DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/KR2022/012641 filed on August 24, 2022.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14 and 15 are rejected.
Claims 7 and 13 are objected to.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 30, 2024, December 12, 2024 and October 2, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 8, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Munier et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0123886, hereinafter Munier.
Regarding Claim 1, Munier discloses a method for transmitting a reference signal performed by a User Equipment (UE) (Abstract; Figure 1, 6-10, 17 and 19), comprising:
determining a configuration of the reference signal (Paragraph [0154] The wireless device obtains an SRS configuration from a network node. At step 1004, the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration);
and transmitting, to a base station, the reference signal or receiving, from the base station, the reference signal, according to the configuration (1006 of Figure 17; Paragraph [0154] the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration. At step 1006, the new SRS waveform is transmitted),
wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to transmit power of the reference signal, information related to modulation mode of the reference signal, information related to waveform of the reference signal, information related to transmission bandwidth of the reference signal, or information related to antenna ports for the reference signal (Paragraph [0015-0021] Sounding reference signal configuration including information related to waveform of the reference signal and transmission bandwidth of the reference signal and information related to transmit power of reference signal).
Regarding Claim 8, Munier discloses a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver; and a processor (Abstract; Figure 1, 6-10, 17 and 19) configured to
control to determine a configuration of the reference signal (Paragraph [0154] The wireless device obtains an SRS configuration from a network node. At step 1004, the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration),,
and control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, the reference signal or receive, from the base station, the reference signal, according to the configuration (1006 of Figure 17; Paragraph [0154] the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration. At step 1006, the new SRS waveform is transmitted),
wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to transmit power of the reference signal, information related to modulation mode of the reference signal, information related to waveform of the reference signal, information related to transmission bandwidth of the reference signal, or information related to antenna ports for the reference signal (Paragraph [0015-0021] Sounding reference signal configuration including information related to waveform of the reference signal and transmission bandwidth of the reference signal and information related to transmit power of reference signal).
Regarding Claim 14, Munier discloses a method for transmitting a reference signal performed by a base station(Abstract; Figure 1, 6-10, 17 and 19), comprising:
determining a configuration of the reference signal (Paragraph [0154] The wireless device obtains an SRS configuration from a network node. At step 1004, the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration);
transmitting, to a User Equipment(UE), the reference signal or receiving, from the UE, the reference signal according to the configuration (1006 of Figure 17; Paragraph [0154] the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration. At step 1006, the new SRS waveform is transmitted),
wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to transmit power of the reference signal, information related to modulation mode of the reference signal, information related to waveform of the reference signal, information related to transmission bandwidth of the reference signal, or information related to antenna ports for the reference signal (Paragraph [0015-0021] Sounding reference signal configuration including information related to waveform of the reference signal and transmission bandwidth of the reference signal and information related to transmit power of reference signal).
Regarding Claim 15, Munier discloses a base station, comprising: a transceiver; and a processor (Abstract; Figure 1, 6-10, 17 and 19)
configured to control to determine a configuration of the reference signal (Paragraph [0154] The wireless device obtains an SRS configuration from a network node. At step 1004, the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration),
and control the transceiver to transmit, to a User Equipment (UE), the reference signal or receive, from the UE, the reference signal, according to the configuration (1006 of Figure 17; Paragraph [0154] the wireless device determines a new SRS waveform that is adapted for positioning based on the SRS configuration. At step 1006, the new SRS waveform is transmitted),
wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to transmit power of the reference signal, information related to modulation mode of the reference signal, information related to waveform of the reference signal, information related to transmission bandwidth of the reference signal, or information related to antenna ports for the reference signal (Paragraph [0015-0021] Sounding reference signal configuration including information related to waveform of the reference signal and transmission bandwidth of the reference signal and information related to transmit power of reference signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munier in view of Wu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0110037, hereinafter Wu.
