of Chae et al (KR 20200014002 A, cited in applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Chae; an attached machine translation was relied upon for this rejection).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 2. Modified Peterson discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the applicator body comprises a supporting portion configured to limit a tilting angle of the locking hook by supporting the lever portion when the locking hook is tilted to be disengaged from the base unit housing. However, Chae teaches a supporting portion configured to limit a tilting angle of the locking hook (See Fig. 16, bottom figure; element 102 limits the tilting angle of element 330 when element 330 is disengaged from element 5112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the supporting portion of Chae to the applicator of Peterson, (i.e. limiting a tilting angle of the locking hook by supporting the lever portion of modified Chae when the locking hook is tilted to be disengaged from the base unit housing) , because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and one with ordinary skill in the art could have combined all the claimed elements by known methods, and the result would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 3, wherein the applicator body (Elements 20 and 40, Fig. 1) comprises a base frame (Element 20, Fig. 1), a middle frame disposed on the base frame (See Element 110, Fig. 4), and a top case (Element 40, Fig. 1) coupled to the middle frame and covering the upper part of the middle frame (See Figs. 1-2; when the applicator is fully assembled, element 40 couples to and covers at least the upper middle part of element 110),
the base unit (Element 170, Fig. 4) is configured to be detachably coupled to a recess in a frame base portion of the base frame (See Fig. 4; “The applicator housing assembly 20 includes an applicator housing 21 and a sensor lower housing 170 captured by the applicator housing 21 , which sensor lower housing 170 is released from the applicator housing 21 when the sensor applicator system is deployed”, [0151]), and
the locking hook (Element 30, Fig. 15; Element 130, Fig. 58) is coupled to a support portion in the base frame (“Applicator housing 21 also includes an inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arms 30 formed in the applicator circumferential wall 25 where the applicator housing retaining arm 30 extend at a predefined angle from the applicator circumferential wall 25 into the applicator housing chamber 28 and terminate adjacent the open proximal body end 24”, [0157]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Asakura, and further in view of Chae et al (KR 20200014002 A, cited in applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Chae; an attached machine translation was relied upon for this rejection).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1. Modified Peterson discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the applicator body includes an elastic arm configured to bias the locking hook to be engaged with the base unit housing by contacting one side of the locking hook. However, Chae teaches wherein the applicator body includes an elastic arm (S1, Fig. 16) configured to bias the locking hook to be engaged with the base unit housing by contacting one side of the locking hook (See Fig. 16; “…the sensor fixing hook 330 is attached to the body as shown in FIG. 15 when the plunger body 300 is positioned in the first position. The body attachment unit 20 is elastically supported in an inward direction to be engaged with the engagement coupling groove 5112 of the unit 20”, page 9 of the attached machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peterson in view of Chae because this would secure the applicator components during transportation and prevent any accidental movements.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 5, wherein:
the applicator body (Elements 20 and 40, Fig. 1) comprises a base frame (Element 20, Fig. 1), a middle frame disposed on the base frame (See Element 110, Fig. 4), and a top case (Element 40, Fig. 1) coupled to the middle frame and covering the upper part of the middle frame (See Figs. 1-2; when the applicator is fully assembled, element 40 couples to and covers at least the upper middle part of element 110),
the base unit (Element 170, Fig. 4) is configured to be detachably coupled to a recess in a frame base portion of the base frame (See Fig. 4; “The applicator housing assembly 20 includes an applicator housing 21 and a sensor lower housing 170 captured by the applicator housing 21 , which sensor lower housing 170 is released from the applicator housing 21 when the sensor applicator system is deployed”, [0151]), and
the locking hook (Element 30, Fig. 15; Element 130, Fig. 58) is coupled to a support portion in the base frame (“Applicator housing 21 also includes an inwardly-facing applicator housing retaining arms 30 formed in the applicator circumferential wall 25 where the applicator housing retaining arm 30 extend at a predefined angle from the applicator circumferential wall 25 into the applicator housing chamber 28 and terminate adjacent the open proximal body end 24”, [0157]).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding Claim 6, there is no prior art reference or combination of references that would make obvious, in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations:
a rod protruding from another side of the pivot portion, and
wherein the elastic arm is provided to contact the rod.
Claim 12 is not rejected under prior art by virtue of dependence on Claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN E. COOPER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791