DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informality: "at least one pair of diametrically opposed helical guideways and each extend" does not grammatically connect the extension of each guideway to the preceding noun phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: Replace "helical guideways and each extend" with "helical guideways that each extend" in claim 19.
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation
In claims 2, 28, and 31, the body of the vessel assembly is not limited to a passenger cabin or to a body containing a motor and energy storage. The specification permits the driven object to be a shaft and permits the drive element and its motor to constitute the moving body (paragraphs [0095]-[0096]), and describes axial and radial bearing support of the reaction plate (paragraphs [0124]-[0125]). A body that supports the surrounding rotating plate is therefore within these claims when the remaining limitations are met. Claim 19 separately requires the motor and energy storage inside the same body around which the reaction plate is arranged, and those additional spatial limitations are given effect.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 2018/0175717 A1.
Reference 2 - US 2015/0076972 A1.
Reference 3 - US 5,317,976 A.
Reference 4 - US 1,019,621 A.
Reference 5 - US 8,020,494 B2.
Reference 6 (Primary) - US 3,903,808 A.
Reference 7 - US 3,148,650 A.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A magnetic propulsion system comprising: (L2) a track assembly comprising at least one helical guideway extending along a longitudinal axis of the track assembly and having a plurality of magnets arranged on an interior surface of the at least one helical guideway, (L3) and a vessel assembly comprising: at least one reaction plate, (L4) and at least one motor configured to rotate the at least one reaction plate about the longitudinal axis such that the vessel assembly is propelled along the track assembly via rotation of the at least one reaction plate.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 describes a magnetic propulsion system in which a drive member and magnetic drive body move relative to one another (paragraphs [0021]-[0025]). (L2) Reference 1 discloses body 104, inner surface 108, and helical arrays 113 of magnets 112 extending along longitudinal axis 121 (Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0031]-[0036]). These constitute the magnet-bearing helical guideway surrounding the conductive drive member. Paragraphs [0021] and [0024] expressly permit the drive member, rather than the magnetic drive body, to be coupled to the driven vehicle. Holding the magnet-bearing body fixed along the route and translating the coupled drive member selects that disclosed relative-motion alternative; the illustrated external vehicle 118 is not being identified as an internal vessel. (L3) Reference 1 discloses conductive drive member 120 as an aluminum tube, with its conductive wall reacting to the helical magnetic field (paragraphs [0035]-[0036]). Coupling that drive member to the driven vehicle as expressly contemplated in paragraph [0024] provides the vessel assembly with the reaction plate. (L4) Prime mover 122 rotates drive member 120 about its longitudinal axis, producing relative longitudinal force between the drive member and the magnet array (Figure 2 and paragraphs [0036]-[0037]). Reference 1 does not expressly illustrate the complete selected arrangement with prime mover 122 traveling inside the fixed helical guideway. Paragraph [0025] permits rotation of the conductor, and paragraph [0069] supplies on-vehicle electric drive power. Carrying prime mover 122 with the vehicle and conductive member, while fixing the magnet array, produces the claimed propulsion of the vessel by rotation of its plate.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to couple conductive drive member 120 and its prime mover 122 to the driven vehicle, retain the helical magnet array as the fixed guideway, and rotate the conductive member to advance the vehicle. Paragraph [0024] expressly offers coupling either interacting member to the vehicle, while paragraphs [0037] and [0069] provide controlled rotation and on-vehicle power. This selection places traction control with the moving vehicle and avoids the succession of separately actuated route drive units described in paragraphs [0041]-[0045]. The result is predictable from the relative-motion force described in paragraphs [0021] and [0036]: the interacting members retain their air gap and helical field geometry, and the member coupled to the vehicle receives the longitudinal thrust. This ground relies on that disclosed alternative and its stated force mechanism, rather than an assumption that every mechanical reversal is obvious.
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the at least one reaction plate is formed as a metallic cylindrical shell arranged concentrically about a cylindrical outer surface of a body of the vessel assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 provides metallic tubular drive member 120 but does not expressly place it concentrically around a cylindrical body of the traveling vessel. Reference 2 teaches a rotating annular member supported concentrically around an inner stationary support: rotor 44 surrounds inner stator 46, with radial bearing 51 and thrust bearing 50 transmitting loads between the rotating and stationary members (Figure 5 and paragraph [0075]; see also rotor 4 around inner stator 28 in Figures 1 and 3, paragraphs [0065]-[0067]). Using this inner bearing-support arrangement inside the tubular conductive member 120 gives the vessel a cylindrical supporting body and a concentric rotating metallic shell. The body is the stationary inner support carried by the vessel; claim 2 does not require it to contain the motor, energy storage, or a passenger compartment.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to support the rotating tubular conductor 120 around a concentric inner body using the radial and axial bearing arrangement of Reference 2. Reference 2 addresses compact support of a surrounding rotating member while controlling axial and radial forces and maintaining the magnetic gap (paragraphs [0014], [0018]-[0019], and [0075]). Applying that bearing load path to the tubular conductor would maintain its clearance from the helical magnets during rotation and translation. This substitutes a known mechanical support arrangement while retaining Reference 1's conductive outer surface and helical field interaction; it does not substitute Reference 2's rotor magnets for the conductive reaction plate.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the at least one reaction plate is formed from aluminum or copper.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 identifies drive member 120 as a cylindrical tube of aluminum alloy (paragraph [0035]). Aluminum satisfies the expressly alternative aluminum-or-copper limitation.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the disclosed aluminum tubular conductor for the moving reaction plate in the claim 1 arrangement, because its conductivity permits the eddy-current interaction described in paragraphs [0035]-[0036] and its tubular form retains the required rotating surface. The material performs the same conductive function after the expressly contemplated selection of the moving member.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the motor is arranged within an interior space defined by a body of the vessel assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 provides motor 122 and on-vehicle power, but does not expressly enclose that motor in a vessel body. Reference 3 places drive motor 65 in chassis 9 of the propelled vehicle and couples it to the rotating drive wheel (Figures 7-8 and column 7, description of motor 65). Locating Reference 1's prime mover within the traveling chassis supplies the claimed interior motor placement. Claim 4 does not also require the reaction plate to surround that enclosing chassis.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to enclose the on-vehicle prime mover of Reference 1 within the vehicle chassis as taught by Reference 3. Both references drive a magnetically propelled vehicle using a motor-driven rotating member. The enclosure protects the motor while its shaft supplies rotation to the reaction member, and Reference 3 demonstrates that this placement is compatible with magnetic propulsion. The change concerns motor mounting and enclosure, not substitution of Reference 3's magnetic wheel for the conductive plate.