Regarding Claim 2, Munier discloses the method of Claim 1. Munier fails to explicitly disclose wherein determining the configuration of the reference signal comprises at least one of the following: receiving the configuration of the reference signal through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information; or determining a configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal, and determining the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal.
However, Wu more specifically teaches wherein determining the configuration of the reference signal comprises at least one of the following: receiving the configuration of the reference signal through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information; or determining a configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal, and determining the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal (Paragraph [0122] the foregoing configuration information of an SRS may be higher layer signaling, for example, UE-specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling which may include one or more kinds of the following information: the bandwidth configuration of an SRS, subframe configuration, the number of transmission ports, transmission bandwidth, frequency hopping bandwidth, frequency location, duration, configuration index, transmission comb, sequence cyclic shift and power offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Wu .Wu provides a solution for improved performance and improvement by adjusting the code rate and the modulation scheme (also referred to as Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) in some systems) in real time using an Adaptive Modulation and Coding (AMC) technology (Wu Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0006, 0071, 0104 and 0163]).
Regarding Claim 9, Munier discloses the UE of Claim 8. Munier fails to explicitly disclose determine the configuration of the reference signal comprises at least one of the following: to receive the configuration of the reference signal through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information; or to determine a configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal, and determining the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal.
However, Wu more specifically teaches determine the configuration of the reference signal comprises at least one of the following: to receive the configuration of the reference signal through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information; or to determine a configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal, and determining the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal (Paragraph [0122] the foregoing configuration information of an SRS may be higher layer signaling, for example, UE-specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling which may include one or more kinds of the following information: the bandwidth configuration of an SRS, subframe configuration, the number of transmission ports, transmission bandwidth, frequency hopping bandwidth, frequency location, duration, configuration index, transmission comb, sequence cyclic shift and power offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Wu .Wu provides a solution for improved performance and improvement by adjusting the code rate and the modulation scheme (also referred to as Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) in some systems) in real time using an Adaptive Modulation and Coding (AMC) technology (Wu Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0006, 0071, 0104 and 0163]).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munier in view of Yang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0232589, hereinafter Yang.
Regarding Claim 3, Munier discloses the method of Claim 1. Munier further discloses wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes information related to a time unit configuration of the reference signal, wherein the information related to the time unit configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of a period of the time unit, number of the time units in a single period, position of the time unit in a single period, number of training or repetition times of the time unit in a single period, number of aperiodic time units, position of the aperiodic time unit, and number of training times or repetition times of the aperiodic time unit (Paragraph [0013-0021 and 0065-0073] SRS configuration including SRS time resource allocation and position and repetition factor for reference signal in a period of time).
Munier fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the case where the time unit is periodic, determining the period of the time unit is implemented by: in the case where the corresponding physical channel is an uplink shared channel, obtaining a period configuration information according to a configured grant signaling of the uplink shared channel, and determining the period according to the obtained period configuration information; or in the case where the corresponding physical channel is a downlink shared channel, obtaining the period configuration information according to a semi-persistent scheduling configuration of the downlink shared channel, and determining the period according to the obtained period configuration information, wherein the position of the time unit of the reference signal in a single period or the aperiodic time unit of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to position of first symbol in the time unit, information related to position of last symbol in the time unit, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and last symbol of demodulation reference signals of uplink/downlink shared channel, intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and first symbol of the demodulation reference signals of uplink or downlink shared channel, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and the last symbol of the uplink or downlink shared channel, or intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and the first symbol of the uplink/downlink shared channel, wherein, in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is a periodic time unit configuration, obtaining an indication message for enabling the periodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the periodic time unit configuration or in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is an aperiodic time unit configuration, obtaining an indication message for enabling the aperiodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the aperiodic time unit configuration, or the position of the aperiodic time unit is associated with position of time unit of uplink or downlink shared channel scheduled by the downlink control information.
