DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al US20200172680A1 in view of Sinclair, R. US5180765A.
Regarding claims 1-3, Choi et al teaches a biodegradable polylactic acid-based copolymer with excellent mechanical properties, abstract. The copolymer is a block copolymer comprising a first block of polylactic acid (PLA) and a second block derived from polymerized 3-hydroxypropionic acid, ¶[0013], which reads on the poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid) repeat unit of claim 1.
Choi teaches the PLA unit is derived from any polylactic acid, used without limitation, including commercially available polylactic acid. The polylactic acid can be commonly prepared from an L-lactic acid-derived monomer and/or a D-lactic acid-derived monomer, such as L-lactide, D-lactide, or meso-lactide, where the crystallinity and melting point can be freely controlled according to the content, ¶[0015].
Choi is silent to the exact stereoisomers and their ratios in the PLA used in the examples. Choi, having disclosed the stereoisomers of the PLA in only a cursory fashion, is not especially forthcoming as to the stereoisomer content of the PLA. In instances such as these, one of ordinary skill would consult the related prior art to ascertain what is best suited in this capacity.
Sinclair discloses biodegradable compositions of poly(lactic acid) for use in packaging and pliable films, see abstract, which is the same field of use as the block copolymers of Choi. Sinclair discloses poly(lactic acid) derived from blends of L-lactide, D-lactide, and D,L-lactide and mixtures thereof, Col. 1 lines 10-11. In example 1, Sinclair exemplifies a polymer derived from an 80/20 blend of L-lactide and racemic D,L-lactide, Col. 16 lines 22-23. This blend produces clear, transparent, colorless thin films, that are flexible, Col. 16 lines 66-68. This blend reads on the percent ranges of claims 2 and 3 because this makes the L-lactide (formula 3 of claim 1) 90 wt.% and the D-lactide (formula 2 of claim 1) 10 wt.%, due to the racemic lactide being a 50:50 blend of D-lactide and L-lactide.
Choi and Sinclair are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of poly(lactic acid) polymers and compositions thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have practiced the invention of Choi but using a 90/10 blend of L-lactide and racemic D,L-lactide for the poly(lactic acid) repeat unit in the block copolymer because this blend is useful for producing flexible clear films as disclosed by Sinclair and the skilled artisan would be motivated to use such a blend to produce biodegradable block copolymers for packaging articles as taught by Choi.
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the weight average molecular weight of the block copolymer is 1,000-500,000 g/mol ¶[0022], which overlaps with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Choi because selection of the overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 5-6, Choi teaches the block copolymers have tensile strengths 40-55 MPa, ¶[0025], which falls within the claimed range. The elongation of the block copolymer is 1.8%-540%, ¶[0022], which also falls within the claimed range of claim 6.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al US20200172680A1 in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 11, Choi teaches a biodegradable block copolymer comprising a first block of polylactic acid (PLA) and a second block derived from polymerized 3-hydroxypropionic acid, ¶[0013]. The poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid), P(3HP), is prepared before reacting with the PLA and is added to the reactor in polymerized form, ¶¶[0026, 0039], which reads on step 1 of claim 7. Choi teaches the PLA unit is derived from any polylactic acid, used without limitation, including commercially available polylactic acid. The PLA can be commonly prepared from an L-lactic acid-derived monomer and/or a D-lactic acid-derived monomer, such as L-lactide, D-lactide, or meso-lactide, in a ring opening polymerization reaction, where the resulting crystallinity and melting point can be freely controlled according to the content, ¶[0015].
Choi is silent to the exact stereoisomers present in the exemplified PLA and further does not teach using the P(3HP) as a macroinitiator for the polymerization of the PLA in step 2. Choi uses small molecule (diisocyanate or hydroxy ethyl (meth)acrylate) as a linking compound, ¶¶[0013, 0017].
Ramier discloses microwave assisted ROP to form poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, where PHA block is represented by poly(3-hydroxybutyrate) (PHB) or poly(3-hydroxybutyrate-co-3-hydroxyvalerate) (PHBHV), see abstract and introduction, page 1445. Ramier uses the PHAs as macroinitiators in the ROP of the lactides, introduction and scheme 1, page 1447. The polymerization catalyst is SnOct2, which is the same catalyst utilized by applicant and reads on the ROP catalyst of claim 11. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section page 1446. And as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (applicant’s Formula 2 of claim 7) and L-lactide (applicant’s Formula 3 of claim 7) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the lactide mixture of claim 7 and the amount of Formula 2 in claim 9.
