DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 04/02/2026.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1-9, 11-18 have been amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisamos (Pub. No. 2016/0284232), Kato (Pub. No. 2015/0328769), and Aichele et al. (“Aichele”, Pat. No. 9, 671, 777).
Per claim 1, Sisamos teaches a teaching device for performing program generation using an icon representing a function constituting a control program of a robotic, the teaching device comprising a processor configured to ([0066]-[0067]):
acquire state information indicating whether or not an icon constituting the control program can execute an expected operation or whether or not the icon has executed the expected operation (figs. 3 and 4; [0059]-[0062]; [0059]… FIG. 3, for example, shows a configuration 128 (e.g., through a definition window 180) of an LED icon 182 relating to a programming object 132. The programming object 132 relates to an acting object 160 (e.g., a light emitting diode or LED), and the icon 122 represents a schematic of an LED. The definition window 180 of the programming object 132 shows the selection of port 150, duration of action 156, delay 146, as well as the relationship to previous icon 122 with the “AFTER PREVIOUS” configuration 144 selected. The placement and configuration of the LED icon 182 in the programming area 126 is thus translated into programming code 120 (e.g., pseudo-code) and is displayed in the textual view 114. The simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON in the simulation view 118. [0060]… FIG. 4 illustrates the addition of a motor icon 186 another acting object 160 (e.g., a motor 188), wherein the definition window 180 of the programming object 132 shows the selection of port 150, nature of action 154 (e.g., rotate LEFT) duration of action 156, delay 146, as well as the relationship to previous icon 122 with the “AFTER PREVIOUS” configuration 144 selected. The placement and configuration of the motor icon 186 in the programming area 126 is thus translated into programming code 120 and is further displayed in the textual view 114. The simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON and the motor 188 turns LEFT in the simulation view 118. [0061]… The plurality of views 112, may be further synchronized (e.g., immediately or with a predetermined delay) after a change is made in any of the plurality of views. As stated previously, the synchronization may be automatic or manual in order to enable the user to implement a change in one of the plurality of views 112 and see the effect in another. For example the user can produce programming code 120 using visual programming in the graphical view 116 and see and edit the pseudo-code in the textual view 114, or see a simulation of the operation in the simulation view 118. [0062]… the user is given hardware relevant options in the definition window 180 of the respective icon 122. Selection of the nature of action 154 as LEFT or RIGHT means that the motor 188 will turn clockwise or anti-clockwise respectively. The ports 172 available for selection are only the ports where the corresponding programming object 132 can be connected at the hardware level. Thus, for the motor 188 shown in FIG. 4, the ports 172 presented for selection are only ports A, B or C in contrast to the example shown in FIG. 3 where the LED 184 can be connected to ports 1, 2, 3, or 4. The ports 172 of FIG. 4 are visually shown in the simulation view 118 so that the user can quickly see the arrangement of the ports. In the definition window 180 associated with the motor icon 186, the nature of action provides options LEFT, RIGHT, and OFF, as opposed to the ON and OFF options for the LED icon 182 in FIG. 3); and
generate, based on the state information, a display relating to the icon in such a way that whether or not the icon can execute an expected operation or whether or not the icon has executed the expected operation can be visually recognized in a program creation screen (fig. 3 and 4; [0059]-[0062]; [0059]… FIG. 3, for example, shows a configuration 128 (e.g., through a definition window 180) of an LED icon 182 relating to a programming object 132. The programming object 132 relates to an acting object 160 (e.g., a light emitting diode or LED), and the icon 122 represents a schematic of an LED. The definition window 180 of the programming object 132 shows the selection of port 150, duration of action 156, delay 146, as well as the relationship to previous icon 122 with the “AFTER PREVIOUS” configuration 144 selected. The placement and configuration of the LED icon 182 in the programming area 126 is thus translated into programming code 120 (e.g., pseudo-code) and is displayed in the textual view 114. The simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON in the simulation view 118. [0060]… FIG. 4 illustrates the addition of a motor icon 186 another acting object 160 (e.g., a motor 188), wherein the definition window 180 of the programming object 132 shows the selection of port 150, nature of action 154 (e.g., rotate LEFT) duration of action 156, delay 146, as well as the relationship to previous icon 122 with the “AFTER PREVIOUS” configuration 144 selected. The placement