However, Yang more specifically teaches wherein, in the case where the time unit is periodic, determining the period of the time unit is implemented by: in the case where the corresponding physical channel is an uplink shared channel, obtaining a period configuration information according to a configured grant signaling of the uplink shared channel, and determining the period according to the obtained period configuration information; or in the case where the corresponding physical channel is a downlink shared channel, obtaining the period configuration information according to a semi-persistent scheduling configuration of the downlink shared channel, and determining the period according to the obtained period configuration information, wherein the position of the time unit of the reference signal in a single period or the aperiodic time unit of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to position of first symbol in the time unit, information related to position of last symbol in the time unit, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and last symbol of demodulation reference signals of uplink/downlink shared channel, intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and first symbol of the demodulation reference signals of uplink or downlink shared channel, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and the last symbol of the uplink or downlink shared channel, or intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and the first symbol of the uplink/downlink shared channel, wherein, in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is a periodic time unit configuration, obtaining an indication message for enabling the periodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the periodic time unit configuration or in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is an aperiodic time unit configuration, obtaining an indication message for enabling the aperiodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the aperiodic time unit configuration, or the position of the aperiodic time unit is associated with position of time unit of uplink or downlink shared channel scheduled by the downlink control information (Paragraph [0047, 0080-0088] the SRI field included in the configured grant, another RRC parameter field in the configured grant or another signaling communication, a table or specification, and/or the like, may further indicate that the UE is to use SRS resources associated with particular SRS types for the transmission of one or more PUSCH communications. For example, the SRI field included in the configured grant, another RRC parameter field in the configured grant or another signaling communication, a table or specification (e.g., hard-coded at the UE), and/or the like may indicate that the UE is to use SRS resources associated with periodic SRS transmissions, aperiodic SRS transmissions, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. Accordingly, the UE may identify the SRS resources, that are to be used for the transmission of the one or more PUSCH communications, by identifying a most recent SRS transmission, of the specified one or more SRS types, to the scheduled transmission of the one or more PUSCH communications. In some aspects, the BS may semi-statically (e.g., via RRC signaling) configure the UE with an associated SRS resource set for one or more PUSCH communications scheduled by the configured grant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Yang. Yang provides a solution to improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) with a cyclic prefix (CP) (CP-OFDM) on the downlink (DL), using CP-OFDM and/or SC-FDM (e.g., also known as discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM)) on the uplink (UL), as well as supporting beamforming, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna technology, and carrier aggregation. There exists a need for further improvements in LTE and NR technologies. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Yang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0013]).
Regarding Claim 10, Munier discloses the UE of Claim 8. Munier further discloses wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes information related to a time unit configuration of the reference signal, wherein the information related to the time unit configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of a period of the time unit, number of the time units in a single period, position of the time unit in a single period, number of training or repetition times of the time unit in a single period, number of aperiodic time units, position of the aperiodic time unit, and number of training times or repetition times of the aperiodic time unit (Paragraph [0013-0021 and 0065-0073] SRS configuration including SRS time resource allocation and position and repetition factor for reference signal in a period of time).
Munier fails to explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to: in the case where the time unit is periodic, determine the period of the time unit is implemented by: in the case where the corresponding physical channel is an uplink shared channel, obtain a period configuration information according to a configured grant signaling of the uplink shared channel, and determine the period according to the obtained period configuration information; or in the case where the corresponding physical channel is a downlink shared channel, obtain the period configuration information according to a semi-persistent scheduling configuration of the downlink shared channel, and determine the period according to the obtained period configuration information, and wherein the position of the time unit of the reference signal in a single period or the aperiodic time unit of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to position of first symbol in the time unit, information related to position of last symbol in the time unit, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and last symbol of demodulation reference signals of uplink/downlink shared channel, intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and first symbol of the demodulation reference signals of uplink or downlink shared channel, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and the last symbol of the uplink or downlink shared channel, or intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and the first symbol of the uplink/downlink shared channel, in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is a periodic time unit configuration, obtain an indication message for enabling the periodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the periodic time unit configuration or in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is an aperiodic time unit configuration, obtain an indication message for enabling the aperiodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the aperiodic time unit configuration, or the position of the aperiodic time unit is associated with position of time unit of uplink or downlink shared channel scheduled by the downlink control information.