Ramier discloses the advantages of the reaction above includes very short reaction times (typically a few min) and comparatively low temperature associated with relatively high conversions (50–85%) (see page 1454, left column).
Choi and Ramier are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of biodegradable block polymers comprising PLA and their methods of making.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of Choi but using Ramier’s direct polymerization method using racemic D,L-lactide monomers with the motivation of obtaining the PLA-P(3HP) block-copolymer with a high conversion rate and at very low reaction times.
Regarding claim 8, Choi exemplifies a P(3HP) with a molecular weight of 100,000 g/mol ¶[0039], and does not disclose a weight range for the poly(3HP) in the broader disclosure. The total molecular weight of the block copolymer is from 1,000-500,000 g/mol ¶[0022], therefore it follows it would be obvious that as long as the block copolymer is within this molecular weight, the P(3HP) can be less than 100,000 g/mol. Ramier forms block copolymers with molecular weights within the same range as Choi, see table 2 page 1451 where the Mn,NMR column shows the copolymer Mn results, the PDIs are also listed in the table. Then the Mw of the copolymers is calculated from Mn * PDI, which are all within Choi’s Mw range. The molecular weights Mn of the macroinitiators are also listed in Table 2, and are exemplified as ranging from 2,900-7,000 g/mol, which fall within the claimed range.
Therefore, it would be obvious to use the P(3HP) macroinitiator in a similar molecular weight range as exemplified by Ramier with the motivation of producing the predictable result of another biodegradable block copolymer because these molecular weights are suitable for the macroinitiators in the ROP of lactide monomers as disclosed by Ramier.
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the molar ratio of P(3HP) to PLA is 1:1 to 1:10 to adjust the glass transition temperature, ¶[0023], which falls within the claimed range.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 9, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11359057B2 in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent reference creates the claimed block copolymer having the same structural elements and possessing the same mechanical properties.
Reference claims 1, 5, and 6 claim a block copolymer, comprising a first block and a second block, wherein: the first block is a lactic acid-polymerized repeating unit; the second block is a 3-hydroxypropionic acid (3-HP)-polymerized repeating unit, which reads on the claimed block copolymer with a poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid) repeat unit and a poly(lactic acid) repeat unit. The difference is that the reference claim does not specify that the poly(lactic acid) is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, forming PLA from lactide monomers is common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of patent ‘057 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the PLA because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
Reference claim 9 reads on the weight average molecular weight of instant claim 4.
Reference claim 11 reads on the tensile strength of instant claim 5.
Reference claim 13 reads on the elongation of instant claim 6.
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11773223B2 in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent reference creates the claimed block copolymer having the same structural elements and possessing the same mechanical properties.
Reference claim 1 claims a block copolymer, comprising a first block and a second block, wherein: the first block is a lactic acid-polymerized repeating unit; the second block is a 3-hydroxypropionic acid (3-HP)-polymerized repeating unit, which reads on the claimed block copolymer with a poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid) repeat unit and a poly(lactic acid) repeat unit. The difference is that the reference claim does not specify that the poly(lactic acid) is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, forming PLA from lactide monomers is common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of patent ‘223 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the PLA because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
Reference claim 6 reads on the weight average molecular weight of instant claim 4.
Reference claim 8 reads on the elongation of instant claim 6.
Reference claim 9 reads on the tensile strength of instant claim 5.
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12617888 B2 in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent reference creates the claimed block copolymer having the same structural elements and possessing the same mechanical properties.
Reference claim 1 claims a poly (lactic acid-b-3-hydroxy propionic acid) block copolymer, which reads on the claimed block copolymer with a poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid) repeat unit and a poly(lactic acid) repeat unit. The difference is that the reference claim does not specify that the poly(lactic acid) is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, forming PLA from lactide monomers is common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of patent ‘888 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the PLA because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
Reference claims 4 and 5 read on the elongation of instant claim 6.
Reference claim 6 reads on the tensile strength of instant claim 5.
Reference claim 8 overlaps with the weight average molecular weight of instant claim 4, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by ‘888 because selection of the overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12698389B2 in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent reference creates the claimed block copolymer having the same structural elements and possessing the same mechanical properties.
