DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated July 1, 2026.
Notice of Change of Examiner
Please note that the Examiner prosecuting this application has been changed to Examiner Rayna B. Rodriguez of Art Unit 1628. Please address all future correspondences to Examiner Rodriguez.
Status of Claims
Claims 9-28 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's remarks and amendments filed July 1, 2026. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's amendment of claims 9, 10, 13, 14, 21-25, and 28. Claims 1-8 were previously canceled.
Claims 9-28 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/029618 filed on August 2, 2022, which claims benefit of foreign priority to JAPAN 2021-129996 filed on August 6, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 9, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner, except where marked with a strikethrough.
Objections and/or Rejections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Objections and/or Rejections) or newly applied (New Objections and/or Rejections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Objections and/or Rejections, NOT Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Withdrawn Objections and/or Rejections
Claim Objections
The objection to claims 6, 9, 10, and 13 has been rendered moot in view of the cancelation of claim 6 and the amendment of claims 9, 10, and 13. Thus, the objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Scope of Enablement
The rejection of claims 9-15 and 17-28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of disinfecting skin of a subject comprising applying a solution comprising a sugar alcohol and olanexidine gluconate, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of applying a solution comprising a sugar alcohol and any microbicide has been rendered moot in view of the amendment of claim 9. Thus, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Indefinite
The rejection of claims 14, 21-25, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been rendered moot in view of the amendment of claims 14, 21-25, and 28. Thus, the rejection has been withdrawn.
New Objections and/or Rejections
Necessitated by Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 and 17-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 2009/0169647, cited in the IDS filed 08/14/2024) in view of Fisher Science Education (Iodine, Tincture ~2% Solution, Safety Data Sheet according to 29CFR1910/1200 and GHS Rev. 3, December 16, 2014).
Regarding claim 9, Scholz teaches a method of disinfecting tissue of a subject comprising applying a composition to the tissue of the subject (claim 27) wherein the composition comprises an anti-microbial agent comprising iodine, a monosaccharide or a sugar alcohol, and a vehicle (claim 1) particularly for skin antisepsis (abstract). Scholz teaches a preferred active antimicrobial agent is elemental iodine (I2); as in most iodine-containing patient preps, other iodine-containing species may be present in addition to iodine, such as iodide (I-); and it is widely recognized that elemental iodine is the most active antimicrobial species [0038]. Moreover, Scholz teaches suitable vehicles include water and ethanol [0082].
Scholz does not explicitly teach the elemental iodine is an iodine tincture.
However, Fisher Science Education teaches iodine tincture contains sodium iodide, water, iodine, and ethanol (page 2, Section 3).
As such, since Scholz teaches a method of disinfecting skin comprising applying an anti-microbial composition comprising elemental iodine and a sugar alcohol, wherein the composition can comprise iodine-containing species such as iodide, water, and ethanol; and since Fisher Science Education teaches iodine tincture is a commercially available iodine composition comprising elemental iodine (iodine), an iodide (sodium iodide), water and ethanol, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize iodine tincture as the iodine in the method taught by Scholz with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that elemental iodine, iodide, sugar alcohol, water and ethanol are suitable in a composition for disinfecting skin and iodine tincture is a commercially available composition comprising elemental iodine (iodine), an iodide (sodium iodide), water and ethanol.
Regarding the sugar alcohol content of instant claim 9, Scholz teaches sugar alcohols are preferably present in a concentration of at least 0.25 wt%, more preferably at least 0.5 wt-%, even more preferably at least 1 wt-%, even more preferably at least 2 wt-%, even more preferably at least 4 wt-%, and even more preferably at least 5 wt-%, based on the total weight of the composition; the concentration is typically adjusted to ensure improved antimicrobial performance [0048].
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding claims 10, 11, and 17, Scholz teaches more preferred sugar alcohols are those derived from monosaccharides (i.e., alcohols of a monosaccharide) including xylitol, mannitol, or combinations thereof [0048]. Regarding claim 11, mannitol reads on a sugar alcohol has an action of enhancing an adhesion force of an incise drape on the skin surface of the subject after application of the antiseptic solution as evidenced by instant claim 17.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 15, 18-20, and 26-28, Scholz teaches it is particularly desirable to add one or more thickening agents, particularly polymeric thickeners (which may be film-forming polymers), and/or film-forming polymers, to the antiseptic compositions to improve substantivity (e.g., resistance to wash off by blood and body fluid exposure), improve adhesion of PSA-coated products, increase viscosity to prevent dripping, etc, and/or reduce the tack of the compositions [0090]; in certain embodiments, preferred polymeric thickeners are vinyl polymers prepared from amine group-containing monomers [0102]; and useful herein are vinyl polymers such as polyvinyl alcohol and polyvinyl pyrrolidone [0114]. Regarding claim 13, polyvinyl alcohol and polyvinyl pyrrolidone read on the adhesive agent has an action of enhancing an adhesion force of an incise drape on the skin surface of the subject after application of the antiseptic solution as evidenced by instant claim 26.