and configuration of the motor icon 186 in the programming area 126 is thus translated into programming code 120 and is further displayed in the textual view 114. The simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON and the motor 188 turns LEFT in the simulation view 118). [0061]… The plurality of views 112, may be further synchronized (e.g., immediately or with a predetermined delay) after a change is made in any of the plurality of views. As stated previously, the synchronization may be automatic or manual in order to enable the user to implement a change in one of the plurality of views 112 and see the effect in another. For example the user can produce programming code 120 using visual programming in the graphical view 116 and see and edit the pseudo-code in the textual view 114, or see a simulation of the operation in the simulation view 118. [0062]… the user is given hardware relevant options in the definition window 180 of the respective icon 122. Selection of the nature of action 154 as LEFT or RIGHT means that the motor 188 will turn clockwise or anti-clockwise respectively. The ports 172 available for selection are only the ports where the corresponding programming object 132 can be connected at the hardware level. Thus, for the motor 188 shown in FIG. 4, the ports 172 presented for selection are only ports A, B or C in contrast to the example shown in FIG. 3 where the LED 184 can be connected to ports 1, 2, 3, or 4. The ports 172 of FIG. 4 are visually shown in the simulation view 118 so that the user can quickly see the arrangement of the ports. In the definition window 180 associated with the motor icon 186, the nature of action provides options LEFT, RIGHT, and OFF, as opposed to the ON and OFF options for the LED icon 182 in FIG. 3).
Sisamos does not specifically teaches an industrial machine.
However, Kato teaches an industrial machine and similarly teaches utilizing graphical symbols to define a sequential process performed by an industrial robot (figs. 9-12; [0051]; [0057]-[0058]; [0073]; [0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include teaching of Kato in the invention of Sisamos in order to provide programming/teaching of an industrial robot utilizing the input of selectable graphical icons in an efficient and visual programming environment.
The modified Sisamos does not specifically teach wherein the processor is further configured to: acquire, as the state information indicating whether or not the icon constituting the control program can execute the expected operation, information indicating a result of judging whether or not setting of the icon is in a complete state, or acquire, by monitoring an execution state or an execution result of the control program, the state information indicating whether or not the icon has executed the expected operation.
However, Aichele teaches acquire, as the state information indicating whether or not the icon constituting the control program can execute the expected operation, information indicating a result of judging whether or not setting of the icon is in a complete state, or acquire, by monitoring an execution state or an execution result of the control program, the state information indicating whether or not the icon has executed the expected operation (Fig. 4 shows results of execution 410 may include a success result 420, a fail result 430, a partial success result 440, and a near success result 450; col. 11, lines 11-55…in case of the success result 420, a step 460 may be performed by running the plausible test associated with the success result 420 on a physical robot. Moreover, the results of execution determined to be ‘success’ and a robot control program associated with the test that resulted in the ‘success’ results of the execution may be stored to a database at step 470. In case of the fail result 430, the results of execution determined to be ‘fail’ and a robot control program associated with the test that resulted in the ‘fail’ results of execution may be stored to the database at step 480. The data associated with the ‘fail’ results may be used to understand why the robot control program did not work. In case of the partial success result 440, the parts of robot control program associated with test that resulted in the ‘partial success’ results of execution may be reused to generate new robot control program at step 485. For example, the partial success result 430 may show that the simulated robot can reach and pick an object used in a test but the place of the object may need to be re-planned. In case of the near success result 450, the robot control program associated with test that resulted in the ‘near success’ results of execution may be reused and some parameters of the robot control program may be adjusted at step 490 to achieve ‘success’ results of execution.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include teaching of Aichele in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to include executing programming actions in a virtual/simulated environment because doing so would allow analyzing test results of execution of the plurality of plausible tests to select an optimized robot control program from the at least one robot control program.