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the at least one reaction plate includes a plurality of reaction plates spaced apart from each other along an axial direction.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 teaches multiple drive assemblies spaced axially along the driven structure (Figure 3 and paragraph [0040]). It does not expressly illustrate a succession of conductive plates on the interior moving vehicle. Applying the alternative coupling of the drive member to the vehicle in paragraph [0024] to the multiple drive locations of paragraph [0040] yields separate conductive reaction members at axially spaced positions on that vehicle.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use multiple axially spaced conductive reaction members in the claim 1 moving-member arrangement, following the multiple drive locations disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The separated drive locations distribute propulsive interaction along the driven vehicle and permit thrust to be supplied at more than one axial position. Each member retains the same rotation and magnetic interaction described in paragraph [0036], so repeating that disclosed drive relationship at spaced positions predictably produces the claimed plurality.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the track assembly is electrically static and lacks any power source.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 expressly permits permanent magnets 112 in arrays 113 (paragraph [0033]). In the selected arrangement, those arrays and their support remain fixed and unpowered; prime mover 122 and its power supply travel with the vehicle under paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0069]. The track consequently requires no electrical power source.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the permanent-magnet option for the fixed track and supply the rotating conductor's motor from the vehicle. Reference 1 expressly discloses both permanent magnets and onboard power. Their use avoids an electrical supply to the stationary field-producing array while preserving the field that interacts with the rotating conductor; the motor, rather than the stationary track, supplies propulsion energy.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein rotation of the at least one reaction plate is configured to generate at least a centering force in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (X) of the track assembly and a propulsion force in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (X) of the track assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 expressly describes longitudinal thrust together with a radial centering force for the cylindrical magnetic/conductive interaction (Figure 8 and paragraph [0067]). That figure rotates magnetic body 802 relative to conductor 804, rather than depicting the claimed rotating conductor. Paragraph [0025] expressly permits rotation of either the conductor or the magnetic body and reverses their radial placement. Selecting the rotating inner conductor and fixed outer helical magnet arrangement of Figures 1-2 retains the helical longitudinal interaction of paragraph [0036] and applies the disclosed radial centering function to the concentric members. The perpendicular force is a centering force toward the common axis; the parallel component supplies propulsion.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the concentric conductor and helical array in the claim 1 arrangement to retain both the longitudinal thrust and radial centering taught in paragraph [0067]. Centering maintains the small magnetic gap during vehicle travel, while longitudinal thrust advances the vehicle. The predictability rests on Reference 1's express alternatives for rotating either member and reversing radial positions in paragraph [0025], together with its description of the two force components, rather than on treating the different Figure 8 geometry as an exact anticipation.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the plurality of magnets consists of permanent magnets.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 teaches selecting permanent magnets for magnets 112 of the helical arrays (paragraph [0033]); selecting that disclosed option for all magnets of the array supplies a plurality consisting of permanent magnets.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use only the expressly disclosed permanent magnets in the fixed helical array, because they supply the interacting magnetic field without powered field coils. The conductive member remains motor-driven, so eliminating track electromagnets does not eliminate the energy input required for propulsion.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the at least one helical guideway has a T-shaped profile when viewed in cross-section and the magnets are arranged on an inward-facing terminal end of the T-shaped profile that faces the vessel assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 teaches an inward-facing helical magnetic array, including an array without a surrounding cylindrical body (Figure 4D and paragraph [0053]), but does not specify a T-section support. Reference 4 teaches guide rails 5 formed of T irons with webs 6 directed inward and flanges providing lateral and vertical stiffness (Figures 1-2; page 1, left column, final paragraph, and page 2, discussion of rail stiffness). Forming the helical magnet support with that T section, with its web directed inward, and retaining magnets 112 on the inward terminal surface facing the conductive vessel supplies the claimed cross section and magnet location. Reference 4 does not itself disclose a helical magnetic rail; its teaching is the stiff guide-rail cross section.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an inward-web T section for the helical magnet guide of Reference 1 and mount its magnets on the inward terminal end facing the conductor. Reference 4 identifies increased guide-rail rigidity and resistance to lateral and vertical deformation as the purpose of that section. Maintaining the magnet rail's shape maintains the interaction gap in Reference 1. The cross-sectional support choice leaves the helical path and inward magnetic face unchanged, so the expected result is a stiffer support for the same field arrangement.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the motor is configured to drive a shaft connected to a first gear, (L3) and a second gear is fixed to the at least one reaction plate, (L4) and the first gear and the second gear matingly engage with each other to rotate the at least one reaction plate.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 permits prime mover 122 to rotate conductive drive member 120 through gearing (paragraph [0037]), providing the motor shaft and driving gear. (L3) Reference 1 further discloses gearing on a rotating cylindrical drive body and motor-coupled meshing gearing (Figure 7 and paragraph [0065], at outer surface 310). That particular figure rotates a magnetic body. Applying its geared transmission to the conductive member expressly permitted to be rotated in paragraph [0037] places the driven gear on the reaction plate. (L4) The meshing drive and driven gears transfer motor rotation to the rotating member (paragraph [0065]). Reference 1 does not illustrate this gear pair on the selected moving conductive plate; the ground combines its disclosed geared-drive option with its disclosed positive meshing transmission.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to drive the conductive plate using a motor-shaft gear engaging a gear fixed to the plate, implementing the geared drive expressly offered in paragraph [0037] with the meshing transmission of paragraph [0065]. Positive gear engagement transmits torque to the cylindrical member without relying on frictional belt engagement and permits a selected speed ratio. Both teachings concern rotation of a cylindrical magnetic-drive member, and changing the driven member from the magnet carrier to the conductive member does not change the gear pair's torque-transfer operation.