DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey (2007/0235209).
Bailey (Fig. 3) discloses a wiring member-equipped adherend, comprising: an adherend (10) including an attached surface; a first sheet (9) overlapped with the attached surface; a second sheet (8) overlapped with the first sheet; a wire-like transmission member (6) located between the first sheet and the second sheet; and an adhesive agent (resin in each layer 7-10) bonding the first sheet, the second sheet, and the adherend at an end portion that does not overlap the wire-like transmission member in a plan view of the adherend (Fig. 3B), wherein a void is formed in the first sheet (each layer 7-10 formed as woven layer not solid layer, therefore void is formed each layer), wherein the void extends from a first surface of the first sheet, directed to the attached surface, to a second surface of the first sheet, directed to the second sheet, the adhesive agent includes a first layer (resin in either layer 9 or 10) provided between the first surface and the attached surface and a second layer (resin in layer 9) penetrating the first sheet from the first layer via the void, the first surface is bonded to the attached surface via the first layer, and a part of the second surface on a lateral side of the wire-like transmission member is bonded to the second sheet via the second layer (Fig. 3B) (re-claim 1). Bailey also discloses that a void is formed in the second sheet (8), wherein the void extends from an inner portion of the second sheet to a surface of the second sheet, directed to the first sheet, wherein the adhesive agent includes a third layer (resin in layer 8) penetrating the second sheet via the void of the second sheet (re-claim 3); and the wire-like transmission member is fixed to the first sheet or to the second sheet (re-claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Reibel et al. (20060090924).
Bailey discloses the invention substantially as claimed including the first and second sheet comprising a plurality of fibers, wherein the void is formed between the plurality of fibers.
Bailey does not disclose the first and second sheets including a non-woven cloth layer. Reibel et al. discloses a wiring member comprising first and second sheets which are non-woven cloth layers. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the first and second sheets of Bailey to comprise non-woven cloth layer as taught by Reibel et al. since such material exhibits a dielectric strength and a dimensional stability ([0005]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Konya (2012/0199376).
Bailey discloses the invention substantially as claimed including the wire-like transmission member being fixed to the first sheet. Bailey does not disclose the second sheet being shorter than the first sheet along an extension direction of the wire-like transmission member. Konya (Fig. 1) discloses a wiring member comprising a first sheet (3), a second sheet (3), and a wire-like transmission member (2) sandwiched therebetween, wherein the second sheet is shorter than the first sheet along an extension direction of the wire-like transmission member. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the wiring member of Bailey such that the second sheet is shorter than the first sheet along an extension direction of the wire-like transmission member as taught by Konya to form a terminal part on the wire-like transmission member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Bailey fails to disclose “an adhesive agent bonding the first sheet, the second sheet, and the adherend at an end portion that does not overlap the wire-like transmission member in a plan view of the adherend,”
because the adhesive resin of Bailey is applied across the entirety of the sheet layers (7-10), including in the section occupied by the wires.
Examiner would disagree. Although the adhesive resin of Bailey is applied across the entirety of the sheet layers, the adhesive agent bonds the sheets and the adherend at an end portion that does not overlap the wire-like transmission member, see the annotated Figure above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841