Per claim 4, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the a processor further configured to display information relating to details of the state information in a display screen in response to a predetermined operation via an operation unit (figs. 3 and 4; [0059]-[0062]; [0059]… FIG. 3, for example, shows a configuration 128 (e.g., through a definition window 180) of an LED icon 182 relating to a programming object 132. The programming object 132 relates to an acting object 160 (e.g., a light emitting diode or LED), and the icon 122 represents a schematic of an LED. The definition window 180 of the programming object 132 shows the selection of port 150, duration of action 156, delay 146, as well as the relationship to previous icon 122 with the “AFTER PREVIOUS” configuration 144 selected. The placement and configuration of the LED icon 182 in the programming area 126 is thus translated into programming code 120 (e.g., pseudo-code) and is displayed in the textual view 114. The simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON in the simulation view 118. [0060]… FIG. 4 illustrates the addition of a motor icon 186 another acting object 160 (e.g., a motor 188), wherein the definition window 180 of the programming object 132 shows the selection of port 150, nature of action 154 (e.g., rotate LEFT) duration of action 156, delay 146, as well as the relationship to previous icon 122 with the “AFTER PREVIOUS” configuration 144 selected. The placement and configuration of the motor icon 186 in the programming area 126 is thus translated into programming code 120 and is further displayed in the textual view 114. The simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON and the motor 188 turns LEFT in the simulation view 118). [0061]… The plurality of views 112, may be further synchronized (e.g., immediately or with a predetermined delay) after a change is made in any of the plurality of views. As stated previously, the synchronization may be automatic or manual in order to enable the user to implement a change in one of the plurality of views 112 and see the effect in another. For example the user can produce programming code 120 using visual programming in the graphical view 116 and see and edit the pseudo-code in the textual view 114, or see a simulation of the operation in the simulation view 118. [0062]… the user is given hardware relevant options in the definition window 180 of the respective icon 122. Selection of the nature of action 154 as LEFT or RIGHT means that the motor 188 will turn clockwise or anti-clockwise respectively. The ports 172 available for selection are only the ports where the corresponding programming object 132 can be connected at the hardware level. Thus, for the motor 188 shown in FIG. 4, the ports 172 presented for selection are only ports A, B or C in contrast to the example shown in FIG. 3 where the LED 184 can be connected to ports 1, 2, 3, or 4. The ports 172 of FIG. 4 are visually shown in the simulation view 118 so that the user can quickly see the arrangement of the ports. In the definition window 180 associated with the motor icon 186, the nature of action provides options LEFT, RIGHT, and OFF, as opposed to the ON and OFF options for the LED icon 182 in FIG. 3).
Per claim 15, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the program creation screen including a program creation region for creating the control program by sequentially arranging icons (Sisamos, [0012]; fig. 3-6 show sequentially arranging of icon in the flow diagram 124; Kato, figs. 9-11; [0051]; [0057]-[0058]; [0073]; [0081]…Processing Station 1 has been selected and inserted into the programming field 740 at symbol or icon 746, Processing Station 2 has been selected and inserted into the programming field 740 at symbol or icon 748, and Processing Station 3 has been selected and inserted into the programming field 740 at symbol or icon 750. The user has arranged Selected Processing Station 1 to be performed first, Selected Processing Station 2 to be performed second sequentially, Selected Processing Station 3 to be performed third sequentially, and thus the programming field 740 shows the process proceeding along process line 752. The selected processing stations can be changed if desired, and the sequential arrangement can be changed if desired.)
