DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2024 has been considered by examiner. Examiner notes that the references which were not considered were not considered because no English translation was provided for those references.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, and 8, each recitation of "the structural element" should read --the at least one structural element-- to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, each recitation of "the conduit" should read --the at least one conduit-- to maintain consistent ter/23/26minology throughout the claims.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 10-11, each recitation of "the spray element" should read --the at least one spray element-- to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 currently dependent from claim 5, but it appears claim 8 should dependent from claim 7 as claim 5 fails to recite a spray device while claim 7 does. For the sake of compact prosecution and for use in this office action, as this appears to be a typographical error, examiner is interpreting "The wiper as claimed in claim 5" to be --The wiper as claimed in claim 7--.
Regarding claims 8-10, each recitation of "the spray device" should read --the at least one spray device-- to maintain consistent terminology.
Regarding claim 9, the recitation of "the spray orifices" should read --the plurality of spray orifices" to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims.
Regarding claims 11-12, each recitation of "the solenoid valve" should read --the at least one solenoid valve-- to maintain consistent terminology.
Regarding claim 13, the recitation of "the angular position is determined" should read --the angular position is able to be determined-- to avoid claiming a method step within an apparatus claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes the following limitations which recite “at least one” is being interpreted as there only being one of that element as Applicant does not have drawing support for multiple of any of the following limitations which recite “at least one”: “at least one structural element”, “at least one spray element”, “at least one spray channel”, “at least one spray device”, and “at least one solenoid valve”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear to examiner what the meets and bounds of the limitation “a jet of cleaning fluid” are. Is this jet of cleaning fluid the same as the cleaning fluid recited in claim 1 or is it a different cleaning fluid? For the sake of compact prosecution and for use in this office action, examiner is interpreting "a jet of cleaning fluid" to be --a jet of the cleaning fluid--.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear to examiner what the meets and bounds of the limitation “cleaning liquid” are. Is this cleaning liquid different than the cleaning fluid recited in claim 1 or is it the same? For the sake of compact prosecution and for use in this office action, examiner is interpreting "cleaning liquid" to be --the cleaning fluid--.
Claims 8-10 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caillot (US20150143655).
Regarding claim 1, Caillot discloses a wiper (Fig. 9 element 1) for a glazed surface (Fig. 10 element 59) of a vehicle (0096), the wiper comprising:
at least one structural element (Fig. 1 elements 3 and 15 and Fig. 2 element 8),
a wiper rubber (Fig. 1 element 12) carried by the structural element (Fig. 9, 0053),
wherein the wiper rubber is configured to bear against the glazed surface and to sweep a wiping zone (Fig. 10 element 61) of the glazed surface (Fig. 10, 0053), and
at least one end piece (see annotated Fig. 8 below) arranged at a longitudinal end of the structural element (see annotated Fig. 8 below),
at least one conduit (Fig. 9 element 4, 0092-0094) extending in a main direction of elongation of the wiper (Figs. 8-9, 0093, where element 5 in Fig. 8 corresponds to a main direction of elongation of the wiper), and
at least one spray element (Fig. 3 element 3, 0090-0093) fluidically connected to the conduit (Fig. 9, 0090 and 0092) and formed on the structural element (Figs. 1 and 5, where the at least one spray element being a subset of the structural element means that the at least one spray element is formed on (i.e. in contact with) the structural element),
wherein the spray element is configured to spray cleaning fluid (0044, where "washing liquid" corresponds to cleaning fluid) in a spray direction (0074, where any of the "multiplicity of directions" can correspond to a spray direction) onto an additional zone (Fig. 10 the portion of element 62 which does not overlap element 61) distinct from the wiping zone (0102).
Regarding claim 2, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the spray direction is oriented at an opening angle of between 3° and 30° in relation to the main direction of elongation of the wiper in a first plane configured to be substantially parallel to the glazed surface (see annotated Fig. 9 below for a first plane, 0074, where the spray being able to be "oriented in a multiplicity of directions" means that there are multiple configurations of the wiper where the spray direction is oriented at the claimed angle range in relation to the main direction of elongation of the wiper in a first plane configured to be substantially parallel to the glazed surface).
Regarding claim 3, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the spray element comprises at least one spray channel (Fig. 5 element 37) that extends in the spray direction of a jet of the cleaning fluid (Fig. 5, 0067 and 0074, where "a jet of washing fluid" corresponds to a jet of the cleaning fluid and where the at least one spray channel extends in the spray direction of the jet of the cleaning fluid when the hole of element 40 is arranged parallel to the at least one spray channel).
Regarding claim 4, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the spray direction is oriented at an angled of between 30° and 20° in relation to a transverse direction of extension perpendicular to the main direction of elongation, in a second plane configured to be substantially perpendicular to the glazed surface (see annotated Fig. 9 above for a second plane and transverse direction, 0074, where the spray being able to be "oriented in a multiplicity of directions" means that there are multiple configurations of the wiper where the spray direction is oriented at the claimed angle range in relation to a transverse direction of extension perpendicular to the main direction of elongation, in a second plane configured to be substantially perpendicular to the glazed surface).