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) further comprising: a control assembly configured to provide signals to the motor; (L3) and an energy storage unit configured to power the control assembly and the motor, (L4) wherein the control assembly and the energy storage unit are arranged within an interior of the vessel assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 provides controlled prime mover 122 but does not detail an interior control assembly. Reference 3 provides control unit 2 for motor speed and direction (Figure 3 and column 4, first full paragraph). This supplies signals controlling the motor. (L3) Reference 1 expressly permits an onboard battery (paragraph [0069]). Reference 3 supplies onboard power source 19, including batteries, for its vehicle electrical drive system (Figure 21 and column 11, power-source description). Using that source for the motor and its control unit provides the claimed common energy storage supply. (L4) Reference 3 locates the vehicle drive equipment in chassis 9 (Figures 3, 7-8, and 21). Enclosing the control unit and battery within the traveling vehicle supplies the specified interior placement. Reference 1 does not expressly disclose that packaged controller-and-storage arrangement; Reference 3 provides it.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to package the control unit and battery within the moving vehicle, as in Reference 3, to implement Reference 1's controllable motor and expressly permitted onboard battery. The controller provides speed and direction signals to the motor and obtains power from the same stored-energy supply, producing a self-contained drive package. The references use compatible electric-motor functions; enclosing the electrical components protects them without altering the helical magnetic propulsion mechanism.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the at least one helical guideway includes two helical guideways that are diametrically opposed from each other and extend parallel to each other along the longitudinal axis of the track assembly (L3) and each have a respective plurality of magnets arranged on an interior surface thereof.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 expressly permits double and quadruple helices (paragraph [0033]). Figure 4A and paragraph [0046] show the quadruple arrangement, including diametrically opposed pairs of magnet rows about the common axis. Each opposed pair has a half-revolution offset and follows parallel helical paths. In the fixed-array selection of claim 1, those paths provide the opposed magnet-bearing guideways. Claim 12 requires that the guideway arrangement include two such helices; it does not exclude additional helices. (L3) Magnets 112 form the respective inward-facing arrays 113 on inner surface 108 (paragraphs [0031]-[0033]). Each helical path carries its own magnets facing the internal conductor.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the disclosed opposed helical arrays for the claim 1 fixed guideway. The opposed arrays provide magnetic interaction at diametrically opposed locations around the conductor while retaining the same helix direction for longitudinal thrust. This uses an expressly disclosed array configuration in its described concentric magnetic-drive function, with no change in its operating principle.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the track assembly further comprises suspended supports for holding the at least one helical guideway in place.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 describes supported track drive assemblies but does not expressly suspend its helical magnet guideway. Reference 4 provides suspension rods 24 and hangers 26 connected to guide rails 5 between supporting standards (Figures 1 and 5; page 2, left column, description of rods 24 and hangers 26). Attaching those suspended supports to the fixed helical guideway holds it in position.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to hold the fixed helical guideway with suspended rail supports of the type disclosed in Reference 4. Reference 4 addresses supporting and stiffening guide rails between spaced standards while preserving the travel passage. Suspended hangers attached outside the magnetic interaction surface provide that support without obstructing the inner vessel path; they bear structural loads independently of the eddy-current drive.
________________________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the track assembly further comprises at least one lower support rail that extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the track assembly, (L3) wherein the at least one lower support rail includes another plurality of magnets.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly provide a separate lower support rail. Reference 3 places longitudinal reaction plates 12 beneath the lower vehicle wheels and uses their magnetic interaction for floating and guiding the vehicle (Figures 4 and 6; columns 4-6). Reference 5 mounts magnet assembly 270 to track 108 beneath vehicle frame 104, with magnets 274 and 278 on continuous carrying rails 310 and carriers 312 (Figures 1-3; columns 7-8). Applying that track-mounted array to the lower longitudinal support path of Reference 3 supplies a lower rail parallel to the travel axis. (L3) The magnets 274 and 278 in the additional lower assembly are distinct from the helical propulsion magnets 112 of Reference 1. A cooperating conductive member is retained on the vessel adjacent the lower array, following reaction plate 130 of Reference 5. Reference 5 supplies a noncontact force-producing track/conductor interface, not a disclosed levitation system by itself; configuring that additional interface to carry a component of the support load follows the floating-force use of the magnetic interface in Reference 3.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a separate lower longitudinal magnetic support path using the lower running geometry of Reference 3 and the track-mounted magnet carriers of Reference 5. Reference 3 separates vehicle support from the main chassis and generates floating and guiding forces at its lower interface; Reference 5 demonstrates fixed arrays acting across a maintained clearance on a vehicle-carried conductor. Orienting the additional interface to bear part of the lower support load supplements, rather than replaces, the centering action of the helical drive. The predictable result is a lower magnetic load path along the route, with its own cooperating conductor; the track magnets are not asserted to support an unmodified nonconductive surface.
________________________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 6.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein a pitch of the at least one helical guideway is variable, (L3) and includes at least a first track area having a first pitch and at least a second track area having a second pitch, (L4) wherein the first pitch is smaller than the second pitch.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 recognizes that selecting the helical angle changes the force produced (paragraphs [0053]-[0054]), but does not expressly disclose different pitches in different fixed track areas. Reference 6 explains the relation among helix pitch, rotational speed, thrust, slip and translational velocity, and discloses adjusting the pitch of its magnetic rows (Figures 3, 9 and 13-14; columns 4-9). Its illustrated adjustment is on the rotor, not on successive track regions. (L3) Using that disclosed dependence on helix geometry in the fixed-array arrangement of claim 1, a first route region is formed with a first pitch and a later region with a second pitch. This is a proposed spatial selection of the known pitch parameter, not a finding that Reference 6 draws two such track regions. Fixing the desired geometry at each route location supplies different advancement/thrust characteristics without an onboard pitch-adjustment mechanism. (L4) Choosing a smaller first pitch and a larger second pitch supplies the stated ordering. Reference 6 identifies pitch as a variable affecting thrust and travel speed; selecting the respective values for different operating portions of the route applies that disclosed relationship to the stationary member of the claim 1 drive.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a smaller helix pitch in a first region and a larger pitch in a second region of the fixed magnetic guideway. Reference 6 expressly relates pitch to thrust and translational speed (columns 7-8), while Reference 1 retains that helix-dependent rotary-to-linear interaction. A route can therefore assign its thrust and advancement characteristics by location, such as a launch region followed by a travel region, instead of carrying the mechanical pitch-adjustment gearing of Reference 6. The modification changes where the disclosed pitch selection is embodied; each region retains a helical magnetic field facing the same rotating conductor. This explains the spatial change rather than treating adjustable rotor pitch as an express disclosure of variable track pitch.