Per claim 16, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured generate the display relating to the icon in the program creation region (Sisamos, [0012]; [0059]-[0062]; fig. 3-6 show sequentially arranging of icon in the flow diagram 124; Kato, figs. 9-12; [0051]; [0057]-[0058]; [0073]; [0081]…Processing Station 1 has been selected and inserted into the programming field 740 at symbol or icon 746, Processing Station 2 has been selected and inserted into the programming field 740 at symbol or icon 748, and Processing Station 3 has been selected and inserted into the programming field 740 at symbol or icon 750. The user has arranged Selected Processing Station 1 to be performed first, Selected Processing Station 2 to be performed second sequentially, Selected Processing Station 3 to be performed third sequentially, and thus the programming field 740 shows the process proceeding along process line 752. The selected processing stations can be changed if desired, and the sequential arrangement can be changed if desired.)
Per claim 17, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 15, wherein the program creation screen further includes a model image display screen in which a 3D model of the industrial machine that operates by execution of the control program is displayed, and the processor is further configured to generate a display relating to an execution result of the icon in the model image display screen (Kato, figs. 9-12; [0051]; [0057]-[0058]; [0073]; [0081]…the processing unit 110 can be further configured to calculate movement of the industrial robot during the selected handling operation using predetermined two-dimensional modeling or three-dimensional modeling data in conjunction with the selected motion control. In addition, a processing operation that is divided into seven layers (or categories), in which the first layer displays a 2D (two-dimensional) or 3D (three-dimensional) mapped list of manufacturing factories in a world map that are operated by a manufacturing company, a second layer displays a 2D or 3D mapped list of factory buildings in the factory selected in the first layer, a third layer displays a 2D or 3D mapped list of product lines in a the factory building selected in the second layer, a fourth layer that displays a 2D or 3D modeling list of product items in the product line selected in the third layer, a fifth layer displays a 2D or 3D modeling list of product stations for manufacturing the item selected in the fourth layer in the product line selected in the third layer, a sixth layer that displays a visualized list of robot operations at the station selected in the fifth layer 5, and a seventh layer that displays a visualized list of robot motion controls selected in the sixth layer).
Per claim 18, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the display in association with a position corresponding to a teaching position set in the icon in the model image display screen ( Sisamos, [0060]…the simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON and the motor 188 turns LEFT in the simulation view 118. [0062]…the user is given hardware relevant options in the definition window 180 of the respective icon 122. Selection of the nature of action 154 as LEFT or RIGHT means that the motor 188 will turn clockwise or anti-clockwise respectively. Kato, figs. 9-12; [0051]; [0057]-[0058]; [0073]; [0081]…The user has arranged Selected Processing Station 1 to be performed first, Selected Processing Station 2 to be performed second sequentially, Selected Processing Station 3 to be performed third sequentially, and thus the programming field 740 shows the process proceeding along process line 752. ).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisamos (Pub. No. 2016/0284232), Kato (Pub. No. 2015/0328769), Aichele et al. (“Aichele”, Pat. No. 9, 671, 777), and Daily et al. (“Daily”, Pub. No. 2013/0123951).
Per claim 2, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to acquire, as the state information, information indicating at least one of a setting complete state or a setting incomplete state, an abnormality in operation, or an execution result with respect to the icon constituting the control program, and the processor is further configured to generate a display relating to the icon in such a way that with respect to the icon the state information of which is acquired, the setting being in a complete state or the incomplete state, the abnormality having occurred in the operation, or the execution result can be visually recognized.
However, Daily teaches acquire, as the state information, information indicating at least one of a setting complete state or a setting incomplete state, an abnormality in operation, or an execution result with respect to the icon constituting the control program, and the processor is further configured to generate a display relating to the icon in such a way that with respect to the icon the state information of which is acquired, the setting being in a complete state or the incomplete state, the abnormality having occurred in the operation, or the execution result can be visually recognized ([0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Daily in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand and resolve the causes of these errors.
Per claim 3, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate a display relating to the icon by performing a change of a display form of the icon or addition of an image to the icon.
However, Daily teaches generate a display relating to the icon by performing a change of a display form of the icon or addition of an image to the icon ([0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Daily in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand and resolve the causes of these errors.