Regarding claim 5, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the spray element is formed in the structural element (Figs. 1 and 5, where the at least one spray element being a subset of the structural element means that the at least one spray element is formed in (i.e. integral with) the structural element).
Regarding claim 6, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the spray element is attached to the structural element (Figs. 1 and 5, where the at least one spray element being a subset of the structural element means that the at least one spray element is attached to (i.e. connected either directly or indirectly to) the structural element).
Regarding claim 7, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses at least one spray device (Fig. 8 element 2, which also includes elements 56 and 57) configured to spray the cleaning fluid onto the wiping zone (0042-0043).
Regarding claim 8, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses the spray device is formed on the structural element (Fig. 8, 0093, where the at least one spray device being "arranged in the air deflector 15" means that the at least one spray device is formed on (i.e. in contact with) the structural element).
Regarding claim 9, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses the spray device comprises a plurality of spray orifices (Fig. 8 elements 57), wherein the spray orifices are arranged along the main direction of elongation of the wiper (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Caillot discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses the spray element is configured to spray the cleaning fluid from a first side of the wiper and the spray device is configured to spray the fluid from a second side of the wiper, opposite the first side in relation to the main direction of elongation of the wiper (see annotated Fig. 9' below, 0093).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillot (US20150143655), in view of Caillot (US20170369037), hereinafter Caillot’, and in further view of Giraud et al. (US20160096512), hereinafter Giraud.
Regarding claim 11, Caillot discloses a wiper system (Fig. 10 element 58) for a vehicle, the wiper system comprising a wiper as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein an arm (0100, where "first arm" corresponds to arm) moves the wiper and a cleaning device (Fig. 10 element 65 corresponds to a cleaning device and 0100 discloses the arm moving the wiper and since the cleaning device is shown in claim 10 to be in direct connection with the wiper, the arm will also move the cleaning device) that is connected fluidically to the conduit and configured to control the circulation of the cleaning fluid (Fig. 10, 0107-0108), and
wherein the cleaning device comprises:
at least one valve (0108, where "at least one valve" corresponds to at least one valve) configured to permit the cleaning fluid to circulate to the spray element (Fig. 10, 0108, where the at least one valve would be capable of permitting the cleaning fluid to circulate to the at least one spray element).
Caillot fails to disclose that the at least one valve is at least one solenoid valve and a control module for the solenoid valve.
Caillot’ is also concerned with a wiper system and teaches at least one solenoid valve (Fig. 3 element 11, 0015-0016 and 0050-0051). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the wiper system of Caillot to make the at least one valve an at least one solenoid valve, as taught by Caillot’, because Caillot’ teaches that a solenoid valve "can be configured to generate heat for heating the fluid" (0016) which "is advantageous if there is a risk of the fluid freezing" (0016).
Caillot, as modified, fails to disclose a control module for the solenoid valve.
Giraud is also concerned with a wiper system and teaches a control module (Fig. 1 element 13, 0074-0075) to permit the cleaning fluid to circulate to the spray element (0074-0075, where “dedicated sprinkling orifice 8” corresponds to the spray element). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the wiper system of Caillot, as modified, to include a control module to permit the cleaning fluid to circulate to the spray element, as taught by Giraud, because Giraud teaches that the control module is used to "reduce consumption of washing fluid" (0074) which in turn "makes it possible to reduce the dimensions of the tank 7 and therefore the weight of the vehicle" (0075).
Caillot, as modified, then yields a control module (Giraud, Fig. 1 element 13, 0074-0075) for the solenoid valve (Giraud, 0074-0075, where permitting the cleaning fluid to circulate to the spray element, as taught above, would mean controlling the solenoid valve as well)
Regarding claim 12, Caillot, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 11, as described above, and further discloses the control module is able to open or close the solenoid valve as a function of a given angular position of the wiper during the movement thereof (Giraud, 0074, where "angular position of the windscreen wiper" corresponds to angular position of the wiper).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillot (US20150143655), in view of Caillot (US20170369037), hereinafter Caillot’, in further view of Giraud et al. (US20160096512), hereinafter Giraud, and as further evidenced by Kolanowski et al. (US20190248337), hereinafter Kolanowski.
Regarding claim 13, Caillot, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses an electronically controlled electric motor able to move the arm with the wiper arranged at the end thereof (Caillot, 0100, where "an electric motor, in some cases electronic" corresponds to an electronically controlled electric motor),
wherein the angular position is determined by the electronically controlled electric motor (Caillot, 0100, where the electronically controlled electric motor being an "electronic" motor means that the electronically controlled electric motor is capable of determining the angular position, which is evidenced by Kolanowski in paragraph 0003).
Conclusion
/C.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723