However, Yang more specifically teaches wherein the configuration of the reference signal includes information related to a time unit configuration of the reference signal, wherein the information related to the time unit configuration of the reference signal includes at least one of a period of the time unit, number of the time units in a single period, position of the time unit in a single period, number of training or repetition times of the time unit in a single period, number of aperiodic time units, position of the aperiodic time unit, and number of training times or repetition times of the aperiodic time unit, and the processor is further configured to: in the case where the time unit is periodic, determine the period of the time unit is implemented by: in the case where the corresponding physical channel is an uplink shared channel, obtain a period configuration information according to a configured grant signaling of the uplink shared channel, and determine the period according to the obtained period configuration information; or in the case where the corresponding physical channel is a downlink shared channel, obtain the period configuration information according to a semi-persistent scheduling configuration of the downlink shared channel, and determine the period according to the obtained period configuration information, and wherein the position of the time unit of the reference signal in a single period or the aperiodic time unit of the reference signal includes at least one of information related to position of first symbol in the time unit, information related to position of last symbol in the time unit, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and last symbol of demodulation reference signals of uplink/downlink shared channel, intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and first symbol of the demodulation reference signals of uplink or downlink shared channel, intervals between the first symbol in the time unit and the last symbol of the uplink or downlink shared channel, or intervals between the last symbol in the time unit and the first symbol of the uplink/downlink shared channel, in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is a periodic time unit configuration, obtain an indication message for enabling the periodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the periodic time unit configuration or in the case where the obtained time unit configuration is an aperiodic time unit configuration, obtain an indication message for enabling the aperiodic time unit configuration through downlink control information, the indication message being used to indicate whether to enable the aperiodic time unit configuration, or the position of the aperiodic time unit is associated with position of time unit of uplink or downlink shared channel scheduled by the downlink control information (Paragraph [0047, 0080-0088] the SRI field included in the configured grant, another RRC parameter field in the configured grant or another signaling communication, a table or specification, and/or the like, may further indicate that the UE is to use SRS resources associated with particular SRS types for the transmission of one or more PUSCH communications. For example, the SRI field included in the configured grant, another RRC parameter field in the configured grant or another signaling communication, a table or specification (e.g., hard-coded at the UE), and/or the like may indicate that the UE is to use SRS resources associated with periodic SRS transmissions, aperiodic SRS transmissions, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. Accordingly, the UE may identify the SRS resources, that are to be used for the transmission of the one or more PUSCH communications, by identifying a most recent SRS transmission, of the specified one or more SRS types, to the scheduled transmission of the one or more PUSCH communications. In some aspects, the BS may semi-statically (e.g., via RRC signaling) configure the UE with an associated SRS resource set for one or more PUSCH communications scheduled by the configured grant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Yang. Yang provides a solution to improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) with a cyclic prefix (CP) (CP-OFDM) on the downlink (DL), using CP-OFDM and/or SC-FDM (e.g., also known as discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM)) on the uplink (UL), as well as supporting beamforming, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna technology, and carrier aggregation. There exists a need for further improvements in LTE and NR technologies. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Yang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0013]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munier in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0006501, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 4, Munier discloses the method of Claim 1. Munier fails to explicitly discloses wherein determining the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal comprises: the configuration of the reference signal being the same as the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal.
However, Kim more specifically teaches wherein determining the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal comprises: the configuration of the reference signal being the same as the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal (Paragraph [0016 and 0196-0217] The SRS power control adjustment state value may indicate that an SRS transmission power is equal to a PUSCH transmission power or that an SRS transmission power is configured per SRS resource set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Kim. Kim provides a solution to help to eliminate remote cross link interference (Kim Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0022]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munier in view of Yang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0238268, hereinafter Yang’268.