Regarding the concentration of the adhesive agent of instant claims 14 and 21-25, Scholz teaches in certain embodiments, one or more polymeric thickeners and/or film-forming polymers (preferably substantive film-forming polymeric thickeners), are present in the antiseptic composition in a total amount of at least 2 wt-% [0109].
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 9-15 and 17-28 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Maintained Objections and/or Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata (US 2006/0189500 A1, cited in the IDS filed 08/14/2024).
Regarding claims 9-11, 16, and 17, Miyata teaches a method of disinfecting or sterilizing an object, comprising contacting the object with an effective amount of a disinfectant (claim 16) wherein the disinfectant is an aqueous solution containing olanexidine and at least an equimolar amount of gluconic acid (claims 1 and 6). Myata teaches the disinfectant of the present invention can be suitably used for disinfecting skin/hands [0063]. Myata teaches in an aqueous solution containing olanexidine and at least an equimolar amount of gluconic acid, the olanexidine and the gluconic acid may form a salt, or the two may exist in free form, or the gluconic acid salt of olanexidine may coexist with free olanexidine and free gluconic acid [0030]. Thus, Miyata teaches a method of disinfecting skin comprising contacting skin with a disinfectant comprising olanexidine gluconate. Moreover, Miyata teaches if desired, additives used in preparations such as ordinary liquid preparations, ointments and the like can be suitably added to the disinfectant of present invention insofar as it does not adversely affect the dissolution of olanexidine in water; examples of such additives include moisturizers [0051]; and examples of moisturizers include mannitol [0053].
While the reference may not be anticipatory insofar as one must select moisturizer from various additives and further select mannitol from the disclosed moisturizers to disinfect skin as taught in Miyata, it remains that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to have selected a moisturizer, mannitol, in order to arrive at a composition useful for disinfecting skin. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so by the unambiguous disclosure of each particular species of additive and moisturizer agent individually and alternatively as equally useful in a method of disinfecting skin. This conclusion is supported by the fact that it has long been held in patent prosecution that a reference should be considered as expansively as is reasonably possible in determining the full scope of the contents within its four corners.
Regarding the amount of the sugar alcohol of instant claim 9, Myata does not explicitly teach the claimed concentration. However, Myata does teach glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate as alternatively useful moisturizers. Moreover, Myata teaches preparation example 11 [0090] comprising 240 mL of absolute ethanol, 15 g of glycerol, 15 g of glycerol triisooctanoate were added to 10 ml of Aqueous Solution 1 thus obtaining a hand disinfectant containing 0.2% olanexidine. An amount of 15 g of glycerol and 15 g of glycerol triisooctanoate is equivalent to an amount of about 3% glycerol and 3% glycerol triisooctanoate or 6% total moisturizer. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the amounts of the disclosed moisturizers, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate taught by Myata as a starting point for optimizing the amount of the moisturizer, mannitol, for use in a composition comprising olanexidine gluconate and mannitol utilized to disinfect skin, since Myata teaches mannitol, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate as alternatively useful moisturizers is useful for disinfecting skin and because dosage and amounts are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Regarding claim 11, mannitol reads on a sugar alcohol has an action of enhancing an adhesion force of an incise drape on the skin surface of the subject after application of the antiseptic solution as evidenced by instant claim 17.
Taken together, all this would result in the method of claims 9-11, 16, and 17 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 15, 18-20, and 26-28, Miyata teaches if desired, additives used in preparations such as ordinary liquid preparations, ointments and the like can be suitably added to the disinfectant of present invention insofar as it does not adversely affect the dissolution of olanexidine in water; examples of such additives include thickeners [0051]; and examples of thickeners include water-soluble polymers such as povidones and polyvinyl alcohols [0054]. Povidone is an alternative name of polyvinylpyrrolidone. Regarding claim 13, polyvinyl alcohol and povidone/polyvinyl pyrrolidone read on the adhesive agent has an action of enhancing an adhesion force of an incise drape on the skin surface of the subject after application of the antiseptic solution as evidenced by instant claim 26. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a thickener, povidones and polyvinyl alcohols, in the disinfectant composition for disinfecting skin taught by Myata, since Myata establishes that these are suitable additives for such compositions.
