DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 01/30/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 14 – 18 have been canceled; claims 6, 9 – 13, 19 – 20 have been amended; claims 21 – 24 have been newly added. Claims 1 – 13 and 19 – 24 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 – 6, 9, 11 – 13, and 19 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) (Pub # US 2023/0089930 A1) in view of Chong et al. (hereinafter “Chong”) (Pub # US 2021/0337553 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Li discloses a method for neighbouring cell measurement, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device (see FIG. 8, FIG. 10, [0006] for a terminal device includes a processor and a memory, the processor is configured to execute computer programs stored in the memory to obtain and exchange data in a 5G system), a first message from a serving cell (i.e., network device in 5G), the first message being used to configure a relaxed measurement criterion (see FIG. 3, [0060] – [0066] or FIG. 4 – FIG. 8, where Li is discussing the network device configures a first measurement-relaxation criterion and a second measurement-relaxation criterion for a terminal device, and transmits indication information to the terminal device); and
performing, by the terminal device, a measurement for a first frequency corresponding to a first cell, based on the first message, the first cell being a neighbouring cell (see FIG. 3, [0051],[0054], [0060] – [0066] or FIG. 4 – FIG. 8, where Li is discussing the terminal device determines a measurement requirement for performing measurement relaxation (i.e., a measurement requirement corresponding to a longer measurement interval among the first measurement-relaxation criterion and the second measurement-relaxation criterion) on a neighbor cell, and see [0022] where Li is discussing when the serving cell not fulfills (i.e., Srxlev>SlntraSearchP and Squal>SlntraSearchQ or Srxlev>SnonlntraSearchP and Squal>SnonlntraSearchQ), the terminal starts intra / inter -frequency neighbor-cell measurement).
Li teaches the terminal starts intra / inter -frequency neighbor-cell measurement, and 5G is mainly applied to: enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliable low-latency communications (URLLC), and massive machine-type communications (mMTC).
Li does not disclose specifically that cell supporting a target service.
In an analogous art, Chong discloses that cell supporting a target service (see Chong, FIG. 1 for 5G network with different types network slices, i.e., enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC), and massive internet of things (mIoT), see [0446] for the network slice based on the target service level agreement (SLA) requirement information, see Table 3, [0498] – [0500] for information cell ID used to identify a cell providing a service in the network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li, and have the cell supporting a target service such that improves accuracy and utilization of resource scheduling, as discussed by Chong (see Chong, [0009], [0011]).
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected for the same reason set forth above in method claim 1 because it has the same limitations. In addition, Li in view of Chong teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store computer programs for electronic-data interchange (EDI), the computer programs being configured to cause a computer to perform method claim 1 (see Li, FIG. 8, FIG. 10, [0006], [0022], [0035], [0131], [0135] for a terminal device includes a processor and a memory, the processor is configured to execute computer programs stored in the memory to obtain and exchange data in a 5G system).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein the relaxed measurement criterion comprises at least one of: a low mobility criterion, a not-at-cell-edge criterion, or a stationary criterion (see Li, [0028] – [0030], [0050], [0066]).
Regarding claims 3 and 22, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein performing, by the terminal device, a measurement for the first cell, based on the first message comprises: in response to the terminal device fulfilling the low mobility criterion and/or the not-at- cell-edge criterion and the serving cell not supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, the measurement, or the measurement after adjusting a measurement parameter for the first cell of at least one of an intra-frequency, an inter-frequency, or an inter-system; and in response to the terminal device fulfilling the low mobility criterion and/or the not-at- cell-edge criterion and the serving cell supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, a relaxed measurement for the first cell of at least one of the intra-frequency, the inter- frequency, or the inter-system (see Li, [0022] for the terminal starts intra / inter -frequency neighbor-cell measurement , [0048] – [0053] for the serving cell fulfills, [0103] – [0104] for the serving cell not fulfills).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein in response to a priority of the target service supported by the serving cell being lower than a priority of the target service supported by the first cell, the terminal device performs any one of the measurement, the measurement after adjusting a measurement parameter, or ignoring the relaxed measurement criterion for the first cell of any one of the intra-frequency, the inter-frequency, or the inter-system (see Li, [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein performing, by the terminal device, a measurement for the first cell, based on the first message comprises: in response to the serving cell not supporting the target service, ignoring, by the terminal device, the relaxed measurement criterion and performing, by the terminal device, the measurement for the first cell of at least one of an intra-frequency, an inter-frequency, or an inter- system (see Li, [0022], [0103] – [0104] for the serving cells not fulfills or higher-priority inter-frequency measurement, higher-priority inter-frequency measurement will always be started); and in response to the service cell supporting the target service and the terminal device fulfilling the low mobility criterion and/or the not-at-cell-edge criterion, performing, by the terminal device, a relaxed measurement or stopping, by the terminal device, the measurement for the first cell of an inter-frequency and/or an inter-system (see Li, [0022] - [0028] for the serving cells and low mobility criterion and/or the not-at-cell-edge criterion fulfills).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein performing, by the terminal device, a measurement for the first cell, based on the first message comprises: in response to the serving cell not supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, any one of the measurement, the measurement after adjusting a measurement parameter, or a relaxed measurement for the first cell of at least one of an intra-frequency, an inter-frequency, or an inter-system (see Li, [0022] - [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (see Li, [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Chong disclose wherein the target service comprises any one of: one or more slice services, a multicast service, or a service established in a closed-mode cell (see Chong, [0010], [0016] for service experience information of the network slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li, and have the target service comprises one or more slice services such that improves accuracy and utilization of resource scheduling, as discussed by Chong (see Chong, [0009], [0011]).
