DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-3) in the reply filed on 9/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the combination of Wengrovious and Gohndrone cannot produce the alkoxy-functional organosiloxane oligomer of claim 1. When Gohndrone's oligomer of formula (V) is used in Wengrovious's method, condensation reactions with the alkoxy terminal groups would occur. The silicon-bonded hydrogen atom would remain unreacted while the alkoxy terminal groups would be consumed.
This is not found persuasive because Gohndrone's oligomer of formula (V) is identical to the (A) an alkoxy-functional organohydrogensiloxane oligomer in claim 4. Wengrovious's acetylacetone is identical to the (B) in claim 4. Applicant’s Example 3 [0042 pgpub] discloses ETM reacting with acetylacetone with catalyst at 100 °C. Wengrovious teaches similar method in Example 10: reacting polyalkoxy-terminated polydiorganosiloxane with acetylacetone with the tin catalyst (dibutyltin bis(acetylacetonate) which is identical to the claimed (B)) at 100 °C [P8L50-58]. Applicant did not explain why the oligomer in claim 1 can be obtained when the (A) is used to react with the (B) in claim 4, but can’t be obtained when Gohndrone's oligomer of formula (V) is used to react with acetylacetone.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Groups II and III (claims 4-15) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a formula containing R3. However, the claim does not define the recited R3. This renders the claim indefinite. For the purpose of further examination, the R3 is interpreted as a monovalent hydrocarbon group, as disclosed in the specification [0007 spec.].
Claims 2-3 are rejected likewise as depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wengrovious et al (EP 0304701 A2) in view of Gohndrone et al (US 20200140618 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, the recited oligomer is made from reaction starting materials of (A) and (B) in claim 4. Applicant’s Example 3 discloses reacting ETM (the recited (A)) with acetylacetone (the recited (B)) in the presence of a catalyst at 100 °C [0042 pgpub].
Wengrovious teaches a room temperature vulcanizable polydiorganosiloxane prepared from a composition comprising: (A) at least one polyalkoxy-terminated polydior-ganosiloxane and (B) a catalytic amount of an organotin complex including acetylacetone [P7L2-7 and P7L43] which reads on the claimed (B) in claim 4, as evidenced by the applicant [0013 pgpub].
Wengrovious teaches a method of making a room temperature vulcanizable composition in Example 10: reacting a polyalkoxy-terminated polydiorganosiloxane with acetylacetone in the presence of a tin catalyst (dibutyltin bis(acetylacetonate) which is identical to the claimed (B)) at 100 C [P8L50-58]. This process is substantially identical to the process disclosed in applicant’s Example 3.
Wengrovious’ (A) polyalkoxy-terminated polydior-ganosiloxane is not the same as the recited (A) in claim 4.
Gohndrone teaches an alkoxy-functional organohydrogensiloxane oligomer of formula (V) [0021]:
which is identical to the recited (A) in claim 4.
Wengrovious and Gohndrone are in the same field of endeavor, for both are interested in making a room temperature vulcanizable sealant product (Gohndrone [0054], Wengrovious [P7L4-5]).
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Gohndrone’s oligomer of formula (V) and Wengrovious’ polyalkoxy-terminated polydior-ganosiloxane are equivalent for the same purpose of making a room temperature vulcanizable sealant, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute Wengrovious’ polyalkoxy-terminated polydior-ganosiloxane with Gohndrone’s oligomer of formula (V) in Wengrovious’ method.
As disclosed by the applicant (claim 4 and Example 3), the product of reacting Gohndrone’s oligomer of formula (V) with Wengrovious’ acetylacetone is the alkoxy-functional organosiloxane oligomer of formula
in claim 1.
Gohndrone’s R1 includes methyl, R3 is independently a monovalent hydrocarbon group of 1 to 18 carbon atoms, subscript a is 0 or 1, subscript c can be 0, D is independently a divalent hydrocarbon group of 2 to 18 carbon atoms [0016, 0019-0021] coming from R2 of formula (II)
wherein R2 can be a vinyl group [0026]. Therefore, D can be (C2H4)-.
Wengrovious’ acetylacetone reads on the recited (B) of formula R10-O-H in claim 4 and will be converted to the claimed R10-O group when being reacted with Gohndrone’s alkoxy-functional organohydrogensiloxane oligomer of formula (V), wherein R8 and R9 are each methyl in R10.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762