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 12, 13, 15, 18-20, and 26-28 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the amount of polyvinyl alcohol of instant claims 14 and 21-25, Myata does not explicitly teach the claimed concentration. However, Myata does teach preparation example 12 [0091] comprising 6.3 g of a partially hydrolyzed polyvinyl alcohol, 1.8 g of !auric acid diethanolamide and 3.6 g of a polyethylene-polypropylene glycol added to 20 mL pf Aqueous solution 2 and purified water was added to give a final volume of 180 mL. An amount of 6.3 g of polyvinyl alcohol is equivalent to an amount of about 3.5% polyvinyl alcohol. glycerol and 3% glycerol triisooctanoate or 6% total moisturizer. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the amount of polyvinyl alcohol taught by Myata as a starting point for optimizing the amount of polyvinyl alcohol for use in a composition comprising olanexidine gluconate, mannitol, and polyvinyl alcohol utilized to disinfect skin, since Myata teaches polyvinyl alcohol is useful in the disclosed compositions for disinfecting skin and because dosage and amounts are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 14 and 21-25 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Rejections over Scholz
Applicant argues:
Scholz is limited to iodine antimicrobial agent and specifically teaches away from iodine tincture.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
"A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The Examiner acknowledges that tincture of iodine is quite irritating to the skin. However, as set forth above, Scholz teaches a preferred active antimicrobial agent is elemental iodine (I2); as in most iodine-containing patient preps, other iodine-containing species may be present in addition to iodine, such as iodide (I-); and it is widely recognized that elemental iodine is the most active antimicrobial species. Moreover, as set forth above, Scholz teaches suitable vehicles include water and ethanol. As set forth above, Fisher Science Education teaches iodine tincture contains sodium iodide, water, iodine, and ethanol (page 2, Section 3).
As such, since Scholz teaches a method of disinfecting skin comprising applying an anti-microbial composition comprising elemental iodine and a sugar alcohol, wherein the composition can comprise iodine-containing species such as iodide, water, and ethanol; and since Fisher Science Education teaches iodine tincture is a commercially available iodine composition comprising elemental iodine (iodine), an iodide (sodium iodide), water and ethanol, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize iodine tincture as the iodine in the method taught by Scholz with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that elemental iodine, iodide, sugar alcohol, water and ethanol are suitable in a composition for disinfecting skin and iodine tincture is a commercially available composition comprising elemental iodine (iodine), an iodide (sodium iodide), water and ethanol.
Applicant argues:
There is no teaching in Scholz as to adjusting the concentration of the sugar alcohol in the antiseptic composition to 1.0-10% (w/v) and the effect provided by doing so. By contrast, it is specifically shown by the results under sections "2-1," "2-2," etc. of present Examples (paragraphs [0043]-[0051]) that an addition sugar alcohol so that its concentration is 1.0-10% (w/v) to the antiseptic composition comprising a microbicide enhances the adhesion force of an incise drape on skin surface to which the antiseptic composition has been applied, as compared with the case of adding no sugar alcohol. Scholz fails to disclose or suggest this effect. Accordingly, the effect provided by the present invention of enhancing the adhesion force of an incise drape is totally opposite to that is usually expected, which can thus be said to be an advantageous effect that cannot be predicted from Scholz.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
As set forth above, Scholz teaches sugar alcohols are preferably present in a concentration of at least 0.25 wt%, more preferably at least 0.5 wt-%, even more preferably at least 1 wt-%, even more preferably at least 2 wt-%, even more preferably at least 4 wt-%, and even more preferably at least 5 wt-%, based on the total weight of the composition; the concentration is typically adjusted to ensure improved antimicrobial performance [0048].
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Thus, the teachings of Scholz render the instantly claimed concentration obvious.