Per claim 5, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the state information is information in association with execution of the icon as described in claim 1, but does not teach wherein the state information is information of an alarm or error that occurs in association with execution of the icon.
However, Daily teaches the state information is information of an alarm or error that occurs in association with execution of the icon ([0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Daily in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand and resolve the causes of these errors.
Per claim 6, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to add an image representing a specific mark to the icon with respect to which the alarm or error has occurred (Daily, [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell).
Per claim 7, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to generate a display of at least one of details of the alarm or error, guide information to eliminate the alarm or error, and a selection button to transition to a parameter setting screen to eliminate the alarm or error (Daily, figs. 5 and 7, detail of the alarm or error 70; [0066]…the data fields 114 may include a corrective action field 122 that may propose an action for the HMI user to perform to correct or resolve the issue causing the error. Accordingly, the data fields 114 may assist the HMI user to trouble shoot or resolve errors more efficiently).
Per claim 10, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the icon is an icon representing an instruction relating to processing using a visual sensor ([0017[]-[0018]; [0051]), but does not specifically teach the state information is information indicating whether an execution result of processing using the visual sensor is a success or failure.
However, Daily teaches the state information is information indicating whether an execution result of processing using the visual sensor is a success or failure ([0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Daily in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand and resolve the causes of these errors.
Per claim 11, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to perform one of operations of differentiating a display form of the icon according to whether the execution result is a success or failure, adding an image representing a different mark to the icon according to whether the execution result is a success or failure, and displaying a thumbnail of an image that serves as the execution result and is captured by the visual sensor in association with the icon (Daily, 0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell .
Per claim 12, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the state information is information indicating that setting of the icon includes at least one of an item that has not been set and an item a setting of which needs to be changed.
However, Daily teaches the state information is information indicating that setting of the icon includes at least one of an item that has not been set and an item a setting of which needs to be changed ([0044]; [0047]; … the HMI user or designer may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. By allowing the designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0048]…after receiving an input on the error icon 68, the HMI 26 may display an error window 70 to provide in context detail of the particular error that corresponds to the device element 18. In one embodiment, the graphic corresponding to the error icon 68 may be modified even further by shading or the like when the error icon 68 receives the input. [0066]…the data fields 114 may include a corrective action field 122 that may propose an action for the HMI user to perform to correct or resolve the issue causing the error. Accordingly, the data fields 114 may assist the HMI user to trouble shoot or resolve errors more efficiently. Accordingly, Daily show a state information (i.e. error icon 68) providing an indication an item setting of which to be change in order to correct or resolve the issue causing the error.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Daily in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand and resolve the causes of these errors.
Per claim 13, the modified Sisamons teaches the teaching device according to claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to change a display form to a first display form or adds an image representing a first mark with respect to an icon that is determined to have an item that has not been set and change a display form to a second display form different from the first display form or adds an image representing a second mark different from the first mark with respect to an icon that is determined to have an item a setting of which needs to be changed (Daily, [0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell.)
Per claim 14, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 12, wherein the information display generation unit generates a display relating to the icon in such a way that at least one of the number of items that have not been set in setting of the icon or the number of items settings of which needs to be changed in setting of the icon can be visually recognized (Daily, figs. 13 and 14; [0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell. Furthermore [0066] and [0070]; which show the error window 70 may display errors that are related in a category view such that related errors may be grouped into categories and displayed with respect to their categories. Accordingly, by grouping of errors in a category view, the viewer is provided with a number of items settings of which need to be changed in order to correct or resolve the issue causing the errors. )
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisamos (Pub. No. 2016/0284232), Kato (Pub. No. 2015/0328769), Aichele et al. (“Aichele”, Pat. No. 9, 671, 777), Daily et al. (“Daily”, Pub. No. 2013/0123951), and Kobayashi (Pub. No. US 2021/0331319).