Regarding Claim 5, Munier discloses the method of Claim 1. Munier fails to disclose in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, and it cannot be ensured that a transmit power of the downlink reference signal and that of a corresponding physical channel are the same, obtaining indication information indicating that the transmit powers of the downlink reference signal and the specific physical channel are different, through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information, and determining not to transmit or receive the reference signal based on the indication information, or further comprising: in the case where the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, not transmitting any uplink channel or uplink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated; or in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, not receiving any downlink channel or downlink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated.
However, Yang’268 teaches in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, and it cannot be ensured that a transmit power of the downlink reference signal and that of a corresponding physical channel are the same, obtaining indication information indicating that the transmit powers of the downlink reference signal and the specific physical channel are different, through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information, and determining not to transmit or receive the reference signal based on the indication information, or further comprising: in the case where the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, not transmitting any uplink channel or uplink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated; or in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, not receiving any downlink channel or downlink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated (Abstract; Paragraph [0005-0006, 0115] a user equipment configured to control SRS transmission in a subframe (SF) configured to transmit an SRS (sounding reference signal) in a wireless communication system includes an RF (radio frequency) module and a processor, the processor configured to map a first set of physical channels over all SC-FDMA (single carrier frequency division multiple access) symbols in the SF, the processor configured to map a second set of physical channels over all of the remaining SC-FDMA symbols except the last SC-FDMA symbol in the SF, the processor configured to reduce transmit power of the first set of physical channels to make the sum of transmit power of the physical channels of the first set and the second set not exceed maximum transmit power, the processor, if the sum of the reduced transmit power of the physical channels of the first set and transmit power of the SRS exceed the maximum transmit power, configured to drop the SRS transmission in the SF, the processor, if the sum of the reduced transmit power of the physical channels of the first set and the transmit power of the SRS does not exceed the maximum transmit power, configured to perform the SRS transmission in the SF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Yang’268. The method enables performing transmission/reception of communication services in the radio communication system in an effective manner by controlling signal/channel transmission in an efficient manner (Yang’268 Abstract; Paragraph [00001-0012]).
Regarding Claim 11, Munier discloses the UE of Claim 8. Munier fails to disclose wherein determine the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal comprises: the configuration of the reference signal being the same as the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal, in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, and it cannot be ensured that a transmit power of the downlink reference signal and that of a corresponding physical channel are the same, obtaining indication information indicating that the transmit powers of the downlink reference signal and the specific physical channel are different, through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information, and determining not to transmit or receive the reference signal based on the indication information, or in the case where the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, not transmitting any uplink channel or uplink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated; or in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, not receiving any downlink channel or downlink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated.
However, Yang’268 teaches wherein determine the configuration of the reference signal according to the configuration of respective physical channel or physical signal comprises: the configuration of the reference signal being the same as the configuration of the corresponding physical channel or physical signal, in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, and it cannot be ensured that a transmit power of the downlink reference signal and that of a corresponding physical channel are the same, obtaining indication information indicating that the transmit powers of the downlink reference signal and the specific physical channel are different, through at least one of higher-layer signaling or downlink control information, and determining not to transmit or receive the reference signal based on the indication information, or in the case where the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, not transmitting any uplink channel or uplink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated; or in the case where the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, not receiving any downlink channel or downlink signal in time unit to which the reference signal is allocated (Abstract; Paragraph [0005-0006, 0115] a user equipment configured to control SRS transmission in a subframe (SF) configured to transmit an SRS (sounding reference signal) in a wireless communication system includes an RF (radio frequency) module and a processor, the processor configured to map a first set of physical channels over all SC-FDMA (single carrier frequency division multiple access) symbols in the SF, the processor configured to map a second set of physical channels over all of the remaining SC-FDMA symbols except the last SC-FDMA symbol in the SF, the processor configured to reduce transmit power of the first set of physical channels to make the sum of transmit power of the physical channels of the first set and the second set not exceed maximum transmit power, the processor, if the sum of the reduced transmit power of the physical channels of the first set and transmit power of the SRS exceed the maximum transmit power, configured to drop the SRS transmission in the SF, the processor, if the sum of the reduced transmit power of the physical channels of the first set and the transmit power of the SRS does not exceed the maximum transmit power, configured to perform the SRS transmission in the SF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Yang’268. The method enables performing transmission/reception of communication services in the radio communication system in an effective manner by controlling signal/channel transmission in an efficient manner (Yang’268 Abstract; Paragraph [00001-0012]).