Reference claim 1 claims a poly (lactic acid-b-3-hydroxy propionic acid) block copolymer, which reads on the claimed block copolymer with a poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid) repeat unit and a poly(lactic acid) repeat unit. The difference is that the reference claim does not specify that the poly(lactic acid) is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, forming PLA from lactide monomers is common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of patent ‘389 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the PLA because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
Reference claim 1 also reads on the tensile strength of instant claim 5.
Reference claim 4 also reads on the tensile strength of instant claim 5.
Reference claim 5 read on the elongation of instant claim 6.
Reference claim 6 overlaps with the weight average molecular weight of instant claim 4, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by ‘389 because selection of the overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Reference claim 7 reads on the weight average molecular weight of instant claim 4.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/580,087 (reference application) in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application makes the claimed block copolymer with the same structural units.
Reference claim 1 is directed to a poly(hydroxypropionic acid) block copolymer comprising a repeat unit of 3-hydroxypropionic acid, which reads on the same in instant claim 1, and a repeat unit of a lactone. Claim 1 does not require the poly(lactic acid) repeat unit, but in claim 2, which depends from claim 1, the block copolymer further comprises a repeat unit of a lactide, which reads on the poly(lactic acid) repeat unit of instant claim 1. Although the reference claims include a lactone repeat unit in the block copolymer which is not in the instant claims, the comprising language of the instant claims suggests other units are allowed in the block copolymer.
The reference claim 2 does not specify that the lactide repeat unit is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, these stereoisomers of lactide are common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of 18/580,087 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the lactide repeat unit because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/681,562 (reference application) in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application makes the claimed block copolymer with the same structural units.
Reference claim 1 is directed to a resin comprising a poly(lactic acid-b-3-hydroxypropionic acid) block copolymer which reads on the block copolymer of instant claim 1. The difference is that the reference claim does not specify that the poly(lactic acid) is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, forming PLA from lactide monomers is common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of 18/681,562 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the PLA repeat unit because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 18/996,000 (reference application) in view of Ramier, J. et al., “Microwave-Assisted Synthesis and Characterization of Biodegradable Block Copolyesters Based on Poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)s and Poly(D,L-lactide)”, Journal of Polymer Sci., 2012, 50, 1445–1455, provided in applicant’s IDS dated 1/30/2024, as evidenced by the Sigma Aldrich D,L-Lactide datasheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application makes the claimed block copolymer with the same structural units.
Reference claim 1 is directed to a poly(lactic acid-b-3-hydroxypropionic acid) block copolymer composition comprising: poly(lactic acid-b-3-hydroxypropionic acid) block copolymer which reads on the block copolymer of instant claim 1. The difference is that the reference claim does not specify that the poly(lactic acid) is derived from the lactides shown in instant formulas 1, 2, and 3, which are known as meso-lactide, D-lactide, and L-lactide respectively. Although it is not explicitly disclosed in the claim, forming PLA from lactide monomers is common and well known in the art.
Ramier discloses poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate)-b-poly(D,L-lactide) (PHA-b-PLA) diblock copolymers, abstract. The block copolymers are used for making biodegradable articles, abstract and see Introduction. The D,L-lactide is obtained from Sigma Aldrich as 3,6-Dimethyl-1,4-dioxane-2,5-dione, listed under Experimental, Materials section, page 1446, and as evidenced by page 4 of the D,L-lactide datasheet obtained from Sigma Aldrich, it is a racemic mixture of D-Lactide (Formula 2 of instant claim 1) and L-lactide (Formula 3 of instant claim 1) in a 50:50 ratio, which reads on the presence of Formula 3 and either Formula 1 or 2 be present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of 18/996,000 and use a racemic mixture of lactide monomers to form the PLA repeat unit because the racemic blend of lactides is a commercially available product and is suitable for polymerizing to PLA which is then used in block copolymers for producing biodegradable products as disclosed by Ramier.
Reference claim 4 recites the block copolymer is prepared by ring opening polymerization of lactide with the poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid), which reads on the method of instant claim 7.
Reference claims 6 and 15 overlaps with the number average molecular weight of the P(3HP) of instant claim 8, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by ‘000 because selection of the overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Reference claim 8 overlaps with the weight average molecular weight of instant claim 4, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by ‘000 because selection of the overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/V.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766