Rejections over Miyata
Applicant argues:
Claim 9 is currently amended to recite a sugar alcohol content of 1.0-10% (w/v), which Applicant submits is not disclosed or suggested by Miyata. Accordingly, Applicant submits that amended claim 9 is not disclosed or suggested by Miyata.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
As set forth above, Myata does teaches mannitol, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate as alternatively useful moisturizers. Moreover, Myata teaches preparation example 11 [0090] comprising 240 mL of absolute ethanol, 15 g of glycerol, 15 g of glycerol triisooctanoate were added to 10 ml of Aqueous Solution 1 thus obtaining a hand disinfectant containing 0.2% olanexidine. An amount of 15 g of glycerol and 15 g of glycerol triisooctanoate is equivalent to an amount of about 3% glycerol and 3% glycerol triisooctanoate or 6% total moisturizer. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the amounts of the disclosed moisturizers, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate taught by Myata as a starting point for optimizing the amount of the moisturizer, mannitol, for use in a composition comprising olanexidine gluconate and mannitol utilized to disinfect skin, since Myata teaches mannitol, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate as alternatively useful moisturizers is useful for disinfecting skin and because dosage and amounts are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Applicant argues:
Claims 14 and 21-25 are not obvious over Miyata for the additional reason that Miyata does not disclose or suggest the content of the adhesive agent recited in those claims. The Office Action asserts that Miyata discloses (apparently in reference to Miyata Preparation Example 12) an olanexidine solution comprising 3.5% (w/v) polyvinyl alcohol. Even assuming (for the sake of argument) that the Office Actions allegations above were accurate, it should be clear that reducing the amount of polyvinyl alcohol would not adversely impact olanexidine solubility. Applicant submits that if any optimization of polyvinyl alcohol content in Miyata were studied, it would be to determine the maximum amount (if any) that that would not impact olanexidine dissolution. Clearly, a POSA would understand that olanexidine dissolution-the sole alleged "result effective variable" argued in the Office Action-would not be adversely impacted by decreasing the polyvinyl alcohol content. Moreover, as far as Applicant can identify, Miyata mentions polyvinyl alcohol exactly once: in Preparation Example 12 as discussed above. Miyata's failure to mention polyvinyl alcohol in its paragraph [0053] suggests that Miyata does not consider it to be a moisturizer. Therefore, Applicant submits that nothing in Miyata discloses or suggests any reason for "optimizing" its content in Preparation Example 12.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
As set forth above, Myata teaches the use of polyvinyl alcohol as a thickener. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of optimizing the amount of polyvinyl alcohol to achieve a desired thickness. If the desired thickness is a less thick composition, the skilled artisan would be motivated to reduce the amount of polyvinyl alcohol to reduce the thickness of the final composition. As set forth above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the amount of polyvinyl alcohol taught by Myata as a starting point for optimizing the amount of polyvinyl alcohol for use in a composition comprising olanexidine gluconate, mannitol, and polyvinyl alcohol utilized to disinfect skin, since Myata teaches polyvinyl alcohol is useful in the disclosed compositions for disinfecting skin and because dosage and amounts are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Applicant argues:
There is no teaching in Miyata as to adjusting the concentration of sugar alcohol in the antiseptic composition to 1.0-10% (w/v) and the effect provided by doing so. By contrast, it is specifically shown by the results under sections "2-1," "2-2," etc. of present Examples (paragraphs [0043]-[0051]) that an addition sugar alcohol so that its concentration is 1.0-10% (w/v) to the antiseptic composition comprising a microbicide enhances the adhesion force of an incise drape on skin surface to which the antiseptic composition has been applied, as compared with the case of adding no sugar alcohol. Miyata fails to disclose or suggest this effect. Indeed, Miyata discloses mannitol and xylitol as moisturizers (paragraph [0053]), and it is expected that an addition of sugar alcohol in Miyata would rather reduce the adhesion force. Accordingly, the effect provided by the present invention of enhancing the adhesion force of an incise drape is totally opposite to that is usually expected, which can thus be said to be an advantageous effect that cannot be predicted from Miyata.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
As set forth above, Myata does teaches mannitol, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate as alternatively useful moisturizers. Moreover, Myata teaches preparation example 11 [0090] comprising 240 mL of absolute ethanol, 15 g of glycerol, 15 g of glycerol triisooctanoate were added to 10 ml of Aqueous Solution 1 thus obtaining a hand disinfectant containing 0.2% olanexidine. An amount of 15 g of glycerol and 15 g of glycerol triisooctanoate is equivalent to an amount of about 3% glycerol and 3% glycerol triisooctanoate or 6% total moisturizer. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the amounts of the disclosed moisturizers, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate taught by Myata as a starting point for optimizing the amount of the moisturizer, mannitol, for use in a composition comprising olanexidine gluconate and mannitol utilized to disinfect skin, since Myata teaches mannitol, glycerol and glycerol triisooctanoate as alternatively useful moisturizers is useful for disinfecting skin and because dosage and amounts are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan.
Conclusion
Claims 9-28 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rayna Rodriguez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628