________________________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) further comprising at least one axial bearing for supporting the at least one reaction plate relative to a body of the vessel assembly in an axial direction (L3) and at least one radial bearing for supporting the at least one reaction plate relative to the body of the vessel assembly in a radial direction.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly disclose a separate axial bearing supporting the moving conductive plate relative to a vessel body. Reference 2 provides thrust bearing 50 between the annular rotating structure associated with rotor 44 and inner stator 46 (Figure 5 and paragraph [0075]), transmitting axial load to the stationary support body. (L3) Reference 2 also provides radial bearing 51 at the cylindrical interface between those members (Figure 5 and paragraph [0075]). Using these two bearing interfaces to support Reference 1's rotating conductor relative to the body carried by the vehicle supplies radial as well as axial support.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to support the reaction plate relative to the vessel body using the separate axial and radial bearing interfaces of Reference 2. The plate must rotate while transmitting longitudinal thrust and maintaining radial clearance. Reference 2 expressly addresses the corresponding axial and radial load paths in a compact annular rotary assembly, so applying its bearings to the conductive rotating member predictably constrains those motions without preventing rotation.
________________________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 7.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the vessel assembly further comprises an access element configured to open and close such that a user can enter and exit the vessel assembly, (L3) wherein the access element is formed as a transparent dome on a front portion of the vessel assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 permits passenger transport (paragraphs [0041] and [0065]) but does not specify an entry closure. Reference 7 provides hull 11, forward section 12, transparent dome 14, and access hatches 18 and 23 with access trunk 25 (Figures 1-3; column 3, lines 1-26). The hatches, rather than dome 14 as drawn, provide user access. Configuring the forward closure as an opening hatch applies that access function at the vessel front. (L3) Reference 7 places transparent dome 14 at the forward end but uses it for cameras or instruments. Combining its transparent forward closure and its opening/closing hatch construction produces one transparent front dome that opens for user entry and exit. This combination is a proposed modification, not an identification of the illustrated camera dome as an existing passenger hatch.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the transparent forward closure 14 and the opening access closure of Reference 7 in a single front hatch for the passenger vessel of Reference 1. In Reference 7 the separate rear access trunk 25 serves a submerged pressure hull, whereas the claimed guideway vessel does not require that submerged boarding arrangement. A front opening gives direct boarding access at the end of the vessel, clear of the circumferential propulsion interface, and a transparent closure preserves forward visibility when closed. Applying the known hatch mounting and closure function to the known transparent forward cover predictably performs both functions in one element. The rationale concerns that specific consolidation; the camera dome alone is not relied upon as an access teaching.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The magnetic propulsion system according to claim 1, (L2) wherein the vessel assembly further comprises at least one vessel support provided on a lower half of the vessel assembly, (L3) and the track assembly further comprises at least one lower support rail (L4) and the at least one vessel support and the at least one lower support rail are configured to engage with each other at least during a rest state or a state in which the centering force is insufficient to maintain a clearance between the vessel assembly and the track assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly provide a lower rest support on the vessel. Reference 3 provides lower rubber-tired wheels 28 on chassis 9 (Figure 4; column 4, description of tire 28 and disk wheel 27). These supply lower vehicle supports. (L3) Reference 3 provides lower running plate 12 along the travel route beneath those wheels (Figures 4 and 6). Its longitudinal lower support structure supplies the lower support rail. (L4) Reference 3 describes tire contact with plate 12 when levitation is absent and clearance when the vehicle is magnetically supported (column 4, tire-and-clearance description; column 7, operation). This supplies engagement at rest or when the magnetic centering/support force cannot maintain clearance. The added wheel and rail do not replace Reference 1's helical propulsion members.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the lower auxiliary wheel and rail support of Reference 3 to the moving vessel and fixed guideway of Reference 1. Reference 3 uses the contact support when magnetic support is insufficient, avoiding uncontrolled contact of the vehicle with the magnetic track. The auxiliary supports bear the vessel at rest and clear the rail during sufficient magnetic support, so their function remains compatible with Reference 1's rotating-conductor thrust and centering.
________________________________________
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 6 in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) A method of propelling a vessel assembly along a track assembly, the method comprising: (L2) providing a track assembly including a magnetic array fixed along at least one helical guideway extending along a longitudinal axis of the track assembly; (L3) positioning a vessel assembly within an interior track defined by the helical guideway, wherein the vessel assembly includes at least one reaction plate that surrounds a body of the vessel assembly; (L4) and rotationally driving the at least one reaction plate such that at least a propulsion force is generated via interaction of the at least one reaction plate with the magnetic array and the vessel assembly is propelled along the track assembly.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 6 discloses vehicle propulsion by a motor-driven rotary member interacting with a helical magnetic field and an elongated guide structure (Figures 1-3 and 9-11; columns 3-8). (L2) Reference 6 discloses vehicle 10, onboard prime movers 18 and 73, helical magnetic rows on its rotors, and substantially enveloping rails 66 and 70 (Figures 3 and 9-11; columns 4-8). Its rails are not themselves helical. Reference 5 supplies the complementary placement of fixed magnets 274 and 278 on carrying rails 310 and carriers 312 and a conductive reaction plate 130 carried by frame 104 (Figures 1-3; columns 7-8). In the combination, the helical magnetic rows are fixed to inward-facing track carriers and the conductor is the motor-driven rotating member. This is a modification of Reference 6 using Reference 5, not an express drawing of the completed system in either reference. (L3) Reference 6 substantially encloses its rotor in rails 66 and 70 and carries the propulsion module with vehicle 10 through enclosure 71 and strut 75 (Figures 10-11; column 8). It does not expressly place a conductive shell around the passenger cabin. In the proposed modification, the conductive rotor is supported around a nonrotating central carrier of that traveling module, with its conductive surface on the exterior facing the enclosing track magnets. The body here is the structural carrier of the vessel assembly; the claim does not require a passenger cabin or motor-and-battery enclosure inside it. The surrounding placement follows the disclosed concentric enclosed-rotor geometry, with a central load path to the carried assembly, rather than treating the fixed rail as the vessel body. (L4) Prime mover 73 of Reference 6 drives the rotary propulsion member (Figure 11; column 8). In the combination it drives the surrounding conductive member, whose rotation relative to the stationary helical field produces an axial force and advances the carried vessel along the track. Reference 5 is used for magnet/conductor allocation and gap control, not for motor-driven propulsion of its pawl plate.