Regarding claims 12 and 23, Li in view of Chong disclose receiving, by the terminal device, a second message from the serving cell, the second message indicating whether the terminal device applies the relaxed measurement; and performing, by the terminal device, a measurement, or a measurement after adjusting a measurement parameter for the neighbouring cell supporting the target service, in response to the second message indicating that the terminal device does not apply the relaxed measurement (see Li, [0056] for the terminal device receives second indication for performing measurement relaxation on a neighbor cell, and see Chong, [0498] – [0500], Table 3, for information cell ID used to identify a cell providing a service in the network slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li, and have the cell supporting a target service such that improves accuracy and utilization of resource scheduling, as discussed by Chong (see Chong, [0009], [0011]).
Regarding claims 13 and 24, Li in view of Chong disclose receiving, by the terminal device, a third message from the serving cell, the third message indicating at least one of frequency information, location area information, or a cell identifier for supporting the target service; and determining, by the terminal device, the first cell, based on the third message (see Li, [0022] – [0024] for the network device will configure a dedicated frequency priority for the terminal device, and the terminal device determines to start higher-priority inter-frequency measurement, see [0056] for the terminal device determines the measurement requirement for performing measurement relaxation on a neighbor cell, and see Chong, [0498] – [0500], Table 3, for information cell ID used to identify a cell providing a service in the network slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li, and have the cell ID supporting a target service such that improves accuracy and utilization of resource scheduling, as discussed by Chong (see Chong, [0009], [0011]).
4. Claims 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) (Pub # US 2023/0089930 A1) in view of Chong et al. (hereinafter “Chong”) (Pub # US 2021/0337553 A1) as applied to claims 2, 6 above, and further in view of Sogabe et al. (hereinafter “Sogabe”) (Pub # US 2024/0147564 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Chong disclose performing, by the terminal device, a measurement for the first cell, based on the first message, and the serving cell supporting / not supporting (i.e., fulfill / not fulfill) the target service (see reject claims 1, 2).
Li in view of Chong do not disclose that in response to the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell not supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, a measurement or a relaxed measurement for the first cell of an intra-frequency; and in response to the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell of the terminal device supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, the measurement only for the serving cell.
In related art, Sogabe discloses in response to the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell not supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, a measurement or a relaxed measurement for the first cell of an intra-frequency (see Sogabe, [0057], [0077], [0078], [0092], [0095] for the user equipment fulfills the stationarity criterion and executes measurement according to a measurement relaxation method for relaxing measurement of radio quality for an adjacent cell, and see [0126] for the terminal device executes normal measurement of radio quality for intra-frequency cell); and in response to the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell of the terminal device supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, the measurement only for the serving cell (see Sogabe, [0077] – [0078], [0095] for the terminal device is in a stationary state is fulfilled, and a non-cell edge criterion, which is a criterion used for selecting whether or not to execute measurement according to the measurement relaxation method and is a criterion for determining whether or not the terminal device is in a non-cell edge state where it is not at a cell edge of the serving cell, are fulfilled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li/Chong, and have the terminal device to start measure the adjacent cell or the serving cell depends on the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell not supporting or supporting the target service such that the terminal device does not need to frequently measure the radio quality of the adjacent cell as the terminal device that is stationary when the stationarity criterion is fulfilled, thereby power saving and battery life improvement can be achieved, as discussed by Sogabe (see Sogabe, [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Chong and Sogabe disclose wherein performing, by the terminal device, a measurement for the first cell, based on the first message (see Li and Chong in reject claims 1, 2) comprises: in response to the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell of the terminal device not supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, the measurement or a relaxed measurement for the first cell of an inter-frequency and/or an inter- system (see Sogabe, [0057], [0077], [0078], [0092], [0095] for the user equipment fulfills the stationarity criterion and executes measurement according to a measurement relaxation method for relaxing measurement of radio quality for an adjacent cell, and see [0126] for the terminal device executes normal measurement of radio quality for inter-frequency cell); and in response to the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell of the terminal device supporting the target service, performing, by the terminal device, the measurement for the first cell of the inter-frequency and/or the inter-system after a first period (see Sogabe, [0077] – [0078], [0095] for the terminal device is in a stationary state is fulfilled, and a non-cell edge criterion, which is a criterion used for selecting whether or not to execute measurement according to the measurement relaxation method and is a criterion for determining whether or not the terminal device is in a non-cell edge state where it is not at a cell edge of the serving cell, are fulfilled, and see [0126] for normal measurement of radio quality for inter-RAT cell(s) for at least a specified time period (T.sub.SearchDeltaP_stationary) after handover to the serving cell or (re) establishment of RRC connection to the serving cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li/Chong, and have the terminal device to start measure the adjacent cell depends on the terminal device fulfilling the stationary criterion and the serving cell not supporting or supporting the target service such that the terminal device does not need to frequently measure the radio quality of the adjacent cell as the terminal device that is stationary when the stationarity criterion is fulfilled, thereby power saving and battery life improvement can be achieved, as discussed by Sogabe (see Sogabe, [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Chong and Sogabe disclose wherein the terminal device is in a stationary state (see Sogabe, [0077], [0092], [0160], [0206] for controller of the terminal device determines the terminal device is in a stationary state when the stationarity criterion is fulfilled). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Li/Chong, and have the terminal device is in a stationary state such that the terminal device does not need to frequently measure the radio quality of the adjacent cell as the terminal device that is stationary when the stationarity criterion is fulfilled, thereby power saving and battery life improvement can be achieved, as discussed by Sogabe (see Sogabe, [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is 2024/0259933 (Choe) which discloses that a wireless device determines that the specific network slice is not intended to be used, based on the network slice restrictions information, then the wireless device applies relaxed Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurements on the specific frequency.
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645