Claim 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0007707, hereinafter Rico.
Regarding Claim 6, Munier discloses the method of Claim 1. Munier discloses uplink reference signals and discloses a time unit resource position for transmitting during a allocated period but fails to explicitly disclose in the case where time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, determining whether to transmit the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to transmissions of corresponding uplink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period; or in the case where the time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, determining whether to receive the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to receptions of corresponding downlink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period, wherein the reference signal is a demodulation reference signal or part of the demodulation reference signal, and the determined configuration indicates that position of time unit of the reference signal is part of time units of the demodulation reference signal of an uplink/downlink shared channel.
However, Rico teaches in the case where time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, determining whether to transmit the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to transmissions of corresponding uplink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period; or in the case where the time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, determining whether to receive the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to receptions of corresponding downlink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period, wherein the reference signal is a demodulation reference signal or part of the demodulation reference signal, and the determined configuration indicates that position of time unit of the reference signal is part of time units of the demodulation reference signal of an uplink/downlink shared channel (Paragraph [0024] DMRS, aperiodic SRS (A-SRS), periodic channel state information (P-CSI), periodic SRS (P-SRS), user data, or any combination thereof, wherein transmitting the communication on the first carrier or the SRS on the second carrier, or both may be based at least in part on the prioritization scheme; Paragraph [0056] UEs 115 may transmit SRS to facilitate communications on the downlink. An SRS may be transmitted by UE 115 using a predetermined sequence (e.g., a Zadoff-Chu sequence) so that a base station 105 may estimate the uplink channel quality. An SRS transmission may not be associated with transmission of data on another channel, and may be transmitted periodically on a wide bandwidth (e.g., a bandwidth including more subcarriers than are allocated for uplink data transmission). An SRS may also be scheduled on multiple antenna ports and may still be considered a single SRS transmission. An SRS transmission may be categorized as a Type 0 (periodically transmitted at equally spaced intervals) SRS or as a Type 1 (aperiodic) SRS; Paragraph [0062-0066] If an SRS or the retuning time collides with another, high priority signal (e.g., DMRS), then UE 115-a may drop the entire transmission (e.g., a subframe) in which the signal was transmitted; . The prioritization may be based on whether the switching impacts the first slot or second slot (e.g., due to an impact on DMRS in PUSCH or PUCCH). If UE 115-a is unable to perform look-ahead, UE 115-a may determine, based on SRS switching timing for a certain set of CC combinations, whether the next subframe is a downlink or uplink subframe. In some cases (e.g., for P-SRS), if the following subframe is downlink, SRS may be transmitted. Otherwise, SRS may be dropped. In the case of A-SRS, UE 115-a may consider transmitting, but may also drop the next subframe; Paragraph [0091-0093] UE 115 may receive downlink information such as DMRS, ACK/NAK information, CSI, or the like. The duration of downlink resources 515-a may, in some examples, be based on the retuning time of the UE 115. Based on the UE's capability and the duration of downlink resources; That is the reference can be an uplink or downlink reference signal configured to be periodic and transmitted in a duration of a period where the terminal determines whether to transmit or receive the reference signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Rico. The method ensures that a limited set of control channel element locations can be specified for downlink control information associated with the specific UE so as to reduce power consumption and overhead at the user equipment (Rico Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0011 and 0053]).