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the fixed magnet carriers and vehicle-carried conductor of Reference 5 in the substantially enclosing rotary propulsion interface of Reference 6, retaining the helical field geometry on the fixed member and driving the conductive member. The reason is to implement the known complementary magnet/conductor allocation in the disclosed helical coupling while preserving its controllable thrust function. Reference 5 places permanent magnets 274 and 278 on carrying rails 310 and carriers 312, with vehicle-carried conductive plate 130 crossing the intervening magnetic field (Figure 3; column 8). It identifies conductor conductivity, thickness and magnet-to-conductor gap as parameters governing the induced force. Reference 6 defines the induced electric field by the velocity of charges in the conductor relative to the magnetic field, and identifies the equal-and-opposite forces on the conductor and magnetic member (Figure 8; column 6). Its helical array produces inclined circulating currents 60 and an axial force on conductor rail 58, together with the opposite axial thrust on the rotor (Figure 9; columns 7-8). These are the relative-motion and helical-force teachings supporting the May 7 allocation rationale. In the selected allocation, the motor supplies relative circumferential motion by rotating the conductor, and the fixed magnet carriers retain the spatial phase progression of the helix. That progression is preserved by extending the carriers helically; straight magnet rows would not preserve the identified axial-force component. The controlled gap of Reference 5 maintains the conductor/field interaction, while prime mover 73 of Reference 6 supplies the mechanical input (Figure 11; column 8). The predictable result is axial force on the traveling conductor and an opposing reaction on the fixed array. No reduction of track energization is relied upon; the propulsion energy comes from the carried motor, not from the pawl-positioning movement of plate 130 in Reference 5. Supporting the conductive rotary member around a central nonrotating carrier keeps its magnetic surface exposed to the surrounding rail and provides a direct thrust load path to the transported structure. Operating that assembly within the enclosing track and driving it with the carried motor performs the claimed acts. The added longitudinal-axis wording does not change this maintained combination.
________________________________________
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 6 in view of Reference 5 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The method according to claim 28, (L2) wherein the vessel assembly includes a motor configured to rotate the at least one reaction plate, (L3) and wherein the magnetic array includes permanent magnets and is not electrically powered.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 28 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 6 carries prime mover 73 in the traveling module to rotate rotor 64 (Figure 11; column 8). Reference 3 confirms vehicle-carried motor 65 mechanically driving a rotary propulsion member (Figure 8; column 7). In the claim 28 combination the motor rotates the conductive reaction member instead of the magnet-bearing member. (L3) Reference 5 uses permanent magnets 274 and 278 on carrying rails 310, and describes magnet arrangements operating without external power (Figure 3, columns 7-9; Figures 4-6, column 10). Selecting those permanent magnets for the fixed helical array leaves that array unpowered. The onboard motor supplies the propulsion energy; no track energization is assumed in the maintained ground.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to drive the conductive rotary member with the carried prime mover of Reference 6, using the mechanical motor drive of Reference 3 and the fixed permanent-magnet allocation of Reference 5. The conductor receives controlled mechanical rotation, while the stationary magnet rows supply the field without an electrical feed. This preserves the claim 28 helical interaction and permits vehicle-specific drive control. The reason is the allocation of drive and field components, rather than removal of energized coils from an already passive track.
________________________________________
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 6 in view of Reference 5 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The method according to claim 29, (L2) wherein the at least one helical guideway includes two helical guideways that are diametrically opposed from each other and extend parallel to each other along the longitudinal axis of the track assembly (L3) and each have a respective plurality of magnets arranged on an interior surface thereof.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 29 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 6 discloses paired propulsion interfaces and explains cancellation of diametrically opposed transverse components in an enclosing rail (Figures 10-12; columns 8-9). Reference 5 supplies paired magnet-carrying rails 310 with inward field-facing magnets 274 and 278, and Reference 3 uses paired drive locations (Figures 1-3). None of those figures by itself is identified as two diametrically opposed helical guideways. (L3) In the maintained helical-track modification, two equal-pitch guide carriers are positioned 180 degrees apart about the common travel axis, with their magnet arrays facing the vessel. Both carriers follow the same lead along that axis and therefore extend as parallel, phase-offset helices. This transfers the disclosed opposed-force arrangement to the already selected helical track geometry; it is a structural modification, not an inference that every pair of straight rails is helical.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide two equally pitched helical magnet carriers separated by half a revolution about the track axis. Reference 6 expressly explains the cancellation of transverse forces at diametrically opposite positions in its substantially enclosing arrangement (columns 8-9). Applying that arrangement to the fixed magnet carriers of Reference 5 gives each carrier the same axial lead and the same inward interaction gap. Diametrically opposite placement cancels their nominal transverse reactions while their like-directed axial components add. The equal-pitch, half-turn phase relation supplies the claimed geometry and explains why opposing separate side-mounted modules alone was not the finding.
