Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIN et al. (CN111600554), hereafter called LIN, see IDS filed on 01/30/2024.
Regarding claim 1, LIN (Fig. 2) discloses a power amplifier circuit comprising:
an amplifier (FET transistor) that amplifies a high-frequency signal from (Vin); and block (1) read as an impedance adjustment unit that adjusts an impedance for a high frequency as seen from the amplifier to a load side, wherein the impedance adjustment unit comprises a distributed constant circuit (11 and 12), see para. [0029], and a lumped constant circuit (13 and 3), the distributed constant circuit comprising a transmission line (11 and 12 of Fig. 3) having a line length that resonates with a harmonic, the lumped constant circuit comprising a resonance circuit (31 and 33) that resonates with harmonics other than the harmonic in the distributed constant circuit and a fundamental wave, see para. [0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN.
Regarding claim 2, LIN discloses claimed invention except the transmission line of the distributed constant circuit is an open stub that conducts impedance adjustment to obtain zero impedance for an even harmonic, the resonant circuit of the lumped constant circuit is an inductive load that conducts the impedance adjustment to obtain high impedances for the fundamental wave and an odd harmonic, and the impedance adjustment unit conducts the impedance adjustment for a class-F operation, see paras. [0023]-[0058]. However, utilizing the short circuit transmission line with an open stub transmission line is well-known in the art and thus would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, see JP2011-55152 cited in IDS filed on 01/30/2024.
Regarding claim 3, wherein in LIN, the resonance circuit of the inductive load consists of an inductor (31) connected between a node on an output part of the distributed constant circuit and a node on an input part of a load and a capacitor (33) connected between the node on the input part of the load and a grounding end.
Regarding claim 4, LIN does not disclose the lumped constant circuit comprises a resonance circuit in place of an open stub for conducting the impedance adjustment to obtain zero impedance for a second harmonic. However, utilizing the short circuit transmission line with an open stub transmission line is well-known in the art and thus would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, see JP2011-55152 cited in IDS filed on 01/30/2024.
Regarding claims 5-7, wherein replacing class F power amplifier with an inverse class F power amplifier is well known in the art, see JP2011-55152, paras. [0001]-[0004] and [0018]-[0043].
Regarding claims 8-11, wherein class F power amplifier and an inverse class F power amplifier could easily be applied to a well-known push-pull circuit, see Dent (20020105384), paras. [0092]-[0095], that is connected to a load through an output transformer. Further, a configuration of a capacitor or inductor of a resonance circuit in which a transformer is used is a matter that could be addressed, as appropriate, by a person skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 12, with respect to a class F power amplifier and an inverse class F power amplifier, configuring the open stub of a harmonics processing circuit using a transmission line provided with a line length of 1/4 wavelength of each harmonic is a well-known feature, see JP2011-55152 cited in IDS filed on 01/30/2024, paras. [0050] and [0051] and Fig. 4.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, wherein configuring a distributed constant circuit from a multilayer substrate having a metal layer and a dielectric substrate layer is a well-known feature, see JP2001111362 cited in IDs filed on 01/30/2024, paras. [0025] and [0026] and Figs. 3 and 5. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art could easily use the metal layer as a GND layer.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited are closed. However, they do not disclose all the units claimed. Goto (5,352,990) discloses resonance circuit, but does not disclose the distributed constant circuit; Hatsukawa (8,536,930) discloses open stub transmission line; and others disclose similar subject matters.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843