Regarding Claim 12, Munier discloses the UE of Claim 8. Munier discloses uplink reference signals and discloses a time unit resource position for transmitting during a allocated period but fails to explicitly disclose in the case where time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, determine whether to transmit the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to transmissions of corresponding uplink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period; or in the case where the time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, determine whether to receive the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to receptions of corresponding downlink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period, wherein the reference signal is a demodulation reference signal or part of the demodulation reference signal, and the determined configuration indicates that position of time unit of the reference signal is part of time units of the demodulation reference signal of an uplink/downlink shared channel.
However, Rico teaches in the case where time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is an uplink reference signal, determine whether to transmit the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to transmissions of corresponding uplink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period; or in the case where the time unit of the reference signal is configured to be periodic and the reference signal is a downlink reference signal, determine whether to receive the reference signal in duration of a single period, according to receptions of corresponding downlink physical channel or physical signal in duration of the period, wherein the reference signal is a demodulation reference signal or part of the demodulation reference signal, and the determined configuration indicates that position of time unit of the reference signal is part of time units of the demodulation reference signal of an uplink/downlink shared channel (Paragraph [0024] DMRS, aperiodic SRS (A-SRS), periodic channel state information (P-CSI), periodic SRS (P-SRS), user data, or any combination thereof, wherein transmitting the communication on the first carrier or the SRS on the second carrier, or both may be based at least in part on the prioritization scheme; Paragraph [0056] UEs 115 may transmit SRS to facilitate communications on the downlink. An SRS may be transmitted by UE 115 using a predetermined sequence (e.g., a Zadoff-Chu sequence) so that a base station 105 may estimate the uplink channel quality. An SRS transmission may not be associated with transmission of data on another channel, and may be transmitted periodically on a wide bandwidth (e.g., a bandwidth including more subcarriers than are allocated for uplink data transmission). An SRS may also be scheduled on multiple antenna ports and may still be considered a single SRS transmission. An SRS transmission may be categorized as a Type 0 (periodically transmitted at equally spaced intervals) SRS or as a Type 1 (aperiodic) SRS; Paragraph [0062-0066] If an SRS or the retuning time collides with another, high priority signal (e.g., DMRS), then UE 115-a may drop the entire transmission (e.g., a subframe) in which the signal was transmitted; . The prioritization may be based on whether the switching impacts the first slot or second slot (e.g., due to an impact on DMRS in PUSCH or PUCCH). If UE 115-a is unable to perform look-ahead, UE 115-a may determine, based on SRS switching timing for a certain set of CC combinations, whether the next subframe is a downlink or uplink subframe. In some cases (e.g., for P-SRS), if the following subframe is downlink, SRS may be transmitted. Otherwise, SRS may be dropped. In the case of A-SRS, UE 115-a may consider transmitting, but may also drop the next subframe; Paragraph [0091-0093] UE 115 may receive downlink information such as DMRS, ACK/NAK information, CSI, or the like. The duration of downlink resources 515-a may, in some examples, be based on the retuning time of the UE 115. Based on the UE's capability and the duration of downlink resources; That is the reference can be an uplink or downlink reference signal configured to be periodic and transmitted in a duration of a period where the terminal determines whether to transmit or receive the reference signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Munier with the teachings of Rico. The method ensures that a limited set of control channel element locations can be specified for downlink control information associated with the specific UE so as to reduce power consumption and overhead at the user equipment (Rico Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0011 and 0053]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7 and 13, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim, “wherein a DL transmission of control and/or data or of broadcast information, e.g., system information, SI, such as a system information block, SIB, is skipped or deferred, when the transmission overlaps with a part of the frame not used for a DL transmission, like an UL subframe or the GP.” in the case where respective uplink physical channel or physical signal is transmitted in a duration of a period, and a time for transmitting the corresponding uplink physical channel or physical signal in the duration is after a timing when the reference signal is scheduled to be transmitted, transmit the reference signal in duration of the period; otherwise, not transmit the reference signal; or in the case where respective downlink physical channel or physical signal is received in duration of a period, and timing for receiving the respective downlink physical channel or physical signal in the duration is after timing when the reference signal is scheduled to be received, receive the reference signal in duration of the period; otherwise, not receive the reference signal.
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409