________________________________________
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 6 in view of Reference 5 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) A vessel assembly configured to be propelled within a track assembly, the vessel assembly comprising: (L2) a body including at least one radial support surface and at least one axial support surface; (L3) a reaction plate configured to surround the body and be supported against the at least one radial support surface and the at least one axial support surface; (L4) and a motor configured to rotationally drive the reaction plate such that the reaction plate generates at least a propulsion force via interaction with permanent magnets arranged along a helical guideway of the track assembly.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 6 supplies the traveling motor-driven propulsion module within a substantially enveloping guide (Figures 10-11; column 8). Reference 5 supplies fixed permanent magnets and a vehicle-carried conductive member, as in the maintained claim 28 track modification. (L2) Reference 6 supports rotary members with bearings 79 and 115 (Figures 13-14; column 9), and Reference 3 provides support 43, hub 44, fixed shaft 46 and bearing 45, as well as chassis-supported shaft 61 and bearing 63 (Figures 4 and 7; columns 4 and 7). The central shaft/carrier surfaces establish radial alignment. A transverse bearing seat on that nonrotating carrier is provided to receive the longitudinal propulsion load described in Reference 6. The axial seat is an inferred adaptation to that load, not a separately numbered thrust bearing asserted to be drawn in Reference 3. (L3) Neither reference expressly draws a conductive plate surrounding the complete passenger cabin. The claimed body does not require a cabin or interior power compartment. In the combined assembly the conductive rotary shell surrounds its central stationary support body, replacing the rotor magnetic surface while preserving the concentric rotor/support arrangement of Reference 3. The cylindrical interface supports radial load, and the transverse seat supports axial thrust through the bearings. This supplies both support relationships to the same inner body; it does not equate a fixed enclosing rail with that body. (L4) Prime mover 73 of Reference 6 and motor 65 of Reference 3 provide motor-driven rotation. With fixed permanent-magnet rows 274 and 278 of Reference 5 arranged helically as explained for claim 28, rotation of the external conductor produces axial thrust. The conductor is supported by, and transmits that thrust to, the central carrier of the moving vessel assembly.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the fixed magnet carriers and vehicle-carried conductor of Reference 5 in the substantially enclosing rotary propulsion interface of Reference 6, retaining the helical field geometry on the fixed member and driving the conductive member. The reason is to implement the known complementary magnet/conductor allocation in the disclosed helical coupling while preserving its controllable thrust function. Reference 5 places permanent magnets 274 and 278 on carrying rails 310 and carriers 312, with vehicle-carried conductive plate 130 crossing the intervening magnetic field (Figure 3; column 8). It identifies conductor conductivity, thickness and magnet-to-conductor gap as parameters governing the induced force. Reference 6 defines the induced electric field by the velocity of charges in the conductor relative to the magnetic field, and identifies the equal-and-opposite forces on the conductor and magnetic member (Figure 8; column 6). Its helical array produces inclined circulating currents 60 and an axial force on conductor rail 58, together with the opposite axial thrust on the rotor (Figure 9; columns 7-8). These are the relative-motion and helical-force teachings supporting the May 7 allocation rationale. In the selected allocation, the motor supplies relative circumferential motion by rotating the conductor, and the fixed magnet carriers retain the spatial phase progression of the helix. That progression is preserved by extending the carriers helically; straight magnet rows would not preserve the identified axial-force component. The controlled gap of Reference 5 maintains the conductor/field interaction, while prime mover 73 of Reference 6 supplies the mechanical input (Figure 11; column 8). The predictable result is axial force on the traveling conductor and an opposing reaction on the fixed array. No reduction of track energization is relied upon; the propulsion energy comes from the carried motor, not from the pawl-positioning movement of plate 130 in Reference 5. Reference 3 supplies a nonrotating central shaft within a supported rotary member. Applying that load path to the conductive shell of the combined propulsion module keeps the conductive surface adjacent the surrounding track while the inner carrier attaches to the transported structure. Reference 6 supplies the axial propulsion load; a transverse bearing seat transfers it to that same carrier, while the radial seat controls the magnetic clearance. The modification uses the shaft, bearing and concentric rotary geometry already relied upon on May 7, without importing a passenger enclosure or a new annular-machine reference.
________________________________________
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 6 in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) A track assembly configured to guide a vessel assembly that is propelled therein, the track assembly comprising: (L2) at least one helical guideway including a magnetic array extending along the at least one helical guideway, (L3) the magnetic array comprising permanent magnets configured to interact with a rotating reaction plate supported around an exterior surface of the vessel assembly.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 6 supplies a guide structure substantially enclosing the moving rotary propulsion assembly (Figures 10-11; column 8). Reference 5 supplies fixed magnet carriers facing the exterior conductor of a moving assembly (Figures 1-3; columns 7-8). The claimed configured relationship is given structural weight. (L2) Reference 6 discloses vehicle 10, onboard prime movers 18 and 73, helical magnetic rows on its rotors, and substantially enveloping rails 66 and 70 (Figures 3 and 9-11; columns 4-8). Its rails are not themselves helical. Reference 5 supplies the complementary placement of fixed magnets 274 and 278 on carrying rails 310 and carriers 312 and a conductive reaction plate 130 carried by frame 104 (Figures 1-3; columns 7-8). In the combination, the helical magnetic rows are fixed to inward-facing track carriers and the conductor is the motor-driven rotating member. This is a modification of Reference 6 using Reference 5, not an express drawing of the completed system in either reference. Extending the inward magnet carriers helically around the passage, with the pitch of the magnetic rows in Reference 6, supplies a helical magnet-bearing guideway; the unmodified straight rails are not themselves identified as that helix. (L3) Reference 6 expressly permits permanent magnets (column 5, lines 13-19). Reference 5 supplies permanent magnets 274 and 278 on rails 310. Those stationary arrays face the exterior conductive rotary surface of the traveling assembly, with clearance for its rotation. The track is thereby configured for the specified rotating exterior reaction plate. Claim 32 does not require the track itself to contain a motor or an energy storage unit.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the fixed magnet carriers and vehicle-carried conductor of Reference 5 in the substantially enclosing rotary propulsion interface of Reference 6, retaining the helical field geometry on the fixed member and driving the conductive member. The reason is to implement the known complementary magnet/conductor allocation in the disclosed helical coupling while preserving its controllable thrust function. Reference 5 places permanent magnets 274 and 278 on carrying rails 310 and carriers 312, with vehicle-carried conductive plate 130 crossing the intervening magnetic field (Figure 3; column 8). It identifies conductor conductivity, thickness and magnet-to-conductor gap as parameters governing the induced force. Reference 6 defines the induced electric field by the velocity of charges in the conductor relative to the magnetic field, and identifies the equal-and-opposite forces on the conductor and magnetic member (Figure 8; column 6). Its helical array produces inclined circulating currents 60 and an axial force on conductor rail 58, together with the opposite axial thrust on the rotor (Figure 9; columns 7-8). These are the relative-motion and helical-force teachings supporting the May 7 allocation rationale. In the selected allocation, the motor supplies relative circumferential motion by rotating the conductor, and the fixed magnet carriers retain the spatial phase progression of the helix. That progression is preserved by extending the carriers helically; straight magnet rows would not preserve the identified axial-force component. The controlled gap of Reference 5 maintains the conductor/field interaction, while prime mover 73 of Reference 6 supplies the mechanical input (Figure 11; column 8). The predictable result is axial force on the traveling conductor and an opposing reaction on the fixed array. No reduction of track energization is relied upon; the propulsion energy comes from the carried motor, not from the pawl-positioning movement of plate 130 in Reference 5. The interior guide passage is sized to maintain clearance to the rotating exterior conductor, and its helical magnet carriers retain the field progression that produces axial thrust. This is the May 7 track-allocation and helical-field combination with an explicit reason for its construction, not a replacement ground based on a later publication.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-27 contain allowable subject matter.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 19 requires the reaction plate around the exterior of a body that contains both the motor and the energy storage that powers the motor, together with the opposed helical permanent-magnet guideways. US 2018/0175717 A1 discloses the helical magnet/conductor interaction and on-vehicle power but does not disclose this common interior enclosure surrounded by the reaction plate. US 2015/0076972 A1 supplies annular rotor support around an inner stator, but its motor housing surrounds the rotor; it does not place a motor and energy storage inside the inner body surrounded by a conductive propulsion plate. US 5,317,976 A encloses a motor and power supply in a chassis, but its rotating magnetic wheels do not surround that enclosure. Combining the disclosed bearing support and enclosed drive teachings does not by itself establish a reason to repackage both the motor and its energy storage inside the same surrounded body while retaining the conductive propulsion shell and opposed permanent-magnet helices. The claimed coordinated spatial arrangement, rather than the individual use of a battery, internal motor, or annular bearing, distinguishes claim 19. Claims 20-27 include that arrangement by dependency; the known individual gear, dome, bearing, support, material, and dimensional features do not remove it.
