DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a different color from the dial” in the third-to-last line should be -a different color from a color of the dial-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 8, the “means for activating the light source” is a button ([0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the display device is “for watchmaking” in lines 1-2. However, the recited structure does not have any watchmaking capabilities. The limitation is suggested to be changed to -for timekeeping-.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the colour" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It has been read as -a colour-.
Claim 2 is rejected because “’notch’-type band-stop filter” is ambiguous as to whether Applicant is positively reciting a notch or only referentially reciting a notch. Additionally, “notch-type” appears to be a redundant term of relative degree because the specification does not clearly set forth the difference between a band-stop filter and a notch-type band-stop filter, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A band-stop filter only allows frequencies of that band to pass; how a notch-type filter would be different is unclear because such a filter would operate in the same manner by only allowing frequencies of that notch to pass. For the purposes of examination, the limitation has been read as -band-stop filter-.
Claim 5 lacks antecedent basis for “the colour” in line 2. It has been read as -a colour-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukens (US3798892) in view of Luca et al. (US20110032726).
Regarding claim 1, Lukens discloses (Figs. 4-5) a mobile luminous display device (title) for watchmaking, the display device including at least one dial (12c) and a first movable body (24), the first movable body being configured to move relative to the dial (Figs. 2-4) so as to indicate a plurality of positions on the dial (Figs. 2-4), wherein the display device comprises a light source (58) arranged to emit a light radiation through the dial (column 3, lines 5-7), and wherein the first movable body comprises a colour filter (column 2, lines 27) allowing modifying a colour of part of the light radiation passing through the first movable body, so that the first movable body has a different colour from the dial (column 2, lines 25-27), the light source comprising a spectrum of at least two different colours, the spectrum being of the RGB type. The light source emits white light (column 2, line 25), which comprises all colors of the visible spectrum. The spectrum is of the RGB type as the light source emits white light that gets filtered into another color by the movably body’s filter in the same manner as Applicant’s light source and movably body ([0051] of Applicant’s specification).
Lukens does not show the spectrum being discrete.
Luca teaches a light source comprising a discrete spectrum of at least two different colors, the spectrum being of the RGB type ([0004]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Lukens’s light source for Luca’s light source. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution because LEDs are less expensive, longer-lasting, and more energy efficient.
Regarding claim 2, Lukens discloses the display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the color filter is a “notch”-type band-stop filter. Lukens’s movable body filters red light (column 2, lines 25-27), so the band of electromagnetic radiation comprising red light is filtered.
Regarding claim 3, Lukens discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the color filter has a transmission spectrum configured to block a color from the discrete spectrum of the light source. Lukens’s movable body blocks red light (column 2, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 4, Lukens in view of Luca discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the source comprises at least two RGB type lines. Luca teaches the source comprising red, green, and blue ([0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Lukens discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a color of the first movable body is variable according to its position relative to the dial (column 2, lines 34-43).
Regarding claim 9, Lukens discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a second movable body, the second movable body including a second color filter (column 2, lines 29-30).
Regarding claim 10, Lukens discloses a timepiece comprising the display device according to claim 1 (column 1, lines 10-15).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukens in view of Luca as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Balchunas et al. (US3328953).
Regarding claim 6, Lukens in view of Luca discloses the display device according to claim 1.
The combination of Lukens and Luca does not show the dial being semi-transparent.
Balchunas teaches a translucent, or semi-transparent, dial (column 2, lines 63-4 and column 3, line 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Lukens’s dial material for Balchunas’s dial material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substation as a known material for predictably constructing a visible and legible dial that fulfills aesthetic desires.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukens in view of Luca as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Klopfenstein et al. (US8169858).
Regarding claim 7, Lukens in view of Luca discloses the display device according to claim 1.
The combination of Lukens and Luca does not show the device further comprising a protective crystal.
Klopfenstein teaches a display device with a protective crystal (abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klopfenstein’s crystal with Lukens’s device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to protect Lukens’s device from exterior damage.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukens in view of Luca as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Blanckaert et al. (US20120082012).
Regarding claim 8, Lukens in view of Luca discloses the display device according to claim 1.
The combination of Lukens and Luca does not show the device further comprising means for activating the light source via a button.
Blanckaert teaches a display device comprising means for activating a light source via a button ([0043]: “the lighting of light source…can be controlled…by pressure on a push-button”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Blanckaert’s button with Lukens’s device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to predictably and conveniently turn on and off the light source at a user’s behest.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rohner et al. (US20250138487) teaches a light source illuminating a rotating mask (Fig. 7A).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833