Per claim 8, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 5, wherein as the icon constituting the control program, a position icon having a function of specifying a position of the industrial machine is included, and when as information of the alarm or error with respect to the position icon, the processor further configured to generate, for the position icon, a display that enables an occurrence of the alarm or error to be recognized (Sisamos, [0060]…the simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON and the motor 188 turns LEFT in the simulation view 118. [0062]…the user is given hardware relevant options in the definition window 180 of the respective icon 122. Selection of the nature of action 154 as LEFT or RIGHT means that the motor 188 will turn clockwise or anti-clockwise respectively. Daily, ([0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell.)
The modified Sisamos does not specifically teach information representing one of a position specified by the position icon being out of range of movement of the industrial machine or the position being a singular point is acquired.
However, Kobayashi teaches information representing one of a position specified by the position icon being out of range of movement of the industrial machine or the position being a singular point is acquired ([0025]… At step S150, whether or not an out-of-movable-range error that an operation according to the work program is out of the movable range occurs is determined during execution of the control of the robot 100. When the out-of-movable-range error occurs, the robot control unit 210 stops the control according to the work program and transmits an occurrence of the out-of-movable-range error to the personal computer 300 to inform the user.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kobayashi in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and/or condition of operating the robot and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand.
Per claim 9, the modified Sisamos teaches the teaching device according to claim 5, wherein as the icon constituting the control program, a first position icon and a second position icon each having a function of specifying a position of the industrial machine are included, and when as information of the alarm or error with respect to the first position icon and the second position icon, the processor further configured to generate a display that enables an occurrence of the alarm or error to be recognized between the first position icon and the second position icon in the program creation screen (Sisamos, [0060]…the simulation view 118 may further simulate the execution of the programming code 120 by showing the selected objects, at the defined port, in operation. For example, an LED 184 turns ON and the motor 188 turns LEFT in the simulation view 118. [0062]…the user is given hardware relevant options in the definition window 180 of the respective icon 122. Selection of the nature of action 154 as LEFT or RIGHT means that the motor 188 will turn clockwise or anti-clockwise respectively. Daily, ([0044]… the HMI user may define an error state set that may indicate to the HMI 26 how to modify the graphics that correspond to the erroneous device elements 18. In this manner, the HMI designer, who may better understand how errors may best be depicted, may define the error state set in the design-time environment 16 such that it best serves the HMI user. For example, the error state set may specify that a graphic that corresponds to an erroneous device element 18 may be removed, filled with a cross-hatch graphic, may be disabled (i.e., un-interactive), and so forth. By allowing the HMI designer to define the error state, the HMI 26 may allow for a customizable error display. [0047]… a different error icon 68 (i.e., graphic or image) may be placed on the erroneous device element 18 based on the type of error that exists on the device elements. For instance, a number of errors may be depicted on the HMI 26 including configuration errors (e.g., syntax, incorrectly linked tag) for an application running on the HMIs, system fault conditions (e.g., device failure) present in the industrial automation system, annunciation conditions (e.g., anticipated alarm), and the like…By way of examples, the configuration error may be depicted with a circle having an "X" disposed within it, the system fault condition may be depicted with a triangle having an exclamation point ("!") disposed within it, and the annunciation condition may be depicted as an image of a bell.)
The modified Sisamon does not specifically teach information representing one of a position of the industrial machine going out of range of movement or the position moving to a singular point in association with the industrial machine moving between the position specified by the first position icon and the position specified by the second position icon is acquired.
However, Kobayashi teaches information representing one of a position of the industrial machine going out of range of movement or the position moving to a singular point in association with the industrial machine moving between the position specified by the first position icon and the position specified by the second position icon is acquired ([0025]… At step S150, whether or not an out-of-movable-range error that an operation according to the work program is out of the movable range occurs is determined during execution of the control of the robot 100. When the out-of-movable-range error occurs, the robot control unit 210 stops the control according to the work program and transmits an occurrence of the out-of-movable-range error to the personal computer 300 to inform the user.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kobayashi in the invention of the modified Sisamos in order to allow defining the error state and/or condition of operating the robot and allowing for a customizable error display to best assist the users such that the users may efficiently understand.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179