________________________________________
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the amendments follow the suggested clarifications, introduce no new matter and overcome the section 112(b) rejections (Remarks, pp. 10-12). Persuasive. Claims 1 and 19 now say rotation "about the longitudinal axis"; claim 2 specifies a cylindrical shell about a cylindrical body surface; claim 9 identifies the inward-facing terminal end; claims 18 and 25 identify insufficient centering by clearance; claim 19 specifies at least one opposed pair; claim 27 specifies the cylindrical outer diameter; and claim 28 supplies the longitudinal-axis antecedent for claim 30. The section 112(b) rejection of claims 1-27 and 30 is withdrawn. These clarifications establish definite scope and do not by themselves establish patentability over the art.
Applicant argues the typographical objection to claim 9 has been corrected (Remarks, pp. 12). Persuasive. The entered claim reads "when viewed in cross-section," and the prior claim 9 objection is withdrawn. The distinct grammar informality of claim 19 is stated under Claim Objections.
Applicant argues the prior action misidentifies the inventors of US 8,020,494 B2 (Remarks, pp. 13). Persuasive as to the identification. The publication is the one numbered in the prior action and is Reference 5 here. The maintained grounds use that same publication; no different reference is substituted by correcting its identification.
Applicant argues helical rows on the rotors of US 3,903,808 A do not make its stationary rails helical (Remarks, pp. 14-15). Persuasive as to the literal disclosure. Reference 6 Figures 3 and 10-11 show rotor-carried helices and substantially enclosing rails, not an already helical track. For amended claim 1 and its dependent claims, the narrower rotation about the longitudinal axis is addressed by Reference 1 arrays 113 and drive member 120 about axis 121, with the expressly described moving-member alternative in paragraphs [0024]-[0025]. For claims 28-32 the May 7 combination is maintained: its proposed change places the helical magnetic rows on stationary carriers supplied by Reference 5 and rotates the conductor. The individual analyses and motivations explain that transformation. The literal-disclosure criticism therefore corrects the description of Reference 6 but does not overcome the stated combinations.
Applicant argues the plate of US 8,020,494 B2 positions an anti-rollback pawl and is not a motor-driven propulsion plate (Remarks, pp. 15-16). Persuasive as to Reference 5 alone. Reaction plate 130 acts through pivot 112 on pawl end 126; its illustrated rotation is not the claimed motor input. The maintained grounds use its magnet carriers 310 and 312, permanent magnets 274 and 278, conductive plate material and controlled gap. Reference 6 supplies prime mover 73 and the helical propulsion mechanism, and Reference 3 supplies motor 65 where recited. The combination drives the conductive member mechanically; it does not attempt to propel the vessel with the pawl actuation. The new amended-claim ground uses Reference 1 prime mover 122 and conductor 120 for that relationship.
Applicant argues US 3,903,808 A already has passive conductive rails, so eliminating energized track coils is not a reason to modify it (Remarks, pp. 17). Persuasive. The earlier track-coil saving is not relied upon. Reference 6 already permits passive rails and permanent magnets. The remaining rationale is the previously stated substitution of the known fixed-magnet/vehicle-conductor allocation of Reference 5 into the helical rotary propulsion interface of Reference 6. The latter supplies the helical field geometry, motor input and axial-force mechanism; the former supplies the complementary allocation and controlled conductor gap. Their predictable interaction supports that substitution. No new rationale based on reducing rotating mass or eliminating magnet-positioning hardware is relied upon. Reference 1 independently supplies the explicit alternate coupling used for amended claim 1.
Applicant argues relative-motion equivalence alone does not explain the complete helical-track and motor-driven-conductor construction (Remarks, pp. 17-18). Not persuasive against the stated combinations. The maintained grounds select the known fixed-magnet/vehicle-conductor allocation of Reference 5 for the helical rotary coupling of Reference 6 to preserve its controllable axial thrust. Reference 6 defines induction through conductor velocity relative to the field (Figure 8; column 6), then shows inclined currents 60 and axial force on conductor rail 58 for the helical field (Figure 9; columns 7-8). Its prime mover 73 supplies rotary input within the substantially enclosing rail (Figure 11; column 8). Reference 5 supplies carrying rails 310 and carriers 312, fixed magnets 274 and 278, conductive plate 130 and a controlled gap (Figure 3; column 8). Extending those carriers along the disclosed helical field pattern retains the axial phase progression; driving the conductor supplies the required relative motion, and its carried support transmits the resulting axial force to the vessel. The claimed track shape is therefore an identified modification, not a characterization of the straight rails as already helical. This explains the same coupling allocation and force mechanism relied on in the May 7 action. For amended claim 1 and its dependents, Reference 1 separately supplies the common-axis conductor/helix arrangement and expressly permits selection of the driven member (paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0035]-[0037]).
Applicant argues localized rotors and bearings do not establish a plate surrounding the vessel body, particularly in claims 2, 19, 28 and 31 (Remarks, pp. 18-19). Partly persuasive. Claim 19 requires the same surrounded body to contain both the motor and energy storage; claims 19-27 are no longer rejected for the reasons stated in Allowable Subject Matter. Amended claim 2 does not require that enclosure: Reference 2 rotor 44, inner support 46 and bearings 50 and 51 supply the concentric cylindrical support for Reference 1 conductive tube 120. In maintained claims 28 and 31, a body is not limited to a passenger compartment. The proposed shell surrounds the central stationary carrier of the traveling propulsion module; Reference 6 supplies the enclosing propulsion geometry and axial thrust, and Reference 3 supplies the shaft/hub/bearing structure for claim 31. The analyses expressly identify the radial interface and added transverse thrust seat, rather than treating the mere presence of a bearing as the whole relationship.
Applicant argues paired propulsion components or magnet rows across a slot do not by themselves establish diametrically opposed parallel helices (Remarks, pp. 20). Not persuasive against the specific geometry stated here. Claim 12 inherits amended claim 1 and uses the helically arranged arrays 113 of Reference 1. Paragraph [0033] expressly permits double and quadruple helices; Figure 4A and paragraph [0046] show opposed pairs within the quadruple arrangement. An opposed pair has a half-turn phase difference about the common axis, and the open claim language does not exclude the additional pair. Maintained claim 30 is addressed by forming two equal-lead track carriers at a half-turn offset, applying the diametric force-cancellation teaching in Reference 6 columns 8-9 to the carriers of Reference 5. Equal pitch and half-turn phase produce two parallel helices with inward arrays; paired straight modules alone are not asserted to do so. Claim 19 receives the allowable-subject-matter treatment because its additional interior-body relationship remains absent.
Applicant argues adjustable rotor pitch does not literally disclose different pitches in different track regions (Remarks, pp. 20-21). Persuasive as to the literal distinction, but not as to obviousness of the stated spatial selection. Claim 15 applies the disclosed relation among pitch, thrust and travel speed in Reference 6 columns 7-8 to the fixed helical array inherited from amended claim 1. Selecting a smaller-pitch launch region and larger-pitch travel region assigns those known characteristics by route location and avoids an onboard pitch-adjustment mechanism. The Analysis identifies that as a modification; it does not equate adjustment of one rotor with a drawing of two track regions.
Applicant argues US 3,148,650 A has a camera dome and separate access hatches, rather than one opening transparent front dome (Remarks, pp. 21-22). Persuasive as to the individual illustrated structures, but not as to the combination for claim 17. Reference 7 dome 14 is an instrument cover and hatches 18 and 23 serve trunk 25. The ground expressly combines the known hatch closure function with the forward transparent closure for direct front boarding of Reference 1 passenger vessel, clear of its circumferential propulsion interface. Its guideway service does not require the submarine pressure-hull access trunk. The stated reason addresses combining those features into the same element. The old claim 22 ground is withdrawn because claim 22 inherits the allowable claim 19 combination, not because the separate dome and hatch are treated as an exact disclosure.
Applicant argues claim 32 and the remaining dependent claims share the asserted reconstruction defects and all claims should be allowed (Remarks, pp. 22-24). Not persuasive for claims 1-18 and 28-32. Unchanged claim 32 retains the Reference 6/Reference 5 ground, with its configured relationship to a rotating exterior conductor expressly addressed. Unchanged claim 31 retains those references and Reference 3, including both support surfaces and the surrounding member. Claim 28 retains the existing combination because its added longitudinal-axis antecedent does not require new art. Claims 29-30 inherit that ground and retain their existing supplemental teachings. Each of claims 2-18 incorporates the amended claim 1 ground and has an individual analysis of its additional limitations; those additions do not remove the inherited propulsion arrangement.
________________________________________
Finality
The May 7, 2026 grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained for claims 28-32 over Reference 6 in view of Reference 5, with Reference 3 additionally applied to claims 29-31. This includes unchanged independent claims 31 and 32. The added longitudinal-axis antecedent in claim 28 does not require a new ground, and neither Reference 1 nor Reference 2 is applied to claims 28-32. The October 7 amendment changes claim 1 from rotation relative to the longitudinal axis to rotation about that axis; this selected common-axis relationship necessitates the ground using Reference 1 for claim 1 and dependent claims 2-18. Amended claim 2 additionally specifies a metallic cylindrical shell arranged concentrically about a cylindrical body surface, addressed with Reference 2. Reference 2 also supplies the bearing interfaces for the common-axis relationship inherited by claim 16. Amended claim 9 specifies the inward-facing terminal magnet location, addressed with Reference 4. The other previously applied secondary teachings are retained as stated in the individual grounds. Claims 19-27 receive no new rejection. The new grounds are thus necessitated by the identified amendments, including limitations inherited by dependent claims, under MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-32 are pending. Claims 1-18 and 28-32 are rejected. Claim 19 is objected to for the stated grammatical informality. Claims 19-27 contain allowable subject matter, subject to compliance with the outstanding formal requirements. No claim is canceled or withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-27 and 30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the May 7, 2026 Office action is withdrawn because the entered clarifications resolve the identified ambiguities and antecedent basis. The prior objection to claim 9 is withdrawn because the entered text reads "when viewed in cross-section."
The prior section 103 grounds for claims 1-18 are replaced only to the extent identified above as necessitated by amendment. The prior section 103 grounds for claims 19-27 are withdrawn because the combined same-body interior-power and exterior-reaction-plate relationship has not been established. The May 7 section 103 grounds for claims 28-32 are maintained with the specific explanations given in their analyses and motivations.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 2017/0343314 A1 was considered for a magnetic launcher having a sleeve around a moving projectile, but its energized launch coils and different rotary-to-linear interaction do not provide a better disclosure of the permanent-magnet helical track and externally rotating conductive vessel surface.
US 5,910,691 A was considered for the magnetic field and conductor interaction in a vehicle drive, but does not establish the same interior body containing both power components and surrounded by the rotating plate of claim 19.
US 2017/0028870 A1 was considered for a rotating magnetic hover arrangement, but its magnets rotate over a conductive support rather than providing the claimed conductive plate around the motor-and-storage body within opposed permanent-magnet helices.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615